DETAILED ACTION
Inventorship
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The limitations “an improved rotary engine of the type” in the claims 1-12 are not clear, since the engine disclosed the technical implications of term “improved” is not clear. Moreover, the term “the type” is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation. Note: in view of description paragraph [0004], it is clear that the application is directed exclusively to a Wankel-type rotary engine and therefore the definition of the claimed engine as a Wankel-type rotary engine is considered essential for the definition of the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the improvement" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1, 5, and 7-9, as far as understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hoffmann (US 4,551,083).
Regarding claim 1, notes Figures 1 and 2, Hoffmann invention teaches an improved rotary engine [col. 2, lines 48-50 teaches trochoidal rotary device (10)] of the type including (i) a rotor (14) having a central axis of rotation and first and second axial faces [col. 2, line 58-col. 3, line 20], (ii) a housing (11/12) having a plurality of working chambers (13) [col. 2, lines 48-57; two-pieces rotor housing (11/12) defining a profiled cavity (13)], (iii) a pair of side covers (27/28) axially disposed on first and second sides of the rotor (14) and coupled to the housing (11/12) [Figure 1], and (iv) an output shaft (18) coupled to the rotor (14) [Figure 1], wherein the improvement comprises: a pinion gear (22/24) disposed around the output shaft (18) to support rotation with respect to the output shaft (22/24) and running through the central axis of the rotor (14) and rigidly coupled to the rotor (14) [col. 2, line 58-col. 3, line 20], the pinion gear (22/24) having first and second segments extending axially beyond the first and second axial faces [col. 3, lines 1-20], respectively, of the rotor (14), as well as a plurality of teeth circumferentially disposed around its outer radial surface [Figure 2]; and a pair of ring gears (25/26), symmetrically disposed on opposing sides of the rotor (14), each ring gear (25/26) affixed to an inside face of one of the side covers, each of the ring gears (25/26) having a plurality of teeth circumferentially disposed around an inner radial surface of each of the ring gears (25/26), and configured to engage with the teeth of a corresponding one of the pinion gear segments [Figure 2 and col. 3, line 45-66].
Regarding claim 5, as discussed in claim 1, Hoffmann invention further teaches wherein the pinion gear (22/24) is coupled to the output shaft (18) by the first bearing (20) [Figure 2].
Regarding claim 7, as discussed in claim 1, Hoffmann invention further teaches wherein each ring gear is affixed to the inside face of one of the side covers by a spring pin [Figure 2].
Regarding claim 8, as discussed in claim 1, Hoffmann invention further teaches wherein the output shaft (18) extends through each of the pair of side covers [Figure 2].
Regarding claim 9, as discussed in claim 1, Hoffmann invention further teaches wherein each the pair of side covers is coupled to the output shaft (18) by a second bearing [Figure 2].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoffmann
Regarding claims 6 and 10, as discussed and motivated in claim 1, Hoffmann invention does not specifically teach wherein the first and second bearings are hydrodynamic bearings.
Regarding the hydrodynamic bearings, since Hoffmann invention discloses the spaces formed between the trochoidal working member profile and the peripheral wall surface of the envelope working member serve to define fluid working chambers, such as may be used for fluid expansion or compression processes. Although it is conventional to maintain the rotor housing stationary while the rotor moves within the housing cavity, it is also known to fix the rotor and driveshaft and rotate the rotor housing [col. 2, lines 37-47]. It is the examiner's position that the hydrodynamic bearings would have been an obvious matter of design choice well within the level of ordinary skill in the art. Moreover, there is nothing in the record which establishes that the claimed parameters present a novel or unexpected result, and such modification, i.e. choosing from a finite number of predictable solutions, is not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense (See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.-, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (April 30, 2007)).
9. Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoffmann in view of JP 08-310419 A [hereinafter Japanese invention].
Regarding claim 2, as discussed in claim 1, however, Hoffmann invention does not specifically teach wherein the teeth of the first and second segments of the pinion gear are crowned.
Regarding claim 3, however, Hoffmann invention does not specifically teach wherein the teeth of each the ring gears are crowned.
Regarding claim 4, however, Hoffmann invention does not specifically teach the ring gears includes a flexible thin continuous rim around its outer circumference.
Notes Figures 1-3, Japanese invention teaches a rotary machine comprising, in which the “A-row gear” including the ring gear is “crowning processed” and equipped with an “O-ring” which is an elastic member to suppress noise and vibration [para. 0003-0012].
Since the prior art references are both from the same field of endeavor, the purpose disclosed by Japanese invention would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Hoffmann.
It would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the opinion gear configuration of the rotary machine of Hoffmann by crowned teeth of the opinion gear structural configuration for the purpose of achieving the specified matters related to claims 2-4, in order to suppress noise and vibration of a rotary engine.
Allowable Subject Matter
10. Claims 11 and 12 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the inner axial face of each the ring gears comprises a groove and a series of pad cutouts disposed circumferentially around at least a portion of a circumference of the inner axial face of each of the ring gears.
No particular single feature of the claim renders the claim as a whole patentable. Only the claim taken as a whole combination is deemed new and unobvious.
Conclusion
To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
August 31, 2026
/JHH/
/Johnny H. Hoang/
Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/LOGAN M KRAFT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3747