DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The preliminary amendment filed on 5/1/2025 is acknowledged. Accordingly, claims 2-8 have been cancelled, claim 25 has been newly added, thus claims 1 and 9-25 are currently pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 9-10, 14 and 20-21 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 9, the phrase “wherein the reflective surface”, on line 2, should be changed to – wherein a reflective surface –, since the claimed reflective surface appears to be one of the plurality of reflective surfaces of claim 1.
In claim 10, the phrase “wherein the reflective surface”, on line 2, should be changed to – wherein a reflective surface –, since the claimed reflective surface appears to be one of the plurality of reflective surfaces of claim 1.
In claim 14, the phrase “comprising the condenser lens”, on lines 1-2, should be changed to – further comprising a condenser lens --, as the condenser lens is an additional element to claim 1. It appears to be a typographical error.
In claim 20, the phrase “comprising: another linear Fresnel lens”, on lines 1-2, should be changed to – further comprising: another linear Fresnel lens –, as the another Fresnel lens is an additional element to claims 1 and 17.
In claim 21, the phrase “wherein the other linear Fresnel lens”, on lines 1-2, should be changed to – wherein the another linear Fresnel lens –, as the another Fresnel lens was already introduced in claim 20.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 9-13, 15 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Katsumata et al. (US 20210373385 A1, hereinafter, “Katsumata”, cited by the Applicant in IDS filed on 2/7/2025).
Regarding claim 1, Katsumata teaches a direct-type planar illumination device (planar light source, see figures 16-17, and figures 1-15 ad 18-20 to show common elements and features common to all embodiments) comprising:
a plurality of light sources (light sources 12, see fig 17); and
a reflector (partition member 23, see fig 16 being reflective and described in ¶ 59) having a plurality of reflective surfaces (wall portions 23b and bottom potions 23c, see fig 16) forming respective segments (see horizontal, vertical and inclined segments formed by at least four 23b, and surrounding light sources 12 in fig 16), each segment (four segments of 23b) surrounding a corresponding one (better seen in fig 16) of the plurality of light sources (12),
wherein
at an area (see areas of parts E and F, better seen in fig 1 at the periphery of the planar light source, and also seen in fig 16) not enabling arrangement of the light sources (at least no additional light source may fit on peripheral spaces of fig 16, as shown in the projected position of light sources in fig 16 below) because a planar shape (as seen in fig 17) of a light emitting area (area surrounded by 23) of the planar illumination device (planar light source) is irregular and non-rectangular (better seen in fig 16 or fig 15), a segment (see extended segment Ex, as noted in fog 16 below) of the reflector (23) adjacent to the area (peripheral area of the planar light source) is extended toward an outer edge side (see outer edge of 23) of the planar illumination device (planar light source).
Annotated figure 16 of Katsumata has been reproduced below:
Regarding claim 9, Katsumata teaches wherein the reflective surface (surfaces of 23) at the outer edge side (outer side of 23) of the irregular shape area (see shape of parts E and F) has an inclination angle (see inclination of outer 23b in fig 17) different from an inclination angle (see inclination angle of 23a of a central segment) of the reflective surface (surface of 23) at an area (central area of 23) other than the irregular shape area (area of parts E and F) in a sectional view parallel to an optical axis (along axis X, as seen in fig 17).
Regarding claim 10, Katsumata teaches wherein the reflective surface (surfaces of 23) at the outer edge side (edge of 23) of the irregular shape area (see shape of part F) forms a non-linear ridge line (see non-linear ridge formed by ridge of peripheral segments 23b, at least at the lower edge of the planar light source, and seen in fig 1 and 15) and
a linear valley line (formed by at least one segment 23c, and seen in fig 15 and better seen in fig 1) at a root (as 23c are a root at peripheral 23b),
a plurality of the valley lines (see lines formed by plural 23c extending along axis Y, see fig 15) at the root all extending linearly (as 23c all extend along the X axis and towards peripheral edge of 23) in a same direction (as all valleys extend parallel to each other) across a plurality of the segments (horizontal segments 23b extending along the X axis, as seen in fig 15) aligned in one direction (along X).
Regarding claim 11, Katsumata teaches wherein the valley lines (valleys along Y, better seen in figures 1 and 15) in the plurality of segments (segments of 23) arranged at the outer edge side (lower periphery of 23) of the irregular shape area (see area of part F) are formed on a common straight line along (along X axis, in the case of the lower edge of the planar light source) an entire length of the irregular shape area (see curved lower area of the planar light source in fig 15, parts E and F).
Regarding claim 12, Katsumata teaches wherein the reflector (23) has a plurality of openings (see openings of 23 for light sources, better seen in fig 14) exposing the light sources (12), the plurality of openings (openings of 23) are arranged, including the irregular shape area (see area of parts E and F), in the same shape as each other and in a grid pattern (see grid pattern, as seen in fig 16), and the reflective surface (see surface 23b, as seen in fig 17) at an outer edge side (edge of 23) of the irregular shape area (see area of parts E and F) is adjusted (in length, as compared to other four segments of 23) corresponding to the shape of the outer edge (see curved shape of the outer edge of the planal light source) of the irregular shape area (see shape of parts E and F, better seen in fig 15).
Regarding claim 13, Katsumata teaches wherein the reflective surface (surface of 23, see fig 17) at the outer edge side (outer edge of 23) of the irregular shape area (see area of parts E and F) includes an inclined surface (23b, better seen in fig 17), and
a surface (see surface of lateral wall 26b, see fig 18a) extending substantially parallel (along axis Z) to a thickness direction (see thickness of the device along Z) along the shape of the outer edge of the irregular shape area (along parts E and F, as see in fig 18a) at an exit surface side (top surface 23a, see fig 16) of the inclined surface (peripheral 23b).
Regarding claim 15, Katsumata teaches wherein the plurality of light sources (12) can be driven by local dimming (see local dimming disclosed in ¶ 52).
Regarding claim 25, Katsumata teaches direct-type planar illumination device (planar light source, see figures 16-17, and figures 1-15 ad 18-20 to show common elements and features common to all embodiments) comprising:
a plurality of light sources (12); and
a reflector (23) having a plurality of reflective surfaces (see surface forming 23, and being reflective, see ¶ 59) forming respective segments (wall portions 23b and bottom potions 23c, see fig 16), each segment (four segments of 23b) surrounding a corresponding one of the plurality of light sources (12),
wherein
a shape of the reflective surfaces (see shapes of the four segments of 23) of an area where the planar shape of a light emitting area (area surrounded by 23) of the planar illumination device (planar light source) is irregular and non-rectangular (as clearly seen in fig 16 or fig 15) is adjusted (see segments Ex being longer at the edge of 23 in annotated figure above) according to a position (position of four segments of 23 in fig 16) of the end part of the light emitting area (area surrounded by 23).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14, 16 and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katsumata et al. (US 20210373385 A1, hereinafter, “Katsumata”, cited by the Applicant in IDS filed on 2/7/2025) in view of Lamb et al. (US 20050135117 A1, hereinafter, “Lamb”).
Regarding claim 14, Katsumata teaches comprising the lens (prism sheets 73 and 74, see fig 11) arranged for the plurality of light sources (12), wherein
at the area (see areas of parts E and F) not enabling arrangement of the light sources (12) because the planar shape of the light emitting area (area surrounded by 23) of the planar illumination device (planar light source) is irregular and non-rectangular (see shape of parts E and F, as seen in fig 5), the lens is extended (as seen in fig 11).
Katsumata does not explicitly teach the lens is a condenser lens.
Lamb teaches a direct-type planar illumination device (backlighting system 100, see figure 2) including: a plurality of light sources (Light sources 185a and 185b), a reflector (extractor 143) and a lens (collimating structures 144a and 144b is BEF film arranged so that prism apexes point generally into the interior of the reflective cavity, see fig 2);
the lens (144a and 144b) is a condenser lens (as the prism sheets are condensing structures, see ¶ 28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to incorporate lens as taught by Lamb into the teachings of Katsumata in order to enhance light emission out of the device. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification to avoid light losses and maximize light output.
Regarding claim 16, Katsumata teaches a direct-type planar illumination device (planar light source, see figures 16-17, and figures 1-15 ad 18-20 to show common elements and features common to all embodiments) comprising:
a plurality of light sources (12); and
a lens (prism sheets 73 and 74, see fig 11) arranged for the plurality of light sources (12),
wherein
at an area (see areas of parts E and F, better seen in fig 1 at the periphery of the planar light source, as seen in fig 16) not enabling arrangement of the light sources (12) because a planar shape (as seen in fig 17) of a light emitting area (area surrounded by partition member 23) of the planar illumination device (planar light source) is irregular and non-rectangular (as seen in figures 15-16), the lens (73-74) is extended (see lens extending beyond the corresponding light source and along the axis X, better seen in fig 11).
Katsumata does not explicitly teach the lens is a condenser lens.
Lamb teaches a direct-type planar illumination device (backlighting system 100, see figure 2) including: a plurality of light sources (Light sources 185a and 185b), a reflector (extractor 143) and a lens (collimating structures 144a and 144b is BEF film arranged so that prism apexes point generally into the interior of the reflective cavity, see fig 2);
the lens (144a and 144b) is a condenser lens (as the prism sheets are condensing structures, see ¶ 28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to incorporate lens as taught by Lamb into the teachings of Katsumata in order to enhance light emission out of the device. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification to avoid light losses and maximize light output.
Regarding claim 22, Katsumata teaches further comprising a reflector (23) having a plurality of reflective surfaces (wall portions 23b and bottom potions 23c, see fig 16) forming a plurality of segments (see horizontal, vertical and inclined segments formed by at least four 23b, and surrounding light sources 12 in fig 16), each segment (four segments of 23b) surrounding a corresponding one (as clearly seen in fig 16) of the plurality of light sources (12).
Regarding claim 23, Katsumata teaches wherein the plurality of light sources (12) are linearly arranged along a light condensing position (prims portion of 73-74 above 12) of the condenser lens (73-74).
Regarding claim 24, Katsumata teaches wherein the plurality of light sources (12) can be driven by local dimming (see local dimming disclosed in ¶ 52).
Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katsumata et al. (US 20210373385 A1, hereinafter, “Katsumata”, cited by the Applicant in IDS filed on 2/7/2025) in view of Lamb et al. (US 20050135117 A1, hereinafter, “Lamb”) as applied to claims 1 and 16 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (KR 20100075758 A, hereinafter, “Lee”).
Regarding claim 17-19, Katsumata does not teach wherein the condenser lens is a linear Fresnel lens; and
wherein the extending of the linear Fresnel lens is performed corresponding to a curved surface of a cylindrical lens corresponding to the linear Fresnel lens; and
wherein the extending of the linear Fresnel lens is performed in a direction orthogonal to a direction of extension of the uneven grooves of the linear Fresnel lens.
Lee teaches a direct-type planar illumination device (illumination apparatus, see figures 10-12) including a plurality of light sources (Linear light sources 30, see fig 10) and a condensing lens (optical path changing unit 60, see fig 10);
wherein the condenser lens (60) is a linear Fresnel lens (linear Fresnel lens 66); and
wherein the extending of the linear Fresnel lens (see portions of 66 extending along a cylindrical area around each light source, no labeled but evident from figure 10, and known in the art as the basis for a Fresnel lens construction) is performed corresponding to a curved surface of a cylindrical lens (as is known in the art of Fresnel lens construction) corresponding to the linear Fresnel lens (66); and
wherein the extending of the linear Fresnel lens (see portion of 66 extending more than other portions) is performed in a direction orthogonal (along the light emission direction, as seen in fig 10) to a direction of extension (see grooves extending from side to side, and perpendicular to the light emission direction) of the uneven grooves (see grooves formed by 66) of the linear Fresnel lens (66).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to incorporate lens as taught by Lee into the teachings of Katsumata in order to eliminate luminance unevenness due to light leakage. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce unwanted light diffusion.
Claims 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katsumata et al. (US 20210373385 A1, hereinafter, “Katsumata”, cited by the Applicant in IDS filed on 2/7/2025) in view of Lamb et al. (US 20050135117 A1, hereinafter, “Lamb”) and Lee et al. (KR 20100075758 A, hereinafter, “Lee”) as applied to claims 16 and 17 above, and further in view of Yuan et al. (US 20150204491 A1, hereinafter, “Yuan”).
Regarding claims 20-21, Katsumata as modified by Lee disclose the planar illumination device having a linear Fresnel lens, but Katsumata as modified by Lee does not explicitly teach comprising:
another linear Fresnel lens having uneven grooves extending in a direction orthogonal to a direction of extension of the uneven grooves of the linear Fresnel lens; and
wherein the other linear Fresnel lens is formed at a surface of the linear Fresnel lens, the surface being at an opposite side of the linear Fresnel lens, or is formed separately from the linear Fresnel lens.
Yuan teaches a direct-type planar illumination device (lighting device, see figures 1-4) including a plurality of light sources (LEDs 67, see fig 4) illuminating a linear Fresnel lens (Fresnel features 58 on a second surface 60, see fig 1); comprising
another linear Fresnel lens (Fresnel features 54 on a first surface 56, see fig 1) having uneven grooves (see grooves formed by 54) extending in a direction (note, the plurality of grooves extending along the Z axis, as seen in fig 1) orthogonal to
a direction of extension (see grooves of 58, extending along the X axis, as seen in fig 1) of the uneven grooves (grooves of 58) of the linear Fresnel lens (58); and
wherein the other linear Fresnel lens (54 on 56) is formed at a surface (56) of the linear Fresnel lens (58 on 60),
the surface (56) being at an opposite side (as 56 is opposite to 60, see fig 1) of the linear Fresnel lens (58), or is formed separately from the linear Fresnel lens.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to incorporate the Fresnel lenses as taught by Yuan into the teachings of Katsumata as modified by Lee so that light is condensed with respect to the two orthogonal axes. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification to improve light collimation and light mixing.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ebihara et al. (JP 2015166684 A) discloses a planar illumination device having light sources, reflective elements and plural linear Fresnel lenses. The device ensures illumination forward by restricting light in at least two axes.
Qiao et al. (CN 208764682 U) discloses a planar illumination device having a rounded shape that includes areas where light sources cannot be accommodated. A Fresnel lens is extended and allows for even light emission.
/OMAR ROJAS CADIMA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875