DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumai et al. (US4647305A), and further in view of Katai et al. (JPH0776362 B2- Machine translation provided herein).
Regarding claim 1, Kumai teaches a granular metal production device for producing granular metal (Figure 1 or Figure 2) by allowing molten metal stored inside a container (crucible 2; Figure 1 or Figure 2) to flow down from the container and collide with a collision structure for granulation (powder buffer plate 5 or block 11 in Figure 1 or Figure 2), followed by solidification (Abstract: A process for manufacturing amorphous alloy powders is provided, wherein, a high-speed fluid jet is blown against a flowing melt of an alloy which can be formed into amorphous powders, thereby powerizing the melt and rapidly cooling and solidifying the melt).
While Kumai teaches a nozzle opening of the container can be opened or closed by a nozzle stopper (col 3 line 59-61) and that the molten material flows through the nozzle opening toward the collision structure (col 5 line 8-11), Kumai fails to teach the granular metal production device comprising: a first flow path and a second flow path configured to allow the molten metal to flow down from the container toward the collision structure and provided at upper and lower positions in a continuous state, wherein an upper end opening area of the second flow path located below is smaller than a lower end opening area of the first flow path located above, and a lower end of the first flow path and a step are provided at an upper end opening position of the second flow path.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to a granular metal production device for producing granular metal, Katai teaches a granular metal production device comprising:
a first flow path and a second flow path configured to allow the molten metal to flow down from the container and provided at upper and lower positions in a continuous state,
wherein an upper end opening area of the second flow path located below is smaller than a lower end opening area of the first flow path located above, and a lower end of the first flow path and a step are provided at an upper end opening position of the second flow path (see annotated Figure 4 below and “Regarding the shape of the flow path inside the nozzle, it is advisable to form a step inside the nozzle as shown in the drawing and gradually reduce the inner diameters l, m, and n (l>m> n)”- see pg.). Gradually reducing the nozzle inner diameter through steps allows for the molten metal to flow smoothly (“By gradually reducing the nozzle inner diameter, the molten metal can flow smoothly”- see pg.).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the nozzle opening of Kumai such that the granular metal production device comprises a first flow path and a second flow path configured to allow the molten metal to flow down from the container and provided at upper and lower positions in a continuous state, wherein an upper end opening area of the second flow path located below is smaller than a lower end opening area of the first flow path located above, and a lower end of the first flow path and a step are provided at an upper end opening position of the second flow path, as taught by Katai, for the benefit of having the molten metal flow smoothly out of the container.
Regarding claim 2, Kumai modified with Katai teaches the granular metal production device according to claim 1.
Further, Katai teaches wherein two flow paths are provided inside a bottom part of the container (see flow paths with diameter l and diameter m located inside a bottom part of the container in Figure 3).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the nozzle opening of Kumai such that the first flow path and the second flow path are provided inside a bottom part of the container, as taught by Katai, for the benefit of having the molten metal flow smoothly out of the container.
Regarding claim 3, Kumai modified with Katai teaches the granular metal production device according to claim 1.
Further, Katai teaches wherein the step is evenly provided on an upper end opening peripheral edge of the second flow path (see step in annotated Figure 4 in the rejection of claim1 above where “evenly provided” is interpreted as a smooth, flat, or uniform coverage).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the nozzle opening of Kumai such that a step is provided on an upper end opening peripheral edge of the second flow path, as taught by Katai, for the benefit of having the molten metal flow smoothly out of the container.
Regarding claim 4, Kumai modified with Katai teaches the granular metal production device according to claim 1.
While Katai fails to explicitly teach a hydraulic diameter of an upper end cross-section of the second flow path is 10% to 80% in size of a hydraulic diameter of a lower end cross- section of the first flow path, Katai does teach a diameter of an upper end cross-section of the second flow path is gradually reduced such that the diameter of the second flow path appears to be roughly a three quarters of the first flow path diameter and the diameter of a third flow path appears to be roughly a quarter of the first flow path diameter (see Figure 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the nozzle opening of Kumai such that a hydraulic diameter of an upper end cross-section of the second flow path is 10% to 80% in size of a hydraulic diameter of a lower end cross- section of the first flow path, as suggested by Katai, through routine optimization (see MPEP 2144.05.II) to achieve an optimal flow such that the molten metal smoothly flows out of the container.
Regarding claim 5, Kumai modified with Katai teaches the granular metal production device according to claim 1.
While Katai fails to explicitly teach the second flow path has a flow path length smaller than a flow path length of the first flow path, Katai teaches a projection length a of the nozzle inside of the molten metal pool container and a projection length b outside of the container are appropriately determined (“The projection length a of the nozzle 13 to the inside of the molten metal pool container and the projection length b to the outside of the container are appropriately determined”- see pg.), prompting one of ordinary skill to look to various projection lengths and therefore flow path lengths.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the nozzle opening of Kumai such that the second flow path has a flow path length smaller than a flow path length of the first flow path, through routine optimization (see MPEP 2144.05.II) to achieve an optimal flow such that the molten metal smoothly flows out of the container.
Regarding claim 6, Kumai modified with Katai teaches the granular metal production device according to claim 1.
While Katai fails to explicitly teach the flow path length of the second flow path is less than 50% of the flow path length of the first flow path, Katai teaches a projection length a of the nozzle inside of the molten metal pool container and a projection length b outside of the container are appropriately determined (“The projection length a of the nozzle 13 to the inside of the molten metal pool container and the projection length b to the outside of the container are appropriately determined”- see pg.), prompting one of ordinary skill to look to various projection lengths and therefore flow path lengths.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the nozzle opening of Kumai such that the flow path length of the second flow path is less than 50% of the flow path length of the first flow path, through routine optimization (see MPEP 2144.05.II) to achieve an optimal flow such that the molten metal smoothly flows out of the container.
Regarding claim 7, Kumai modified with Katai teaches the granular metal production device according to claim 2.
Further, Katai teaches wherein the step is evenly provided on an upper end opening peripheral edge of the second flow path (see step in annotated Figure 4 in the rejection of claim1 above where “evenly provided” is interpreted as a smooth, flat, or uniform coverage).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the nozzle opening of Kumai such that a step is provided on an upper end opening peripheral edge of the second flow path, as taught by Katai, for the benefit of having the molten metal flow smoothly out of the container.
Regarding claim 8, Kumai modified with Katai teaches the granular metal production device according to claim 2.
While Katai fails to explicitly teach a hydraulic diameter of an upper end cross-section of the second flow path is 10% to 80% in size of a hydraulic diameter of a lower end cross- section of the first flow path, Katai does teach a diameter of an upper end cross-section of the second flow path is gradually reduced such that the diameter of the second flow path appears to be roughly a three quarters of the first flow path diameter and the diameter of a third flow path appears to be roughly a quarter of the first flow path diameter (see Figure 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the nozzle opening of Kumai such that a hydraulic diameter of an upper end cross-section of the second flow path is 10% to 80% in size of a hydraulic diameter of a lower end cross- section of the first flow path, as suggested by Katai, through routine optimization (see MPEP 2144.05.II) to achieve an optimal flow such that the molten metal smoothly flows out of the container.
Regarding claim 9, Kumai modified with Katai teaches the granular metal production device according to claim 3.
While Katai fails to explicitly teach a hydraulic diameter of an upper end cross-section of the second flow path is 10% to 80% in size of a hydraulic diameter of a lower end cross- section of the first flow path, Katai does teach a diameter of an upper end cross-section of the second flow path is gradually reduced such that the diameter of the second flow path appears to be roughly a three quarters of the first flow path diameter and the diameter of a third flow path appears to be roughly a quarter of the first flow path diameter (see Figure 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the nozzle opening of Kumai such that a hydraulic diameter of an upper end cross-section of the second flow path is 10% to 80% in size of a hydraulic diameter of a lower end cross- section of the first flow path, as suggested by Katai, through routine optimization (see MPEP 2144.05.II) to achieve an optimal flow such that the molten metal smoothly flows out of the container.
Regarding claim 10, Kumai modified with Katai teaches the granular metal production device according to claim 2.
While Katai fails to explicitly teach the second flow path has a flow path length smaller than a flow path length of the first flow path, Katai teaches a projection length a of the nozzle inside of the molten metal pool container and a projection length b outside of the container are appropriately determined (“The projection length a of the nozzle 13 to the inside of the molten metal pool container and the projection length b to the outside of the container are appropriately determined”- see pg.), prompting one of ordinary skill to look to various projection lengths and therefore flow path lengths.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the nozzle opening of Kumai such that the second flow path has a flow path length smaller than a flow path length of the first flow path, through routine optimization (see MPEP 2144.05.II) to achieve an optimal flow such that the molten metal smoothly flows out of the container.
Regarding claim 11, Kumai modified with Katai teaches the granular metal production device according to claim 3.
While Katai fails to explicitly teach the second flow path has a flow path length smaller than a flow path length of the first flow path, Katai teaches a projection length a of the nozzle inside of the molten metal pool container and a projection length b outside of the container are appropriately determined (“The projection length a of the nozzle 13 to the inside of the molten metal pool container and the projection length b to the outside of the container are appropriately determined”- see pg.), prompting one of ordinary skill to look to various projection lengths and therefore flow path lengths.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the nozzle opening of Kumai such that the second flow path has a flow path length smaller than a flow path length of the first flow path, through routine optimization (see MPEP 2144.05.II) to achieve an optimal flow such that the molten metal smoothly flows out of the container.
Regarding claim 12, Kumai modified with Katai teaches the granular metal production device according to claim 4.
While Katai fails to explicitly teach the second flow path has a flow path length smaller than a flow path length of the first flow path, Katai teaches a projection length a of the nozzle inside of the molten metal pool container and a projection length b outside of the container are appropriately determined (“The projection length a of the nozzle 13 to the inside of the molten metal pool container and the projection length b to the outside of the container are appropriately determined”- see pg.), prompting one of ordinary skill to look to various projection lengths and therefore flow path lengths.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the nozzle opening of Kumai such that the second flow path has a flow path length smaller than a flow path length of the first flow path, through routine optimization (see MPEP 2144.05.II) to achieve an optimal flow such that the molten metal smoothly flows out of the container.
Conclusion
/ARIELLA MACHNESS/Examiner, Art Unit 1743