DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ argument filed on 8/21/2026 has been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant essentially argues “Jo does not, however, disclose: the sensor comprises ... a lateral protrusion that has an opening configured to receive an airflow by which the sensor measures humidity in the vehicle interior.”, [page 4 of remarks].
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claim limitation as recited now, after amendment is, “A sensor assembly for a motor vehicle, comprising: a mount; a camera; and a sensor, wherein the sensor comprises: a body and a lateral protrusion, and wherein the lateral protrusion has an opening configured to receive an airflow …”. Jo (US 2021/0370846) disclosed each and every element of the amended claim's limitation, at least in Figure 1. Fig. 1 of the instant application illustrates a sensor 12 that includes a body 14, a connector holder 24, and a protrusion 16 having an opening 18 configured to receive an airflow. Jo in Figure 1 shows an in-vehicle camera device 1 is attached to the inside of a vehicle including a windshield F. The examiner mapped sensor comprises: a body (sensor 4), connector portion (portion of the hood as a connector of the body 4) and a lateral protrusion (part of hood which sticks out from a surface of sensor body 4 and extends outward and projects towards the windshield F, Fig. 1). The lateral protrusion didn’t extend and touch the windshield, it has an opening G at the end, configured to receive an airflow.
Therefore, the Applicant’s argument is non-persuasive, and Examiner maintains the rejection.
The Alternative 103 Rejection: While the Examiner states that Jo teaches the limitation of claim 11 as recited, the Examiner additionally asserts another obviousness rejection of claim 11 under the same primary reference in the interest of compact prosecution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jo (US 2021/0370846, of record).
Regarding claim 11, Jo teaches a sensor assembly for a motor vehicle (refer to US 2021/0370846), comprising: a sensor assembly for a motor vehicle (at least Figure 1, sensor assembly attached inside of a vehicle including a windshield F), comprising:
a mount, (3c, mounting member).
a camera (2, camera); and
a sensor, wherein the sensor comprises a body (sensor 4 and the 4 to 3B connector portion, i.e. portion of the hood as a connector of the body 4) and a lateral protrusion (Fig. 1; a lateral protrusion, part of hood which sticks out from a surface of sensor body 4 and extends outward and projects towards the windshield F,), and wherein the lateral protrusion has an opening configured to receive an airflow by which the sensor measures humidity in the vehicle interior (Figure 1 shows the lateral protrusion didn’t extend and touch the windshield, it has an opening G at the end, configured to receive an airflow; the sensor is within the vehicle, the humidity measured is the humidity in the vehicle interior), wherein the sensor assembly is fixable to a windshield of the motor vehicle (housing 3 is attached to an inner surface of the windshield F, [0021], Fig. 1), and wherein a straight line along the direction of longitudinal extent of the lateral protrusion runs diagonally to a central longitudinal plane of the sensor assembly (Figure 1 depicts 3B, hood, is sloped/diagonal to a central longitudinal plane of the sensor assembly, that is horizontal line through the center of the camera).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jo (US 2021/0370846, of record). in view of Rothacher et al. (US 20080016945).
Regarding claim 11, Jo teaches a sensor assembly for a motor vehicle (refer to US 2021/0370846), comprising: a sensor assembly for a motor vehicle (at least Figure 1, sensor assembly attached inside of a vehicle including a windshield F), comprising:
a mount (3c, mounting member).
a camera (2, camera); and
a sensor, wherein the sensor comprises a body (sensor 4 and the connector portion, i.e. portion of the hood as a connector of the body 4) and an opening configured to receive an airflow by which the sensor measures humidity in the vehicle interior (Figure 1 shows an opening G at the end of 3B, configured to receive an airflow; the sensor is within the vehicle, the humidity measured is the humidity in the vehicle interior), wherein the sensor assembly is fixable to a windshield of the motor vehicle (housing 3 is attached to an inner surface of the windshield F, [0021], Fig. 1), and wherein a straight line along the direction of longitudinal extent of the lateral protrusion runs diagonally to a central longitudinal plane of the sensor assembly (Figure 1 depicts 3B, hood, is sloped/diagonal to a central longitudinal plane of the sensor assembly, that is horizontal line through the center of the camera).
Jo doesn’t explicitly teach sensor comprises a body and a lateral protrusion and wherein the lateral protrusion has an opening configured to receive an airflow by which the sensor measures humidity in the vehicle interior.
Jo and Rothacher are related because both teach humidity sensors.
Rothacher teaches the sensor comprises a body (Fig. 5, humidity sensor 2, [0033]) and a lateral protrusion (cap 8 is arranged on top of humidity sensor 2, [0036]) and wherein the lateral protrusion has an opening (opening 9, Fig. 5) configured to receive an airflow by which the sensor measures humidity in the vehicle interior (An opening 9 at the top side of cap 8 allows an air exchange between humidity sensor 2 and its environment., [0036]; Jo teaches in the vehicle interior, see above). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the sensor assembly of Jo, to arrange a body and a lateral protrusion and wherein the lateral protrusion has an opening configured to receive an airflow by which the sensor measures humidity, as Rothacher teaches, for the predictable advantage of protecting the sensor, as disclosed by Rothacher (a cap protects the sensor, [0017]).
Regarding claim 12, The modified Jo teaches the sensor assembly according to claim 11 (see above), wherein the opening (G, Fig. 1) is partly or fully arranged laterally to the camera in the transverse direction (opening G is arranged crosswise to the camera 2 in the transverse direction, see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 13, The modified Jo teaches the sensor assembly according to claim 11 (see above), wherein the straight line along the direction of longitudinal extent of the lateral protrusion (straight line along the direction of longitudinal extent of the lateral protrusion 3B) and the central longitudinal plane (central longitudinal plane of the sensor assembly, Fig. 1) enclose an angle of 20 degrees to 160 degrees (Fig. 1 shows the straight line along the direction of longitudinal extent of the lateral protrusion 3B and the central longitudinal plane of the sensor assembly, Fig. 1, enclose an angle of about 20 degrees).
Regarding claim 14, The modified Jo teaches the sensor assembly according to claim 11 (see above), wherein the opening (G, Fig. 1, [0024]) is formed at a first end of the lateral protrusion (first end of 3B; defogging sensor 4 at the front end of the hood 3B, [0024]) opposite the body or at a first side wall of the lateral protrusion (at a first side wall of the lateral protrusion 3B, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 15, The modified Jo teaches the sensor assembly according to claim 11 (see above), a sensor assembly for a motor vehicle (at least Figure 1, in-vehicle camera device 1 is attached to the inside of a vehicle including a windshield F, defogging sensor 4 (4′), [0017], [0022]), wherein the sensor comprises a connector holder arranged on a side of the body opposite the lateral protrusion (holder of coupling circuit 2C arranged on a side of the body opposite the lateral protrusion 3B, [Fig. 1, [0019]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jo and Rothacher, as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Maxwell (US 2018/0345865, of record).
Regarding claim 16, The modified Jo teaches the sensor assembly according to claim 11 (see above), wherein the mount (3C) is able to be connected to the windshield (F).
Jo doesn’t explicitly teach mount is able to be connected to the windshield via a sealing lip in such a way that an airtight cavity is formed between the mount and the windshield, in which cavity the optical sensor is arranged.
Jo and Maxwell are related as vehicle mirror sensor assembly.
Maxwell teaches mount is able to be connected to the windshield via a sealing lip in such a way that an airtight cavity is formed between the mount and the windshield, in which cavity the optical sensor is arranged (base 14 is mounted to the top central portion of the windshield 18 by way of sealing lip, see Fig. 5; Figure shows that a closed cavity is formed between the base 14 and the windshield in which an imaging port 24 is disposed; image port 24 includes diverging sidewalls 54 extending forward from the image processing module 20, [0030]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to arrange the sensor assembly of Jo, wherein mount is able to be connected to the windshield via a sealing lip in such a way that an airtight cavity is formed between the mount and the windshield, in which cavity the optical sensor is arranged, as taught by Maxwell for the predictable advantage of the electronic systems center has a low profile housing of compact design that minimizes forward vision obstruction. The electronic systems center may house (1) an image processing module, (2), a rain light sensor (RLS), (3) a USB charger such as a smart charger made for dash cam cameras and other dashboard mounted electronic equipment, (4) an electronic windshield anti-fogging system (EWAFS) and (5) wire routing features that serve to eliminate rattling of wires within the housing, as Maxwell teaches in [0002].
Regarding claim 17, the modified Jo teaches the sensor assembly according to claim 16 (see above), wherein the opening G is arranged [Fig. 1]), and Maxwell teaches opening is arranged laterally to the airtight cavity and/or the sealing lip in the transverse direction (opening with sidewalls 54, [0030] in the transverse direction (see Figs. 5, 6).
Regarding claim 19, Jo teaches the sensor assembly according to claim 11 (see above). Jo doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the sensor at least partly has the same position in the transverse direction as at least one subregion of the camera, of the airtight cavity and/or of the sealing lip.
Jo and Maxwell are related as vehicle mirror sensor assembly.
Maxwell teaches wherein the sensor (34) at least partly has the same position in the transverse direction as at least one subregion of the camera (image processing module 20), of the airtight cavity and/or of the sealing lip (see Fig. 5, lip 54).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jo and Rothacher et al. as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Minikey et al. (US 2014/0055617, of record).
Regarding claim 18, The modified Jo teaches the sensor assembly according to claim 11 (see above). Jo doesn’t explicitly teach the sensor is arranged behind the camera in the longitudinal direction.
Jo and Minikey are related as vehicle mirror sensor assembly.
Minikey teaches the sensor is arranged behind the camera in the longitudinal direction (in Fig. 19 sensor in 20 behind the camera 105, in the longitudinal direction [0070]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to arrange the sensor is arranged behind the camera in the longitudinal direction, as taught by Minikey for the predictable advantage of operably secured sensor assembly in the sensor receiving area of the windshield bracket, as Minikey teaches in [0005].
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minikey et al. (US 2014/0055617, of record) and further in view of Jo, and Rothacher, as applied to claim 11 above.
Regarding claim 20, Minikey teaches an interior mirror assembly for a motor vehicle (refer to US 2014/0055617), comprising:
a mirror (Fig. 2, mirror in rearview mirror housing 12, [0066]);
a mirror base (mirror housing 12, [0066]);
a mirror baseplate (cover 120, [0071], Figs. 1-2); and the sensor assembly (sensor assembly 24, [0066], Fig. 1), wherein the mirror is fixed to the mirror baseplate via the mirror base (the mirror is fixed to the mirror baseplate 120 via the mirror base 12) and the mount (mount 20, [0066]) comprises a recess in which the mirror baseplate 120 is arranged, see Figs. 2-3, 22 and 23).
Minikey doesn’t explicitly teach the motor vehicle, comprising: the sensor assembly of claim 11.
Jo in view of Rothacher teaches the sensor assembly of claim 11 (see claim 11). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to arrange the sensor assembly of Jo as described in claim 11, for the predictable advantage of accurately detecting fogging of the portion of the windshield positioned within the field of view of the in-vehicle camera and acquires images through the windshield, as taught by Jo in abstract, [0003] and [0004].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. (i) Minikey et al. (US 20140055617), (ii) Schofield et al. (US 20120224248), (iii) Lynam (US 6250148), (iv) Stam et al. (US 5923027).
The cited prior art differs from the embodiment presented in [0031] of the instant application discloser.
/R.A/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BALRAM T PARBADIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872