Detailed Action
Claims 30-49 are pending and are now evaluated on its merits.
Priority
This application claims foreign benefit to IN202221045237, dated 08/08/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) dated 06/25/2025 complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609. Accordingly, it has been placed in the application file and the information therein has been considered as to the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 30-49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 30, the structure Formula (4)
renders the claim indefinite. Formula 4, a preparation step of Formula (1)
, has a stereochemistry configuration which was not a limitation of Formula (1).
Regarding claims 32-34, 38-43 and 48-49, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 47, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claims 42-43 recites the limitation "mesylate salt (compound of Formula (5b))" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 42-43 are dependent on claim 40 which recites phosphoric salt of Formula (5a) and fails to recite Formula (5b).
Regarding claim 44, the phrase "namely" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 48-49 recites the limitation "phosphate salt (compound (5a))" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 42-43 are dependent on claim 41 which recites mesylate salt of Formula (5b) and fails to recite Formula (5a).
Claims 35-37 and 45-46 are rendered indefinite as depending on claim 1, thus having the indefinite limitation of Formula (4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 30-37, 39-40 and 42-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Phull et al. (WO 2018167515 A1) in view of Gu et al. (CN 108101943 A).
Regarding claims 30-37, 39-40 and 42-47, Phull teaches salts of (((1-(6-amino-9H-purin-9-yl)propan-2-yloxy)methyl)(phenoxy) phosphoryloxy)methyl pivalate of Formula (I)
, the preparation of; pharmaceutical compositions comprising formula (I) and a pharmaceutical excipient, and methods of treating a disease which responds to inhibition of nucleotide reverse transcriptase activity of HIV (relevant to claims 46-47) (abstract). The preparation as taught by Phull comprises 9-[2-(Phosphonomethoxy)propyl]adenine
stirred with a solvent of dimethyl carbonate, then addition of a catalyst of tetrabutyl ammonium bromide (relevant to claim 36) and organic base of Ν,Ν-Diisopropylethyl amine. After which Chloromethyl pivalate is added to the reaction at a temperature of 60-65°C for 5 hours (relevant to claim 39). The reaction is then converted to phosphate salt of (((l-(6-amino-9H-purin-9- yl)propan-2-yloxy)methyl) (phenoxy) phosphoryloxy) methyl pivalate by reaction with phosphoric acid (relevant to claims 31 and 40) (Pg. 29).
Other forms additionally taught by Phull are of reacting the above phosphate salt of (((1- (6-amino-9H-purin-9-yl)propan-2-yloxy)methyl) (phenoxy) phosphoryloxy) methyl pivalate with fumaric acid (relevant to claims 42-43) (example 6) and reacting (((1- (6-amino-9H-purin-9-yl)propan-2-yloxy)methyl) (phenoxy) phosphoryloxy) methyl pivalate free base with an acid selected from fumaric acid, tartaric acid, phosphoric acid, oxalic acid, succinic acid or citric acid (relevant to claim 32) (Pg. 3, lines 20-26).
Phull fails to teach step (a) of claimed invention of reacting formula (2)
with triphenylphosphite
in the presence of a base and solvent to form
.
Gu teaches compounds related to formulas
for treating virus infectious diseases, especially AIDS (HIV) infection and the preparation thereof (abstract). Of the preparation Gu teaches
reacted with triphenyl phosphate in the presence an organic base of triethylamine and solvent of acetonitrile (relevant to claims 34-35) (para. 0021-0022).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art to have prepared
wherein the preparing comprises a step of reacting
with triphenylphosphite
in the presence of a base and solvent to form
from the teachings of Phull. One would have been motivated to do so from the teachings of Gu of a similar product compound as Phull for treating the same disease in which the preparation comprises
. Thus, one would use the same preparation steps as Gu to develop compound
taught by Phull and Gu.
It would have additionally been obvious for the preparation steps taught by Phull provide compound
with a purity of 99% per MPEP 2112.01 (II): Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. Id.
Additionally the ratio of
to solvent in the range of 1:1 to 1:5 from the teachings of Phull and Gu would have been obvious as they teach the same reaction steps as claimed invention as thus would have the same range and per MPEP 2144.05 (II):Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Conclusion
MIKHAIL O'DONNEL. ROBINSON
Examiner
Art Unit 1627
/MIKHAIL O'DONNEL ROBINSON/ Examiner, Art Unit 1627
/SARAH PIHONAK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1627