DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, “Tesla valve-like”, unclear what this means? The conveying device is either a Tesla Vale or not?
Claim 6, “a plurality of conveying channels”, unclear what this mean in view of claim 1 (e.g. claim 1 provides limitation “Tesla valve-like conveying channel”).
Claim 8, “all the conveying channels”, unclear what this mean in view of claim 1 (e.g. claim 1 provides limitation “Tesla valve-like conveying channel”).
Claim 8, “configured to be geometrically identical”, unclear what applicant is trying to claim (e.g. are the channels geometrically identical?). It is noted that configured to is an intended use and/or capability limitation.
Claim 9, “the conveying channel of the rotatable part and the conveying channel of the stationary part, unclear what this mean in view of claim 1 (e.g. claim 1 provides limitation “Tesla valve-like conveying channel” and “and/or”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ledig (US20140308112A1).
Ledig discloses conveying device for conveying a liquid, comprising a rotatable part (e.g. 81), a stationary part (e.g. 5), wherein a conveying gap (e.g. gap between outer surface of 81 and inner surface of 5) is present between the rotatable part and the stationary part, and wherein a Tesla valve-like conveying channel is formed on the rotatable part and/or on the stationary part, wherein the conveying channel has a greater flow resistance in one flow direction than in the other flow direction (e.g. this is the function of the Tesla Valve). Regarding claim 2: Wherein the conveying channel comprises a plurality of alternately arranged narrowing regions and widening regions (e.g. this would be the case due to the plurality of groove that are oblique). Regarding claim 3: Wherein the widening regions are curved (e.g. see curved region of 71) and are arranged alternately along a flow direction through the conveying channel, on a conveying channel axis (e.g. see figure 5). Regarding claim 4: Wherein the conveying channel is arranged at an acute angle (e.g. acute angle of 71 relative to longitudinal axis) to the axial direction (X-X).
Regarding claim 6: The conveying device comprising a plurality of conveying channels (e.g. each of channel 71) arranged in parallel with one another. Regarding claim 7: Wherein the rotatable part is a ring (e.g. 9), on the outer periphery of which the conveying channel is arranged, and/or wherein the stationary part (e.g. 22) is a ring, on the inner periphery of which the conveying channel is arranged. Regarding claim 8: wherein all the conveying channels (e.g. each of channel 7) are configured to be geometrically identical. Regarding claim 10: Ledig discloses mechanical seal assembly comprising a mechanical seal comprising a rotating slide ring (e.g. 21) and a stationary slide ring (e.g. 22) which define a sealing gap between their sliding surfaces, and the conveying device.
Claim(s) 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Van Herpt (US3558238).
Herpt discloses conveying device for conveying a liquid, comprising a rotatable part (e.g. 26), a stationary part (e.g. 23), wherein a conveying gap (e.g. gap between outer surface 26 and inner surface of 26) is present between the rotatable part and the stationary part, and wherein a Tesla valve-like conveying channel (e.g. channels are made of smaller and larger sections) is formed on the rotatable part and/or on the stationary part, wherein the conveying channel has a greater flow resistance in one flow direction than in the other flow direction (e.g. this is the function of the Tesla Valve). Regarding claim 9: Wherein the conveying channel (e.g. channel formed by 27 and 28) of the rotatable part (e.g. 26) and the conveying channel (e.g. channel formed by 25 to 26) of the stationary part (e.g. 23) are arranged at the same angle (e.g. angles of channels).
Claim(s) 1 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bothien et al (US.6164655).
Bothien discloses conveying device for conveying a liquid, comprising a rotatable part (e.g. 8), a stationary part (e.g. 15), wherein a conveying gap (e.g. gap between surface 8 and surface of 15) is present between the rotatable part and the stationary part, and wherein a Tesla valve-like conveying channel (e.g. channels are made of smaller and larger sections, see 29, 22 and 23) is formed on the rotatable part and/or on the stationary part, wherein the conveying channel has a greater flow resistance in one flow direction than in the other flow direction (e.g. this is the function of the Tesla Valve). Regarding claim 4: Wherein the conveying channel is arranged at an acute angle (e.g. angle of 45 degrees + 20 degrees, see claim 6) to the axial direction (X-X). Regarding claim 5: Wherein the acute angle (α) is in a range of 60° to 89° (e.g. the angle is possible to be 25 to 65 degrees).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. It is noted that no claims are allow individually or in combination, see reference of US-20240003424 which is same as CN115076374 which also teaches Tesla structure, Uth US-6494458 which teach 16 having 44 and 32 having 42, Baker US-4243230 teaches gap having 40, Ludwig US-4084825 teaches gap 46, Mayer US-3968969 teaches gap formed by 22 and 23, Mayer US-3843140 teaches gap formed by 23 and 24, Mayer US-3746350 teaches gap formed by 17 and 15, and Nikola US-1329559 teaches in figure 1 valvular conduit that is Tesla valve.
/VISHAL A PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675