DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Examiner acknowledges that, according to the Filing receipt received 03/26/2026, that the instant application 19/102,043 filed 02/07/2025 is a 371 of PCT/US2023/071877 filed 08/08/2023 which claims benefit of U.S. provisional application 63/396,895 filed 08/10/2022. As such, all of the pending claims have been awarded the effective filing date of 08/10/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements filed on 03/21/2025, 04/16/2025, and 12/11/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and have been considered in full. A signed copy of list of references cited from the IDS is included with this Office Action.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it contains legal phraseology ). A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claim 42 is objected to because of the following informalities: on page 16, "substituted a bicyclic heterocycloalkyl" should read "substituted bicyclic heterocycloalkyl" and "substituted a 6-membered oxygen-containing heterocycloalkyl" should read "substituted 6-membered oxygen-containing heterocycloalky". Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 42 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 42 recites “provided that when L2 is a bond, -(C1-C6 alkylene)-, -O-, or -O-(C1-C6 alkylene)- then at least one of the following: …(iv) L2 is -O-(C1-C6 alkylene)-…”. This causes confusion as it is unclear how both can be true. It is additionally unclear if (iv) must be true if L2 is -O-(C1-C6 alkylene)-. Clarification is required. For purposes of examination, Examiner has not interpreted (iv) as a required limitation if L2 is -O-(C1-C6 alkylene)- and that one of (i)-(iii) can be true instead, since the proviso only requires “at least one” and each of (i)-(iv) are set forth as alternatives.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1-2, 8-10, 17, 20, 24-25, 28, 30, 33, 40, 42, 87, 111-114, and 118 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for salts or stereoisomers, does not reasonably provide enablement for solvates. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
The test of enablement is whether one skilled in the art could make and use the claimed invention from the disclosures in the application coupled with information known in the art without undue experimentation. (United States v. Teletronics Inc., 8 USPQ2d 1217 (Fed. Cir. 1988)). Whether undue experimentation is needed is not based on a single factor, but rather a conclusion reached by weighing many factors (See Ex parte Forman 230 USPQ 546 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1986) and In re Wands, 8 USPQ2d 1400 (Fed. Cir. 1988).
These factors include the following:
1) Amount of guidance provided by applicant. The instant specification provides no species of solvates of the claimed LpxC inhibitors. The term “solvate” is incredibly broad, and in combination with the scope of the claimed compounds of Formula (I), (VI), and (XI), reads on hundreds of thousands of potential species.
As was stated in Morton International Inc. v. Cardinal Chemical Co., 28 USPQ2d 1190 “The specification purports to teach, with over fifty examples, the preparation of the claimed compounds with the required connectivity. However...there is no evidence that such compounds exist...the examples of the '881 patent do not produce the postulated compounds...there is...no evidence that such compounds even exist.” The same circumstance appears to be true here. Hence, Applicants must show that solvates of these compounds can be made, or limit the claims accordingly.
2) The nature of the invention and predictability in the art. The invention is directed toward bicyclic quinone compounds. Regarding predictability in the art, chemistry is generally regarded as unpredictable, particularly the formation of solvates. Additionally see In Re Marzocchi and Horton, 169 USPQ at 367 paragraph 3:
“Most non-chemists would probably be horrified if they were to learn how
many attempted syntheses fail, and how inefficient research chemists are.
The ratio of successful to unsuccessful chemical experiments in a normal
research laboratory is far below unity, and synthetic research chemists, in
the same way as most scientists, spend most of their time working out
what went wrong, and why. Despite the many pitfalls lurking in organic
synthesis, most organic chemistry textbooks and research articles do give
the impression that organic reactions just proceed smoothly and that the
total synthesis of complex natural products, for instance, is maybe a labor-
intensive but otherwise undemanding task. In fact, most syntheses of
structurally complex natural products are the result of several years of
hard work by a team of chemists, with almost every step requiring careful
optimization. The final synthesis usually looks quite different from that
originally planned, because of unexpected difficulties encountered in the initially chosen synthetic sequence. Only the seasoned practitioner who
has experienced for himself the many failures and frustrations which the
development (sometimes even the repetition) of a synthesis usually
implies will be able to appraise such work ......Chemists tend not to publish
negative results, because these are, as opposed to positive results, never
definite (and far too copious)...” Dorwald F. A. Side Reactions in Organic
Synthesis, 2005, Wiley: VCH, Weinheim pg. IX of Preface.
The scope of any solvates of the claimed compounds is not adequately enabled or defined. Applicants provide no guidance as to how solvates of these compounds are made.
3) Number of working examples. Applicant has provided sufficient guidance to make and use the claimed compounds, pharmaceutically acceptable salts, and stereoisomers thereof; however, the disclosure is not sufficient to allow extrapolation of the limited examples to enable the scope of the solvates thereof instantly claimed. Applicant has provided no working examples of any solvates.
Within the specification, “specific operative embodiments or examples of the invention must be set forth, Examples and description should be of sufficient scope as to justify the scope of the claims, Markush claims must be provided with support in the disclosure for each member of the Markush group. Where the constitution and formula of a chemical compound is stated only as a probability or speculation, the disclosure is not sufficient to support claims identifying the compound by such composition or formula.” See MPEP 608.01(p).
4) Scope of the claims. The scope of the claims is the compounds of Formula (I), (VI), and (XI), as well as pharmaceutically acceptable salts, solvates, and stereoisomers thereof.
Therefore, the claims are incredibly broad.
5) Level of skill in the art. The artisan using Applicant’s invention would be an individual with an M.D. or chemist with a Ph.D. degree and having several years of bench experience.
6) Undue experimentation. MPEP §2164.01 (a) states, "A conclusion of lack of enablement means that, based on the evidence regarding each of the above factors, the specification, at the time the application was filed, would not have taught one skilled in the art how to make and/or use the full scope of the claimed invention without undue experimentation. In re Wright, 999 F.2d 1557,1562, 27 USPQ2d 1510, 1513 (Fed. Cir. 1993)."
The conclusion is clearly justified here that Applicant is not enabled for making these compounds or compositions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Teng et al. (WO 2022/173758 A1; filed Feb 2022, priority date Feb 2021; IDS filed 03/21/2025).
Teng et al. discloses the following compound 13 (p. 55).
The compound is within the scope of Formula (VI) wherein R11 is methyl, R12a and R12b are hydrogen, R13 is -methylene-OH, R14 is hydrogen, v and w are 0, L2 is -O-(C1-C6 alkylene)-, and R17 is unsubstituted 6-membered oxygen containing heterocycloalkyl (see proviso (iii)).
Examiner notes that, in view of the exemplary compounds on pages 99-100 and Table 2 of the instant specification, -X4-(C1-C6 alkylene)- can be read in either direction wherein X4 is bound to phenyl or C1-C6 alkylene is bound to phenyl.
The applied reference has a common inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 8-10, 17, 20, 24-25, 28, 30, 33, 40, 111-114, and 118 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Teng et al. (WO 2022/173758 A1; filed Feb 2022, priority date Feb 2021; IDS filed 03/21/2025) in view of Patani et al. (Chem. Rev., 1996).
Teng et al. discloses compounds of Formula (I) (p. 1) wherein each R5 and R6 is independently selected from hydrogen, halogen, or C1-C4 alkyl (p. 2, first line) and t and s are 1 or 2 (p. 2, two lines before par. [0006]).
Teng et al. discloses the following species of Formula (I) (p. 53-54).
Teng et al. discloses pharmaceutical compositions comprising the compounds of Formula (I) and a method of treating a gram-negative bacterial infection in a patient comprising administering the disclosed compounds of Formula (I), wherein the gram-negative bacterial infection is associated with Pseudomonas aeruginosa, wherein the gram-negative bacterial infection is pneumonia or a respiratory infection, wherein the patient is identified as having a lung disease (p. 7-8, pars. [0024]-[0026]).
The compounds of Teng et al. differ from those of the instant invention wherein s and/or t are not 1 or 2, and at least one of R5 or R6 is not halogen, nor is the alkyl, heteroalkyl, cycloalkyl, or heterocycloalkyl of R7 substituted by at least one halogen. Teng et al. does not disclose a compound as in instant claim 40. These limitations are obvious over Patani et al.
Patani et al. teaches that fluorine and hydrogen are monovalent atoms that are considered classical bioisosteres (p. 3149, col. 1). Patani et al. teaches that bioisosteres elicit similar biological activity due to common physicochemical properties (p. 3148, col. 2, par. 2). Patani et al. teaches that hydrogen and fluorine substitutions have been made in pharmacological studies in order to observe differences in properties such as affinity and activity (p. 3149, col. 2 – p. 3150, col. 1, par. 1).
It would be prima facie obvious to substitute a hydrogen in the R5 or R6 position of the compounds of Teng et al. with fluorine (-F). One would have been motivated to do so, with reasonable expectation of success, as Teng et al. suggests that R5 and R6 can be halogen. Moreover, in view of Patani et al., one would be apprised that bioisosteric replacement of hydrogen with fluorine could yield different properties, such as activity, in the compounds of Teng et al. In particular, the modification of Compound 10 with one or more fluorines at R5 and/or R6 would render the following compounds of claim 40 prima facie obvious.
The applied reference has a common inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 8-10, 17, 20, 24-25, 28, 30, 33, 40, 42, 111-114, and 118 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5, and 15-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12715847 B2 in view of Patani et al. (Chem. Rev., 1996).
The claims of the ‘847 patent are directed toward compounds of Formula (I) wherein each R5 and R6 is independently selected from hydrogen, halogen, or C1-C4 alkyl and t and s are 1 or 2.
Claim 5 of the ‘847 patent further narrows the compounds to that of Formula (IIa) wherein R5 and R6 is independently selected from hydrogen or fluoro.
Claim 15 of the ‘847 patent is directed toward compounds that are within the scope of instant claim 1 except that at least one of R5 or R6 is not halogen, nor is the alkyl, heteroalkyl, cycloalkyl, or heterocycloalkyl of R7 substituted by at least one halogen. Regarding instant claim 42, Compound 13 is within the scope of Formula (VI) wherein R11 is methyl, R12a and R12b are hydrogen, R13 is -methylene-OH, R14 is hydrogen, v and w are 0, L2 is -O-(C1-C6 alkylene)-, and R17 is unsubstituted 6-membered oxygen containing heterocycloalkyl (see instant proviso (iii)).
Claim 16 of the ‘847 patent is directed toward a pharmaceutical composition of compounds of Formula (I) and a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient.
Claims 17-20 of the ‘847 patent are directed toward methods of treating gram-negative and/or P. aeruginosa infection comprising administering to a patient a pharmaceutically effective amount of a compound of Formula (I), wherein the patient has been identified as having a lung disease.
Patani et al. teaches that fluorine and hydrogen are monovalent atoms that are considered classical bioisosteres (p. 3149, col. 1). Patani et al. teaches that bioisosteres elicit similar biological activity due to common physicochemical properties (p. 3148, col. 2, par. 2). Patani et al. teaches that hydrogen and fluorine substitutions have been made in pharmacological studies in order to observe differences in properties such as affinity and activity (p. 3149, col. 2 – p. 3150, col. 1, par. 1).
It would be prima facie obvious to substitute a hydrogen in the R5 or R6 position of the compounds of the ‘847 patent with fluorine (-F). One would have been motivated to do so, with reasonable expectation of success, as the ‘847 patent suggests that R5 and R6 can be halogen, specifically fluoro. Moreover, in view of Patani et al., one would be apprised that bioisosteric replacement of hydrogen with fluorine could yield different properties, such as activity, in the compounds of the ‘847 patent. In particular, modification of Compound 10 in claim 15 of the ‘847 patent with one or more fluorines at R5 and/or R6 would render the following compounds of claim 40 prima facie obvious.
Claims 1-2, 8-10, 17, 20, 24-25, 30, 33, 42, 111-114, and 118 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 90-92, and 136-143 of copending Application No. 19/614,234 in view of Patani et al. (Chem. Rev., 1996).
Claim 1 of the ‘234 application is directed toward a compound of Formula (I).
Claims 90-92 are directed toward particular compounds, including the following.
These compounds are within the scope of instant Formula (I) wherein R1 is methyl, R2a and R2b are hydrogen, R3 is -methylene-OH, R4 is hydrogen, one of R5 and R6 is hydrogen and the other is fluoro, L1 is a bond or -O-methylene-, R7 is 4- or 5-membered heterocycloalkyl, and R10 is -OH or oxo.
The compounds are within the scope of Formula (VI) wherein R11 is methyl, R12a and R12b are hydrogen, R13 is -methylene-OH, R14 is hydrogen, one of R15 and R16 is hydrogen and the other is fluoro, L2 is a bond or -O-(C1-C6 alkylene)-, and R17 is sulfur-containing heterocycloalkyl or 5-membered heterocycloalkyl (see provisos (iii) and (iv)).
Claim 92 additionally discloses the following compounds.
The compounds are within the scope of instant claims 1 and 33 except that at least one of R5 or R6 is not halogen, nor is the alkyl, heteroalkyl, cycloalkyl, or heterocycloalkyl of R7 substituted by at least one halogen.
Claim 136 of the ‘234 application is directed toward a pharmaceutical composition of compounds of Formula (I) and a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient.
Claims 137-143 of the ‘237 application are directed toward methods of treating gram-negative and/or P. aeruginosa infection comprising administering to a patient a pharmaceutically effective amount of a compound of Formula (I), wherein the patient has been identified as having a lung disease.
Patani et al. teaches that fluorine and hydrogen are monovalent atoms that are considered classical bioisosteres (p. 3149, col. 1). Patani et al. teaches that bioisosteres elicit similar biological activity due to common physicochemical properties (p. 3148, col. 2, par. 2). Patani et al. teaches that hydrogen and fluorine substitutions have been made in pharmacological studies in order to observe differences in properties such as affinity and activity (p. 3149, col. 2 – p. 3150, col. 1, par. 1).
It would be prima facie obvious to substitute a hydrogen in the R5 or R6 position of the compounds of claim 92 of the ‘234 application with fluorine (-F). One would have been motivated to do so, with reasonable expectation of success, as the compounds of claims 90-92 of the ‘234 application suggest that R5 and R6 can be halogen, specifically fluoro. Moreover, in view of Patani et al., one would be apprised that bioisosteric replacement of hydrogen with fluorine could yield different properties, such as activity, in the compounds of claim 92 of the ‘234 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/MADELINE E BRAUN/Examiner, Art Unit 1624 10/28/2026