DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 7 and 8 are confusing as it is not clear if the applicant is attempting to refer back to the light guide plate and diffusion sheet of claim 6, or if the applicant is attempting to recite optical layered unit structure in addition to the layered structure already recited in claim 6. The examiner will assume the former, but suggests simply referring in claim 7 to the use of a plurality of irradiation units as recited in claim 6, as claim 6 already requires the irradiation unit to include a light guide plate and diffusion sheet.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Legerton (Pub. No. 2013/0278887).
Regarding claim 1, Legerton discloses a contact lens-shaped intraocular lighting device (see Fig. 1, par. 0032) comprising: a contact lens 10 including a first region having a dome shape transmitting light and provided in a center portion (see Figs. 1 and 2, that region falling within the diameter of the ring defined by radiation sources 20 or 70), a second region (that region of the contact lens device containing radiation sources 20) having a ring shape extending radially outward from an outer peripheral portion of the first region (see Fig. 1), and a third region (that region generally containing elements 30, 40 and 50) having a ring shape extending radially outward from an outer peripheral portion of the second region (see Fig. 1) and provided in contact with a sclera (see par. 0032); and an irradiation unit (radiation sources 20) provided in the second region of the contact lens and irradiating an eye with light by adjusting refraction or diffusion of light supplied from a light source (See Fig. 3 and pars. 0035 and 0043: contact lens includes refractive correction).
Regarding claim 13, see Fig. 2.
Regarding claim 14, note the comments made in the rejection of substantially similarly worded claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 5-8, 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Legerton ‘887.
Regarding claim 5, one can arbitrarily consider the second region of Legerton to include both elements 20 and 30, with the remaining outer periphery of the contact lens representing a third region. In any event, even if one restricted the second region to include only the region encompassed by ring 20, the courts have determined that, lacking any criticality, the rearrangement of parts not affecting operation of the system to be a matter of obvious design (see MPEP 2144.04, VI, C). In the instant case, whether the light source drive circuit was located within the ringed region or outside of the ringed region, would not affect the ability of the circuit to drive the radiation elements.
Regarding claim 6, see Fig. 3 where the irradiation unit defined by the contact lens includes a light guide (reflective collector 110) guiding light to a diffusion sheet (diffuser 120), for guiding light into the eye, light from the light guide. Collector 110 and diffuser 120 are considered plates in that they represent a layered boundary/region/plate upon which light either reflects from or diffuses from. In any event, the particular form of geometric construction would be considered a matter of obvious design as long as the profile permitted placement within the thin-walled contact lens and functioned to provide the desired optical effect.
Regarding claim 7, note the rejection under §112 above. The system of Legerton includes a plurality of optical layered units as discussed in the rejection of claim 6, in side-by-side identical circumferential arrangement of the contact lens in plan view as shown in cross-sectional Fig. 3, where the elements fall within the same cross-section of the lens circumference.
Regarding claim 8, Fig. 3 shows a plurality of optical layered units arranged rotationally symmetrically about a center of the contact lens at an angle of 180 degrees from each other with respect to the center.
Regarding claims 16 and 17, LEDs 20 are considered a substrate-layered type LED as they inherently must reside on a substrate to be contained within the contact lens as shown. It is also noted that commercially available Semprius LEDs such as referenced in par. 0032 are printed on a substrate and thus layered. In any event, the use of substrate-layered LEDs are old and well-known in the art. The applicant, by example, merely alludes to such LEDs in par. 0040 of the present specification in an exemplary fashion. Any LED well-suited for placement within the confines of a contact lens would have been considered obvious to use in the Legerton device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Legerton in view of Siddique et al. (Siddique: Pub. No. 2021/0223571).
Regarding claims 9 and 15, while Legerton does not explicitly discuss the use of an antireflection film, Siddique discloses in a related scleral lens, that the contact lens may include glare reduction antireflection films/coatings/layers for enhanced wearer comfort (pars. 0003, 0005 and 0032). To include such a well-known feature to benefit the wearer would have therefore been considered a matter of obvious design to those of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Legerton ‘887.
Regarding claim 10, while the exact thickness of the first region of the contact lens-shaped intraocular lighting device is not explicitly stated, the examiner takes Official Notice that it is old and well-known for contact lenses to have a thickness of 0.15 mm or more, and less than 0.25 mm. Such a thickness allows for increased comfort to the wearer without sacrificing optical performance, while still enabling sufficient structural support of the components therein. Those of ordinary skill in the art would have considered the exact thickness to be application dependent, with consideration given not only to comfort and strength, but also to individual patient vision requirements.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Legerton in view of Alston, Jr. et al. (Alston: Pat. No. 9,320,566).
Regarding claim 11, Legerton discloses that the contact lens may be a scleral lens (par. 0032). Given the geometry of the human eye, such a lens would necessarily have a diameter of 13 mm or more. Nonetheless, Alston discloses that sclera and hybrid lenses such as discussed by Legerton commonly range between 12 and 25 mm (col. 3, lines 38-43). To therefore make the diameter of the sclera lens of Legerton suitable for use with the typical eye would have been considered a matter of obvious design.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Legerton in view of Yan et al. (Yan: Pub. No. 2025/0123501).
Regarding claim 12, Legerton does not indicate that the electrical power to the light source may be provided from outside the lighting device. Yan discloses in a related system that an external source (light engine) relatively positioned with respect to the contact lens, may be used (see par. 0024). The courts have determined that, lacking any criticality, the rearrangement of parts not affecting operation of the system to be a matter of obvious design (see MPEP 2144.04, VI, C). In the instant case, any manner of supplying power to the irradiation unit would have sufficed regardless of location. Routine design would ultimately dictate the location of the power source, with externally located power sources potentially offering less expensive manufacture and increased power capacity, while an integrated power source offering convenience, compactness and unencumbered use.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
There is no suggestion in the prior art of record to include a holographic lens drive circuit for changing the orientation of the holographic lens as recited. Legerton discloses the use of a holographic reflector encased in a spectacle lens.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Herbert ‘602 and Pomerantzeff ‘341 disclose a contact lens with illumination. Wiltberger ‘985 discloses the use of a photomedical system wherein a variety of different light sources may be used. Futamura ‘450 discloses an intraocular contact lens device for use in surgery with antireflection coatings. Gemoules ‘915 discloses scleral contact lens manufacturing. Miike ‘894 discloses the general state of intraocular lighting devices. Woo ‘995 discloses an integrated light source layer on a contact lens. Charles ‘891 discloses an illumination ring.
/KENNEDY SCHAETZLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796
KJS
September 4, 2026