DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
After entry of the preliminary amendment filed February 5, 2025, the pending claims are claims 1-20.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on February 5, 2025 and May 27, 2026 have been considered by the examiner. An initialed copy of each IDS is included with this Office Action.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
in FIG. 10, “Second Wireless Communication Device 1002” should be “Second Wireless Communication Device 1004” (see paragraph [0124], line 2);
in FIG. 11, it appears that “Data 1” of signal 1110 corresponding to the energy pulse after the energy pulses 1121, 1122 and 1123 should be “Data 0” (see signal 1120); and
in FIG. 16, “Envelope Detection Module 1604” should be “Envelope Detection Module 1602” (see paragraph [0153], line 6) and the reference character (see “1604” for the “Envelope Detection Module”) should not cross or mingle with the lines (see 37 CFR 1.84(p)(3)).
Claim Objections
The claims are objected to because of the following informalities:
in claim 1, line 2, the comma should be deleted; and
in claim 19, line 2, the comma should be deleted.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regard to claim 1, since the steps of a method claim are not interpreted as performed in a specific order where, as a matter of logic or grammar, the language of the method claims do not impose a specific order on the performance of the method steps (see MPEP 2111.01(II)), the scope of the claim encompasses an embodiment wherein the “taking one or more actions” step is performed after the “transmitting” step. Based on the detailed description, the actions to “maintain a time-averaged voltage” via actions by the transmitter (e.g. transmitting a NULL symbol or inverted pulse) and/or the receiver (e.g. adjusting the time-averaged voltage or suspending power averaging) seem to occur prior to transmission of the RF signals including the plurality of encoded energy pulses. Therefore, the embodiment of claim 1 that performs the “taking one or more actions” step after “transmitting” step appears inconsistent with the specific details of the “one or more actions…” as described in the detailed description. Furthermore, it doesn’t seem to make sense to take these actions regarding the RF signals (see lines 6-7) after the RF signals have already been transmitted (see lines 3-5).
With regard to claim 4, it is unclear how “a threshold number of energy pulses” on line 3 relates to “a plurality of energy pulses” included in the RF signals (see claim 1, line 4).
Claim 4 recites the limitation “the determined threshold number of energy pulses” in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 4, lines 2-3 recites determining that a threshold number of pulses… are to be transmitted contiguously but it does not recite determining “a threshold number of energy pulses” that provides antecedent basis for “the determined threshold number of energy pulses” on line 4.
With regard to claim 4, it is unclear how the transmitting step on lines 4-7 relates to the transmitting step in claim 1, lines 3-6. For example, are there two transmitting steps wherein RF signals without a specialized symbol are transmitted (see claim 1, lines 3-6) and RF signals with a specialized symbol also transmitted?
With regard to claim 6, it is unclear what constitutes a “NULL symbol” within the scope of the invention since claim 6 does not define details of the “NULL symbol.”
With regard to claim 8, it is unclear how “a threshold number of energy pulses” on line 3 relates to “a plurality of energy pulses” included in the RF signals (see claim 1, line 4).
With regard to claim 9, it is unclear how “transmitting the threshold number of energy pulses” relates to the step of “transmitting” the RF signals including a plurality of energy pulses in claim 1, lines 3-5. Does the “plurality of energy pulse” include the “threshold number of energy pulses”?
Dependent claim(s) are rejected under the same ground(s) as the claim(s) from which it depends.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by van Nierkerk et al. (US Patent No. 8,773,243 B1 cited in the IDS filed May 27, 2026).
With regard to claim 1, van Nierkerk et al. discloses the claimed invention including a method for wireless communication by a first wireless communication device wherein the method comprises: a. transmitting RF signals, the RF signals including a plurality of energy pulse encoded, using an encoding scheme, to indicate binary values (see RFID reader 100 in FIG. 1 and column 12, lines 17-21); and b. taking one or more actions to maintain a time-averaged voltage associated with the RF signals within a threshold range (see column 30, lines 11-53 wherein “training” and “using a preamble” reads on “taking one or more actions” to maintain a time-average voltage within a threshold range, i.e. DC-balanced which is implicitly within threshold range).
With regard to claim 2, van Nierkerk et al. discloses the claimed invention including based on the encoding scheme, the energy pulses having a first width to indicate a first binary value and a second pulse width to indicate a second binary value. (See FIG. 10B and column 30, line 54 – column 31, line 6)
With regard to claim 3, van Nierkerk et al. discloses the claimed invention including the encoding scheme comprises a pulse interval encoding (PIE) scheme. (See FIG. 10B and column 30, line 54 – column 31, line 6)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over van Nierkerk et al. Van Nierkerk et al. discloses the claimed invention except for dynamically configuring the encoding scheme to encode the energy pulse of the RF signals. Since van Nierkerk et al. discloses using Manchester encoding or pulse interval encoding for the preamble (see FIGs. 10A and 10B, respectively), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to switch/select between the encoding schemes (i.e. “dynamically configure the encoding”) based on the decoding scheme of the receiver.
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over van Nierkerk et al. in view of Giles (US Patent No. 6,208,696 B1).
With regard to claim 19, van Nierkerk et al. discloses the claimed invention including a method for wireless communication by a second device comprising receiving RF signals (via the “Tag antenna 104” in FIG. 1) from a first wireless device (see “RFID reader 100” in FIG. 1) wherein the RF signals include a plurality of energy pulses encoded, using an encoding scheme, to indicate binary values (see FIGs. 10A and 10B and column 30, line 24 – column 31, line 6). However, van Nierkerk et al. does not teach taking one or more actions to maintain a time-averaged voltage associated with the RF signals within a threshold range. Giles teaches maintaining/holding an average voltage derived during preamble processing and then using the derived average voltage for processing the subsequent data. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Giles with that of van Nierkerk et al. in order to use an accurate average voltage for data processing.
With regard to claim 20, van Nierkerk et al. in view of Giles disclose the claimed invention including based on the encoding scheme, the energy pulses having a first width to indicate a first binary value and second pulse width to indicate a second binary value. (See van Nierkerk et al., FIG. 10B and column 30, line 54 – column 31, line 6)
Conclusion
Please note that non-cited portions of the respective references may also read on the claim limitations. Therefore, the references should be considered in their entirety.
/BETSY DEPPE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2633