DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11, 13, 15-20, 22, and 24-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(1)(1) as being anticipated by Nicolai (DE102019006708 A1).
With respect to claim 11, Nicolai discloses a human-electric hybrid powertrain (4) with a continuously variable transmission ([0055] of attached translation) comprising: a planetary gear train (Figs 7 and 8a) having a sun gear (40b); a planet carrier (43) and a ring gear (39b) rotatably mounted to an input crank shaft (14) and a plurality of planet gears (42) rotatably mounted to the planet carrier; and a first motor (24) and a second motor (25) engaging the planetary gear train and being configured to provide drive power or speed control, wherein a one way clutch (22) rotatably connects the input crank shaft to the planetary gear train; and a controller (33) connected to the first motor and the second motor, the controller being configured to maintain power and speed ratio and to receive wired or wireless signals from an operator interface device to modify either power or speed ratio ([0047] of attached translation); wherein: the planetary gear train is a bevel planetary gear train ([0086] of attached translation disclose all gears could be bevel gears), the sun gear is a bevel sun gear, and the ring gear is a bevel ring gear; the plurality of planet gears is a plurality of bevel planet gears; the human-electric hybrid powertrain further comprises one of: a bevel output gear configured to mesh with a driveshaft connected to a driving wheel, or a chain or belt (8) configured to transfer power to a driving wheel ([0045] of attached translation); the second motor (25) engaged with the bevel ring gear (39b)([0061] of attached translation); and the first motor (24) is engaged with the bevel sun gear (last paragraph of [0075] of attached translation, the first motor 24 could be engaged with the sun gear), and the one way clutch is rotatably connecting the input crank shaft to the planet carrier ([0075] of attached translation).
With respect to claims 13 and 22, wherein the bevel ring gear comprises sprocket teeth or engages a chain ring (9) with sprocket teeth ([0062] of attached translation) for engaging the chain or belt configured to transfer power to the driving wheel.
With respect to claims 15 and 24, wherein the sun gear and the bevel ring gear are each on the input crank shaft, and wherein the plurality of planet gears is engaged with both the bevel sun gear and the bevel ring gear (Figs 7-8).
With respect to claims 16 and 25, wherein the powertrain is mounted on a bicycle (Fig 1).
With respect to claim 17, the apparatus discussed above meets the limitations.
With respect to claims 18 and 26, further comprising a battery (11) arranged to power the first motor and the second motor.
With respect to claims 19 and 27, further comprising a battery (11) arranged to power the controller.
With respect to claim 20, the apparatus discussed above meets the limitations and that the first motor is engaged with the planet carrier (last paragraph of [0075] of attached translation, the first motor 24 could be engaged with the planet carrier 43), and the one way clutch is rotatably connecting the input crank shaft to the bevel sun ([0089] of attached translation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nicolai in view of Hara et al. (DE102019212219 A1).
With respect to claim 12, Nicolai discloses the claimed invention discussed above but does not disclose wherein the bevel ring gear including the first gear face for engaging the planet gears and the second gear face arranged as the bevel output gear engages a bevel gear drive of a driveshaft connected to the driving wheel. Hara et al., however, disclose that the output gear is configured to mesh with a driveshaft, chain, or belt (last sentence of [0029] of attached translation). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to modify the invention of Nicolai in view of the teachings of Hara et al. to substitute a driveshaft of Hara et al. for the belt of Nicolai, since one having ordinary skill would have recognized the alternatives as art recognized equivalents and can be interchanged as desirable to meet the intended result, namely, means for outputting power.
Claims 14 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nicolai.
With respect to claims 14 and 23, Nicolai discloses the claimed invention discussed above but does not disclose further comprising a secondary planet gearset connecting the bevel ring gear with one of the bevel output gear or the chain or belt. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to try using a secondary planet gearset, since it was old and well known in the art that using a second planetary gearset allows additional gear ratio change and/or provide rotation direction change, and it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art.
Conclusion
DREW BROWN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3616
/DREW J BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3617