DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on 02/09/2026 has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-21, 23,24,26,27,28,29,30 and 33 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Ian et al; (Efficient Discrete Rate Assignment and Power Optimization in Optical Communication Systems Following the Gaussian Noise Model- October 2017 attached) in view of Ian1 et al; (Channel Power Optimization of WDM Systems Following Gaussian Noise Nonlinearity Model in Presence of Stimulated Raman Scattering – December 2017 attached).
Regarding claim 16, Ian discloses a method for determining a bitrate allocation of a with discretized channel bitrates,(implementation of a discrete set of communication rates to provide maximization of the total discrete rate, see section III and first paragraph 1) the method comprising: determining an initial discretized bitrate allocation and a corresponding initial power allocation for the plurality of optical channels for supporting the initial discretized bitrate allocation;( the optimum continuous channel rates and the corresponding power allocation, in all reasonable scenarios the search for the optimal discrete rate set need only look at the two discrete rates, which are the greatest discrete rate less than the continuous optimum and the smallest discrete rate greater than the continuous-rate optimum. These are referred to as the truncated and upgraded discrete rates, see step 1 and figure 3 and see page 2, section II and paragraph 4) with the proviso that all optical channels meet a pre-defined optical signal-to-noise, OSNR, threshold for the respective initial discretized bitrate allocated to the respective optical channel ;( for the optimal discrete rate set need only look at the two discrete rates, which are the greatest discrete rate less than the continuous optimum and the smallest discrete rate greater than the continuous-rate optimum. These are referred to as the truncated and upgraded discrete rates, see step 2 and figure 3 and see page 2, section II and paragraph 4) starting from the initial power allocation, varying, for an investigated optical channel of the plurality of optical channels, a channel power of the investigated optical channel to estimate a highest supported discretized bitrate for the investigated optical channel, wherein the highest supported discretized bitrate is the highest discretized bitrate for which the investigated optical channel meets a corresponding OSNR threshold; (the dual variables provide a measure of how much each channel is limiting the minimum margin optimization. Channels with looser dual variables can potentially support higher SNR requirements and correspondingly higher rates. At the minimum-margin operating point, the loosest dual variable corresponds to the channel with the greatest marginal return in SNR for an increase in channel power, while maintaining the margin requirements of the remaining channels, see step 3 and figure 3 page 5, section III A and paragraph 1) including the investigated optical channel in an upgrade candidate subset of the plurality of optical channels for potential bitrate upgrades based on the highest supported discretized bitrate exceeding the initial discretized bitrate for the investigated optical channel;(at the minimum-margin operating point, the loosest dual variable corresponds to the channel with the greatest marginal return in SNR for an increase in channel power, while maintaining the margin requirements of the remaining channels, see step 6 and figure 3 page 5, section III A and paragraph 1) and providing the upgrade candidate subset to an upgrade allocation algorithm ;(starting with the truncated-rate lower bound rate allocation, solving a minimum-margin problem can provide dual variables that will indicate the best candidate channels for upgrading to the next rate, in order. Solving a minimum-margin problem with the first candidate channel upgraded in rate will determine feasibility and provide a new set of dual variables, if feasible, see step 8-11 and figure 3 page 5, section III A and paragraph 2).
However, Ian does not explicitly disclose plurality of optical channels in an optical transmission link.
In a related field of endeavor, Ian1 discloses plurality of optical channels in an optical transmission link ;(in mesh networks or point-to-point fiber links combining multiple data rates on different channels via wavelength-division multiplexing (WDM), page 1, section I and paragraph 1).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the plurality of optical channels of Ian1 with Ian to provide transmission and/or reception of plurality of optical signals on different channels and the motivation is increased transmission and/or reception capacity.
Regarding claim 17, Ian discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the channel powers of the other optical channels of the plurality of optical channels are fixed while varying the channel power of the investigated optical channel to estimate the highest supported discretized bitrate for the investigated optical channel; (at the minimum-margin operating point, the loosest dual variable corresponds to the channel with the greatest marginal return in SNR for an increase in channel power, while maintaining (fixing) the margin requirements of the remaining channels, see page 5, section III A and paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 18, Ian discloses the method of claim 16, wherein varying the channel power of the investigated channel to estimate the highest supported discretized bitrate for the investigated optical channel is performed for a plurality of investigated optical channels (at the minimum-margin operating point, the loosest dual variable corresponds to the channel with the greatest marginal return in SNR for an increase in channel power, while maintaining the margin requirements of the remaining channels, see step 3 and figure 3 page 5, section III A and paragraph 1)
Regarding claim 19, Ian discloses the method of claim 18, wherein varying the channel power of the investigated channel to estimate the highest supported discretized bitrate for the investigated optical channel is performed for each optical channel of the plurality of optical channels (channels with looser dual variables can potentially support higher SNR requirements and correspondingly higher rates, see page 5, section III A and paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 20, Ian discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the highest supported discretized bitrate for the investigated optical channel is estimated by estimating a maximum value of an OSNR for the investigated channel as a function of channel power, and determining the highest discretized bitrate for which a required OSNR can be met based on the maximum value of the OSNR (the dual variables provide a measure of how much each channel is limiting the minimum margin optimization. Channels with looser dual variables can potentially support higher SNR requirements and correspondingly higher rates. At the minimum-margin operating point, the loosest dual variable corresponds to the channel with the greatest marginal return in SNR for an increase in channel power, while maintaining the margin requirements of the remaining channels, see step 3 and figure 3 page 5, section III A and paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 21, Ian discloses the method of claim 20, wherein the maximum value of the OSNR is determined based on determining the OSNR of the investigated optical channel for a plurality of channel powers in a channel power interval ;( In the limit of
small discrete rate steps, this marginal indication of the channel to which a higher rate should be assigned becomes exact, but truncation of the continuous-rate optimum also converges towards the continuous-rate bound, see figure 3 page 5, section III A and paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 23, Ian discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the initial discretized bitrate allocation corresponds to truncated bitrates derived from an optimized power allocation with continuous bitrates and the initial power allocation supports the initial discretized bitrate allocation ;( for the optimal discrete rate set need only look at the two discrete rates, which are the greatest discrete rate less than the continuous optimum and the smallest discrete rate greater than the continuous-rate optimum. These are referred to as the truncated and upgraded discrete rates, see steps 1, 2 and figure 3 and see page 2, section II and paragraph 4)
Regarding claim 24, Ian discloses the method of claim 16, wherein determining the initial discretized bitrate allocation for the plurality of optical channels comprises determining a highest supported discretized bitrate for the plurality of optical channels with the proviso that the channel power of the plurality of optical channels is the same ;( for the optimal discrete rate set need only look at the two discrete rates, which are the greatest discrete rate less than the continuous optimum and the smallest discrete rate greater than the continuous-rate optimum. These are referred to as the truncated and upgraded discrete rates, see steps 1, 2 and figure 3 and see page 2, section II and paragraph 4)
Regarding claim 26, Ian discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the investigated optical channel is excluded from the upgrade candidate subset, when the highest supported discretized bitrate does not exceed the initial discretized bitrate for the investigated optical channel ;(solving a minimum-margin problem with the first candidate channel upgraded in rate will determine feasibility and provide a new set of dual variables, if feasible. If infeasible, the next candidate channel can be upgraded instead and checked for feasibility, see figure 3 page 5, section III A and paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 27, Ian discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the method comprises providing the upgrade candidate subset and the respective highest supported discretized bitrate for the optical channels in the upgrade candidate subset to the upgrade allocation algorithm ;(solving a minimum-margin problem with the first candidate channel upgraded in rate will determine feasibility and provide a new set of dual variables, if feasible. If infeasible, the next candidate channel can be upgraded instead and checked for feasibility. This forms the sequential algorithm of Fig. 3 for determining a feasible quantized rate pattern that is close to optimal, see figure 3 page 5, section III A and paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 28, Ian discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the upgrade allocation algorithm iteratively upgrades the optical channels in the upgrade candidate subset based on their respective highest supported discretized bitrate ;(solving a minimum-margin problem with the first candidate channel upgraded in rate will determine feasibility and provide a new set of dual variables, if feasible. If
infeasible, the next candidate channel can be upgraded instead and checked for feasibility. This forms the sequential algorithm of Fig. 3 for determining a feasible quantized rate pattern that is close to optimal, see figure 3 page 5, section III A and paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 29, Ian discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the upgrade allocation algorithm determines an upgrade order by ordering the optical channels in the upgrade candidate subset based on their respective highest supported discretized bitrate or a maximum value of an OSNR for the investigated channel as a function of channel power, and upgrades the optical channels according to the upgrade order ;(solving a minimum-margin problem with the first candidate channel upgraded in rate will determine feasibility and provide a new set of dual variables, if feasible. If
infeasible, the next candidate channel can be upgraded instead and checked for feasibility. This forms the sequential algorithm of Fig. 3 for determining a feasible quantized rate pattern that is close to optimal, see figure 3 page 5, section III A and paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 30, Ian discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the upgrade allocation algorithm determines a maximum upgrade step for each optical channel of the upgrade candidate subset based on a difference between the respective initial discretized bitrate and the highest supported discretized bitrate for that optical channel ;( In the limit of small discrete rate steps, this marginal indication of the channel to which a higher rate should be assigned becomes exact, but truncation of the continuous-rate optimum also converges towards the continuous-rate bound in such a scenario. With larger discrete rate steps and corresponding SNR jumps, the marginal indication provided by the dual variables is not exact for the discrete jump in SNR to the next rate, but remains very precise.
Regarding claim 33, Ian discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the upgrade candidate subset comprises a with different respective highest supported discretized bitrates ;( for the optimal discrete rate set need only look at the two discrete rates, which are the greatest discrete rate less than the continuous optimum and the smallest discrete rate greater than the continuous-rate optimum. These are referred to as the truncated and upgraded discrete rates, see steps 1, 2 and figure 3 and see page 2, section II and paragraph 4)
However, Ian does not explicitly disclose plurality of optical channels.
In a related field of endeavor, Ian1 discloses plurality of optical channels ;( In mesh networks or point-to-point fiber links combining multiple data rates on different channels via wavelength-division multiplexing (WDM), page 1, section I and paragraph 1).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the plurality of optical channels of Ian1 with Ian to provide transmission and/or reception of plurality of optical signals on different channels and the motivation is increased transmission and/or reception capacity.
Claims 22 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Ian et al; (Efficient Discrete Rate Assignment and Power Optimization in Optical Communication Systems Following the Gaussian Noise Model- October 2017 attached) in view of Ian1 et al; (Channel Power Optimization of WDM Systems Following Gaussian Noise Nonlinearity Model in Presence of Stimulated Raman Scattering – December 2017 attached) and further in view of Roberts et al; (Convex Channel Power Optimization in Nonlinear WDM Systems Using Gaussian Noise Model – July 2016 attached).
Regarding claim 22, Ian discloses the method of claim 21, wherein the OSNR of the investigated optical channel for the plurality of channel powers in the channel power interval is determined ;( In the limit of small discrete rate steps,(channel power interval) this marginal indication of the channel to which a higher rate should be assigned becomes exact, but truncation of the continuous-rate optimum also converges towards the continuous-rate bound, see figure 3 page 5, section III A and paragraph 1).
However, the combination Ian and Ian1 does not explicitly disclose according to an iterative search for finding the maximum value of the OSNR in the channel power interval.
In a related field of endeavor, Roberts discloses according to an iterative search for finding the maximum value of the OSNR in the channel power interval; (the method requiring careful tuning in order to obtain an accurate solution after a given number of iterations to provide a bound on the sub-optimality of the solution along with the optimized power allocation, see page 5, column II and paragraph 1).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the given number of iterations of Roberts with Ian and Ian1 to provide optimization of channel powers and the motivation is to maximize minimum margin or total capacity in WDM systems
Claims 34 and 35 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Ian et al; (Efficient Discrete Rate Assignment and Power Optimization in Optical Communication Systems Following the Gaussian Noise Model- October 2017 attached) in view of Ian1 et al; (Channel Power Optimization of WDM Systems Following Gaussian Noise Nonlinearity Model in Presence of Stimulated Raman Scattering – December 2017 attached)
Regarding claim 34, Ian discloses a system for determining a bitrate allocation of a with discretized channel bitrates comprising a processing system ,(implementation of a discrete set of communication rates to provide maximization of the total discrete rate, see section III and first paragraph 1) configured to: determine an initial discretized bitrate allocation and a corresponding initial power allocation for the plurality of optical channels for supporting the initial discretized bitrate allocation ; (the optimum continuous channel rates and the corresponding power allocation, in all reasonable scenarios the search for the optimal discrete rate set need only look at the two discrete rates, which are the greatest discrete rate less than the continuous optimum and the smallest discrete rate greater than the continuous-rate optimum. These are referred to as the truncated and upgraded discrete rates, see step 1 and figure 3 and see page 2, section II and paragraph 4) with the proviso that all optical channels meet a pre-defined optical signal-to-noise, OSNR, threshold for the respective initial discretized bitrate allocated to the respective optical channel ;( for the optimal discrete rate set need only look at the two discrete rates, which are the greatest discrete rate less than the continuous optimum and the smallest discrete rate greater than the continuous-rate optimum. These are referred to as the truncated and upgraded discrete rates, see step 2 and figure 3 and see page 2, section II and paragraph 4) starting from the initial power allocation, vary, for an investigated optical channel of the plurality of optical channels, a channel power of the investigated optical channel to estimate a highest supported discretized bitrate for the investigated optical channel, wherein the highest supported discretized bitrate is the highest discretized bitrate for which the investigated optical channel meets a corresponding OSNR threshold; (the dual variables provide a measure of how much each channel is limiting the minimum margin optimization. Channels with looser dual variables can potentially support higher SNR requirements and correspondingly higher rates. At the minimum-margin operating point, the loosest dual variable corresponds to the channel with the greatest marginal return in SNR for an increase in channel power, while maintaining the margin requirements of the remaining channels, see step 3 and figure 3 page 5, section III A and paragraph 1) include the investigated optical channel in an upgrade candidate subset of the plurality of optical channels for potential bitrate upgrades based on the highest supported discretized bitrate exceeding the initial discretized bitrate for the investigated optical channel;(at the minimum-margin operating point, the loosest dual variable corresponds to the channel with the greatest marginal return in SNR for an increase in channel power, while maintaining the margin requirements of the remaining channels, see step 6 and figure 3 page 5, section III A and paragraph 1) and provide the upgrade candidate subset to an upgrade allocation algorithm; ;(starting with the truncated-rate lower bound rate allocation, solving a minimum-margin problem can provide dual variables that will indicate the best candidate channels for upgrading to the next rate, in order. Solving a minimum-margin problem with the first candidate channel upgraded in rate will determine feasibility and provide a new set of dual variables, if feasible, see step 8-11 and figure 3 page 5, section III A and paragraph 2).
However, Ian does not explicitly disclose plurality of optical channels in an optical transmission link.
In a related field of endeavor, Ian1 discloses plurality of optical channels in an optical transmission link ;(in mesh networks or point-to-point fiber links combining multiple data rates on different channels via wavelength-division multiplexing (WDM), page 1, section I and paragraph 1).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the plurality of optical channels of Ian1 with Ian to provide transmission and/or reception of plurality of optical signals on different channels and the motivation is increased transmission and/or reception capacity.
Regarding claim 35, Ian discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising machine readable instructions, which, when the machine readable instructions are executed by a processing system, (implementation of a discrete set of communication rates to provide maximization of the total discrete rate using algorithm, see section III and first paragraph 1 and figure 3) cause the processing system to: determine an initial discretized bitrate allocation and a corresponding initial power allocation for supporting the initial discretized bitrate allocation (the optimum continuous channel rates and the corresponding power allocation, in all reasonable scenarios the search for the optimal discrete rate set need only look at the two discrete rates, which are the greatest discrete rate less than the continuous optimum and the smallest discrete rate greater than the continuous-rate optimum. These are referred to as the truncated and upgraded discrete rates, see step 1 and figure 3 and see page 2, section II and paragraph 4) with the proviso that all optical channels meet a pre-defined optical signal-to-noise, OSNR, threshold for the respective initial discretized bitrate allocated to the respective optical channel;( for the optimal discrete rate set need only look at the two discrete rates, which are the greatest discrete rate less than the continuous optimum and the smallest discrete rate greater than the continuous-rate optimum. These are referred to as the truncated and upgraded discrete rates, see step 2 and figure 3 and see page 2, section II and paragraph 4) starting from the initial power allocation, vary, for an investigated optical channel of the plurality of optical channels, a channel power of the investigated optical channel to estimate a highest supported discretized bitrate for the investigated optical channel, wherein the highest supported discretized bitrate is the highest discretized bitrate for which the investigated optical channel meets a corresponding OSNR threshold; (the dual variables provide a measure of how much each channel is limiting the minimum margin optimization. Channels with looser dual variables can potentially support higher SNR requirements and correspondingly higher rates. At the minimum-margin operating point, the loosest dual variable corresponds to the channel with the greatest marginal return in SNR for an increase in channel power, while maintaining the margin requirements of the remaining channels, see step 3 and figure 3 page 5, section III A and paragraph 1) include the investigated optical channel in an upgrade candidate subset of the plurality of optical channels for potential bitrate upgrades based on the highest supported discretized bitrate exceeding the initial discretized bitrate for the investigated optical channel;(at the minimum-margin operating point, the loosest dual variable corresponds to the channel with the greatest marginal return in SNR for an increase in channel power, while maintaining the margin requirements of the remaining channels, see step 6 and figure 3 page 5, section III A and paragraph 1) and provide the upgrade candidate subset to an upgrade allocation algorithm ;(starting with the truncated-rate lower bound rate allocation, solving a minimum-margin problem can provide dual variables that will indicate the best candidate channels for upgrading to the next rate, in order. Solving a minimum-margin problem with the first candidate channel upgraded in rate will determine feasibility and provide a new set of dual variables, if feasible, see step 8-11 and figure 3 page 5, section III A and paragraph 2).
However, Ian does not explicitly disclose the plurality of optical channels
In a related field of endeavor, Ian1 discloses the plurality of optical channels; ;(in mesh networks or point-to-point fiber links combining multiple data rates on different channels via wavelength-division multiplexing (WDM), page 1, section I and paragraph 1).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the plurality of optical channels of Ian1 with Ian to provide transmission and/or reception of plurality of optical signals on different channels and the motivation is increased transmission and/or reception capacity.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 25,31 and 32 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is reproduced below.
a. Cotter (US 2016/0149815) discloses a method to identify a maximum bitrate and a minimum bitrate for each of a plurality of service-flows and further determining intermediate bitrate for each of the plurality of service-flows, see figure 10.
b. Swinkels et al; (US 9438369) discloses the margin-based optimization systems and methods recognize the ability of each of the wavelengths 210 to be optimized is based on 1) the underlying modem's 300 abilities to adjust and 2) the service's need being carried by the wavelength 210, see figure 3.
c. Sergey et al; (EP 4080787 A1) discloses A method for providing a maximum channel capacity per optical channel in an optical wavelength division multiplexing, WDM, transmission system with transceivers using multiple optical channels in a WDM channel grid to transport optical signals modulated with a modulation format, see figure
/AMRITBIR K SANDHU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634