DETAILED ACTION
Upon amendment, applicant is cautioned against the introduction of new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention.
Applicant is encouraged to point to the passage in the instant Specification which identifies support for each claim amendment.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 10 recites “frac-tionating” in Line 3, “concen-tration” in Line 6 and “monova-lent” in Line 7. Appropriate correction is required to resolve the extraneous hyphenation.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 7 recites “a hyperfiltration membrane” in Lines 4-5. Per Page 11 of the instant Specification, this term “refers to reverse osmosis and to nanofiltration. Most preferably, the membrane unit comprises nanofiltration membranes.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “providing an initial feed with a dissolved mass of lithium” in Line 2 which is disjointed from the recitation “d) an adjusted ratio of monovalent anions to lithium anions that is more than the initial ratio of monovalent anions to lithium anions” in Lines 9-10. The use of “d)” renders unclear how, if at all, the limitations of the reference letter d) are associated with the limitations of a), b), and c). It is unclear whether an adjusted ratio of monovalent anions to lithium anions that is more than the initial ratio of monovalent anions to lithium anions is added to the initial feed per Lines 7-8, whether the adjusted ratio is provided per the steps of Line 2, or some other meaning entirely. The nexus between the adjusted ratio in Lines 9-10 and the adjusted feed in Lines 7-8 is unclear. Appropriate correction is required to establish actionable and repeatable method steps with positive active claim language.
Claim 4 recites in Lines 1-4 “combining the initial feed with additional water, such that the molar concentration of multi-valent anions in the adjusted feed is less than 90% of the molar concentration of multi-valent anions in the initial feed.” This recitation creates the following issues of clarity:
There is a lack of antecedent basis for “additional water” as no introduction of water is recited in Claim 1 on which Claim 4 depends.
It is further unclear the nexus between the addition of water and the formation of an adjusted feed. If the adjusted feed is formed in Claim 1 by the addition of on or more salts, then it is unclear at what stage the initial feed is combined with water. Appropriate correction is required to establish actionable and repeatable method steps with positive active claim language.
Claim 5 recites “a liquid that had permeated through a membrane of the membrane unit” in Lines 2-3. The use of past tense renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear whether this is a liquid that has any connection with the instantly claimed method, or some other liquid entirely. Appropriate correction is required to establish an actionable and repeatable method step with positive active claim language.
Claim 7 recites “the step of fractionating uses a component selected form a hyperfiltration membrane and an ion-exchange resin” in Lines 3-5. It is unclear how a step of fractionating “uses” the claimed component, what step or steps would be encompassed by this “use”, and to what end, effect or impact. Appropriate correction is required to establish an actionable and repeatable method step with positive active claim language.
Claims 2-3, 6, and 8-11 are rejected for their dependency on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shichun et al. CN 112850851 A in view of NPL Kim et al.
Regarding Claim 1, Shichun et al. ‘851 teaches a method of recovering lithium from a lithium rich sodium sulfate subtype salt lake brine (meeting the limitation for providing an initial feed with a dissolved mass of lithium) [0006]. The initial feed comprises an initial ratio of monovalent anions to lithium anions, an initial ratio of multi-valent cations to lithium ions [0038].
Shichun et al. ‘851 teaches the initial feed is rich in sodium sulfate. Example 1 teaches an exemplary brine with a ratio of monovalent anions to multivalent anions of 0.65 [0038], meeting the limitation for an initial ratio of monovalent anions to multi-valent anions that is less than one.
See MPEP 2144.05. In cases where claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Shichun et al. ‘851 teaches adding a salt to brine [0040], necessarily lowering the pH. As the initial pH is as low as 7.5, the addition of salt meets the limitation of instant Claim 1 for an adjusted feed with pH between 1 and 7, but does not expressly teach creating an adjusted feed with pH between 1 and 7.
However, NPL Kim et al. teaches maintaining a brine solution at a pH between 5 and 9 enhances the selective recovery of lithium (Section 23.3), overlapping the instantly claimed range of between 1 and 7.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to maintain the pH of the solution of between 5 and 9 in order to increase the selective recovery of lithium ions based on the teachings of NPL Kim et al. at (Section 3.3).
Shichun et al. ‘851 teaches forming a lithium-rich permeate and maximizing the concentration of lithium within the permeate and an exemplary lithium recovery rate of 55.6% after first stage nanofiltration [0036], meeting the limitations of the instant Claim for at least half of the mass of lithium present in the initial feed is partitioned into the first outlet stream. Regarding the ratio of multi-valent cations to lithium ions, the recovery rate overlaps and encompasses the claimed ratio as the increase in lithium corresponds to a decrease in the ratio of multi-valent cations to lithium ions. Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to optimize maximize the recovery of lithium within the instantly claimed range.
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding Claim 2, Shichun et al. ‘851 teaches introducing a multivalent salt to the initial feed for improved lithium balancing [0046], meeting the limitations of the instant Claim for an adjusted ratio of multi-valent cations to lithium ions that is greater than the initial ratio of multivalent cations to lithium ions.
Regarding Claim 4, Shichun et al. ‘851 teaches simultaneously diluting the initial feed and adding salt [0025], meeting the limitations of the instant Claim. Regarding the molar concentration of multi-valent anions in the initial feed, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to optimize the dilution with water in order to maximize the recovery of lithium.
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding Claim 5, Notwithstanding the 112(b) rejections above, Shichun et al. ‘851 teaches the adjusted feed comprises the initial feed, added salts, and at least a part of a liquid that has permeated through a membrane, e.g. [0025] meeting the limitations of the instant Claim.
Regarding Claim 9, Shichun et al. ‘851 teaches concentrating the first outlet stream by de-watering via a reverse osmosis membrane [0036], resulting in an increased concentration of dissolved lithium, meeting the limitations of the instant Claim.
Regarding Claim 10, Shichun et al. ‘851 teaches the first outlet stream comprises sodium cation, meeting the limitation of the instant claim for at least one monovalent cation other than lithium and further teaches fractionating the first outlet stream into two solutions with a multivalent selective membrane [0038], wherein one of the two solutions comprises and increased molar concentration of lithium ions compared to the molar concentration of lithium ions in the first outlet stream and a decreased molar concentration of the monovalent cation compared to the molar concentration of the monovalent cation in the first outlet stream, meeting the limitations of the instant Claim.
Regarding Claim 11, Shichun et al. ‘851 teaches recovering lithium from a first stream of lithium rich permeate [0036], meeting the limitations of the instant Claim for extracting lithium from the first outlet stream.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shichun et al. CN 112850851 A in view of NPL Kim et al. as applied to Claims 1-2, 4-5, and 9-11 above further in view of NPL Zhang et al.
Regarding Claim 3, modified Shichun et al. ‘851 teaches the limitations set forth above. Shichun et al. ‘851 teaches the initial feed is rich in sodium sulfate, reading on the limitation for an initial ratio of monovalent anions to multi-valent anions that is less than one. Example 1 teaches an exemplary brine with a ratio of monovalent anions to multivalent anions of 0.65 [0036]. Shichun et al. ‘851 does not expressly teach an ratio less than 0.5.
However, NPL Zhang et al. teaches a naturally occurring sodium sulfate rich brine wherein the concentration of monovalent anions to multivalent anions is 0.45 (Table 1), meeting the limitations of the instant claim for less than 0.5.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to extract lithium from the brine of NPL Zhang et al. in order to increase the efficiency of lithium recovery from a sodium sulfate rich brine, meeting the limitations of the instant Claim.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shichun et al. CN 112850851 A in view of NPL Kim et al. as applied to Claims 1-2, 4-5, and 9-11 above further in view of Harrison et al. US 20220010408 A1.
Regarding Claim 6, modified Shichun et al. ‘851 teaches the limitations set forth above. Shichun et al. ‘851 does not expressly teach the polymer material of the membrane.
However, Harrison et al. ‘408 teaches a process for extracting lithium from brine through a membrane comprising a polymer layer consisting of a fully aromatic polyamide [0096].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to filter the brine of Shichun et al. ‘851 through a fully automatic polyamide membrane in order to efficiently selectively extract lithium from brine based on the teachings of Harrison et al. ‘408 at [0070].
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shichun et al. CN 112850851 A in view of NPL Kim et al. as applied to Claims 1-2, 4-5, and 9-11 above further in view of
of Galli WO 2019002653 A1.
Regarding Claims 7-8, modified Shichun et al. ‘851 teaches the limitations set forth above. Shichun et al. ‘851 teaches the limitations set forth above but does not expressly teach fractionating the second outlet stream to form a part that is enriched in monovalent anions through a nanofiltration membrane.
However, Galli ‘653 teaches a brine treatment process wherein a second outlet stream is fractionated to form a part that is enriched in multi-valent cations [0067] and, notwithstanding the 112(b) rejections above, a nanofiltration membrane is used to separate the multi-valent cations and recycle a portion of the enriched part such that the treated feed (meeting the limitation for the adjusted feed) comprises the initial feed and at least a portion of the enriched part [0121].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to recycle a multi-valent cation enriched stream back into the adjusted feed of Shichun et al. ‘851 in order to reduce environmental impact and maximize the recovery of lithium based on the teachings of Galli ‘653 at [0002], meeting the limitations of the instant Claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Ye, Zhi-Long, et al. "Fractionating magnesium ion from seawater for struvite recovery using electrodialysis with monovalent selective membranes." Chemosphere 210 (2018): 867-876. Teaches fractionating magnesium ion from brine with monovalent selective membranes.
US 8641992 B2 teaches recovering lithium from brine under basic conditions with either reverse osmosis membranes, hyperfiltration membranes, or exchange resin.
/Keith D. Hendricks/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1733
/M.S.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1733