DETAILED ACTION
Email Communication
Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate with applicant via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502.03, 502.05.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-6, 8-9, 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO2004053903A1 hereafter referred to as Naruse.
In regards to claim 1, Naruse discloses
An electrolytic capacitor characterized by comprising a capacitor element (6 – fig. 1; [0012]) including an anode foil (1 – fig. 1; [0012]) and a cathode foil (2 – fig. 1; [0012]) that are wound with a separator (3 – fig. 1; [0012]), which holds a conductive polymer layer ([0022]), interposed therebetween, wherein a major component of the separator is glass fibers ([0015]) having a porosity of 75 to 90% ([0034]).
In regards to claim 2, Naruse discloses
The electrolytic capacitor according to claim 1, wherein the porosity of the glass fibers is 85 to 90% ([0034]).
In regards to claim 5, Naruse discloses
The electrolytic capacitor according to claim 1, characterized in that the separator contains at least one of polyester fibers, polyethylene fibers, polypropylene fibers, aramid fibers, acrylic fibers, and cellulose fibers ([0015]).
In regards to claim 6, Naruse discloses
The electrolytic capacitor according to claim 1, characterized in that the separator contains, as a binder, at least one of polyvinyl alcohol, polyvinyl butyral, polyvinylpyrrolidone, polyurethane, polyvinylidene fluoride, a styrene-butadiene rubber, and an acrylic resin ([0015]).
In regards to claim 8, Naruse discloses
A method for manufacturing an electrolytic capacitor, characterized by comprising:
a step of winding an anode foil (1 – fig. 1; [0012]) and a cathode foil (2 – fig. 1; [0012]) with a separator (3 – fig. 1; [0012]) interposed therebetween to produce a capacitor element (6 – fig. 1; [0012]);
a step of immersing the capacitor element in a dispersion liquid or solution of a conductive polymer ([0022]); and
a step of drying the capacitor element ([0022]),
wherein a major component of the separator is glass fibers ([0015]) having a porosity of 75 to 90% ([0034]).
In regards to claim 9, Naruse discloses
The method for manufacturing an electrolytic capacitor according to claim 8, characterized in that the porosity of the glass fibers is 85 to 90% ([0034]).
In regards to claim 12, Naruse discloses
The method for manufacturing an electrolytic capacitor according to claim 8, characterized in that the separator contains at least one of polyester fibers, polyethylene fibers, polypropylene fibers, aramid fibers, acrylic fibers, and cellulose fibers ([0015]).
In regards to claim 13, Naruse discloses
The method for manufacturing an electrolytic capacitor according to claim 8, characterized in that the separator contains, as a binder, at least one of polyvinyl alcohol, polyvinyl butyral, polyvinylpyrrolidone, polyurethane, polyvinylidene fluoride, a styrene-butadiene rubber, and an acrylic resin ([0015]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (US 2018/0218844) in view of JP02155217A hereafter referred to as Kurihara.
In regards to claim 1,
Sato ‘844 discloses an electrolytic capacitor characterized by comprising a capacitor element (10 – fig. 1; abstract) including an anode foil (1 – fig. 1; abstract) and a cathode foil (2 – fig. 1; abstract) that are wound with a separator (3 – fig. 1; abstract), which holds a conductive polymer layer ([0019]), interposed therebetween, wherein a major component of the separator is glass fibers ([0017]). Sato ‘844 fails to discloses the separator having a porosity of 75 to 90%.
Kurihara disclose an electrolytic capacitor characterized by comprising a capacitor element including an anode foil and a cathode foil that are wound with a separator (example section), wherein a major component of the separator is glass fibers having a porosity of 75 to 90% (means of solving the problem & table 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the separator of Kurihara as the separator of Sato ‘844 to obtain a capacitor with a lower resistance and allows for good electrolyte holding capacity.
In regards to claim 2,
Sato ‘844 as modified by Kurihara further discloses wherein the porosity of the glass fibers is 85 to 90% (table 2 of Kurihara).
In regards to claim 3,
Sato ‘844 as modified by Kurihara further discloses characterized in that the separator holds an electrolyte solution, and the average fiber diameter of the glass fibers is 0.5 to 1 µm (table 2 of Kurihara).
In regards to claim 4,
Sato ‘844 as modified by Kurihara further discloses characterized in that the glass fibers comprise at least one of borosilicate glass, alkali-free borosilicate glass, and high-silica glass (means for solving problem of Kurihara).
In regards to claim 5,
Sato ‘844 as modified by Kurihara further discloses characterized in that the separator contains at least one of polyester fibers, polyethylene fibers, polypropylene fibers, aramid fibers, acrylic fibers, and cellulose fibers (means for solving problem of Kurihara).
In regards to claim 6,
Sato ‘844 as modified by Kurihara further discloses characterized in that the separator contains, as a binder, at least one of polyvinyl alcohol, polyvinyl butyral, polyvinylpyrrolidone, polyurethane, polyvinylidene fluoride, a styrene-butadiene rubber, and an acrylic resin (means for solving problem of Kurihara).
In regards to claim 7,
Sato ‘844 as modified by Kurihara further discloses characterized in that the capacitor element is impregnated with the electrolyte solution containing at least one of ethylene glycol, γ-butyrolactone, and sulfolane ([0026] of Sato ‘844 & means for solving problem of Kurihara).
In regards to claim 8,
Sato ‘844 discloses a method for manufacturing an electrolytic capacitor, characterized by comprising:
a step of winding an anode foil (1 – fig. 1; abstract) and a cathode foil (1 – fig. 1; abstract) with a separator (3 – fig. 1; abstract) interposed therebetween to produce a capacitor element (10 – fig. 1; abstract);
a step of immersing the capacitor element in a dispersion liquid or solution of a conductive polymer ([0019]); and
a step of drying the capacitor element ([0019]),
wherein a major component of the separator is glass fibers ([0017]). Sato ‘844 fails to discloses the separator having a porosity of 75 to 90%.
Kurihara disclose an electrolytic capacitor characterized by comprising a capacitor element including an anode foil and a cathode foil that are wound with a separator (example section), wherein a major component of the separator is glass fibers having a porosity of 75 to 90% (means of solving the problem & table 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the separator of Kurihara as the separator of Sato ‘844 to obtain a capacitor with a lower resistance and allows for good electrolyte holding capacity.
In regards to claim 9,
Sato ‘844 as modified by Kurihara further discloses characterized in that the porosity of the glass fibers is 85 to 90% (table 2 of Kurihara).
In regards to claim 10,
Sato ‘844 as modified by Kurihara further discloses further comprising the step of immersing the capacitor element in an electrolyte solution (abstract & [0026] of Sato ‘844 & means for solving problem of Kurihara), characterized in that the average fiber diameter of the glass fibers is 0.5 to 1 µm (table 2 of Kurihara).
In regards to claim 11,
Sato ‘844 as modified by Kurihara further discloses characterized in that the glass fibers comprise at least one of borosilicate glass, alkali-free borosilicate glass, and high-silica glass (means for solving problem of Kurihara).
In regards to claim 12,
Sato ‘844 as modified by Kurihara further discloses characterized in that the separator contains at least one of polyester fibers, polyethylene fibers, polypropylene fibers, aramid fibers, acrylic fibers, and cellulose fibers (means for solving problem of Kurihara).
In regards to claim 13,
Sato ‘844 as modified by Kurihara further discloses characterized in that the separator contains, as a binder, at least one of polyvinyl alcohol, polyvinyl butyral, polyvinylpyrrolidone, polyurethane, polyvinylidene fluoride, a styrene-butadiene rubber, and an acrylic resin (means for solving problem of Kurihara).
In regards to claim 14,
Sato ‘844 as modified by Kurihara further discloses characterized in that the capacitor element is impregnated with the electrolyte solution containing at least one of ethylene glycol, γ-butyrolactone, and sulfolane ([0026] of Sato ‘844 & means for solving problem of Kurihara).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
JP2016066755A – glass separator with 85% or more porosity
US 20120267161A – fig. 1 US 2009/0021894A – fig. 3
JP01304719A – glass fiber separator with 75% or more porosity
Communication
/David M Sinclair/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847