DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on February 5, 2025, and April 30, 2025, were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2025/0056571 (hereinafter “Zhang”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2023/0096178 (hereinafter “Wu”).
Regarding claim 21, Zhang teaches: A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) comprising: a receiver; a processor; and a transmitter (Fig. 24), wherein: the receiver is configured to receive sidelink positioning reference signal (SL- PRS) configuration information ([0056] . . . receiving a configuration signaling of the base station . . . While terminals located outside a coverage range of a network cannot receive the configuration signaling of the base station. In this case, the terminals located outside the coverage range of the network will determine sidelink configuration according to pre-configuration information and information carried on a physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH) transmitted by the terminals located within the coverage range of the network, to perform sidelink communication.); the processor is configured to determine at least one SL-PRS resource for transmitting a SL-PRS ([0181] Schematically, before the target terminal transmits the first SL-PRS to the reference terminal, it is necessary to select a transmission resource for transmitting the first SL-PRS); and the transmitter is configured to transmit the SL-PRS with an indication of the at least one SL-PRS resource in a sidelink control information (SCI) ([0071] If multiple time domain DMRS patterns are configured within the resource pool, a specific time domain DMRS pattern to be adopted is selected by a transmitting UE and indicated in first-stage sidelink control information (SCI). [0184] Schematically, the first transmission mode corresponds to the first mode of resource transmission in the sidelink, and the transmission resource of the first SL-PRS selected by the target terminal is a resource that the network device instructs the target terminal to perform transmission by selecting a specified transmission resource in the first resource pool.), wherein a format of the SCI is based on whether the SL-PRS is a standalone SL-PRS ([0063] If the terminal listened to a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) within the listening window; [0067]) or whether the SL-PRS is transmitted with SL data ([0059] Second mode: the terminal selects a resource from a resource pool for data transmission. See also, U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0096178).
It is not entirely clear that Zhang teaches receiving “sidelink positioning reference signal (SL- PRS) configuration information” and “wherein a format of the SCI is based on whether the SL-PRS is a standalone SL-PRS.”
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wu teaches: wherein a format of the SCI is based on whether the SL-PRS is a standalone SL-PRS ([0102]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang to include the feature of a specific format (e.g., SCI-1) and a combination of Zhang with Wu renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., basing a format of the SCI on the standalone SL-PRS).
Regarding claim 22, Zhang teaches: wherein the format of the SCI is a first stage SCI ([0063] If the terminal listened to a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) within the listening window; [0067]) based on the WTRU transmitting a standalone SL-PRS ([0055] sidelink communication outside network coverage [0056] all terminals determine the sidelink configuration according to the pre-configuration information, to perform sidelink communication. See also, Fig. 2 [0056] if standalone includes an xNB).
Regarding claim 23, Zhang teaches: wherein the transmitter is further configured to transmit the SL-PRS in a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) ([0193] In some embodiments, the first SL-PRS transmitted to the reference terminal is indicated by a first PSCCH, that is, the target terminal simultaneously transmits the first SL-PRS and the first PSCCH within a transmission slot of the first SL-PRS.).
Regarding claim 24, Zhang teaches: wherein the format of the SCI is a second stage SCI based on the WTRU transmitting the SL-PRS with sidelink data ([0210] Indication manner A: a number of bits of the second-stage SCI is the same as that of one of SCI formats 2-A, 2-B and 2-C).
Regarding claim 25, Zhang teaches: wherein the transmitter is further configured to transmit the SL-PRS in a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) ([0200] In some embodiments, on an OFDM symbol in which the first PSSCH DMRS indicated by a DMRS pattern field of the first PSCCH is located, a sequence and positions of occupied resource elements (REs) positions of a first SL-PRS transmitted by the target terminal should be the same as that of a first PSSCH DMRS to be transmitted on the OFDM symbol, so that other terminals using the second resource pool may perform channel listening according to the first PSSCH DMRS transmitted by the target terminal.).
Regarding claim 26, Zhang teaches: wherein the second stage SCI comprises an indication of a SL-PRS pattern ([0208] The second-stage SCI may indicate at least one of information, such as, a source ID of the target terminal, a reference terminal ID of the first SL-PRS, a sequence ID of the first SL-PRS, a pattern (comb interval) of the first SL-PRS, or the like, that is, the second-stage SCI is used to indicate at least one of the following information: an ID of the target terminal; an ID of the reference terminal; a sequence ID of the first sidelink positioning reference signal; or a comb pattern of the first sidelink positioning reference signal).
Regarding claim 27, Zhang teaches: wherein the second stage SCI is indicated by a bitfield in a first stage SCI ([0210] For example, a specific bit field of the first PSCCH is specified to be set to 1, that is, the number of bits of the second-stage SCI is the same as that of one of the SCI formats 2-A, 2-B and 2-C, a first bit in a first bit field of the first PSCCH is set as a first value, and the first value is used to indicate that the first slot is a slot used for transmitting the first sidelink positioning reference signal.).
Regarding claim 28, Zhang teaches: wherein the SL-PRS is transmitted in different symbols than the sidelink data ([0199], specification indicates that different symbols is TDM in [0077], [0177]).
Regarding claim 29, Zhang teaches: wherein the at least one SL-PRS resource comprises at least one of: a SL-PRS resource identification (ID), a comb size, a resource element (RE) offset, a starting symbol of a SL-PRS, or a SL-PRS duration ([0062] The terminal determines corresponding slots within the selection window by using a set of values of a resource reservation period field in resource pool configuration used. [0068] As illustrated in FIG. 7, a network configures that sidelink start symbols equals to 3 (SL-StartSymbols=3)).
Regarding claim 30, Zhang teaches: wherein the SL-PRS configuration information comprises at least one of: a dedicated resource pool for SL-PRS transmission or a shared resource pool for SL-PRS transmission and data ([0188], [0059], [0108], [0142], [0162]).
Regarding claim 31, Zhang teaches: A method for use by a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (Fig. 24), the method comprising: receiving sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) configuration information ([0056] While terminals located outside a coverage range of a network cannot receive the configuration signaling of the base station. In this case, the terminals located outside the coverage range of the network will determine sidelink configuration according to pre-configuration information and information carried on a physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH) transmitted by the terminals located within the coverage range of the network, to perform sidelink communication.); determining at least one SL-PRS resource for transmitting a SL-PRS ([0181] Schematically, before the target terminal transmits the first SL-PRS to the reference terminal, it is necessary to select a transmission resource for transmitting the first SL-PRS); and transmitting the SL-PRS with an indication of the at least one SL-PRS resource in a sidelink control information (SCI), wherein a format of the SCI is based on whether the SL-PRS is a standalone SL-PRS ([0184] Schematically, the first transmission mode corresponds to the first mode of resource transmission in the sidelink, and the transmission resource of the first SL-PRS selected by the target terminal is a resource that the network device instructs the target terminal to perform transmission by selecting a specified transmission resource in the first resource pool.) or whether the SL-PRS is transmitted with SL data ([0059] Second mode: the terminal selects a resource from a resource pool for data transmission.).
It is not entirely clear that Zhang teaches receiving “sidelink positioning reference signal (SL- PRS) configuration information” and “wherein a format of the SCI is based on whether the SL-PRS is a standalone SL-PRS.”
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wu teaches: wherein a format of the SCI is based on whether the SL-PRS is a standalone SL-PRS ([0102]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang to include the feature of a specific format (e.g., SCI-1) and a combination of Zhang with Wu renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., basing a format of the SCI on the standalone SL-PRS).
Regarding claim 32, Zhang teaches: wherein the format of the SCI is a first stage SCI ([0063] If the terminal listened to a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) within the listening window; [0067]) based on the WTRU transmitting a standalone SL-PRS ([0055] sidelink communication outside network coverage [0056] all terminals determine the sidelink configuration according to the pre-configuration information, to perform sidelink communication. See also, Fig. 2 [0056] if standalone includes an xNB).
Regarding claim 33, Zhang teaches: transmitting the SL-PRS in a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) ([0193] In some embodiments, the first SL-PRS transmitted to the reference terminal is indicated by a first PSCCH, that is, the target terminal simultaneously transmits the first SL-PRS and the first PSCCH within a transmission slot of the first SL-PRS.).
Regarding claim 34, Zhang teaches: wherein the format of the SCI is a second stage SCI based on the WTRU transmitting the SL-PRS with sidelink data ([0210] Indication manner A: a number of bits of the second-stage SCI is the same as that of one of SCI formats 2-A, 2-B and 2-C).
Regarding claim 35, Zhang teaches: transmitting the SL-PRS in a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) ([0200] In some embodiments, on an OFDM symbol in which the first PSSCH DMRS indicated by a DMRS pattern field of the first PSCCH is located, a sequence and positions of occupied resource elements (REs) positions of a first SL-PRS transmitted by the target terminal should be the same as that of a first PSSCH DMRS to be transmitted on the OFDM symbol, so that other terminals using the second resource pool may perform channel listening according to the first PSSCH DMRS transmitted by the target terminal.).
Regarding claim 36, Zhang teaches: wherein the second stage SCI comprises an indication of a SL-PRS pattern ([0208] The second-stage SCI may indicate at least one of information, such as, a source ID of the target terminal, a reference terminal ID of the first SL-PRS, a sequence ID of the first SL-PRS, a pattern (comb interval) of the first SL-PRS, or the like, that is, the second-stage SCI is used to indicate at least one of the following information: an ID of the target terminal; an ID of the reference terminal; a sequence ID of the first sidelink positioning reference signal; or a comb pattern of the first sidelink positioning reference signal).
Regarding claim 37, Zhang teaches: wherein the second stage SCI is indicated by a bitfield in a first stage SCI ([0210] For example, a specific bit field of the first PSCCH is specified to be set to 1, that is, the number of bits of the second-stage SCI is the same as that of one of the SCI formats 2-A, 2-B and 2-C, a first bit in a first bit field of the first PSCCH is set as a first value, and the first value is used to indicate that the first slot is a slot used for transmitting the first sidelink positioning reference signal.).
Regarding claim 38, Zhang teaches: wherein the SL-PRS is transmitted in different symbols than the sidelink data ([0199], specification indicates that different symbols is TDM in [0077], [0177]).
Regarding claim 39, Zhang teaches: wherein the at least one SL-PRS resource comprises at least one of: a SL-PRS resource identification (ID), a comb size, a resource element (RE) offset, a starting symbol of a SL-PRS, or a SL-PRS duration ([0062] The terminal determines corresponding slots within the selection window by using a set of values of a resource reservation period field in resource pool configuration used. [0068] As illustrated in FIG. 7, a network configures that sidelink start symbols equals to 3 (SL-StartSymbols=3)).
Regarding claim 40, Zhang teaches: wherein the SL-PRS configuration information comprises at least one of: a dedicated resource pool for SL-PRS transmission or a shared resource pool for SL-PRS transmission and data ([0188], [0059], [0108], [0142], [0162]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Publication No. 2026/0059471 (Lee) related to a method and device for controlling sidelink positioning procedure in wireless communication system
U.S. Publication No. 2025/0048316 (Dai) related to paired windows for sidelink positioning reference signals
/JAB/ Examiner, Art Unit 2643
/JINSONG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643