Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 27-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2015/0359095 to Murakawa et al. in view of in view of U.S. Patent 6,866,383 to Naik et al.
As to claim 27-28, 30-33, Murakawa discloses an aqueous primer composition comprising a urethane resin that is the reaction product of a polyester polyol, diisocyanate, anionic hydroxyl reactant, and chain extender (0057-0099) and from 0.1% to 10% by mass of a blocked polyisocyanate crosslinker (0167, 0194-0196, 0198-0199). Murakawa discloses the use of polyethyleneimines, however, the content of the component is not expressly disclosed with regards to the amount used in the primer (0290-0292).
However, within the same field of endeavor, Naik discloses an ink-receptive coating composition wherein when coated on a substrate forms an ink-receptive coating (primer) comprising a filler, a aliphatic polyester polyurethane binder, or acrylic homopolymer binder (5:3-9. 6:5-7:50) and a cationic polymer having a molecular weight of 3,000 to 50,000 selected from polyethyleneamines (11:18, 24, 29) that is also used an adhesion promoters in amounts that range from 0.5 to 5% based on the coating composition (13:63-14:2, 14:3-40).
At the time of filing it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include 0.5 to 5% by weight of the polyethyleneimine component taught in Naiz to improve adhesion of the primer layer of Murakawa prior to addition of the ink (13:64-69) and because it fixes acid dye colorants in water-based inks, and diminishes dye diffusion (11:8-10).
As to claim 29, Murakawa disclose a primer comprising the urethane resin discussed above and polyacrylic binders in amounts that range from 90/10 to 10/90 (0139, 0165).
As to claims 34-35, Murakawa discloses a primer that contains 10 to 70% by mass of the urethane resin or combination of urethane resin and polyacrylic resin relative to the whole primer (0060). The additional components include solvents (0061-0065).
As to claim 36, Murakawa discloses wherein the composition does not contain the
claimed additives.
As to claim 37, Murakawa discloses a water content of 60% based on a solids content of 40% (Examples).
As to claims 38-39, Murakawa discloses a method of providing a primed polyvinylchloride substrate comprising applying the primer and drying the primer (0038).
As to claims 40-43, Murakawa in view of Naik disclose a method of providing a primer
polyvinylchloride substrate comprising applying the primer and drying the primer (10:30-36), wherein the combination teaches a ink receptive coating wherein an ink is printed on top of the coating, followed by drying, and thermal lamination (See 22:10-63, reference to U.S. Patent No. 4,966,804).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 27-43 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL L LEONARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763