DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to application No. 19/101,960, filed on 2/7/2025. Claims 11-20 are currently pending and have been examined. Claims 11-12, 17, 18 and 20 have been rejected as follows. Claims 13-16 and 19 are objected to.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In paragraph [0047], page 18, reference number “26” is described as “second fastening region 26” and on page 22 reference number “26” is indicated as “first fastening region”. Page 22 should be changed to read “second fastening region”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-12, 17, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tashiro et al (US 2023/0106302).
Regarding claim 11, Tashiro et al discloses a front end for a passenger car (para. [0041]; see annotated Figure 1 below), comprising a first, upper, longitudinal member plane which comprises first longitudinal members (13, Fig. 3-4; para. [0053], lines 1-5), which are spaced apart from each other in a transverse direction of the vehicle, and a first crossmember (15, Fig. 3-4; para. [0054], lines 1-5), via which the first longitudinal members (13, Fig. 3-4) are connected to each other (para. [0054], lines 2-4); a second, lower, longitudinal member plane which comprises second longitudinal members (8, Fig. 3-4; para. [0050], lines 1-3), which are spaced apart from each other in the transverse direction of the vehicle, and a second crossmember (12, Fig. 3-4; para. [0051], lines 1-4), via which the second longitudinal members (8, Fig. 3-4) are connected to each other; and a catch element (18 & 40, Fig. 3-4; para. [0064]), which is attached (20, 30, Fig. 3-4; para. [0064], lines 1-7) to the first (15, Fig. 3-4) and second (12, Fig. 3-4) crossmembers and by which at least one component (i.e. 3, 7, Fig. 4) of the front end that is provided in addition to the first and second crossmembers (15 & 12, Fig. 3-4), the first and second longitudinal members (13 & 8, Fig. 3-4) and the catch element (18 & 40, Fig. 3-4), is at least partially overlapped to a rear in the longitudinal direction of the vehicle by the catch element (18 & 40, Fig. 3-4; para. [0064]), whereby an accident-induced rearward displacement of the component is at least limited by the catch element. The bumper face (3, 7), grille (5) and any corresponding front component elements can at least be limited by catch element (18, 40) in that the catch element is secured behind the front components thus in the event of a head-on crash impact rearward displacement of the components is somewhat restrained.
Figure 1:
Regarding claim 12, Tashiro et al further discloses wherein the component (3, 7, Fig. 4) and the catch element (18, 40, Fig. 3-4) are fastened to the first crossmember (15, Fig. 3-4; para. [0061]) by way of a same fastening element (via 30, Fig. 3-4). Component (bumper face 3, 7) is attached via catch element (18) at fastening holes (18a, para. [0061]) with bolts and fastened to crossmember (15) via the same fastening (bracket 30 and bolts) common to the catch element and the component.
Regarding claim 17, Tashiro et al further discloses wherein the catch element (18 & 40, Fig. 3-4) has a transverse portion (18, Fig. 3-4) extending in the transverse direction of the vehicle. See annotated Figure 1 above.
Regarding claim 18, Tashiro et al discloses all of the claimed limitations of the invention as claimed in claim 17 above, and further discloses wherein the catch element (18 & 40, Fig. 3-4) has at least one tab (see annotated Figure 1 above) which extends downward in the vertical direction of the vehicle away from the transverse portion (18, Fig. 3-4), and at least a partial region of the component (3, 7, Fig. 4) is overlapped (by catch element 18, 40) to the rear in the longitudinal direction of the vehicle by the at least one tab (on transverse portion 18, see annotated Figure 1 above).
Regarding claim 20, Tashiro et al discloses all of the claimed limitations of the invention as claimed in claim 17 above, and further discloses wherein the catch element (18 & 40, Fig. 3-4), the transverse portion (18, Fig. 3-4) of which is connected (20, 30, Fig. 3-4; para. [0064], lines 1-4) to the first crossmember (15, Fig. 3-4), has a strut (disclosed as stay 40, Fig. 3-4) which extends continuously downward in the vertical direction of the vehicle away from the first crossmember (15, Fig. 3-4) and toward the second crossmember (12, Fig. 3-4) and is connected (para. [0064], lines 4-7) to the second crossmember (12, Fig. 3-4). See annotated Figure 1 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-16 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The primary reason for indication of allowable subject matter in claim 13 is the inclusion of the connection arrangement and limitations directly fastening the front component through the catch element to the crossmember which requires the sandwiching overlap of the component and catch element as a restraint thereby connecting upper and lower load paths so the component cannot move rearward excessively during crash impact. This feature is set forth by the combination of limitations in claims 11-12 with the recitation of “the same fastening element penetrates a first passage opening in the component and a second passage opening in the catch element.” The closest prior art of Tashiro et al (US 2023/0106302) does not disclose this arrangement. Applicant’s structure restrains rearward displacement of front mounted components from moving too far rearward for the purpose of avoiding damage to the radiator or cooling module and other parts behind the component resulting from low speed head-on collisions. Such limitations, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claim, are not disclosed or suggested by the prior art of record. Claims 14-16 contain allowable subject matter by virtue of dependency as they depend from claim 13.
The primary reason for indication of allowable subject matter in claim 19 is the inclusion of the connection arrangement and limitations fastening the component to the tab of the transverse portion of the catch element as defined by “wherein the at least one tab has a cutout in which a lug of the component protruding to the rear in the longitudinal direction of the vehicle from a main body of the component engages”. The closest prior art of Tashiro et al (US 2023/0106302) does not disclose this arrangement. Applicant’s structure including this feature prevents further rotational movements or displacement between front mounted components and the catch element.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hayashi et al (US Patent No. 10,358,167) and Riedl et al (US 2015/0274211) disclose vehicle front end crash systems with front strut arrangements in front of a radiator receiving space.
/D.L.E./Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/AMY R WEISBERG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3612