DETAILED ACTION
This is the first Office Action on the merits. Claims 1-12 are currently pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
The claims are objected to because of the following informalities:
claim 5, the scientific names of the mushroom species listed should be italicized,
claim 7, line 3, “the electron bean” should read “the electron beam”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 8 is indefinite because the recitation, “optionally added water”, is unclear whether the subject matter claimed after the term is to be included in the claim or not
In view of the rejections above under 35 USC § 112, the claims referred to in any and all rejections below are rejected as best understood. Claim 9, depending on rejection claim 8, is rejected the same.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8-9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by a first interpretation of Hawton (WO 0045860 A1), hereafter referred to as “Hawton”.
Regarding claim 1, Hawton discloses a continuous process for the sterilization of a substrate (abstract), the process comprising the steps of:
a. preparing a substrate mixture having a moisture content (page 2, lines 20-26 and page 8, lines 6-10);
b. loading a carrier with the substrate mixture (page 10, lines 6-18 disclosing that the substrate mixture is loaded on a conveyer belt or screw elevator);
c. exposing the substrate mixture to electron beam (page 8, lines 19-26 and claim 2) in an electron beam housing (page 10, lines 6-9) to create a sterilized substrate having the same moisture content as the substrate mixture (page 2, lines 20-29, page 8, lines 19-26, and claim 1, explicitly disclosing that the moisture content is 30% or less before sterilization, and claims 17 and 18, in an example, disclosing that the moisture content after sterilization is 30%); and
d. unloading the sterilized substrate from the carrier such that the carrier can be reused in the continuous process (page 10, lines 6-18).
Regarding claim 2, Hawton discloses the continuous process of claim 1, and further discloses a step of packaging the sterilized substrate into a package for transport (page 10, line 12).
Regarding claim 3, Hawton discloses the continuous process of claim 1, and further discloses a step of inoculating the sterilized substrate with an inoculum to create an inoculated substrate (page 10, lines 12-14 and claim 20).
Regarding claim 4, Hawton discloses the continuous process of claim 3, and further discloses a step of packaging the inoculated substrate into a package for transport (page 10, lines 12-14).
Regarding claim 5, Hawton discloses the method of claim 4, and further discloses that the inoculum is an organism selected from the group consisting of Agaricus spp., Morchella spp., Trichoderma spp., Beauvaria spp., Lentinula spp., Ganoderma spp., and Metahrizium spp (page 7, lines 15-23).
Regarding claim 8, Hawton discloses the continuous process of claim 1, and further discloses that the substrate mixture includes nutrient particles (page 4, lines 17-31) and optionally added water.
Regarding claim 9, Hawton discloses the continuous process of claim 8, and further discloses that the nutrient particles are selected from the group consisting of sawdust, fermented sawdust, millet, sorghum, grain, oilseed products, agricultural waste, cereal, formulated compost, fermented compost, peat moss, gypsum, chalk, vermiculite, perlite, clay, wastepaper materials, and combinations thereof (page 4, lines 17-31, e.g., disclosing sawdust, cereal, compost).
Regarding claim 11, Hawton discloses the continuous process of claim 1, and further discloses that the step of exposing includes subjecting the substrate mixture to an ionizing radiation dosage of between about 5 kGy to about 40 kGy (claim 2 and page 8, lines 24-25).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by a second interpretation of Hawton (WO 0045860 A1), hereafter referred to as “Hawton 2”.
Regarding claim 1, Hawton 2 teaches a continuous process for the sterilization of a substrate (abstract), the process comprising the steps of:
a. preparing a substrate mixture having a moisture content (page 2, lines 20-26 and page 8, lines 6-10);
b. loading a carrier with the substrate mixture (page 8, lines 11-20, i.e., substrate is placed into bags and a box);
c. exposing the substrate mixture to electron beam in an electron beam housing (page 8, lines 19-26 and claim 2) to create a sterilized substrate having the same moisture content as the substrate mixture (page 2, lines 20-29, page 8, lines 19-26, and claim 1, explicitly disclosing that the moisture content is 30% or less before sterilization, and claims 17 and 18, in an example, disclosing that the moisture content after sterilization is 30%); and
step d. unloading the sterilized substrate from the carrier (page 9, lines 24-28 and page 12, lines 26-30) such that the carrier can be reused in the continuous process (page 9, lines 24-28, page 8, lines 11-20, and page 12, lines 26-30, where the box and/or bags are capable of being reused).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hawton 2 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Maul et al. (US 4204364 A), hereafter referred to as “Maul”.
Regarding claim 6, Hawton 2 teaches the continuous process of claim 1, and further teaches that during the step of unloading the sterilized substrate, the carrier is moved to a sterile laminar flow cabinet after being exposed to the electron beam ionizing radiation, respectively, and the step of unloading takes place within the cabinet (page 9, lines 24-28 and page 12, lines 26-30), but does not explicitly teach the carrier is taken to a clean room directly adjacent the electron beam housing.
Maul teaches a continuous process (abstract and claim 1) including a laminar flow available at a clean room (col. 3, line 65-col. 4, line 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process of Hawton 2, such that the laminar flow cabinet is provided at a clean room, as taught by Maul, in order to have a more efficient process by providing a larger, enclosed sterile space that provides room for more people and/or equipment (col. 3, line 65-col. 4, line 1 of Maul).
In addition, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process of Hawton 2 in view of Maul, such that the clean room is directly adjacent the electron beam housing, in order to have a process that further mitigates contamination by provide a shorter path between the sterilizing equipment and the clean room (it is further noted that applicant has not shown patentable significance of the location of the clean room relative to the sterilizer; see, e.g., instant spec at paragraphs [0011]-[0012]), and since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 7, Hawton 2 teaches the continuous process of claim 1, and further teaches that during the step of unloading the sterilized substrate, the carrier is moved to a sterile laminar flow cabinet after being exposed to the electron beam ionizing radiation, respectively, and the step of unloading takes place within the cabinet (page 9, lines 24-28 and page 12, lines 26-30), but does not explicitly teach that the carrier is transported to a clean room that is not directly adjacent the electron beam housing.
Maul teaches a continuous process (abstract and claim 1) including a laminar flow available at a clean room (col. 3, line 65-col. 4, line 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process of Hawton 2, such that the laminar flow cabinet is provided at a clean room, as taught by Maul, in order to have a more efficient process by providing a larger, enclosed sterile space that provides room for more people and/or equipment (col. 3, line 65-col. 4, line 1 of Maul).
In addition, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process of Hawton 2 in view of Maul, such that the clean room is not directly adjacent the electron beam housing, in order to accommodate the specific layout provided depending on factors like air flow and safety measures needed to properly shield the surrounding area from the ionizing radiation (it is further noted that applicant has not shown patentable significance of the location of the clean room relative to the sterilizer; see, e.g., instant spec at paragraphs [0011]-[0012]), and since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the first interpretation of Hawton as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 10, Hawton teaches the continuous process of claim 1, and further teaches that the moisture content is 30% (claim 1), but does not explicitly teach that the moisture content of the substrate mixture is between 30% and 70%. However, "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Hawton teaches that water is an insulator to radiation, and that the moisture content of the substrate is directly correlated to the dose of radiation needed to properly sterilize the substrate (page 3, lines 10-17). With the teachings of Hawton, one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would be aware that the moisture content determines the amount of radiation applied to the substrate. Consequently, the moisture content is considered to be a result effective variable. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have configured the moisture content of the substrate mixture to be between 30% and 70%, for the purpose of providing a more efficient process by optimizing the both radiation dosage and time and energy used to dry the substrate before sterilization, with predictable results (Hawton at page 3, lines 10-17 and page 7, line 28-page 8, line 1).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the first interpretation of Hawton as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Schlachter et al. (US 20170216491 A1), hereafter referred to as “Schlachter”.
Regarding claim 12, Hawton teaches the continuous process of claim 1, and further appears to teach that the step of exposing takes place at a temperature of from between about 10 °C and about 35 °C (for example, as addressed in claim 1, page 2, lines 20-29, page 8, lines 19-26, and claim 1 explicitly discloses that the moisture content is 30% or less before sterilization, and claims 17 and 18, in an example, discloses that the moisture content after sterilization is 30%. This suggests that the temperature when applying the electron beam does not result in a temperature increase that would result in a moisture content change, but does not explicitly teach the above limitation.
Schlachter teaches a sterilization process including an electron beam (abstract) including a step of exposing a material to be sterilized to the electron beam ionizing radiation takes place at a temperature of from between about 10 °C and about 35 °C (paragraph [0082]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process of Hawton, such that the step of exposing takes place at a temperature of from between about 10 °C and about 35 °C, as taught by Schlachter, in order to mitigate any changes and degradation to the substrate.
Conclusion
The cited prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure. The references have many of the elements in the applicant’s disclosure and claims. For example, US 20120144739 A1 teaches a similar method that sterilizes a substrate via an electron beam.
/H.J.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3643
/MARISA V CONLON/Examiner, Art Unit 3643