This is the First Office Action on the merits of Application No. 19/101767, filed on 02/06/2025. Claims 1-13 are still pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 9, the phrase "in particular" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, 9-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Patent No. 11,383,964 to Jaipaul et al (henceforth referred to as Jaipaul).
Regarding claims 1-2, 4-7, Jaipaul discloses a control device for a lifting platform (i.e. Fig. 2, ref. 22), in particular for a mobile lifting platform for vehicles, comprising:
control electronics (i.e. Fig. 5b, ref. 74) which are configured to control a drive (i.e. Fig. 4, ref. 62) of the lifting platform,
an energy store (i.e. Fig. 5b, ref. 42) which is configured to provide energy for the drive of the lifting platform, and
a housing (i.e. Fig. 2, ref. 38) in which the control electronics and the energy store are arranged.
Which comprises a plate (i.e. Mark up of Fig. 5b) which is arranged in the housing, wherein the control electronics are arranged on a first side (i.e. Fig. 5b, lower side) of the plate and the energy store is arranged on a second side (i.e. Fig. 5b, upper side) opposite the first side of the plate.
Wherein the energy store bears against the second side of the plate (i.e. Fig. 5b, ref. 42 bears against the upper side of the plate).
Wherein the housing is of two part design, and a first housing part (i.e. Fig. 2, ref. 40) on the first side and a second housing part (i.e. Fig. 2, ref. 38) on the second side of the plate are connected thereto.
Which comprises a control panel (i.e. Fig. 5b, ref. 56) which is arranged on the first housing part.
Wherein the energy storage has a plurality of energy storage cells (i.e. Fig. 5b, there are two ref. 42).
Regarding claims 9-12, Jaipaul discloses a lifting platform (i.e. Fig. 2, ref. 22), in particular a mobile lifting platform for vehicles, comprising:
a base device (i.e. Fig. 2, ref. 30), by means of which the lifting platform can be set up on a floor;
a lifting column (i.e. Fig. 2, ref. 36) which is connected to the base device;
a lifting device (i.e. Fig. 2, ref. 34) which is arranged on the lifting column and can be moved along the lifting column;
a drive (i.e. Fig. 4, ref. 62) which is configured to drive the lifting device; and
a control device, comprising:
control electronics (i.e. Fig. 5b, ref. 74) which are configured to control a drive (i.e. Fig. 4, ref. 62) of the lifting platform,
an energy storage (i.e. Fig. 5b, ref. 42) which is configured to provide energy for the drive of the lifting platform, and
a housing (i.e. Fig. 2, ref. 38) in which the control electronics and the energy store are arranged.
Wherein the control device is arranged in a region of an upper end of the lifting column (i.e. Fig. 3b shows ref. 42 and 24 in a relative upper region of ref. 22).
Which comprises at least one carrier (i.e. Fig. 2, ref. 32), which is connected to the base device (i.e. Fig. 2, ref. 30) and/or to the lifting column (i.e. Fig. 2, ref. 36) and which received the control device (i.e. Fig. 2, indicated at ref. 40).
Wherein a first housing part (i.e. Fig. 2, ref. 38) of the control device is arranged facing away from the lifting column, and a second housing part (i.e. Fig. 2, ref. 40) of the control device is arranged facing the lifting column.
Regarding claim 13, Jaipaul discloses system comprising:
one or more lifting platforms (i.e. Fig. 1, ref. 22) each of the one or more lifting platforms comprising:
a base device (i.e. Fig. 2, ref. 30) by means of which the lifting platform can be set up on a floor;
a lifting column (i.e. Fig. 2, ref. 36) which is connected to the base device;
a lifting device (i.e. Fig. 2, ref. 34) which is arranged on the lifting column and can be moved along the lifting column;
a drive (i.e. Fig. 4, ref. 62) which is configured to drive the lifting device; and
a control device, comprising:
control electronics (i.e. Fig. 5b, ref. 74) which are configured to control a drive (i.e. Fig. 4, ref. 62) of the lifting platform,
an energy storage (i.e. Fig. 5b, ref. 42) which is configured to provide energy for the drive of the lifting platform, and
a housing (i.e. Fig. 2, ref. 38) in which the control electronics and the energy store are arranged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent No. 11,383,964 to Jaipaul et al.
Regarding claim 3, Jaipaul does not specifically teach the housing is made of plastic nor teach the plate is made of metal. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to use plastic for the removable casing to facilitate taking the cover off and on and metal for the plate to support the weight of the energy store without deforming since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent No. 11,383,964 to Jaipaul et al in view of US Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0119455 to Jaipaul et al (henceforth referred to as Jaipaul ‘455).
Regarding claim 8, Jaipaul does not specifically teach the energy storage is a lithium ion accumulator. However, lithium ion accumulators are known in the art and not novel to the invention. For example, Jaipaul ‘455 teaches a similar lifting platform (i.e. Fig. 3b, ref. 22) comprising a similar control device (i.e. Fig. 3b, ref. 24, 42) and further teaches the energy stores (i.e. Fig. 3b, ref. 42) can comprise one or more cells comprising lithium ion battery cells (i.e. claim 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use commercially available lithium ion batteries as taught in Jaipaul ‘455 in the lift platform as taught in Jaipaul to reduce price and ease replacement and there would have been reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Patent No. 11,731,867 to Smith et al teaches a control device for a platform lift;
US Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0356051 to Elliott et al teaches a control device for a platform lift;
WO 2020/009571 to De Jong teaches a control device for a platform lift.
/DIEM M TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3654