CTNF 19/101,364 CTNF 79365 Detailed Action 1. This Office Action is responsive to the Application 19/101,364 filed 02/05/2025. Claims 1-20 are presented for examination. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 2. Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged. Information Disclosure Statement 3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/25/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 4. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA 5. Claim s 1-4, 6-8, 10-14, 16-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by CHEN et al. (US 2021/0274529 A1), hereinafter “CHEN” . 6. As to claim 1, CHEN teaches an apparatus of a user equipment (UE), the apparatus comprising processing circuitry configured to: establish a protocol data unit (PDU) session including one or more quality of service (QoS) flows and multiple data radio bearers (DRB) for communications with a network ( Fig. 10, Step 0, [0065-0069] : establishing a PDU session and at least a default DRB for the UE 3) ; decode, from signaling received from the network, or determine an initial mapping table for a QoS flow to DRB mapping based on a network configuration of mapping parameters ( Fig. 10, Steps 1-2, [0065-0069] : the UE 3 determines the appropriate QFI 23 for the uplink data and the appropriate DRB for the uplink data based on the QFI23, using its QoS module 45) ; determine a first QoS flow to map or remap to a new or different DRB ( Fig. 10, Step 2, [0065-0069] and [0080-0095} : if the QFI 23 is mapped to a specific DRB based on the stored DRB mapping rules, the UE 3 uses that DRB for transmitting the data. If not, the UE 3 is configured to use its default DRB for transmitting the data) ; and configure transceiver circuitry to transmit a request to the network for the first QoS flow to be mapped or remapped to the new or different DRB ( Fig. 10, Step 3, [0065-0069] and [0080-0095] : the UE 3 proceeds to transmit the data packet) . 7. As to claim 2, CHEN teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the request comprises an uplink (UL) service data adaptation protocol (SDAP) PDU including a header indicating a first QoS flow identifier (QFI) corresponding to the first QoS flow, wherein the request is transmitted over the new or different DRB ( [0066] : the special downlink data packet 20 (an SDAP PDU) includes the QFI 23 corresponding to the DRB used for sending the special data packet and hence the DRB to be used by the UE 3 for transmitting any subsequent update data packet with the same QFI 23) . 8. As to claim 3, CHEN teaches the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the UL SDAP PDU is a control PDU and the header further indicates the request using a reserve bit in the header ( [0042-0047] and [0099] : the UE may be configured to send a “header only” uplink data packet, i.e., a control PDU, similar to the data packet sent by the base station) . 9. As to claim 4, CHEN teaches the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the control PDU has an extension header carrying additional information related to the first QoS flow or other QoS flows ( [0042-0047] : the header 20H of the data packet 20 includes a RDI 21, RQI22 and the QFI 23. The header 20H may also include other fields [to carry additional information], between the octet carrying the RDI/RQI/QFI and the data portion 20D) . 10. As to claim 6, CHEN teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the request comprises an uplink radio resource control (RRC) message indicating at least an identifier for the first QoS flow ( [0007] : when the DRB mapping is configured by the network using RRC, the network informs the UE which QoS Flows (which QFIs) to map to which particular DRB); and [0069] : if the QFI 23 is mapped to a specific DRB, the UE23 uses that DRB for transmitting the uplink data packet) . 11. As to claim 7, CHEN teaches the apparatus of claim 6, wherein the RRC message is a UE assistance information message ( [0099] : the UE is described to send, over the default DRB, an uplink data packet including user-plane data and a QFI, to indicate to the network that the UE does not have DRB mapping information for a new QoS Flow or for an existing QoS Flow for which the DRB mapping information has expired) . 12. As to claim 8, CHEN teaches the apparatus of claim 6, wherein the RRC message further indicates a second QoS flow to be mapped or remapped to a new or different DRB ( [0072-0073] : Based on the received downlink data packet 20, the UE 3 is able to update its DRB mapping information to reflect the correct mapping of the given QFI to the DRB via which the downlink data packet 20 was received, for transmitting any further uplink data packets) . 13. As to claim 10, CHEN teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: decode, from signaling received from the network, a downlink (DL) RRC reconfiguration or DL reflective QoS (Ros) indication mapping or remapping the first QoS flow to the new or different DRB in accordance with the request; and update the initial mapping table to an updated mapping table including the first QoS flow mapped to the new or different DRB ( [0071-0072] : the base station 5 generates and sends , via the correct DRB, an appropriate downlink data packet 20 including information relating to Reflective QoS Flow to DRB mapping and hence to be used for updating DRB mapping at UE 3. Based on the received downlink data packet 20, the UE 3 is able to update its DRB mapping information to reflect the correct mapping of the given QFI to the DRB via which the downlink data packet 20 was received) . 14. As to claims 11-14, 16-28 and 20, claims 11-14, 16-28 and 20 are corresponding apparatus of a base station claims that recites similar limitations as of apparatus of a user equipment claims 1-4, 6-8 and 10 and do not contain any additional limitations with respect to novelty and/or inventive steps; therefore, they are rejected under the same rationale . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 15. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA 16. Claim s 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN, in view of SEBIRE et al. (US 2021/0282002 A1), hereinafter “SEBIRE” . 17 As to claim 5, CHEN teaches the apparatus of claim 4, but does not explicitly discloses “the additional information comprises a buffer status for one or the first or other QoS flows”. In an analogous art, SEBIRE discloses “the additional information comprises a buffer status for one or the first or other QoS flows” ( [0066] : the UE may send an indication may be provided as a MAC control element (CE), a buffer status report (BSR), a bit within a MAC/RCL/PDCP protocol header, an indication in an RRC message or in some other form of UE reporting or signaling to the network) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of CHEN and SEBIRE to achieve the claimed invention to enable the UE to provide details as to which logical channel, RLC entities, DRB, or QoS flow cannot be processed, is being halted, deactivated, or is de-prioritized (SEBIRE, [0066]) . 18. As to claim 15, claim 15 is a corresponding apparatus of a base station that recites similar limitations as of apparatus of a user equipment claim 5 and does not contain any additional limitations with respect to novelty and/or inventive steps; therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale . 07-21-aia AIA 19. Claim s 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN, in view of Freda et al. (US 2022/0061055 A1), hereinafter “Freda” . 20. As to claim 9, CHEN teaches the apparatus of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose “the request comprises an uplink medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) indicating at least an identifier for the first QoS flow”. In an analogous art, Freda discloses “the request comprises an uplink medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) indicating at least an identifier for the first QoS flow” ( [0207] : a WTRU may send a BSR and/or related message (e.g., MAC CE, RRC message) to the network to inform the network of the change in preferred mode for a specific SLRB. Such a message (MAC-CE) may contain: the SLRB or LCH for which a mode change trigger was determined at the WTRU; the QoS properties (e.g., PQI, QFI, etc.) of the SLRB and/or flows mapped to the SLRB) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of CHEN and Freda to achieve the claimed invention to allow the UE to inform the network of the change in transmission mode based on detected network conditions, e.g., Uu quality below a threshold, change in buffer status (Freda, [0204]) . 21. As to claim 19, claim 19 is a corresponding apparatus of a base station that recites similar limitations as of apparatus of a user equipment claim 9 and does not contain any additional limitations with respect to novelty and/or inventive steps; therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale. 22. Further references of interest are cited on Form PTO-892, which is an attachment to this Office Action. 23. A shortened statutory period for reply to this action is set to expire THREE (3) months from the mailing date of this communication. See 37 CFR 1.134. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to QUANG N NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571) 272-3886. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, KAMAL B. DIVECHA, can be reached at (571) 272-5863. The fax phone number for the organization is (571) 273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866- 217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /QUANG N NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2441 Application/Control Number: 19/101,364 Page 2 Art Unit: 2441 Application/Control Number: 19/101,364 Page 3 Art Unit: 2441 Application/Control Number: 19/101,364 Page 4 Art Unit: 2441 Application/Control Number: 19/101,364 Page 5 Art Unit: 2441 Application/Control Number: 19/101,364 Page 6 Art Unit: 2441 Application/Control Number: 19/101,364 Page 7 Art Unit: 2441 Application/Control Number: 19/101,364 Page 8 Art Unit: 2441 Application/Control Number: 19/101,364 Page 9 Art Unit: 2441 Application/Control Number: 19/101,364 Page 10 Art Unit: 2441 Application/Control Number: 19/101,364 Page 11 Art Unit: 2441