DETAILED ACTION
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
HIDAKA et al [US 2017/0359884 A1] who teaches a communication address setting method for setting, in an operation terminal, communication addresses of a plurality of lighting devices. The communication address setting method includes: displaying a plurality of icons in a set order, on a screen of the operation terminal, the plurality of icons corresponding to a positional relationship of the plurality of lighting devices; and obtaining a communication address from each of the plurality of lighting devices, associating the plurality of icons in the set order with the communication addresses in an order of the obtaining, and displaying a state of the associating on the screen.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/29/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP2022-138470, filed on 08/31/2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MATSUZAWA MAKI [JP 2002-289377 A1].
In regards to claim 1. MATSUZAWA MAKI discloses a lighting control system (Fig. 1) comprising:
one or more lighting fixtures (Fig. 1, 16-1 to 16-2), each including one or more light emitters (Fig. 1, 16-1 to 16-2 & Paragraph [0035] “Lighting device 1 in which the light output of the light source is automatically controlled”);
a controller (Fig. 1, the control device 12) that controls the one or more light emitters (Fig. 1, 16-1 to 16-2); and
an acquirer (Fig. 1, the control device 12 and camera 10) that acquires position information that indicates a predetermined position (Paragraph [0034-42]) in a space to be illuminated by the one or more lighting fixtures (Fig. 1, 16-1 to 16-2) and a target brightness value (Fig. 1, 100% lit) of the predetermined position (Paragraph [0034-42]),
wherein the one or more light emitters (Fig. 1, 16-1 to 16-2 & Paragraph [0035] “Lighting device 1 in which the light output of the light source is automatically controlled”); and
the controller (Fig. 1, the control device 12) determines, based on the target brightness value (Paragraph [0023-33]) acquired by the acquirer (Paragraph [0034-42]),
MATSUZAWA MAKI does not specify in Embodiment 1 a lighting condition for the one or more light emitters, and controls the one or more light emitters based on the lighting condition determined and the one or more light emitters emit illumination light rays that illuminate different regions in space.
MATSUZAWA MAKI discloses in Embodiment 2- 6 a lighting condition for the one or more light emitters (Fig. 14, 16-1 to 16-4), and (Fig. 14, 20) controls the one or more light emitters (Fig. 14, 16-1 to 16-4) based on the lighting condition determined (Paragraph [0047-60])and the one or more light emitters (Fig. 14, 16-1 to 16-4) emit illumination light rays that illuminate different regions in the space (Fig. 20-22 & Paragraph [0064-72]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to use the teachings of embodiment 2-6 of MATSUZAWA MAKI with Embodiment 1 to disclose or teach a lighting condition for the one or more light emitters, and controls the one or more light emitters based on the lighting condition determined and the one or more light emitters emit illumination light rays that illuminate different regions in the space for purpose of smoothly and efficiently achieving lighting control in an indoor environment such as an office where a personal computer is owned by controlling the light output of a corresponding lighting fixture via a lighting control server as disclosed by MATSUZAWA MAKI (Paragraph [0013-20]).
In regards to claim 2. MATSUZAWA MAKI discloses the lighting control system according to claim1, wherein the controller specifies a light emitter to illuminate from among one or more light emitters based on the predetermined position and determines a lighting condition for the light emitter specified (see Fig. 12 & Paragraph [0055]).
In regards to claim 3. MATSUZAWA MAKI discloses the lighting control system according to claim1, wherein the acquirer further acquires a target value for at least one of a size, a shape, or a color of a lighting region for illuminating the predetermined position (see Fig. 12 & Paragraph [0055]).
In regards to claim 4. MATSUZAWA MAKI discloses the lighting control system to claim 1, wherein the acquirer acquires a plurality of target brightness values of a plurality of positions in the space (see Fig. 12 & Paragraph [0055]) including the target brightness value of the predetermined position, and the controller generates a brightness distribution in the space based on the plurality of target brightness values of the plurality of positions, and determines the lighting condition based on the brightness distribution generated (see Fig. 12 & Paragraph [0055]).
In regards to claim 5. MATSUZAWA MAKI discloses the lighting control system according claim 1,further comprising: a user interface that receives an operation input from a user (see paragraph [0037] the setting terminal device that performs selection operations using a mouse), wherein the acquirer acquires the target brightness value (the set illuminance, see paragraph [0041]) based on the operation input received by the user interface.
In regards to claim 6. MATSUZAWA MAKI discloses the lighting control system according claim 5, wherein the user interface (see paragraph [0037]) includes a display that displays a field (Paragraph [0037] the image captured by the camera) defined in a two- dimensional coordinate system, and a set of two-dimensional coordinates in the field corresponds to a position in the space (Paragraph [0034-45]).
In regards to claim 7. MATSUZAWA MAKI discloses the lighting control system to claim 6, wherein the field includes, as a background image, an image that shows a flat layout of the space or a captured image of the space (see paragraph [0037-40]).
In regards to claim 8. MATSUZAWA MAKI discloses the lighting control system according to The lighting control system according to wherein the display displays an icon in the field based on the operation input, and a set of two-dimensional coordinates that indicates a position of the icon in the field corresponds to the predetermined position (see paragraph [0037-40]).
In regards to claim 9. MATSUZAWA MAKI discloses the lighting control system according to claim 1, further comprising: a sensor (Fig. 1, the control device 12 and camera 10) that detects a predetermined lighting target object in the space, wherein the acquirer determines the predetermined position based on the lighting target object detected by the sensor, and acquires the target brightness value of the predetermined position determined (see paragraph [0055]).
In regards to claim 10. MATSUZAWA MAKI discloses the lighting control system according claim 1 wherein the one or more lighting fixtures include a plurality of first lighting fixtures, and the plurality of first lighting fixtures illuminate different regions (Fig. 12 & Paragraph [0055]).
In regards to claim 11. MATSUZAWA MAKI discloses the lighting control system according claim 1, wherein the one or more lighting fixtures include a second lighting fixture, and the second lighting fixture includes a plurality of light emitters out of the one or more light emitters (Fig. 12 & Paragraph [0055]).
In regards to claim 20. MATSUZAWA MAKI discloses a terminal device comprising:
a controller (Fig. 1, the control device 12) that controls one or more light emitters included in one or more lighting fixtures (Fig. 1, 16-1 to 16-2);
a user interface (Paragraph [0015]) that receives an operation input from a user (Paragraph [0012-13]); and an
acquirer (Fig. 1, the control device 12 and camera 10) that acquires position information that indicates a predetermined position (Paragraph [0034-43]) in a space to be illuminated by the one or more lighting fixtures (Fig. 1, 16-1 to 16-2) based on the operation input received by the user interface (Paragraph [0015]) and a target brightness value of the predetermined position (Paragraph [0034-43]),
wherein the one or more light emitters (Fig. 1, 16-1 to 16-2 & Paragraph [0035] “Lighting device 1 in which the light output of the light source is automatically controlled”)
MATSUZAWA MAKI does not specify in Embodiment 1 the controller determines a lighting condition for the one or more light emitters based on the target brightness value acquired by the acquirer and controls the one or more light emitters based on the lighting condition determined. emit illumination light rays that illuminate different regions in the space.
MATSUZAWA MAKI discloses in Embodiment 2- 6 the controller (Fig. 14, 20) determines a lighting condition for the one or more light emitters (Fig. 14, 16-1 to 16-4) based on the target brightness value (Paragraph [0062-63]) acquired by the acquirer (Fig. 14, the control device 12 and camera 10) and controls the one or more light emitters (Fig. 14, 16-1 to 16-4) based on the lighting condition determined. emit illumination light (Fig. 14, 16-1 to 16-4) rays that illuminate different regions in the space (Fig. 20-22 & Paragraph [0064-72]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to use the teachings of embodiment 2-6 of MATSUZAWA MAKI with Embodiment 1 to disclose or teach the controller determines a lighting condition for the one or more light emitters based on the target brightness value acquired by the acquirer and controls the one or more light emitters based on the lighting condition determined. emit illumination light rays that illuminate different regions in the space for purpose of smoothly and efficiently achieving lighting control in an indoor environment such as an office where a personal computer is owned by controlling the light output of a corresponding lighting fixture via a lighting control server as disclosed by MATSUZAWA MAKI (Paragraph [0013-20])
In regards to claim 21. MATSUZAWA MAKI discloses a lighting control method comprising:
controlling (Fig. 1, the control device 12) one or more light emitters included in one or more lighting fixtures (Fig. 1, 16-1 to 16-2); and
acquiring (Fig. 1, the control device 12 and camera 10) position information that indicates a predetermined position (Paragraph [0034-43]) in a space to be illuminated by the one or more lighting fixtures (Fig. 1, 16-1 to 16-2) and a target brightness value of the predetermined position (Paragraph [0034-43]),
wherein the one or more light emitters (Fig. 1, 16-1 to 16-2 & Paragraph [0035] “Lighting device 1 in which the light output of the light source is automatically controlled”)
MATSUZAWA MAKI does not specify in Embodiment 1 emit illumination light rays that illuminate different regions in the space, and the controlling includes: determining a lighting condition for the one or more light emitters based on the target brightness value acquired; and controlling the one or more light emitters based on the lighting condition determined.
MATSUZAWA MAKI discloses in Embodiment 2- 6 emit illumination light rays (Fig. 14, 16-1 to 16-4) that illuminate different regions in the space (Fig. 20-22 & Paragraph [0064-72]), and the controlling (Fig. 14, 20) includes: determining a lighting condition (Paragraph [0047-60]) for the one or more light emitters (Fig. 14, 16-1 to 16-4) based on the target brightness value (Paragraph [0062-63]) acquired; and controlling the one or more light emitters (Fig. 14, 16-1 to 16-4) based on the lighting condition determined (Paragraph [0047-60]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to use the teachings of embodiment 2-6 of MATSUZAWA MAKI with Embodiment 1 to disclose or teach a lighting condition for the one or more light emitters, and controls the one or more light emitters based on the lighting condition determined and the one or more light emitters emit illumination light rays that illuminate different regions in the space for purpose of smoothly and efficiently achieving lighting control in an indoor environment such as an office where a personal computer is owned by controlling the light output of a corresponding lighting fixture via a lighting control server as disclosed by MATSUZAWA MAKI (Paragraph [0013-20])
In regards to claim 22. MATSUZAWA MAKI discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium having recorded thereon a program for causing a computer (Paragraph [0012-15]) to execute the lighting control method according to claim 21.
Claims 12-13, 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MATSUZAWA MAKI [JP 2002-289377 A1] in view of TSUCHIHASHI NOBUHIRO [JP2014010336A]
In regards to claim 12. MATSUZAWA MAKI discloses the lighting control system according claim1,
MATSUZAWA MAKI does not specify details wherein the one or more lighting fixtures include a third lighting fixture, and the third lighting fixture includes an adjuster that adjusts a light emission direction of illumination light emitted from the one or more light emitters.
TSUCHIHASHI NOBUHIRO discloses wherein the one or more lighting fixtures include a third lighting fixture, and the third lighting fixture includes an adjuster that adjusts a light emission direction of illumination light emitted from the one or more light emitters (see paragraphs [0053]-[0055], fig. 4-6)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to use the teachings of TSUCHIHASHI NOBUHIRO with MATSUZAWA MAKI to discloses or teach wherein the one or more lighting fixtures include a third lighting fixture, and the third lighting fixture includes an adjuster that adjusts a light emission direction of illumination light emitted from the one or more light emitters for purpose of brightness and improve energy efficiency as disclosed by TSUCHIHASHI NOBUHIRO (Paragraph [0112]).
In regards to claim 13. MATSUZAWA MAKI discloses the lighting control system according claim 1,
MATSUZAWA MAKI does not specify the one or more lighting fixtures includes: a light source that includes a plurality of light emitters out of the one or more light emitters; a driving circuit that drives the light source; a projection lens that projects light emitted from the light source driven by the driving circuit as the illumination light rays; and a signal processor that specifies one or more lighting target surfaces based on a signal output from a detection device whose detection range covers at least a portion of a projection range of the projection lens, the plurality of light emitters are a plurality of light emitting elements arranged in a two- dimensional array, and the driving circuit drives the light source to direct the illumination light to illuminate the one or more lighting target surfaces specified by the signal processor in the projection range of the projection lens.
TSUCHIHASHI NOBUHIRO discloses the one or more lighting fixtures (Fig. 4, 42 & Paragraph [0053-55]) includes: a light source that includes a plurality of light emitters out of the one or more light emitters (Fig. 4, 42 & Paragraph [0053-55]); a driving circuit (fig. 16-21, 34) that drives the light source; a projection lens (fig. 16-21, 32) that projects light emitted from the light source driven by the driving circuit as the illumination light rays; and a signal processor (fig. 16-21, 27) that specifies one or more lighting target surfaces based on a signal output from a detection device (fig. 16-21,the ranging unit 62) whose detection range covers at least a portion of a projection range of the projection lens (fig. 16-21, 32), the plurality of light emitters are a plurality of light emitting elements (Fig. 4, 42 & Paragraph [0053-55]) arranged in a two- dimensional array (fig. 16-21, 32), and the driving circuit drives the light source to direct the illumination light to illuminate the one or more lighting target surfaces specified by the signal processor (fig. 16-21, 27) in the projection range of the projection lens (paragraphs [0107]-[0129], fig. 16-21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to use the teachings of TSUCHIHASHI NOBUHIRO with MATSUZAWA MAKI to discloses or teach the one or more lighting fixtures includes: a light source that includes a plurality of light emitters out of the one or more light emitters; a driving circuit that drives the light source; a projection lens that projects light emitted from the light source driven by the driving circuit as the illumination light rays; and a signal processor that specifies one or more lighting target surfaces based on a signal output from a detection device whose detection range covers at least a portion of a projection range of the projection lens, the plurality of light emitters are a plurality of light emitting elements arranged in a two- dimensional array, and the driving circuit drives the light source to direct the illumination light to illuminate the one or more lighting target surfaces specified by the signal processor in the projection range of the projection lens for purpose of brightness and improve energy efficiency as disclosed by TSUCHIHASHI NOBUHIRO (Paragraph [0112]).
In regards to claim 16, MATSUZAWA MAKI in view of TSUCHIHASHI NOBUHIRO discloses The lighting control system according claim 13, wherein the one or more lighting target surfaces are one or more surfaces that are parallel to a floor surface or a ground (MATSUZAWA MAKI Fig. 1, 16-1 to 16-2 & Paragraph [0035] “Lighting device 1 in which the light output of the light source is automatically controlled”)
.
In regards to claim 19, MATSUZAWA MAKI in view of TSUCHIHASHI NOBUHIRO discloses the lighting control system according claim 13, wherein the plurality of light emitting elements are micro light emitting diodes (pLEDs) (see paragraphs [0045] and [0135], etc.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-15 and 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
“wherein the detection device outputs, as the signal, a distance image whose pixels each indicate a distance from the detection device.” as shown in claim 14.
Conclusion
WEI (VICTOR) CHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2844
/WEI (VICTOR) Y CHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845