Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the need", “the measurement”, “the measuring instrument”, “the resistance stage”, “the capacitor”, and “the body” within the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. Claims 1-7 should be reviewed in order to recite proper antecedent basis for the limitations.
The term “certain distance” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “certain distance” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claims 2 & 3 recites the limitation "the empty area" or “the empty space”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Henderson et al., US3998459 (hereinafter referred to as Henderson).
In regards to claim 1, Henderson teaches an electroshock circuit (electrical shocking device; [Title]) in which shocking is performed without the need for a certain distance (telescoping, some distance; [Col. 2, Ln. 27-29]) and both muscle locking and pain/ache formation are provided (controlling people, electrical shocking; [Col. 1, Ln. 16-20]), comprising; a tube (spark gap 41; [Fig. 3]) ensuring that an insulating zone (inherent gap in spark gap) is formed enough to make it appear as an open circuit (inherent that an air gap would measure as an open circuit) when the measurement is made from both ends of the measuring instrument and the resistance stage (resistor 44; [Fig. 3]) and that the voltage and energy stored on the capacitor (capacitor 43; [Fig. 3]) are increased, having two conductive regions on its sides (leads of capacitor) and an empty region in the middle (gap between plates of capacitor), enabling that the high resistance on the body is caught and the shocking process is made when the insulation inside is overcome, and providing pulse shocking (series of shocks; [Col. 5, Ln. 3-10]) by increasing the voltage on the capacitor (voltage across capacitor is sufficiently high; [Col. 5, Ln. 3-10]) by stopping the shocking process (discharging of capacitor; [Col. 5, Ln. 3-10]) when the body resistance decreases.
In regards to claim 4, Henderson teaches the electroshock circuit according to Claim 1, comprising the capacitor, which ensures that the first current that comes into the circuit is stored in itself (voltage across capacitor is sufficiently high; [Col. 5, Ln. 3-10]), and that the stored energy continues to be provided after the circuit is interrupted (discharging of capacitor; [Col. 5, Ln. 3-10]).
In regards to claim 5, Henderson teaches the electroshock circuit according to Claim 1, comprising the resistor that allows the resistance value to be adjusted between 1 giga-ohm and 10000 ohms (2.2 megohm; [Col. 4, Ln. 41-42]) to enable working inside or outside the body.
In regards to claim 6, Henderson teaches the electroshock circuit according to Claim 1, comprising the resistor that protects the circuit (assure that a high voltage charge is not stored in capacitor 43; [Col. 4, Ln. 21-25]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henderson et al., US3998459 (hereinafter referred to as Henderson).
In regards to claim 7, Henderson discloses the claimed invention except for “the resistor providing a resistance value between 10000 ohms and 50000 ohms”. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the resistor from 2.2 megohm to a resistance value between 10000 ohms and 50000 ohms, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henderson et al., US3998459 (hereinafter referred to as Henderson) and in view of Nerheim et al., US20060072280 (hereinafter referred to as Nerheim).
In regards to claim 2, Henderson does not teach the electroshock circuit according to Claim 1, comprising the tube that contains air in the empty area between the conductive parts on its sides to provide an insulating zone.
Nerheim teaches the electroshock circuit according to Claim 1, comprising the tube that contains air (air or oxygen; [0014]) in the empty area between the conductive parts on its sides to provide an insulating zone.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Henderson in order to incorporate the electroshock circuit according to Claim 1, comprising the tube that contains air in the empty area between the conductive parts on its sides to provide an insulating zone as taught by Nerheim. The motivation for doing so would be to apply a known air/gas to a spark gap device in order for a reliable breakdown of the gap.
In regards to claim 3, Henderson does not teach the electroshock circuit according to Claim 1, comprising the tube containing sulphur hexafluoride gas in the empty space between the conductive part on its sides, to ensure that the distance between the conductive ends is between 1 mm and 2 mm and the potential difference between the conductive ends is between 2500 V and 5000 V.
Nerheim teaches the electroshock circuit according to Claim 1, comprising the tube containing sulphur hexafluoride gas (SF6; [0014]) in the empty space between the conductive part on its sides, to ensure that the distance between the conductive ends is between 1 mm and 2 mm (Examiner’s Note: This would be an engineering design choice to select a spark gap component with 1-2mm distance between leads.) and the potential difference between the conductive ends is between 2500 V and 5000 V (2500V; [0020]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Henderson in order to incorporate the electroshock circuit according to Claim 1, comprising the tube containing sulphur hexafluoride gas in the empty space between the conductive part on its sides, to ensure that the distance between the conductive ends is between 1 mm and 2 mm and the potential difference between the conductive ends is between 2500 V and 5000 V as taught by Nerheim. The motivation for doing so would be to apply a known air/gas to a spark gap device in order for a reliable breakdown of the gap.
Conclusion
SAMANTHA LYNETTE FAUBERT
Examiner
Art Unit 2836
/CRYSTAL L HAMMOND/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838