CTNF 19/101,742 CTNF 91058 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Drawings 06-36 AIA The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the input unit must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention and as being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. In re claim 8, claim 8 requires, inter alia, an “ input unit ” and [0069] of the specification states “"Regarding Input Unit" An input unit to which the steering torque is input is not limited to the steering wheel 12. "Regarding State in Which Power Transmission Is Disconnected" The configuration that implements the state in which power transmission between the input unit to which the steering torque is input and the steered wheels 20 is disconnected is not limited to the configuration shown in FIG. 4. For example, a clutch may be provided between the input shaft 14a and the output shaft 14b.” While claim 8 and [0069] provide limited support for an input unit , to which the steering torque is input is not limited to the steering wheel 12, with an example given of a clutch, being located between the input shaft 14a and the output shaft 14b, this same input unit is not shown in fig. 4. Further, a clutch, being located between the input shaft 14a and the output shaft 14b, is also not shown in fig. 4. This being the case, it is unclear in the claim exactly what the applicants considers to be the “input unit”, it is also unclear in the claim how the “input unit” is connected between elements 14a and 14b, as indicated [0069] and fig. 4 and it is also unclear in both the claim and the specification what the essential structural cooperative relationships of these elements are (i.e. if the input unit is a clutch, how does the clutch engage/disengage or what controls the clutch so as to be able to engage/disengage). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Note : due to the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claim 8 , the prior art of record has been applied as best understood. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Gaudin et al. (U.S. 20220177028) . In re claim 1, Gaudin teaches a steering control device (as shown in fig. 1; power steering system 1 comprises a steering wheel 3 which allows a driver to maneuver said power steering system 1 by exerting a force, called “steering wheel torque ” T3, on said steering wheel 3; [0080]) configured to perform a manipulated variable calculation process (LuGre model, as indicated in [0053; 0106; 0115]; note: the Lugre model is a calculation process involving the model motor force T.sub.MO and the model driver force T.sub.TB (or alternatively T3, T12) as further explained below), a correction process (in order to make the mathematical model more representative of the actual steering system, the at least one internal parameter of the mathematical model is modified, or in other words correct ed, as a function of the prediction error and via an application of an internal coefficient; [0038]; the method correct s a value of a plurality of internal coefficients of said mathematical model as a function of at least one deviation; [0047]), and an operation process, wherein: the manipulated variable calculation process is a process of calculating a manipulated variable of control (as indicated in [0115], explained below) that uses steering torque (“steering wheel torque ” T3, on said steering wheel 3; [0080]; steering wheel torque T3 measured by a torque sensor 23 ; [0100]; In the example of FIGS. 1 and 2, the input variables are the control torque T 12 of the control motor 12 , the steering wheel torque T 3 ; [0122]; note : the steering wheel torque (from the driver) is determined/measured/calculated via the output signal from torque sensor 23) as a controlled variable ( note : the driver controls the amount of steering wheel torque that the driver applies, as is commonly known in the art) and uses desired steering torque as a desired value of the controlled variable (RFE; [0115]; RFE : the sum of the model motor force T.sub.MO and the model driver force T.sub.TB, expressed in the reference of the rack 6; [0118]; a model driver force T.sub.TB which is substantially equivalent to the steering wheel torque T3 measured by a torque sensor 23 in the actual power steering system 1;[0100]; In the example of FIGS. 1 and 2, the input variables are the control torque T12 of the control motor 12, the steering wheel torque T3; [0122]; note : for calculation purposes T.sub.MO is considered to be essentially equivalent to the control torque T12 of the control motor 12); the steering torque is torque that a driver inputs to a steering system (a steering wheel 3 which allows a driver to maneuver said power steering system 1 by exerting a force, called “steering wheel torque ” T3, on said steering wheel 3; [0080]; note : the model uses T.sub.TB which is substantially equivalent to the steering wheel torque T3 measured by a torque sensor 23, as indicated above, and as such T.sub.TB and T3 are considered to be interchangeable, since they are substantially equivalent); the desired steering torque is a desired value of the steering torque (as indicated above, the desired output torque is the sum of the model motor force T.sub.MO and the model driver force T.sub.TB (or alternatively T3)); the correction process is a process that uses the steering torque and the manipulated variable as inputs (as explained above; The method comprises a step of correct ing a value of at least one internal parameter of said mathematical model as a function of the prediction error; [0130]), and is a process of correcting the manipulated variable with a correction amount according to a difference between the steering torque estimated by a nominal model and actual steering torque (the mathematical model is correct ed in order to make it more representative of the power steering system 1; [0131]); and the operation process is a process of operating a motor of the steering system so as to generate torque (as indicated via. fig. 1-2; power steering system 1 also comprises a control motor 12 intended to output a control torque T 12 , to assist the maneuvering of said power steering system 1; [0084]) according to the manipulated variable corrected by the correction process (as indicated above). In re claim 7, Gaudin teaches the steering control device according to claim 1, wherein the motor is a motor configured to steer a steered wheel of a vehicle (as indicated via. fig. 1-2; each of the ends of said rack 6 is connected to a steering tie rod 8, 9 attached to the steering knuckle of a steered wheel 10, 11 (respectively a left wheel 10 and a right wheel 11), such that the longitudinal translational movement of the rack 6 makes it possible to modify the turning angle (yaw angle) of the steered wheels; [0082]; power steering system 1 also comprises a control motor 12 intended to output a control torque T 12 , to assist the maneuvering of said power steering system 1; [0084]). Note : due to the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claim 8, the prior art of record has been applied as best understood. In re claim 8, Gaudin teaches the steering control device according to claim 1, wherein the motor is a motor configured to apply torque to an input unit (as indicated in fig. 1-2; rack 6; [0081-0082; 0085-0086]) for the steering torque ( note : steering torque from steering wheel 3 and control motor 12 are input into rack 6) Gaudin lacks explicitly stating wherein the motor is a motor configured to apply torque to an input unit for the steering torque in a state in which power transmission between a steered wheel of a vehicle and the input unit is disconnected. However, as can be seen in fig. 1, motor 12 remains connected to rack 6, even if steered wheels 10, 11 become disconnected, and thus capable of continued application of torque to an input unit for the steering torque in a state in which power transmission between a steered wheel of a vehicle and the input unit is disconnected. Gaudin is considered to further teach applying torque to an input unit for the steering torque in a state in which power transmission between a steered wheel of a vehicle and the input unit is disconnected, since Gaudin seems to also lack a mechanism to prevent continued application of torque to an input unit for the steering torque in an event (such as an automotive accident/malfunction) in which power transmission between a steered wheel of a vehicle and the input unit has become disconnected. This being the case, it seems reasonable to conclude that Gaudin anticipates the claimed limitation of “the motor is a motor configured to apply torque to an input unit for the steering torque in a state in which power transmission between a steered wheel of a vehicle and the input unit is disconnected” as recited above in claim 8. In re claim 9, Gaudin teaches a steering control method comprising a step of performing a manipulated variable calculation process (LuGre model, as indicated in [0053; 0106; 0115]; note : the Lugre model is a calculation process involving the model motor force T.sub.MO and the model driver force T.sub.TB (or alternatively T3, T12) as further explained below), a correction process (in order to make the mathematical model more representative of the actual steering system, the at least one internal parameter of the mathematical model is modified, or in other words correct ed, as a function of the prediction error and via an application of an internal coefficient; [0038]; the method correct s a value of a plurality of internal coefficients of said mathematical model as a function of at least one deviation; [0047]), and an operation process, wherein: the manipulated variable calculation process is a process of calculating a manipulated variable of control (as indicated in [0115], explained below) that uses steering torque (“steering wheel torque ” T3, on said steering wheel 3; [0080]; steering wheel torque T3 measured by a torque sensor 23 ; [0100]; In the example of FIGS. 1 and 2, the input variables are the control torque T12 of the control motor 12, the steering wheel torque T3; [0122]; note : the steering wheel torque (from the driver) is determined/measured/calculated via the output signal from torque sensor 23) as a controlled variable ( note : the driver controls the amount of steering wheel torque that the driver applies, as is commonly known in the art) and uses desired steering torque as a desired value of the controlled variable (RFE; [0115]; RFE : the sum of the model motor force T.sub.MO and the model driver force T.sub.TB, expressed in the reference of the rack 6; [0118]; a model driver force T.sub.TB which is substantially equivalent to the steering wheel torque T3 measured by a torque sensor 23 in the actual power steering system 1;[0100]; In the example of FIGS. 1 and 2, the input variables are the control torque T12 of the control motor 12, the steering wheel torque T3; [0122]; note : for calculation purposes T.sub.MO is considered to be essentially equivalent to the control torque T12 of the control motor 12); the steering torque is torque that a driver inputs to a steering system (a steering wheel 3 which allows a driver to maneuver said power steering system 1 by exerting a force, called “steering wheel torque ” T3, on said steering wheel 3; [0080]; note : the model uses T.sub.TB which is substantially equivalent to the steering wheel torque T3 measured by a torque sensor 23, as indicated above, and as such T.sub.TB and T3 are considered to be interchangeable, since they are substantially equivalent); the desired steering torque is a desired value of the steering torque (as indicated above, the desired output torque is the sum of the model motor force T.sub.MO and the model driver force T.sub.TB (or alternatively T3)); the correction process is a process that uses the steering torque and the manipulated variable as inputs (as explained above; The method comprises a step of correct ing a value of at least one internal parameter of said mathematical model as a function of the prediction error; [0130]), and is a process of correcting the manipulated variable with a correction amount according to a difference between the steering torque estimated by a nominal model and actual steering torque (the mathematical model is correct ed in order to make it more representative of the power steering system 1; [0131]); and the operation process is a process of operating a motor of the steering system so as to generate torque (as indicated via. fig. 1-2; power steering system 1 also comprises a control motor 12 intended to output a control torque T 12 , to assist the maneuvering of said power steering system 1; [0084]) according to the manipulated variable corrected by the correction process (as indicated above) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 2-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Allowable Subject Matter The prior art of record fails to show or reasonably teach in combination a steering control device having the recited elements, as required by claim 2 , including the correction process includes a steering torque estimation process; the steering torque estimation process is a process of estimating the steering torque as an output value of the nominal model that uses the manipulated variable corrected by the correction process as an input; and the open-loop manipulated variable calculation process includes a process of calculating the open-loop manipulated variable according to an output value of an inverse model of the nominal model, the inverse model using the desired steering torque as an input. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JOHN D BAILEY whose telephone number is (571)272-5692. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8-5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Logan Kraft can be reached at 571-270-5625. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JOHN D BAILEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3747 /KURT PHILIP LIETHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747 Application/Control Number: 19/101,742 Page 2 Art Unit: 3747 Application/Control Number: 19/101,742 Page 3 Art Unit: 3747 Application/Control Number: 19/101,742 Page 4 Art Unit: 3747 Application/Control Number: 19/101,742 Page 5 Art Unit: 3747 Application/Control Number: 19/101,742 Page 6 Art Unit: 3747 Application/Control Number: 19/101,742 Page 7 Art Unit: 3747 Application/Control Number: 19/101,742 Page 8 Art Unit: 3747 Application/Control Number: 19/101,742 Page 9 Art Unit: 3747 Application/Control Number: 19/101,742 Page 10 Art Unit: 3747 Application/Control Number: 19/101,742 Page 11 Art Unit: 3747 Application/Control Number: 19/101,742 Page 12 Art Unit: 3747 Application/Control Number: 19/101,742 Page 13 Art Unit: 3747 Application/Control Number: 19/101,742 Page 14 Art Unit: 3747