DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 10, “motor,” should be changed to --motor--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The limitations of claim 9 conflict with the limitations of claim 1, since the first cup-shaped receptacle cannot be both part of the main body of the at least one first bearing element (i.e., “a first cup-shaped receptacle formed in a main body of the at least one first bearing element”), as recited in claim 1, and separate from the main body (i.e., “the spring element is supported on one side against the main body and on another side against the first cup-shaped receptacle”), as recited in claim 9. The first cup-shaped receptacle in claim 1 is seemingly intended to correspond to element 11 (as suggested by the stricken through reference character 11 associated with the first cup-shaped receptacle in claim 1), whereas the first cup-shaped receptacle in claim 9 is seemingly intended to correspond to element 40 (as suggested by the stricken through reference character 40 associated with the first cup-shaped receptacle in claim 9). Element 40 is identified as a “receptacle” in the specification, not a “cup-shaped receptacle”. It appears that applicant mistakenly used the same term (i.e., “first cup-shaped receptacle”) in claims 1 and 9 for two different elements (i.e., the elements associated with reference characters 11 and 40), thereby leading to conflicting limitations in claims 1 and 9.
The limitations of claim 16 conflict with the limitations of claim 14, since the first cup-shaped receptacle cannot be both part of the one of the inner pull-out tube or the outer guide tube (i.e., “a first cup-shaped receptacle of the one of the inner pull-out tube or the outer guide tube”), as recited in claim 14, and separate from the one of the inner pull-out tube or the outer guide tube (i.e., “the first cup-shaped receptacle is constructed separately from the one of the inner pull-out tube or the outer guide tube”), as recited in claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-14 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sedlmeier et al. (DE 102019007741 A1). Sedlmeier discloses a longitudinally adjustable operating unit for adjusting a driving direction of a motor vehicle, comprising: a telescopic pull-out device having: an outer guide tube (e.g., 1 or 15), an inner pull-out tube (e.g., 15 or 16) disposed within the outer guide tube, and the telescopic pull-out device configured to be coupled to a steering means (e.g., 21) and an electric motor (e.g., 9), and the outer guide tube and the inner pull-out tube are supported via a roller bearing arrangement (said roller bearing arrangement comprising balls 13 and/or 19) so as to be axially displaceable with respect to one another, the roller bearing arrangement having a first ball (e.g., 13, 19) secured to one of the inner pull-out tube or the outer guide tube in an axial direction such that during a telescoping motion of the telescopic pull-out device, the first ball rolls against and moves axially relative to a remaining one of the inner pull-out tube or the outer guide tube. The first ball rolls within a concave groove (e.g., 12, 14, 17, 18) of the remaining one of the inner pull-out tube or the outer guide tube. The first ball is secured in a radial direction relative to the remaining one of the inner pull-out tube or the outer guide tube (Figs. 1-3). The first ball is disposed within a first cup-shaped receptacle (e.g., 12, 14, 17, 18) of the one of the inner pull-out tube or the outer guide tube. The roller bearing arrangement further comprises a second ball (e.g., one of the balls that is in a different groove than the first ball): secured to the one of the inner pull-out tube or the outer guide tube in the axial direction, and arranged at a differential circumferential position than the first ball relative to the one of the inner pull-out tube or the outer guide tube. The roller bearing arrangement further comprises a third ball (e.g., one of the balls that is in a different groove than the first ball or the second ball): secured to the one of the inner pull-out tube or the outer guide tube in the axial direction, and arranged at a differential circumferential position than the first ball and the second ball relative to the one of the inner pull-out tube or the outer guide tube. The first ball, the second ball, and the third ball each roll in a corresponding concave groove (e.g., 12, 14, 17, 18) of the remaining one of the inner pull-out tube or the outer guide tube. Sedlmeier does not explicitly teach that the longitudinally adjustable operating unit is for adjusting a driving direction of a motor vehicle in a steer-by-wire system. However, it is implicit / apparent that the longitudinally adjustable operating unit is for adjusting a driving direction of a motor vehicle in a steer-by-wire system. Furthermore, the recitation “for adjusting a driving direction of a motor vehicle in a steer-by-wire system” is a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention, and a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. The structure in Sedlmeier is capable of adjusting a driving direction of a motor vehicle in a steer-by-wire system, and it therefore meets the claim with respect to that recitation.
Claims 11, 13, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bayer et al. (US 2021/0188342 A1). Bayer discloses a longitudinally adjustable operating unit (e.g., 2) for adjusting a driving direction of a motor vehicle in a steer-by-wire system (paragraph 0001), comprising: a telescopic pull-out device having: an outer guide tube (e.g., 102), an inner pull-out tube (e.g., 103) disposed within the outer guide tube, and the telescopic pull-out device configured to be coupled to a steering means (e.g., 52) and an electric motor (e.g., 116), and the outer guide tube and the inner pull-out tube are supported via a roller bearing arrangement (e.g., 121) so as to be axially displaceable with respect to one another, the roller bearing arrangement having a first ball (e.g., a ball that is above the inner pull-out tube 103) secured to one of the inner pull-out tube or the outer guide tube in an axial direction such that during a telescoping motion of the telescopic pull-out device, the first ball rolls against and moves axially relative to a remaining one of the inner pull-out tube or the outer guide tube (Fig. 3; paragraph 0054). The first ball is secured in a radial direction relative to the remaining one of the inner pull-out tube or the outer guide tube (implicit; i.e., it is apparent that the first ball does not roll freely around the octagonal circumference of the outer guide tube). The roller bearing arrangement further comprises a second ball (e.g., a ball that is below the inner pull-out tube 103): secured to the one of the inner pull-out tube or the outer guide tube in the axial direction, and arranged at a differential circumferential position than the first ball relative to the one of the inner pull-out tube or the outer guide tube. The roller bearing arrangement further comprises a third ball (implicit; i.e., it is apparent that a ball is also provided between lateral surfaces of the outer guide tube (e.g., 102) and the inner pull-out tube (e.g., 103)): secured to the one of the inner pull-out tube or the outer guide tube in the axial direction, and arranged at a differential circumferential position than the first ball and the second ball relative to the one of the inner pull-out tube or the outer guide tube.
Claims 11, 13, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bayer et al. (WO 2021/175699 A1). Bayer discloses a longitudinally adjustable operating unit (e.g., 1) for adjusting a driving direction of a motor vehicle in a steer-by-wire system (see the paragraph beginning with “In particular” on the first page of the translation), comprising: a telescopic pull-out device having: an outer guide tube (e.g., 31 or 32), an inner pull-out tube (e.g., 32 or 33) disposed within the outer guide tube, and the telescopic pull-out device configured to be coupled to a steering means (e.g., “a steering wheel” – see the paragraph beginning with “The steering column” on the first page of the translation) and an electric motor (see the paragraph beginning with “It is advantageous” on the third page of the translation), and the outer guide tube and the inner pull-out tube are supported via a roller bearing arrangement (Fig. 4; see the paragraph beginning with “Optional sliding sleeves” on the fourth page of the translation) so as to be axially displaceable with respect to one another, the roller bearing arrangement having a first ball (e.g., one of the balls shown in Fig. 4; see the paragraph beginning with “Optional sliding sleeves” on the fourth page of the translation) secured to one of the inner pull-out tube or the outer guide tube in an axial direction such that during a telescoping motion of the telescopic pull-out device, the first ball rolls against and moves axially relative to a remaining one of the inner pull-out tube or the outer guide tube (Fig. 4; see the paragraph beginning with “Optional sliding sleeves” on the fourth page of the translation). The first ball is secured in a radial direction relative to the remaining one of the inner pull-out tube or the outer guide tube (Fig. 4; see the paragraph beginning with “Optional sliding sleeves” on the fourth page of the translation). The roller bearing arrangement further comprises a second ball (e.g., one of the balls shown in Fig. 4 other than the first ball): secured to the one of the inner pull-out tube or the outer guide tube in the axial direction, and arranged at a differential circumferential position than the first ball relative to the one of the inner pull-out tube or the outer guide tube (Fig. 4). The roller bearing arrangement further comprises a third ball (e.g., one of the balls shown in Fig. 4 other than the first ball or the second ball): secured to the one of the inner pull-out tube or the outer guide tube in the axial direction, and arranged at a differential circumferential position than the first ball and the second ball relative to the one of the inner pull-out tube or the outer guide tube (Fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bayer et al. (WO 2021/175699 A1) in view of Sedlmeier et al. (DE 102019007741 A1). Bayer teaches the limitations of claims 11 and 19, as explained above. Bayer does not teach the limitations of claims 12 and/or 20. Sedlmeier teaches concave grooves (12, 14, 17, 18). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an invention as taught by Bayer with a concave groove or grooves, as taught by Sedlmeier, in order to “advantageously achieve that the telescopic tubes can only shift axially” (paragraph 0007) so that the outer guide tube and the inner pull-out tube “are connected to each other in an advantageous way” (paragraph 0009) and so that “the telescopic tubes cannot be twisted against each other around their respective axes” (paragraph 0009). All the claimed elements were known in the cited prior art, and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results. MPEP § 2143(I)(A).
Claims 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bayer et al. (WO 2021/175699 A1) in view of Krude (US 4,280,341). Bayer teaches the limitations of claim 11, as explained above. Bayer does not teach the limitations of claims 14-17. Krude teaches a first ball (e.g., 8) disposed within a first cup-shaped receptacle (e.g., 5) of one of an inner pull-out tube (e.g., 10) or an outer guide tube (e.g., said outer guide tube comprising an outer shaft member 1). A first group of second balls (e.g., 6) is disposed within the first cup-shaped receptacle, and the first ball rollingly engages the first group of second balls. The first cup-shaped receptacle is constructed separately from the one of the inner pull-out tube or the outer guide tube (Figs. 1, 2, 5 and 6; column 1, lines 62-65). The first cup-shaped receptacle retains the first ball in an axial direction and in a radial direction relative to the one of the inner pull-out tube or the outer guide tube (Figs. 1, 2 and 5-7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute a bearing arrangement having a first cup-shaped receptacle, a first ball and second balls, as taught by Krude, for a bearing arrangement as taught by Bayer in order to similarly “provide relative sliding movement between the shaft members and also effect torque transmission between the shaft members” (abstract of Krude). MPEP § 2143(I)(B). Such a substitution would advantageously result in an invention in which “The rolling bodies are guided so that there is only low friction developed during the sliding movement of the shaft parts with the rolling bodies which provide torque transmission rolling between the inner and outer shaft parts during telescopic movement. In accordance with the present invention, each rolling body is supported within a support member by at least three guide balls with the guide balls located in annular recesses in the support member. This arrangement has the advantage that, if peak torques are developed, possible seizing of the telescoping shaft sections is prevented because the rolling bodies continue to roll between the outer and inner shaft members, even under the influence of increasing friction caused by the peak torques, and a low friction is maintained due to the use of the guide balls. Overall, a smooth running operation of the entire telescopic shaft is achieved” (column 1, lines 30-47 of Krude). All the claimed elements were known in the cited prior art, and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results. MPEP § 2143(I)(A).
Claims 1-4, 6, 7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sedlmeier et al. (DE 102019007741 A1) in view of Krude (US 4,280,341). Sedlmeier teaches a longitudinally adjustable operating unit, comprising: a telescopic pull-out device having an outer guide tube (e.g., 1 or 15), in which an inner pull-out tube (e.g., 15 or 16) is axially guided relative to the outer guide tube, and the telescopic pull-out device is coupled on a first side to a steering means (e.g., 21), and an actuation of the steering means defining a steering direction causes a rotation of the outer guide tube or of the inner pull-out tube, and the telescopic pull-out device is coupled on a second side to a motor (e.g., 9) configured to apply a motor torque to the outer guide tube or the inner pull-out tube, and the outer guide tube and the inner pull-out tube are supported via a roller bearing arrangement (said roller bearing arrangement comprising bearing balls 13 and/or 19) so as to be translationally displaceable with respect to one another. A first raceway (12, 14, 17, 18) extends axially through one of the outer guide tube or the inner pull-out tube, such that the outer guide tube and the inner pull-out tube are fixed to one another in a circumferential direction. Sedlmeier does not explicitly teach that the longitudinally adjustable operating unit is for adjusting a driving direction of a motor vehicle in a steer-by-wire system or that the longitudinally adjustable operating unit is a part of a steer-by-wire system. However, it is implicit / apparent that the longitudinally adjustable operating unit is for adjusting a driving direction of a motor vehicle in a steer-by-wire system and is therefore a part of a steer-by-wire system. Furthermore, the recitation “for adjusting a driving direction of a motor vehicle in a steer-by-wire system” is a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention, and a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. The structure in Sedlmeier is capable of adjusting a driving direction of a motor vehicle in a steer-by-wire system, and it therefore meets the claim with respect to that recitation. The first raceway is configured as a groove (Figs. 1-3; paragraphs 0006-0009, 0027-0031, 0039 and 0040), and the adjustable operating unit further comprises second and third raceways configured as grooves (Figs. 1-3; paragraphs 0006-0009, 0027-0031, 0039 and 0040). Sedlmeier does not teach that the roller bearing arrangement has at least one first bearing element with a first cup-shaped receptacle formed in a main body of the at least one first bearing element, the at least one first bearing element having: a first bearing ball arranged in the first cup-shaped receptacle and projecting out of the first cup-shaped receptacle, and has a first group of second bearing balls arranged within the first cup-shaped receptacle, and a diameter of the first bearing ball is greater than a diameter of a respective second bearing ball of the first group of second bearing balls, and the first group of second bearing balls is arranged between the first bearing ball and the first cup-shaped receptacle, such that the first bearing ball rolls against the first group of second bearing balls and the first bearing ball projecting from the first cup-shaped receptacle rollingly engages in a first raceway extending axially through one of the outer guide tube or the inner pull-out tube, such that the outer guide tube and the inner pull-out tube are fixed to one another in a circumferential direction. Krude teaches a roller bearing arrangement that has at least one first bearing element with a first cup-shaped receptacle formed in a main body (e.g., 5) of the at least one first bearing element, the at least one first bearing element having: a first bearing ball (e.g., 8) arranged in the first cup-shaped receptacle and projecting out of the first cup-shaped receptacle, and has a first group of second bearing balls (e.g., 6) arranged within the first cup-shaped receptacle, and a diameter of the first bearing ball is greater than a diameter of a respective second bearing ball of the first group of second bearing balls (Figs. 1-7), and the first group of second bearing balls is arranged between the first bearing ball and the first cup-shaped receptacle (Figs. 1-7), such that the first bearing ball rolls against the first group of second bearing balls and the first bearing ball projecting from the first cup-shaped receptacle rollingly engages in a first raceway (e.g., 9) extending axially through one of an outer guide tube (e.g., said outer guide tube comprising an outer shaft member 1) or an inner pull-out tube (e.g., 10), such that the outer guide tube and the inner pull-out tube are fixed to one another in a circumferential direction. As shown in Figs. 2 and 4, the roller bearing arrangement further comprises additional elements corresponding to the various claimed “second” and “third” elements (as recited in claims 2, 3 and 6) that are substantially identical to the “first” claimed elements (as recited in claim 1). One of the outer guide tube or the inner pull-out tube has at least one receptacle extending in a radial direction, each of the at least one receptacle configured to receive a corresponding one of the at least one first bearing element, the at least one second bearing element, or the at least one third bearing element (Figs. 1 and 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute a bearing arrangement having cup-shaped receptacles, first balls and second balls, as taught by Krude, for a bearing arrangement as taught by Sedlmeier in order to similarly “provide relative sliding movement between the shaft members and also effect torque transmission between the shaft members” (abstract of Krude). MPEP § 2143(I)(B). Such a substitution would advantageously result in an invention in which “The rolling bodies are guided so that there is only low friction developed during the sliding movement of the shaft parts with the rolling bodies which provide torque transmission rolling between the inner and outer shaft parts during telescopic movement. In accordance with the present invention, each rolling body is supported within a support member by at least three guide balls with the guide balls located in annular recesses in the support member. This arrangement has the advantage that, if peak torques are developed, possible seizing of the telescoping shaft sections is prevented because the rolling bodies continue to roll between the outer and inner shaft members, even under the influence of increasing friction caused by the peak torques, and a low friction is maintained due to the use of the guide balls. Overall, a smooth running operation of the entire telescopic shaft is achieved” (column 1, lines 30-47 of Krude). All the claimed elements were known in the cited prior art, and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results. MPEP § 2143(I)(A).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sedlmeier et al. (DE 102019007741 A1) in view of Krude (US 4,280,341) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Maeda (JP 2009-197825 A). Maeda teaches a groove (e.g., the groove formed by rolling element side contact portions 562 and the connection part 561) having a trapezoidal cross-sectional contour defined by non-parallel sides (Figs. 3, 5, 8, 13, 14 and 16; paragraph 0052). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a leaf spring 56 having a trapezoidal cross-sectional contour as taught by Maeda as a groove in an invention as taught by Sedlmeier in order to similarly restrict movement of the balls. MPEP § 2143(I)(B). Using a leaf spring 56 having a trapezoidal cross-sectional contour as taught by Maeda as a groove in an invention as taught by Sedlmeier would advantageously absorb “the rotational and radial play between the ball 55 and the axial groove 54 and axial groove 41 through the elastic deformation of the biasing portion 563, 563” (paragraph 0055). Furthermore, in the absence of persuasive evidence that the particular shape of the groove is significant, the claimed shape cannot serve to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the cited references. MPEP §2144.04(IV)(B). All the claimed elements were known in the cited prior art, and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results. MPEP § 2143(I)(A).
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sedlmeier et al. (DE 102019007741 A1) in view of Krude (US 4,280,341) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gschaider (DE 824621 C). Gschaider teaches a spring element (paragraph 0011). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an invention based on a combination of Sedlmeier and Krude, as set forth above, with a spring element, according to the known technique taught by Gschaider, so that “Additional stresses…are absorbed by the springs without damaging the balls” (paragraph 0011). All the claimed elements were known in the cited prior art, and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results. MPEP § 2143(I)(A).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. For example, Munding et al. (US 2020/0317251 A1) teaches a longitudinally adjustable operating unit for adjusting a driving direction of a motor vehicle in a steer-by-wire system comprising a roller bearing arrangement.
/KEITH J FRISBY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3614