DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/7/2025 and 3/18/2025 comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the examiner considered the information disclosure statement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Larry et al. (US20210213888).
Regarding claim 19, Larry teaches a display system for a vehicle (Larry, figs. 7-10, vehicle display system including windshield display 70 corresponding to the claimed display system for a vehicle; see paras. [0069]-[0072]), the display system comprising:
a first panel layer (Larry, fig. 10, first glass layer 32 corresponding to the claimed first panel layer; see para. [0072]);
a second panel layer (Larry, fig. 10, second glass layer 32 corresponding to the claimed second panel layer; see para. [0072]) that is spaced from the first panel layer (Larry, fig. 10, first and second pieces of glass 32 disposed on opposite sides of layered structure 14 corresponding to the claimed second panel layer spaced from the first panel layer; see para. [0072]);
a display (Larry, figs. 7-10, transparent display unit 10a corresponding to the claimed display; see paras. [0062]-[0063], [0067], [0071]-[0072]) that is mounted adjacent to the second panel layer (Larry, fig. 10, transparent display unit 10a of layered structure 14 laminated between the two pieces of glass 32 and positioned adjacent to one of the glass layers 32 corresponding to the claimed display mounted adjacent to the second panel layer; see para. [0072]) such that the display faces an exterior of the vehicle (Larry, fig. 10, transparent display unit 10a and switchable opaque film 12 arranged within windshield 72 for presentation of display images through the vehicle glazing corresponding to the claimed display facing an exterior of the vehicle; see paras. [0071]-[0073]); and
an intermediate layer (Larry, figs. 7 and 10, layered structure 14 including transparent display unit 10a and switchable opaque film 12 corresponding to the claimed intermediate layer; see paras. [0062], [0067], [0072]) that is located between the first panel layer (Larry, fig. 10, one piece of glass 32 corresponding to the claimed first panel layer; see para. [0072]) and the second panel layer (Larry, fig. 10, the other piece of glass 32 corresponding to the claimed second panel layer; see para. [0072]) a portion of the intermediate layer (Larry, figs. 7 and 10, switchable opaque film 12 forming a portion of layered structure 14 corresponding to the claimed portion of the intermediate layer; see paras. [0062], [0064], [0067], [0072]) configured to switchably obscure viewing of the display from the exterior of the vehicle (Larry, figs. 7-10, switchable opaque film 12 electrically switchable between opaque and transparent states and operated with transparent display unit 10a corresponding to the claimed switchable obscuring function; see paras. [0064]-[0066], [0073]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 14-15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Labrot et al. (US20190001888) in view of Lin et al. (US20150077830).
Regarding claim 1, Labrot teaches a panel for a vehicle (Labrot, fig. 6, windshield 600 corresponding to the claimed panel for a vehicle; see paras. [0245]-[0247]), the panel comprising:
a first layer (Labrot, fig. 6, first glazing 1 corresponding to the claimed first layer; see paras. [0005]-[0006]) that is exposed to an exterior of the vehicle (see Labrot, fig. 6, first glazing 1 having first main face F1 intended to be on the outside of the vehicle corresponding to the claimed first layer that is exposed to an exterior of the vehicle; see paras. [0005]-[0006]);
a second layer (Labrot, fig. 6, second glazing 1′ corresponding to the claimed second layer; see paras. [0005], [0008]) that is located inward from the first layer (see Labrot, fig. 6, second glazing 1′ having fourth main face F4 intended to be on the inside of the vehicle corresponding to the claimed second layer that is located inward from the first layer; see paras. [0005], [0008]);
an intermediate layer (Labrot, fig. 6, lamination interlayer of polymeric substance) that is located between the first layer and the second layer (see Labrot, fig. 6, lamination interlayer of polymeric substance located between first glazing 1 and second glazing 1′ corresponding to the claimed intermediate layer that is located between the first layer and the second layer; see paras. [0007]-[0008]);
a mask layer (Labrot, fig. 6, enamel layer 5 corresponding to the claimed mask layer) that is located between the first layer (Labrot, fig. 6, first glazing 1) and the second layer (Labrot, fig. 6, second glazing 1′), the mask layer having an opening (fig. 6, opening 53) that extends therethrough (see Labrot, fig. 6, “the enamel layer 5 can have an opening 53 facing the AMOLED screen zone” corresponding to the claimed opening that extends through the mask layer; see para. [0247]).
Labrot does not explicitly disclose wherein a conceal layer that is located between the first layer and the second layer, the conceal layer configured to change states to obscure the opening relative to the exterior of the vehicle.
However, Lin teaches the similar mask layer (see Lin, para. [0025], opaque layer 113 corresponding to the claimed mask layer), an opening (see Lin, paras. [0025]-[0026], second aperture 114/transparent portion 114t formed in opaque layer 113 corresponding to the claimed opening), and further teaches
wherein a conceal layer (Lin, fig. 4C, switchable layer 130 corresponding to the claimed conceal layer; see paras. [0029]-[0035]) that is located between the first layer (Lin, fig. 4C, transparent front panel 112 corresponding to the claimed first layer; see para. [0035]) and the second layer (Lin, fig. 4C, second substrate 137 corresponding to the claimed second layer; see para. [0035]), the conceal layer configured to change states (Lin, switchable layer 130 switchable between a substantially transparent state and a substantially opaque state corresponding to the claimed change-states function; to obscure the opening relative to the exterior of the vehicle (see Lin, paras. [0027]-[0028], switchable layer 130 being switched to the substantially opaque state such that optical element 120 is visually sheltered/hidden from view through transparent portion 114t corresponding to the claimed obscure function).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the panel of Labrot to include a switchable conceal layer located within the laminated panel between the first layer and the second layer and configured to change states to obscure the opening relative to the exterior of the vehicle, as taught by Lin, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to selectively obscure the element located behind the opening when the conceal layer is in the substantially opaque state and thereby improve the aesthetic appearance when the underlying element is not intended to be visible (Lin, paras. [0027]-[0028]).
Regarding claim 14, Labrot teaches a panel for a vehicle (Labrot, fig. 6, windshield 600 corresponding to the claimed panel for a vehicle; see paras. [0245]-[0247]), comprising:
a first layer (Labrot, fig. 6, first glazing 1 corresponding to the claimed first layer; see paras. [0005]-[0006]);
a second layer that is spaced from the first layer (Labrot, fig. 6, second glazing 1′ separated from first glazing 1 by the lamination interlayer corresponding to the claimed second layer spaced from the first layer; see paras. [0007]-[0008]);
a display that is mounted adjacent to the second layer (Labrot, fig. 6, AMOLED screen 3 within the laminated glazing adjacent to second glazing 1′ corresponding to the claimed display; see paras. [0038]-[0040], [0245]-[0247]), such that the display faces an exterior of the vehicle (see Labrot, fig. 6, AMOLED screen 3 having its viewing/display zone directed through the laminated windshield corresponding to the claimed exterior-facing display relationship);
a mask layer (Labrot, fig. 6, enamel masking layer 5 corresponding to the claimed mask layer) that is located between the first layer (Labrot, fig. 6, glazing 1) and the second layer (Labrot, fig. 6, glazing 1′), the mask layer defining an opening (Labrot, fig. 6, opening 53) that is aligned with the display (Labrot, fig. 6, opening 53 facing the AMOLED screen zone corresponding to the claimed opening aligned with the display; see para. [0247]).
Labrot does not explicitly disclose wherein a switchable layer that is located between the first layer and the second layer, the switchable layer configured to affect whether a display mounted adjacent to the second layer is viewable through the panel.
However, Lin teaches the similar mask layer (see Lin, para. [0025], opaque layer 113 corresponding to the claimed mask layer), an opening (Lin, second aperture 114/transparent portion 114t formed in opaque layer 113 corresponding to the claimed opening; see paras. [0025]-[0026]), and further teaches
wherein a switchable layer (Lin, fig. 4C, switchable layer 130 corresponding to the claimed switchable layer; see paras. [0029]-[0035]) that is located between the first layer (Lin, fig. 4C, transparent front panel 112 corresponding to the claimed first layer; see para. [0035]) and the second layer (Lin, fig. 4C, second substrate 137 corresponding to the claimed second layer, with first substrate 136 located between chamber 131 and transparent front panel 112 and second substrate 137 located between optical element 120 and chamber 131, corresponding to the claimed switchable layer located between the first layer and the second layer; see para. [0035]), the switchable layer (Lin, fig. 4C, switchable layer 130 corresponding to the claimed switchable layer; see paras. [0029]-[0035]) configured to affect whether a display mounted adjacent to the second layer is viewable through the panel (see Lin, paras. [0027]-[0035], optical element 120 corresponding to the claimed display and positioned adjacent to second substrate 137 corresponding to the claimed display mounted adjacent to the second layer, and switchable layer 130 being switchable between a substantially transparent state permitting viewing/light transmission from optical element 120 and a substantially opaque state preventing viewing of optical element 120, corresponding to the claimed function of affecting whether the display mounted adjacent to the second layer is viewable through the panel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the panel of Labrot to include a switchable conceal layer located within the laminated panel between the first layer and the second layer and configured to change states to obscure the opening relative to the exterior of the vehicle, as taught by Lin, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to selectively obscure the element located behind the opening when the conceal layer is in the substantially opaque state and thereby improve the aesthetic appearance when the underlying element is not intended to be visible (Lin, paras. [0027]-[0028]).
Regarding claim 15, the Labrot-Lin combination discloses the invention as described in claim 14, and Lin further teaches wherein the switchable layer (Lin, figs. 2A-3B, switchable layer 130 corresponding to the claimed switchable layer; see paras. [0025]-[0027]) is configured to switch between a first state (Lin, figs. 2A and 3A, substantially transparent state of switchable layer 130 corresponding to the claimed first state; see para. [0027]) in which the display (Lin, figs. 2A and 3A, optical element 120 corresponding to the claimed display; see paras. [0025]-[0027]) is viewable through the opening (Lin, figs. 2A and 3A, optical element 120 being viewable through switchable layer 130 and transparent portion 114t/second aperture 114 when switchable layer 130 is in the substantially transparent state corresponding to the claimed display being viewable through the opening; see para. [0027]) and a second state (Lin, figs. 2B and 3B, substantially opaque state of switchable layer 130 corresponding to the claimed second state; see para. [0027]) in which the display (Lin, figs. 2B and 3B, optical element 120) is obscured relative to the opening (Lin, figs. 2B and 3B, switchable layer 130 in the substantially opaque state causing window 130W to be colored such that optical element 120 is visually sheltered, hidden, and invisible through transparent portion 114t/second aperture 114, corresponding to the claimed display being obscured relative to the opening; see paras. [0027]-[0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the switchable layer to switch between a first state in which the display is viewable through the opening and a second state in which the display is obscured relative to the opening, with a reasonable expectation of success, by modifying the Labrot-Lin combination to have wherein the switchable layer is configured to switch between a first state in which the display is viewable through the opening and a second state in which the display is obscured relative to the opening as taught by Lin, in order to selectively reveal the underlying display when desired and conceal the underlying display when not intended to be visible, thereby improving the aesthetic appearance (Lin, figs. 2A-3B; see paras. [0027]-[0028]).
Regarding claim 17, the Labrot-Lin combination discloses the invention as described in claim 14, and Lin further teaches wherein the switchable layer (Lin, figs. 3A-3B, switchable layer 130 corresponding to the claimed switchable layer; see paras. [0025]-[0027]) overlaps a perimeter of the opening (Lin, figs. 3A-3B, switchable layer 130 disposed behind and overlapping second aperture 114/transparent portion 114t and extending laterally beyond the aperture boundary as illustrated, corresponding to the claimed switchable layer overlapping a perimeter of the opening; see paras. [0025]-[0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the switchable layer to overlap a perimeter of the opening with a reasonable expectation of success by modifying the Labrot to have wherein the switchable layer overlaps a perimeter of the opening as taught by Lin, in order to permit the switchable layer to selectively control visibility through the opening by changing between substantially transparent and substantially opaque states (Lin, paras. [0025]-[0028]).
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Labrot et al. (US20190001888) in view of Lin et al. (US20150077830) and Klein et al. (US20210237403, hereinafter called Klein-403, of record, see IDS dated 2/7/2025).
Regarding claim 2, the Labrot-Lin combination discloses the invention as described in claim 1, and Lin further teaches wherein the conceal layer (Lin, figs. 2A-3B, switchable layer 130 corresponding to the claimed conceal layer; see paras. [0025], [0027]) is configured to be switchable between a first state (Lin, figs. 2A and 3A, substantially transparent state of switchable layer 130 corresponding to the claimed first state; see paras. [0027], [0029]) in which the conceal layer (Lin, figs. 2A and 3A, switchable layer 130 corresponding to the claimed conceal layer; see paras. [0027], [0029]) is substantially transparent (Lin, figs. 2A and 3A, switchable layer 130 in the substantially transparent state allowing light to pass there through such that optical element 120 is viewable through switchable layer 130 corresponding to the claimed substantially transparent state; see paras. [0027], [0029]) and a second state (Lin, figs. 2B and 3B, substantially opaque state of switchable layer 130 corresponding to the claimed second state; see paras. [0027], [0029]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the conceal layer to be switchable between a first state in which the conceal layer is substantially transparent and a second state with a reasonable expectation of success by modifying Labrot to have the conceal layer configured to be switchable between a first state in which the conceal layer is substantially transparent and a second state as taught by Lin, in order to selectively permit the optical element to be visible through the switchable layer in the substantially transparent state and to hide the optical element in the substantially opaque state (Lin, figs. 2A-3B; see paras. [0027]-[0029]).
The Labrot-Lin combination does not explicitly disclose wherein a second state in which the conceal layer exhibits a transmissivity that approximates that of the mask layer.
However, Klein-403 teaches the similar mask layer (Klein-403, fig. 8, peripheral masking print 8 made of enamel corresponding to the similar mask layer; see para. [0073]), and a similar conceal layer (Klein-403, fig. 8, opaque polymeric film 5 corresponding to the similar conceal layer; see para. [0073]), and further teaches wherein a second state in which the conceal layer (Klein-403, fig. 8, opaque polymeric film 5 corresponding to the claimed conceal layer in the second state; see paras. [0030], [0073]) exhibits a transmissivity that approximates that of the mask layer (Klein-403, fig. 8, opaque polymeric film 5 and peripheral masking print 8 having substantially the same optical density, corresponding to the claimed transmissivity of the conceal layer approximating that of the mask layer; see paras. [0031]-[0032], [0073]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the conceal layer in the second state to exhibit a transmissivity that approximates that of the mask layer with a reasonable expectation of success by modifying the Labrot-Lin combination to have wherein, in the second state, the conceal layer exhibits a transmissivity that approximates that of the mask layer as taught by Klein-403, in order to provide the conceal layer and the mask layer with substantially the same optical density (Klein-403, fig. 8, opaque polymeric film 5 and peripheral masking print 8; see paras. [0031]-[0032], [0073]).
Regarding claim 3, the Labrot- Lin-Klein-403 combination discloses the invention as described in claim 2, and Lin further teaches wherein the conceal layer (Lin, figs. 2A-3B, switchable layer 130 corresponding to the claimed conceal layer; see paras. [0027], [0029]-[0032]) comprises an electrochromic film (Lin, figs. 3A-3B, switchable layer 130 comprising electrochromic material disposed between first substrate 131 and second substrate 137 corresponding to the claimed electrochromic film; see paras. [0029]-[0032]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the conceal layer to comprise an electrochromic film with a reasonable expectation of success by implementing the electrochromic material of Lin in the conceal layer of the Labrot-Lin-Klein-403 combination, in order to provide a switchable conceal layer capable of changing between substantially transparent and substantially opaque states in response to an applied electrical potential (Lin, claims 14-15).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Labrot et al. (US20190001888) in view of Lin et al. (US20150077830), and further in view of Klein et al. (US20210078300, hereinafter called Klein-300).
Regarding claim 4, the Labrot-Lin combination discloses the invention as described in claim 1. The Labrot-Lin combination does not explicitly disclose wherein the intermediate layer comprises the mask layer and the conceal layer, and the mask layer and the conceal layer are spaced from one another within the intermediate layer.
However, Klein-300 teaches the similar intermediate layer (Klein-300, figs. 2-3, thermoplastic intermediate layer 3 comprising first thermoplastic layer 3a, second thermoplastic layer 3b, and third thermoplastic layer 3c corresponding to the similar intermediate layer; see paras. [0073]-[0074]), the similar mask layer (Klein-300, figs. 1-2, circumferential peripheral masking print 10 implemented by opaque enamel corresponding to the similar mask layer; see paras. [0059], [0077]), and the similar conceal layer (Klein-300, figs. 1-3, electrically controllable PDLC functional element 4 corresponding to the similar conceal layer; see paras. [0074], [0076]), and further teaches wherein the intermediate layer (Klein-300, figs. 2-3, thermoplastic intermediate layer 3 comprising thermoplastic layers 3a, 3b, and 3c corresponding to the claimed intermediate layer; see paras. [0073]-[0074]) comprises the mask layer (Klein-300, fig. 2, opaque masking print 10 disposed at the interior-side surface of outer pane 1 and/or inner pane 2 adjacent intermediate layer 3 corresponding to the claimed mask layer; see paras. [0059], [0077]) and the conceal layer (Klein-300, figs. 2-3, PDLC functional element 4 embedded in intermediate layer 3 corresponding to the claimed conceal layer; see paras. [0010], [0074]), and the mask layer (Klein-300, fig. 2, opaque masking print 10) and the conceal layer (Klein-300, figs. 2-3, PDLC functional element 4) are spaced from one another within the intermediate layer (see Klein-300, figs. 2-3, masking print 10 and PDLC functional element 4 being distinct layers disposed at different positions through the laminated structure, with thermoplastic layer 3a positioned between outer pane 1/masking print 10 and PDLC functional element 4 corresponding to the claimed spaced-from-one-another relationship; see paras. [0074]-[0077]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the intermediate layer comprising the mask layer and the conceal layer, and the mask layer and the conceal layer spaced from one another within the intermediate layer with a reasonable expectation of success by modifying the Labrot-Lin combination to have wherein the intermediate layer comprises the mask layer and the conceal layer, and the mask layer and the conceal layer are spaced from one another within the intermediate layer as taught by Klein-300, in order to embed and protect the electrically controllable functional element within the laminated windshield while using the opaque masking print to conceal the upper edge, side edges, and electrical connections of the functional element (Klein-300, figs. 1-3, intermediate layer 3, functional element 4, and masking print 10; see paras. [0059]-[0060], [0073]-[0077]).
Claims 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Labrot et al. (US20190001888) in view of Lin et al. (US20150077830) and, and further in view of ZEISS et al. (US20220024187).
Regarding claim 6, the Labrot-Lin combination discloses the invention as described in claim 1. The Labrot-Lin combination does not explicitly disclose a shade layer that is located between the first layer and the second layer, the shade layer located in a first portion of the panel and the conceal layer located in a second portion of the panel.
However, ZEISS teaches the similar panel for a vehicle, first layer, second layer, shade layer, and conceal layer (ZEISS, figs. 1-3 and 5, windshield 1, outer pane 2a, inner pane 2b, and separately controllable functional areas/sun visor sections S1 and S2 of electrically controllable functional element 4, respectively corresponding to the similar panel for a vehicle, first layer, second layer, shade layer, and conceal layer; see paras. [0041]-[0043], [0048]), and further teaches
wherein a shade layer (ZEISS, fig. 5, sun visor section S1/first separately controllable functional area of functional element 4 corresponding to the claimed shade layer; see para. [0048]) that is located between the first layer and the second layer (see ZEISS, paras. [0013], [0041], functional element 4 incorporated into thermoplastic intermediate layer 3 between outer pane 2a and inner pane 2b, corresponding to the claimed shade layer located between the first layer and the second layer), the shade layer located in a first portion of the panel (ZEISS, fig. 5, sun visor section S1 located in a first portion of windshield 1 corresponding to the claimed shade layer located in a first portion of the panel; see para. [0048]) and the conceal layer located in a second portion of the panel (ZEISS, fig. 5, separately controllable sun visor section S2/second functional area located in a second portion of windshield 1 corresponding to the claimed conceal layer located in a second portion of the panel; see para. [0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a shade layer that is located between the first layer and the second layer, the shade layer located in a first portion of the panel and the conceal layer located in a second portion of the panel with a reasonable expectation of success by modifying the Labrot-Lin combination to have separately controllable functional portions as taught by ZEISS, such that the shade layer is located in a first portion of the panel and the conceal layer is located in a second portion of the panel, in order to enable separate switching or control functions for the respective functional portions (ZEISS, para. [0048]).
Regarding claim 7, the Labrot-Lin-ZEISS combination discloses the invention as described in claim 6, and ZEISS further teaches wherein the shade layer (ZEISS, figs. 1–3 and 5, sun visor section S1 of electrically controllable sun visor S) is configured to be switchable between a first state (see ZEISS, paras. [0023]-[0024], [0041]-[0043], electrically controllable sun visor S/functional element 4 in a clear or high-transmission state corresponding to the claimed first state) in which the shade layer (ZEISS, figs. 1–3 and 5, sun visor section S1 of electrically controllable sun visor S) is substantially transparent (see ZEISS, paras. [0023]-[0024], [0041]-[0043], functional element 4 having electrically controllable optical properties and being switched to a high-transmission/clear state corresponding to the claimed substantially transparent state) and a second state (see ZEISS, paras. [0023]-[0024], [0041]-[0043], electrically controllable sun visor S/functional element 4 in a low-transmission/darkened state corresponding to the claimed second state) in which the shade layer (ZEISS, figs. 1–3 and 5, sun visor section S1 of electrically controllable sun visor S) is darkened (see ZEISS, paras. [0023]-[0024], [0041]-[0043], electrically controllable sun visor S/functional element 4 switched to reduce light transmission and provide a darkened sun-visor region corresponding to the claimed darkened state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the shade layer to be switchable between a first state in which the shade layer is substantially transparent and a second state in which the shade layer is darkened with a reasonable expectation of success by modifying the Labrot-Lin combination to have wherein the shade layer is configured to be switchable between a first state in which the shade layer is substantially transparent and a second state in which the shade layer is darkened as taught by ZEISS, in order to provide an electrically controllable sun visor that can selectively change its optical transmission to provide glare or sunlight protection when desired (ZEISS, paras. [0023]-[0024], [0041]-[0043]).
Regarding claim 8, the Labrot- Lin- ZEISS discloses the invention as described in claim 7, and ZEISS further teaches wherein the shade layer (ZEISS, figs. 1-3, and 5, functional element 4 forming electrically controllable sun visor S1; para. [0050] “sun visor section, functional areas of the functional element S1”) comprises an electrochromic film (see ZEISS, paras. [0015], [0020], electrochromic functional element provided as a functional multilayer/laminated film corresponding to the claimed electrochromic film).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the shade layer comprising an electrochromic film with a reasonable expectation of success by modifying the Labrot-Lin combination to have wherein the shade layer comprises an electrochromic film as taught by ZEISS, in order to provide the shade layer with electrically controllable optical properties (ZEISS, paras. [0013]-[0015], [0023]).
Regarding claim 9, the Labrot-Lin-ZEISS combination discloses the invention as described in claim 6, and ZEISS further teaches wherein the mask layer (ZEISS, figs. 1-3, peripheral masking print 10 formed by an opaque enamel corresponding to the claimed mask layer; see paras. [0033], [0044]) overlaps a portion of the shade layer (see ZEISS, figs. 1-3, and 5, functional element 4 forming electrically controllable sun visor S1; peripheral masking print 10 covering the upper edge and side edges of functional element 4 corresponding to the claimed mask layer overlapping a portion of the shade layer; see paras. [0033], [0041], [0044]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the mask layer overlap a portion of the shade layer with a reasonable expectation of success by modifying the Labrot-Lin combination to have wherein the mask layer overlaps a portion of the shade layer as taught by ZEISS, in order to conceal the upper edge and side edges of the functional element and the necessary electrical connections and thereby advantageously integrate the sun visor into the appearance of the windshield (ZEISS, paras. [0033], [0044]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Labrot et al. (US20190001888) in view of Lin et al. (US20150077830), and further in view of Cappuccilli et al. (US20260061844).
Regarding claim 13, the Labrot-Lin combination discloses the invention as described in claim 1. The Labrot-Lin combination does not explicitly disclose wherein the conceal layer overlaps the mask layer around a perimeter of the opening.
However, Cappuccilli teaches the similar mask layer (Cappuccilli, figs. 1 and 3, first masking layer 4 formed as an opaque masking print corresponding to the similar mask layer; see para. [0090]), the similar opening (Cappuccilli, figs. 1 and 3, opening 7 in first masking layer 4 corresponding to the similar opening; see para. [0091]), and the similar conceal layer (Cappuccilli, figs. 1 and 3, electrically switchable functional film 6 corresponding to the similar conceal layer; see para. [0091]), and further teaches wherein the conceal layer (Cappuccilli, figs. 1 and 3, electrically switchable functional film 6 corresponding to the claimed conceal layer; see para. [0091]) overlaps the mask layer (see Cappuccilli, figs. 1 and 3 , electrically switchable functional film 6 completely overlapping opening 7 of first masking layer 4 and extending beyond the boundary of opening 7 corresponding to the claimed conceal layer overlapping the mask layer; see paras. [0011], [0013], [0091]) around a perimeter of the opening (see Cappuccilli, fig. 1 and 3, electrically switchable functional film 6 completely covering opening 7 of first masking layer 4 when viewed perpendicularly through laminated pane 100, such that functional film 6 extends across the boundary of opening 7 and overlaps first masking layer 4 around the perimeter of opening 7, corresponding to the claimed overlap around a perimeter of the opening; see paras. [0013], [0091]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the conceal layer overlapping the mask layer around a perimeter of the opening with a reasonable expectation of success by modifying the Labrot-Lin combination to have wherein the conceal layer overlaps the mask layer around a perimeter of the opening as taught by Cappuccilli, in order to enable the opening in the mask layer to be made opaque by the electrically switchable functional film in the lower-transmission switching state and thereby selectively increase the opaque region of the panel (Cappuccilli, paras. [0013]-[0014], [0091]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Labrot et al. (US20190001888) in view of Lin et al. (US20150077830), and further in view of HEJDA et al. (US20240337838).
Regarding claim 16, the Labrot-Lin combination discloses the invention as described in claim 14. The Labrot-Lin combination does not explicitly disclose wherein the mask layer is configured to conceal an underlying portion of the vehicle to which the display is mounted.
However, HEJDA teaches the similar vehicle display arrangement (HEJDA, figs. 1a-1b, windshield 5 and display screen 8 corresponding to the similar vehicle display arrangement; see paras. [0037]-[0038]), and further teaches
wherein the mask layer (HEJDA, fig. 1b, opaque black print area 51 corresponding to the claimed mask layer; see paras. [0031], [0046]) is configured to conceal (HEJDA, figs. 1a-1b, opaque black print area 51 arranged relative to display screen 8 such that the display screen is not perceptible from outside through windshield 5 corresponding to the claimed conceal function; see paras. [0021], [0046]-[0047]) an underlying portion of the vehicle to which the display (HEJDA, figs. 1a-1b, display screen 8 corresponding to the claimed display; see paras. [0038]-[0039) is mounted (HEJDA, figs. 1a-1b and 3, windshield-side mounting region including holding devices 11 fastening display screen 8 to windshield 5 corresponding to the analogous underlying portion of the vehicle to which the display is mounted; see paras. [0020]-[0021], [0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to conceal the underlying vehicle mounting portion associated with the display with a reasonable expectation of success by modifying the Labrot-Lin combination to have wherein the mask layer is configured to conceal an underlying portion of the vehicle to which the display is mounted as taught by HEJDA, in order to prevent the fastening and holding devices used to mount the display from being viewed from outside the vehicle (HEJDA, figs. 1a-1b and 3, opaque black print area 51, display screen 8, and holding devices 11; see paras. [0020]-[0021], [0046]-[0047], [0053]).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Labrot et al. (US20190001888) in view of Lin et al. (US20150077830), and further in view of Larry et al. (US20200292905, hereinafter called Larry-905).
Regarding claim 18, the Labrot-Lin combination discloses the invention as described in claim 14. The Labrot-Lin combination does not explicitly wherein the switchable layer is a first switchable layer, the panel further comprising:
a second switchable layer that is located between the first layer and the second layer, the second switchable layer configured to switch between a transparent state and a darkened state.
However, Larry-905 teaches the similar switchable layers (Larry-905, fig. 1, first switchable layer 130a and second switchable layer 130b corresponding to the similar switchable layers; see paras. [0020], [0028]-[0034]), and further teaches
wherein the switchable layer is a first switchable layer (Larry-905, fig. 1, first switchable layer 130a corresponding to the claimed first switchable layer; see paras. [0029]-[0032]), the panel (Larry-905, fig. 1, transparent display unit 120; see para. [0028]) further comprising:
a second switchable layer (Larry-905, fig. 1, second switchable layer 130b corresponding to the claimed second switchable layer; see paras. [0020], [0033]-[0034]), the second switchable layer configured to switch between a transparent state and a darkened state (see Larry-905, fig. 1, second switchable layer 130b reversibly transitioning between an essentially transparent state and an opaque state corresponding to the claimed transparent state and darkened state; see paras. [0033]-[0034]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a second switchable layer that is located between the first layer and the second layer and configured to switch between a transparent state and a darkened state with a reasonable expectation of success by modifying the Labrot-Lin combination to have wherein the switchable layer is a first switchable layer, the panel further comprising a second switchable layer that is located between the first layer and the second layer, the second switchable layer configured to switch between a transparent state and a darkened state as taught by Larry-905, in order to permit independent control of the first and second switchable layers and selectively control optical transmission through the panel (Larry-905, fig. 1, first and second switchable layers 130a, 130b; see paras. [0020]-[0021], [0032]-[0036]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larry et al. (US20210213888), and further in view of Larry et al. (US20200292905, hereinafter called Larry-905).
Regarding claim 20, Larry discloses the invention as described in claim 19. Larry does not explicitly disclose wherein the portion of the intermediate layer comprises an electrochromic film that is configured to be switchable between a first state in which the portion exhibits a first transmissivity and a second state in which the portion exhibits a second transmissivity that is lower than the first transmissivity.
However, Larry-905 teaches the similar intermediate layer (Larry-905, fig. 1, layered display apparatus including transparent display unit 110 and first switchable layer 130a corresponding to the similar intermediate layer; see paras. [0029]-[0032]), and further teaches
wherein the portion of the intermediate layer (Larry-905, fig. 1, first switchable layer 130a forming a portion of the layered display apparatus corresponding to the claimed portion of the intermediate layer; see paras. [0029]-[0032]) comprises an electrochromic film (Larry-905, fig. 1, first switchable layer 130a comprising an electrochromic material corresponding to the claimed electrochromic film; see para. [0031]) that is configured to be switchable between a first state (Larry-905, fig. 1, transparent state of first switchable layer 130a corresponding to the claimed first state; see para. [0032]) in which the portion (Larry-905, fig. 1, first switchable layer 130a corresponding to the claimed portion; see paras. [0031]-[0032]) exhibits a first transmissivity (Larry-905, transparent state having a transmittance greater than about 90% over visible wavelengths corresponding to the claimed first transmissivity; see para. [0032]) and a second state (Larry-905, fig. 1, opaque state of first switchable layer 130a corresponding to the claimed second state; see para. [0032]) in which the portion (Larry-905, fig. 1, first switchable layer 130a corresponding to the claimed portion; see paras. [0031]-[0032]) exhibits a second transmissivity that is lower than the first transmissivity (Larry-905, opaque state having a transmittance less than about 10% compared with the transparent state's transmittance greater than about 90%, corresponding to the claimed second transmissivity that is lower than the first transmissivity; see para. [0032]). Larry-905 further expressly teaches an embodiment in which the first switchable layer comprises an electrochromic material (Larry-905, para. [0090]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the portion of the intermediate layer comprising an electrochromic film that is configured to be switchable between a first state in which the portion exhibits a first transmissivity and a second state in which the portion exhibits a second transmissivity that is lower than the first transmissivity with a reasonable expectation of success by modifying Larry to have the portion of the intermediate layer comprise an electrochromic film that is configured to be switchable between a first state in which the portion exhibits a first transmissivity and a second state in which the portion exhibits a second transmissivity that is lower than the first transmissivity as taught by Larry-905, in order to provide reversible electrical switching between transparent and opaque optical states (Larry-905, first switchable layer 130a; see paras. [0031]-[0032], [0089]-[0090]).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larry et al. (US20210213888) in view of Larry et al. (US20200292905, hereinafter called Larry-905), and further in view of Labrot et al. (US20190001888).
Regarding claim 21, the Larry-Larry-905 combination discloses the invention as described in claim 20. The Larry-Larry-905 combination does not explicitly disclose wherein further comprising: a mask layer that is located between the first panel layer and the second panel layer, the mask layer having an opening that extends therethrough, the opening sized based on a viewable area of the display, wherein the mask layer is configured to conceal an underlying portion of the vehicle to which the display is mounted.
However, Labrot teaches the similar first panel layer (Labrot, fig. 6, first glazing 1 corresponding to the similar first panel layer; see paras. [0005]-[0006]), and further teaches wherein further comprising:
a mask layer (Labrot, fig. 6, enamel masking layer 5 corresponding to the claimed mask layer; see paras. [0245]-[0247]) that is located between the first panel layer (Labrot, fig. 6, first glazing 1 corresponding to the claimed first panel layer; see paras. [0005]-[0006]) and the second panel layer (Labrot, fig. 6, second glazing 1′ corresponding to the claimed second panel layer; see paras. [0005], [0008]), the mask layer having an opening that extends therethrough (Labrot, fig. 6, opening 53 formed in enamel masking layer 5 corresponding to the claimed opening that extends therethrough; see para. [0247]), the opening sized based on a viewable area of the display (Labrot, fig. 6, opening 53 facing and revealing the display zone of AMOLED screen 3 while the surrounding masking layer masks the technical edges of AMOLED screen 3, corresponding to the claimed opening sized based on a viewable area of the display; see paras. [0147]-[0155], [0245]-[0247]), wherein the mask layer is configured to conceal an underlying portion of the vehicle (see Labrot, paras. [0165], [0218]-[0222], masking layer 5 is opaque and hides underlying components from a view of the exterior, corresponding to the claimed mask layer configured to conceal an underlying portion of the vehicle) to which the display is mounted (see Labrot, fig. 6, paras. [0165], [0218]-[0222], masking layer 5 concealing from exterior view the underlying AMOLED screen 3, connecting part 40, off-glazing portion 45 of the FPC, connector-related portions, and the glue bead fastening the laminated glazing to the vehicle bodywork bay, corresponding to concealment of underlying vehicle/display-mounting structure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a mask layer that is located between the first panel layer and the second panel layer, the mask layer having an opening that extends therethrough, the opening sized based on a viewable area of the display, wherein the mask layer is configured to conceal an underlying portion of the vehicle to which the display is mounted, with a reasonable expectation of success by modifying the Larry-Larry-905 combination to have the masking arrangement taught by Labrot, in order to conceal non-useful and unsightly portions associated with the display and its mounting while leaving the useful display zone visible (Labrot, paras. [0218]-[0222], [0245]-[0247]).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larry et al. (US20210213888) in view of Larry et al. (US20200292905, hereinafter called Larry-905) and Labrot et al. (US20190001888), and further in view of Klein et al. (US20210237403, hereinafter called Klein-403, of record, see IDS dated 2/7/2025).
Regarding claim 22, the Larry-Larry-905-Labrot combination discloses the invention as described in claim 21. The Larry-Larry-905-Labrot combination does not explicitly disclose wherein the second transmissivity approximates that of the mask layer.
However, Klein-403 teaches the similar low-transmissivity layer (Klein-403, fig. 8, opaque polymeric film 5 corresponding to the similar low-transmissivity layer; see paras. [0030], [0073]) and a similar mask layer (Klein-403, fig. 8, peripheral masking print 8 made of enamel corresponding to the similar mask layer; see paras. [0031], [0073]), and further teaches
wherein the second transmissivity (Klein-403, fig. 8, opaque polymeric film 5 having an opaque/low-transmission optical condition corresponding to the claimed second transmissivity; see paras. [0030]-[0032], [0073]) approximates that of the mask layer (Klein-403, fig. 8, opaque polymeric film 5 and peripheral masking print 8 having substantially the same optical density, corresponding to the claimed second transmissivity approximating that of the mask layer; see paras. [0031]-[0032], [0073], Klein-403 further teaches that “substantially the same optical density” means that the optical densities differ from one another by at most 5%, preferably at most 3%, and particularly preferably at most 2%).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the second transmissivity to approximate that of the mask layer with a reasonable expectation of success by modifying the Larry-Larry-905-Labrot combination to have wherein the second transmissivity approximates that of the mask layer as taught by Klein ’403, in order to provide the low-transmission region and the masking region with substantially the same optical density and thereby provide a visually consistent appearance between the two regions (Klein-403, fig. 8, opaque polymeric film 5 and peripheral masking print 8; see paras. [0031]-[0032], [0073]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art taken either singularly or in combination fails to anticipate or fairly suggest the limitations of the claim, in such a manner that a rejection under 35 U.S.C. §102 or §103 would be proper.
Specifically, with respect to claim 10, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or teach an apparatus including, as the distinguishing feature(s) in combination with the other limitations, wherein an adhesive layer that separates the mask layer from the conceal layer and the shade layer, wherein the adhesive layer comprises an optically clear layer.
Claim 12 also would be allowable due to its dependence on claim 10.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Cammenga US20210208322 teaches features of instant invention, such as an optically clear adhesive layer, including laminating layer 36 that may comprise an optically clear adhesive and optically clear adhesive 48 disposed between display element 40 and masking layer 24 (paras. [0027], [0030]). However, Cammenga fails to teach or suggest “an adhesive layer that separates the mask layer from the conceal layer and the shade layer, wherein the adhesive layer comprises an optically clear layer.” The prior art taken either singly or in combination also fails to anticipate or fairly suggest this claimed arrangement.
/KUEI-JEN L EDENFIELD/
Examiner, Art Unit 2872