DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Comments
Column and line (or Paragraph Number) citations have been provided as a convenience for Applicants, but the entirety of each reference should be duly considered. Any recitation of a Figure element, e.g. “Figure 1, element T should be construed as inherently also reciting “and relevant disclosure thereto”.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because: where only a single view is used in an application to illustrate the claimed invention, it must NOT be numbered and the abbreviation "FIG." must not appear.
See 37CFR 1.84(u)(1), last sentence.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 5 lacks antecedent basis for the limitation “the decorative trim profile” in line 10. This is the first instance of the recitation and should perhaps instead be “a decorative trim profile of the roof decorative trim has…”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 10341904 in view of EP 1759960.
For claim 5, DE ‘904 discloses a passenger vehicle, comprising:
a vehicle roof (8) fixed on a vehicle body and designed as a hardtop roof;
a body outer skin (9) spaced apart from the vehicle roof (8) via a roof gap (7);
a roof decorative trim (6) which at least partially covers the roof gap (7); and
at least one retaining clip (1,2,3,4) by which the roof decorative trim is fastened to the body (as seen above in FIG.2),
wherein the retaining clip (1,2,3,4) has at least one latching nose (11) on a side face (right-hand-most-side of FIG.2) facing away from the vehicle roof and at least one recess on a side face facing away from the body, and
a decorative trim profile of the decorative trim (6) has at least one latching projection (near to 11) which is operatively connected to the at least one latching nose (11), at least one guide projection (15) which is operatively connected to the at least one recess, and at least one terminating projection (14).
DE 904 fails to provide the vehicle roof having at least one roof projection on a side facing the retaining clip, and the recited terminating projection operatively connected to the roof projection.
This feature is known from at least EP ‘960 (EP 1759960) which teaches a vehicle roof (31; including roof panel 41) having at least one roof projection (see the side moulding 43 including body 48 for covering side edge 41a of roof panel 41, and a lip 49 projecting outwardly from the side moulding body 48) on a side facing a decorative trim (37), where the decorative trim (37) inclues a terminating projection (not numbered, FIG.6) operatively connected to the roof projection (49).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to have provided the roof of DE 904 similar to that of EP 960 with roof projection as an obvious expedient and to have modified the decorative trim of DE 904 to include a terminating projection as taught by EP 960 in order to allow water to be safely channeled away.
For claim 8, a seating lip (13) located on the decorative trim profile rests against the body outer skin.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
DE 20006801 discloses a decorative trim for vehicle body components. The body component including a projection which the trim overlaps (at 2; FIG.1).
JPH 08188091 discloses a roof (2) having a projection (2b) and a trim (1; 1a,1b) where the trim includes a decorative trim profile having
at least one latching projection (1a) which is operatively connected to the at least one latching nose (5a) of at least one retaining clip (5), and
at least one terminating projection (1b) which is operatively connected to the roof projection (2b).
JPH 091 fails to provide the at least one guide projection which is operatively connected to the at least one recess of the clip.
DE 102016004640 discloses a decorative trim for use with a vehicle window. The window includes a projection and the decorative has a cooperating projection (35) but the device is not explicitly intended for use with a roof.
EP 1295745 discloses a vehicle door with finishing trim.
DE 102025105571 teaches a roof having a projection and a trim have a cooperating projection but does not qualify as prior art based on the effective filing date of the current application.
/HILARY L GUTMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612B