DETAILED ACTION
Notices to Applicant
This communication is a final rejection. Claims 1-5, 7-12, and 14-20, as filed 08/12/2026, are currently pending and have been considered below.
Priority is generally acknowledged to PCT/US2023/029833 (08/09/2023) and 63/398,303 (08/16/2022).
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon and the rationale supporting the rejection would be the same under either status.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Specifically, the terms “the monitoring device” in claim 10, “the user location data” in claim 16, and “the one or more further operations” in claim 17 lack antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-5, 7-12, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step 1
The claim(s) recite(s) subject matter within a statutory category as a process, machine, and/or article of manufacture which recite:
1. A network device for providing a notification to a contact based on a profile configuration associated with a client user comprising: a memory storing one or more computer-readable instructions; and a processor configured to execute the one or more computer-readable instructions to: (additional element – merely applying the abstract idea with a computer)
receive communication data from at least one client device associated with the client user over a local area network, the at least one client device including at least one of a cell phone, a tablet, a television, and an audio/video media streaming box; (additional element – insignificant extra-solution activity; data-gathering)
determine a specific location of the client user at a site based on the communication data; (mental process because a caregiver can mentally infer where another person is by looking at location information)
receive user sensor data from the at least one client device over the local network; (additional element – insignificant extra-solution activity; data-gathering)
determine a status of the client user based on the user sensor data and the location of the client user at the site; (mental process because a caregiver can review patient sensor and location information and evaluate whether the person is asleep, non-responsive, or awake) and
provide the notification over a wide area network (additional element – insignificant extra-solution activity, namely, transmitting data over a network) to at least one contact from a list of contacts associated with the client user based on the profile configuration, the profile configuration including a set of user profiles associated with each contact in the list of contacts, wherein the notification comprises at least one of the location of the client user and the status of the client user (abstract idea – certain methods of organizing human activity, namely, patient monitoring and notifying emergency contacts; alternatively, this amounts to insignificant extra-solution activity, namely, mere data output).
2. The network device of claim 1, wherein the communication data comprises any of a received signal strength indicator (RSSI), an amplitude of a received signal from the client device, a phase shift of the received signal from the client device, or any combination thereof (insignificant extra-solution activity, data gathering).
3. The network device of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to execute one or more instructions to: pair the at least one client device with the network device (applying the abstract idea with a computer; insignificant extra-solution activity).
4. The network device of claim 1, wherein the user sensor data comprises biometric data associated with the client user (insignificant extra-solution activity, data gathering).
5. The network device of claim 4, wherein the biometric data comprises any of a movement indicator, a sleep indicator, a blood pressure, a temperature, a pulse, or any combination thereof associated with the client user (insignificant extra-solution activity, data gathering).
7. The network device of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to execute one or more instructions to: send the communication data and the user sensor data to a monitoring system; and receive from the monitoring system one or more parameters (applying the abstract idea with a computer),
wherein determining the location and the status is based on the one or more parameters (mental process because a caregiver can review patient sensor and location information and make evaluations).
Claims 1-5 and 7 are presented as an exemplary claim but the same analysis applies to the other claims 8-12 and 14-20.
Step 2A Prong One
The broadest reasonable interpretation of these steps includes mental processes because, for example, determining a location of the client and a status of the client can be performed by a caregiver reviewing various information and making a mental evaluation. Other than reciting generic computer terms like a network device and a processor, nothing in the claims precludes the determining steps from practically being performed in the mind.
The claims also include certain methods of organizing human activity because reviewing patient data and alerting caregivers are analogous to steps a medical team would perform while monitoring a patient.
Dependent claims recite additional subject matter which further narrows or defines the abstract idea embodied in the claims, add insignificant extra-solution activity, or merely applying the abstract ideas with a computer as described in greater detail above. For example, claims 2, 9, and 16 name the types of signal data that is operated upon and claims 4, 5, 11, 12, 18, and 19 name types of biometric data being reviewed.
Step 2A Prong Two
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, other than the abstract idea per se, because the additional elements:
amount to mere instructions to apply an exception. For example, a network device with a memory storing instructions and a processor configured to execute the instructions amounts to invoking computers as a tool to perform the abstract idea, see applicant’s specification [0044] and [0057]-[0058], see MPEP 2106.05(f))
add insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea. For example, receiving user location and sensor data amounts to mere data gathering, and providing notifications amount to data output, see MPEP 2106.05(g))
generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use such as reciting various home network devices like a cell phone, tablet, television, or streaming box, see MPEP 2106.05(h))
Dependent claims recite additional subject matter which amount to limitations consistent with the additional elements in the independent claims as described in greater detail above. For example, claims 3, 10, and 17 recite additional limitations which amount to invoking computers as a tool to perform the abstract idea. Claims 7, 14, and 20 recite sending and receiving data in a monitoring system which amounts to sending and receiving data over a network. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation and do not impose a meaningful limit to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Step 2B
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to discussion of integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply an exception, add insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea, and generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. Additionally, the additional limitations, other than the abstract idea per se amount to elements that have been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in particular fields. For example, receiving communication data and sensor data over a local area network and providingthe notification over a wide area network amounts to receiving or transmitting data over a network, Symantec, MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i). Determining location from the communication data amounts to performing repetitive calculations, Flook, MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(ii). Maintaining the profile configuration and the list of contacts amounts to electronic recordkeeping, Alice Corp., MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iii), and storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv).
Dependent claims recite additional subject matter which, as discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, amount to invoking computers as a tool to perform the abstract idea. Dependent claims recite additional subject matter which amount to limitations consistent with the additional elements in the independent claims. Additionally, pairing a device in claims 3, 10, and 17 amounts to well-understood, routine, and conventional activity as described in the Wikipedia article titled Pairing (computing) cited in the non-final rejection from 05/14/2026. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-12, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sobol (US-20190209022-A1) in view of Ihrig (US-20210125481-A1) and Kannan (US-20220046208-A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sobol discloses: A network device for providing a notification to a contact based on a profile configuration associated with a client user comprising: a memory storing one or more computer-readable instructions; and a processor configured to execute the one or more computer-readable instructions (“a non-transitory computer readable medium, a processor that is configured to perform a predefined set of operations in response to receiving a corresponding instruction,” [0010]; [0136]) to:
--determine a specific location of the client user at a site based on the communication (“One approach that may be used to estimate the location of the wearable electronic device 100 through RSSI involves so-called fingerprinting, where a pre-recorded ground truth map of the area of interest is created to infer locations through a best-matching method,” [0133]);
--receive user sensor data from the at least one client device over the local network (“detect physiological data includes at least one sensor selected from the group consisting of a heart rate sensor…” [0015]; “using the wearable electronic device, location data from at least one of BLE location data and GNSS location data, and wirelessly transmitting the location data from the wearable electronic device to a wireless LPWAN receiver using a star topology network,” [0041]);
--determine a status of the client user based on the user sensor data and the location of the client user at the site (“The device may transmit some or all of its acquired data to a larger system, including a cloud-based server to, in addition to providing location-based data, be used as a part of a predictive health care protocol to correlate changes in acquired data to salient indicators of the health of a wearer of the device. In one form, the predictive health care protocol uses a machine learning model,” Abstract; “As such, at least one of the backhaul server and the wearable electronic device has a machine code to execute a machine learning model to classify the health condition of the individual based at least in part on at least a portion of the LEAP data,” [0030]); and
--wherein the notification comprises at least one of the location of the client user and the status of the client user (“machine code to send an alert through the third wireless communication sub-module when the transmitted location data indicates that an individual is situated outside a predetermined area,” [0037]).
Sobol does not expressly disclose but Ihrig teaches:
--the notification over a wide area network to at least one contact from a list of contacts associated with the client user based on the profile configuration (“a deviation alert can be routed by processor/memory 46 to one or more of cell phone numbers and e-mail addresses,” [0022]; “cell phone number(s) and/or e-mail address(es) for parties that are to be notified with deviation alerts as will be explained further below,” [0023]);
--the profile configuration including a set of user profiles associated with each contact in the list of contacts (“The nature of a deviation alert can be categorized and transmitted to one or more relevant parties to include a user's loved one(s), a user's medical professional(s), local first responders, and/or the installer/provider of the present invention,” [0032]; “Processor 46 compares incoming or current signal strength values to the user's trend data in order to determine if it is appropriate is issue/transmit a deviation alert over the internet 300 for receipt by one or more remote devices 400 that have been designated for association with person 200. For example, remote devices 400 will typically be those regularly used by a loved one of person 200,” [0029]). A POSITA would have been motivated before the effective filing date to expand Sobol’s notifications to include the designated party routing of Ihrig because this would improve patient monitoring by alerting the right person at the right time and by “alleviat[ing] the need for someone to routinely actively check on someone's welfare as well as the need for extensive in-home or assisted living care” (Ihrig [0006]).
Sobol and Ihrig do not expressly disclose but Kannan teaches:
--receive communication data from at least one client device associated with the client user over a local area network, the at least one client device including at least one of a cell phone, a tablet, a television, and an audio/video media streaming box (“The connection 10 between the access point device 2 and the client device 4 is implemented through a wireless connection that operates in accordance with, but is not limited to, any IEEE 802.11 protocols,” [0050]; “The client devices 4 can be, for example, hand-held computing devices, personal computers, electronic tablets, mobile phones, smart phones… the client devices 4 can be a television (TV), an IP/QAM set-top box (STB) or a streaming media decoder (SMD) that is capable of decoding audio/video content,” [0048]).
A POSITA would have been motivated before the effective filing date to expand Sobol and Ihrig’s patient monitoring with signal location determination to include the home access point and consumer client devices of Kannan because this would make the system more user-friendly by allowing the location to be determined with devices that the patient already uses (Kannan [0001]).
Additionally, each element is taught by Sobol, Ihrig, and Kannan. The notifications of Ihrig and the device types of Kannan do not affect the normal functioning of the elements of the claim which are taught by Sobol. Because the elements do not affect the normal functioning of each other, the results of their combination would have been predictable. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Ihrig and Kannan with the teachings of Sobol since the result is merely a combination of old elements, and, since the elements do not affect the normal functioning of each other, the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Regarding claim 2, Sobol discloses: wherein the communication comprises any of a received signal strength indicator (RSSI), an amplitude of a received signal from the client device, a phase shift of the received signal from the client device, or any combination thereof (“the wearable electronic device 100 may measure RSSI and use this measurement to assist with location determination of the relative position between them,” [0126]; “estimate the location of the wearable electronic device 100 through RSSI,” [0133]).
Regarding claim 3, Sobol discloses: wherein the processor is further configured to execute one or more instructions to: pair the at least one client device with the network device (“communication between the wearable electronic device 100 and the gateway 300 may be configured such that up to six different LoRaWAN™ network credentials may be stored to allow hopping between credentials seamlessly if one isn't available or otherwise loses connectivity,” [0136]).
Regarding claim 4, Sobol discloses: wherein the user sensor data comprises biometric data associated with the client user (“at least one of the sensors that are configured to detect physiological data includes at least one sensor selected from the group consisting of a heart rate sensor, a breathing rate sensor…” [0015]).
Regarding claim 5, Sobol discloses: wherein the biometric data comprises any of a movement indicator, a sleep indicator, a blood pressure, a temperature, a pulse, or any combination thereof associated with the client user (“at least one of the sensors that are configured to detect physiological data includes at least one sensor selected from the group consisting of a heart rate sensor…a temperature sensor…a pulse oximetry sensor…” [0015]).
Regarding claim 7, Sobol discloses: wherein the processor is further configured to execute one or more instructions to:
--send the communication data and the user sensor data to a monitoring system (“The method also includes wirelessly transmitting at least a portion of the LEAP data from the wearable electronic device to a wireless low power wide area network receiver using a star topology network, as well as executing a machine learning model based at least in part on at least a portion of the LEAP data,” [0061]); and
--receive from the monitoring system one or more parameters, wherein determining the location and the status is based on the one or more parameters (“(iv) rules for sending notifications to caregivers and family applications,” [0139]; “much or all of the data and models (such as machine learning or cloud analytics models as discussed elsewhere in this disclosure) may be hosted on a server in the cloud 500, allowing the end user to access it through the internet,” [0140]).
Claims 8-12, 14, and 15-20 are substantially similar to claims 1-5 and 7 and are rejected with the same reasoning.
Response to arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/12/2026 have been fully considered and are discussed below.
Regarding 112(b), Applicant argues that replacing “instructions” with “operations” resolves the indefiniteness. Remark page 7. The term “the one or more further operations” remains in claim 17 and remains without antecedent basis, so the rejection is maintained.
Regarding the subject matter ineligibility rejections, Applicant argues that “determination of a location using communication data does not fall within the realm of ordinary human activity and instead requires the use of a processor configured to decode the data and produce complex electromagnetic signal based calculations.” Remarks page 10. This is not persuasive because claim 1 recites a result: determining a location from communication data. This result is achieved with a generic processor and no particular signal processing techniques. MPEP 2106.05(a). Determining a device’s location from signal strength was well-understood, routine, and conventional as described by Sobol (i.e., RSSI fingerprinting in [0133]). This is further supported by Peng (US20170156027A1) which describes “there have been a variety of academic research as wells as patent publications relating to WCL location algorithm or close fields” in [0006] and “In a typical location estimation system…” in [0004]. The rejection does not rest solely on the claims reciting a mental process, but also certain methods of organizing human activity, namely, monitoring a person and notifying the person’s contacts.
Applicant argues that the claimed receiving of data over a local area network and outputting data on a wide area network requires a processor to transfer data from one network to the other. Remarks page 10. This is not persuasive because receiving and transmitting data over a network is well-understood, routine, and conventional (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)). The local area network, wide area network, and client devices are recited generically such that they merely link the invention to the home network environment. MPEP 2106.05(h). The claims do not embody any particular technical solution to these asserted technical networking problems. If “providing a notification over a wide area network” requires particular technical implementation details beyond off-the-shelf computing devices, Applicant is encouraged to identify such details in the specification or claims.
Regarding the prior art rejections, Applicant argues that the claims are distinct from the combination of Sobol and Duino. These arguments are moot in light of the new grounds of rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office Action (See MPEP 706.07(a)). Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSHUA B BLANCHETTE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3624