DETAILED ACTION
Response to Restriction
The Examiner acknowledges that the Applicant has elected the invention drawn to Figure 1 for examination.
Claim Objections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "connector" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The term “elongated cross-section” in claim 14 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “elongated cross-section” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 12-17, 19, 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Altenburg (EP 1006035 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Altenburg discloses a panel connector comprising:
a first head (Fig. 2, pin 13);
a second head (Fig. 2, sleeve 15);
a linkage connecting the first head and the second head for drawing the first head and the second head together (Fig. 2, locking ring bolt 27);
and a plug arranged on the first head (Fig. 2, the left-most extend of pin 13 is a plug received by sleeve 15);
the second head having a socket for receiving the plug (See id) as the first head and the second head are drawn together by the linkage (Fig. 2, locking ring bolt 27 and associated components connect the pin and sleeve).
Regarding claim 13, Altenburg discloses wherein the plug is attached to the first head (Fig. 2, the extent of the pin 13 is integral with the rest of the pin).
Regarding claim 14, as best understood by the Examiner, Altenburg discloses wherein the plug has an elongated cross-section defining an elongation, the elongation extending in an insertion direction of the connector (Fig. 2, the pin 13 has a cross-section and extends into the sleeve).
Regarding claim 15, Altenburg discloses wherein the linkage includes a leadscrew mounted on either the first head or the second head (Fig. 2, bolt 27), and a threaded nut mounted on the other of the first head or the second head, the leadscrew screwingly engaging the threaded nut (Fig. 2, foot 26).
Regarding claim 16, Altenburg discloses wherein the leadscrew extends through the plug (Fig. 2, bolt 27 extends through both components).
Regarding claim 17, Altenburg discloses wherein the plug forms a ring, and the leadscrew passes through the ring (Fig. 2, bolt 27 extends through a circular opening).
Regarding claim 19, Altenburg discloses wherein the first head and the plug are integral (Fig. 2, the extent of the pin 13 is integral with the rest of the pin).
Regarding claim 22, Altenburg discloses wherein the plug has a first lateral abutment surface and a second lateral abutment surface configured for abutting against at least one panel in which the connector is inserted (Fig. 2, opposing exterior sides of pin 13).
Regarding claim 23, Altenburg discloses wherein the plug has a taper zone, wherein the socket is configured for receiving only the taper zone of the plug as the first head and the second head are drawn together by the linkage (Fig. 2, the left-most extent of pin 13 is narrower than the right-most extent).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Altenburg (EP 1006035 A1) in view of Andreini (US Pub. 2014/0079474 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Altenburg discloses the claimed invention except for as taught by Andreini, similarly drawn to a joint for coupling fittings together, at least one dowel pin embedded both within the first head and within the second head (Fig. 2, fasteners 312).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connector of Altenburg to include the dowels of Andreini for improved alignment of the heads with respect to each other.
Conclusion
/HENRY HOOPER MUDD/Examiner, Art Unit 3642
/JOSHUA J MICHENER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642