Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors.
The end portion of the claim is written unclearly. First, the step is written in passive voice, thus making it clear if water spraying is required or merely the result of such a step is required. Since the spraying location appears central to the claim, Examiner assumes Applicant intend to positively claim the spraying step. Further, no “forming machine disposition position” or “rough cutting machine disposing position” is previously introduced, thus giving no antecedent basis to these terms. Finally, the end of the claim is quite unclear and recites two alternatives that appear to state the same thing. Examiner recommends amending: “spraying or applying water at a spraying location between the forming machine , wherein the forming machine and rough cutting machine are separated by a distance, and the spraying location
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tran (US 5,496,441).
Regarding Claims 1 and 6, Tran teaches a conventional process of forming paper-lined gypsum board including a method for continuously producing a gypsum board (See col. 1, line 65 to col. 2, line 8, teaching gypsum board), the method comprising a forming- and-conveying step of forming a board-like laminate (See col. 2, lines 8-10, stucco/gypsum between paper sheet) in which a gypsum slurry being a raw material for a gypsum material layer of a gypsum board is laminated between top paper of lining paper for gypsum board and bottom paper of lining paper for gypsum board and conveying the board-like laminate while forming the board-like laminate, wherein
the forming-and-conveying step has a series of processes of continuously pouring the gypsum slurry onto the bottom paper of lining paper for gypsum board before being continuously fed into a forming machine, laminating the top paper of lining paper for gypsum board on the poured gypsum slurry with the forming machine to mold the board-like laminate (See col. 2, lines 12-15 and lines 20-34, wherein a raw slurry is continuously coated onto paper, i.e. a series of processes as claimed, and the top layer of backing paper is applied through a “set of rolls” that act as a forming machine), and conveying the molded board-like laminate to a rough cutting machine with a conveying-and-forming belt (See col. 2, lines 43-50, wherein the board is conveyed, via a belt, i.e. conveying and forming belt at 300 ft/min, and cut into individual sheet, anything cutting being a rough cutting machine as claimed or at least rendering such a machine obvious to perform said cutting), and
spraying water onto the top paper of lining paper for gypsum board at a spraying location between the forming machine and the rough cutting machine (See col. 2, lines 38-42, wherein after forming and before cutting, the paper cover board is sprayed with water on the of the board to prevent rippling or buckling by uneven wetness).
Tran teaches after forming at the series of rollers that act at the forming machine, the paper covered board is sized and then sprayed with the water before being conveyed about 1000 feet to the cutter for 3 or 4 minutes for setting. Although Tran doesn’t specifically teach the exact distance of the spraying between forming and cutting, it clearly indicates its closer to the forming machine so drying can occur after spraying before cutting. Further, there is motivation to space the spraying from the forming machine at least partially in order to allowing sizing to occur prior to spraying so the board is sized to its final form without more fluid constraining compression into the paper before spraying to even out wetting. As such, spraying somewhere along the past after forming closer to forming than to cutting is clearly preferred in Tran and whether the distance is 1/16th, 1/8th, or 1/4th the distance is normally a routine optimization to balance the distance of sizing with the distance of drying, wherein the distance for drying is implicitly greater. See MPEP 2144.05 (II)(A). Note Applicant’s data only shows further distances from 1/4th away are worse, which is clearly implied in Tran so sprayed water can facilitate setting/drying which occurs afterwards for a sufficient period before cutting.
Regarding Claim 4, although precise water amounts sprayed are not articulated, it would have been apparent spraying should fully wet the paper wherein more water ensures this occurs easier and for thicker facings but increases drying times and less water improves drying efficient but requires more precise wetting and may be inadequate for thick facings. Where the general conditions of a claim (i.e. amount of water for wetting) are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (See MPEP 2144.05 (II)(A)). Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use routine experimentation to arrive at the water wetting amount, such as that which is claimed, in order to facilitate wetting to reduce rippling as recited.
Claim(s) 2, 3, 5, 7, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tran as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of JP2006082487 (wherein all textual citations are to the English machine translation provided, original in IDS filed 2/5/2025).
Regarding Claims 2, 3, 5, 7, and 8, Tran teaches the method of Claim 1 as described above. Tran teaches a conventional method for produces gypsum board but is silent as to paper basis weight. However, 80-200 g/m2 is well-known in conventional gypsum board making in order to provide breathability while also providing sufficient strength (See, for example, JP2006082487, page 8, paragraph [0010]). Further, using different basis weight, such as a difference of 10 g/m2, for top and bottom sides paper is well-known since the visually facing side and the non-visual side are known to have distinct requirements (See JP2006082487, page 22, paragraph [0035]). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to utilize 80-200 g/m2 basis weight paper. Doing so would have predictably provided suitable coverings for the respective requirements of the visual and non-visual sides for conventional gypsum board while adding breathability. Note Claims 5, 7, and 8 are rejected for the same reasons and claims 4 and 6 above.
Conclusion
/SCOTT W DODDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746