DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed 5 February 2025 which is a 371 of PCT/EP2023/071404 filed 2 August 2023 which claims foreign priority to ATA 60124/2022 filed 17 August 2022. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Objections
Claims 1-16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Each independent claim begins with either “Pivoting”; “Aircraft” or “Computer-aided” and should start with “A pivoting”; “An aircraft” or “A Computer-aided”. Subsequently, each dependent claim should start with “The pivoting” and “The aircraft”.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “a complete wing profile (4) or a complete wing profile” which is redundant and should be corrected to “a complete wing profile (4) Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “means of a central receptacle” in claim 15.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tighe (US 2015/0225071).
- Regarding Claim 1. Tighe discloses a pivoting wing (13a/b made up of segments 15a/b and 17a/b, fig. 1-2; alternate wing 30/40 makeup illustrated by fig. 9 and 10) for an aircraft (10, fig. 1-10), characterized in that the pivoting wing (13) is designed as a partial-profile pivoting wing (illustrated by fig. 9 and 10 segments 31/33 or 41/43), wherein the partial-profile pivoting wing (13/30/40) is assembled from individual partial profiles (15/17; 31/33; 41/43) when these partial profiles are pivoted together (illustrated by fig. 1 and 10).
- Regarding Claim 2. Tighe discloses the pivoting wing according to claim 1,
- wherein the individual partial profiles (31/33 or 41/43), when the partial profiles are pivoted together (illustrated by fig. 9-10), are assembled to form a complete wing profile (30/40, fig. 9-10), and
- wherein the partial profiles (31/33 or 41/43), when the partial profiles are moved apart or pivoted out (illustrated by fig. 2), form individual profiles of the wing profile (illustrated by fig. 2).
- Regarding Claim 3. Pivoting wing according to Claim 1, wherein the partial profiles are locked when the partial profiles are pivoted together (illustrated by fig. 1 and 9-10).
- Regarding Claim 4. Tighe discloses the pivoting wing according to Claim 1, which comprises two or more partial profiles (15/17, 31/33, 41/43).
- Regarding Claim 5. Tighe discloses the pivoting wing according to Claim 1, wherein each partial profile comprises the external shape of a segment of the aerofoil profile (illustrated by fig. 9-10 and segments 31/33 and 41/43).
- Regarding Claim 6. Tighe discloses the pivoting wing according to Claim 1, wherein the partial profile consists of a partial wing profile segment and a spar or a plurality of spars (inherently, to provide the rigidity required for a wing to withstand flight loads, spars or a plurality of spars are required within the construction of the partial wing profile segments 31/33 or 41/43).
- Regarding Claim 7. Tighe discloses the pivoting wing according to Claim 6, wherein the partial wing profile segment and the spar are formed as a single component (Tighe illustrates the segment and spar as a single component, either 31/33 or 41/43).
- Regarding Claim 8. Tighe discloses the pivoting wing according to Claim 1, which comprises one rigid partial profile (fig. 1 and 9 illustrates 15/17 for wing 13 and 33/31 for wing 30, and given the construction of fig. 1 with one rotating collar associated with the rear wing segment, portion 15/33 is the rigid portion, and 17/31 is the pivoting portion).
- Regarding Claim 9. Tighe discloses the pivoting wing according to Claim 8, wherein the movable or pivotable partial profiles (31) are narrower in comparison to the rigid partial profile (33, fig. 9 illustrates the leading edge portion 33 as wider than the trailing edge portion 31 as is known in the art).
- Regarding Claim 10. Tighe discloses the pivoting wing according to Claim 1, wherein the pivotable partial profile (31) comprises at least one of the drives specified hereinafter, namely:
- motor-propeller combination (“thrust direction may be used to cause wing segments to separate or come together” [0041]).
- Regarding Claim 11. Tighe discloses the pivoting wing according to Claim 10, wherein a propulsion caused by the drive can be converted into a lifting force, in particular by a pivotable drive (“vertical flight orientation” [0040], the mode of fig. 1 is the mode in which propellers of the propulsion drive cause a lifting force).
- Regarding Claim 12. Tighe discloses the pivoting wing according to Claim 10, wherein when the configuration of the motor-propeller combination is present as the drive (see claim 10), the forward-oriented partial profile (15 or 33) of the wing profile (13 or 30) comprises a pull propeller (16, the propeller is on the front of the wing segment, making it a pull propeller) and the rearward-oriented partial profile (17 or 31) of the wing profile (13 or 30) comprises a push propeller (14, the propeller is on the rear of the wing segment, making it a push propeller).
- Regarding Claim 13. Tighe discloses an aircraft comprising a fuselage (11) configuration which, depending on the design, comprises a fuselage (11), and a pivoting wing according to Claim 1 on the left and right sides of the fuselage configuration (see claim 1 and fig. 1-2).
- Regarding Claim 14. Tighe disclose the aircraft according to Claim 13, which comprises a spar box (inherent to wing construction), wherein the partial profiles (15/17, 31/33, 41/43) are realized as individual spars (inherently required for wing construction) and are each connected to the spar box and thereby to the fuselage by individual spare bolts (fig. 1 and 2 illustrate the collars which attach the wings and components of the wings to the fuselage; while specific construction details of the connection are not provided, the use of spare bolts would be inherent to wing and fuselage connection construction).
- Regarding Claim 15. Tighe disclose the aircraft according to Claim 13, wherein the partial profiles consist (15/17, 31/33, 41/43) of spars extending from one side of the fuselage (11) to the other side of the fuselage (11, illustrated by fig. 1 and 2), wherein the continuous spars are connected to the fuselage by means of a central receptacle (23/25, the collars are equivalent to central receptacles).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tighe in view of Obviousness.
- Regarding Claim 16. Tighe discloses a method for operating an aircraft (10) with a pivoting wing according to Claim 1 (see claim 1) in the flight states specified hereinafter, namely:
- in a horizontal flight state (illustrated by fig. 1) in which the partial profiles of the respective partial-profile pivoting wing are pivoted together and a complete wing thus formed with the effect of a drive, in particular of the respective partial profile, generates the aircraft uplift, like a conventional aircraft (see [0030]), and
- in a transition flight state in which the partial profiles are moved apart so that partial wings are formed from the complete wing (illustrated by fig. 2), whereby the aircraft uplift of the complete wing decreases, possibly being partially taken over by the individual partial wings, whilst the drive or an effective direction of the drive is successively pivoted in such a way that the decrease in the uplift of the complete wing is compensated when the partial profiles move apart (see [0031]-[0032]), and
- in a take-off or landing or hovering flight state in which the partial profiles of the partial-profile pivoting wing are moved apart and purely the directed effect of the drive provides the necessary power for the take-off or landing or hovering flight state (see [0032]). Tighe does not explicitly disclose a computer-aided method, though it is inferred by one of ordinary skill that computer control is required to operate the vehicle of Tighe). As such since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in the respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention; and it is obvious to use a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way; and it is obvious to apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143 A-D
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon but considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in PTO-892.
/TYE WILLIAM ABELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3644 7 September 2026