Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 22-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 22-41 recites the limitation reversibly. It is unclear what the claim limitation is referring to as reversibly in regards to the nozzle. Is the claim limitation reciting that the nozzle can be separated instead of integrated? Or does the claim limitation mean the nozzle can be connected in any other? For purposes of compact prosecution, examiner is interpreting it as the nozzle is separatable from the rest of the system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 39 and 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zwiesele (US 2023025667 A1) in view of Wang (US 2019/0009474 A1)
Regarding claim 39, Zwiesele teaches a 3D printing system (abstract) comprising: a first cartridge container (106) for reversibly receiving a first cartridge storing printing fluid for a 3D print, said first cartridge container having an outside (figure 2); a print head (100) with an outflow opening (116); a first fluid line (421) connecting said first cartridge container to said print head for supplying printing fluid to said print head and the material and heating arrangement are flexibly connected [0039];
Zwiesele does not explicitly disclose a first temperature control channel encasing said outside of said first cartridge container, said first temperature control channel being guided at least along said first fluid line. However, analogous art, Wang, discloses a first temperature control channel encasing said outside of said first cartridge container (2 in figure 1) for the benefit of controlling the temperature of the material container [0054]. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated disclose a first temperature control channel encasing said outside of said first cartridge container, said first temperature control channel being guided at least along said first fluid line as taught by Wang into the system taught by Zwiesele for the benefit of controlling the temperature of the material container.
As for an intended application state, said first temperature control channel guiding a temperature control medium through said first temperature control channel (the Applicant is reminded that apparatus claims are not limited by the function they perform, as per MPEP §2114. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. As the apparatus of the prior art and the claimed apparatus are patentably indistinguishable in terms of structure, the apparatus of the prior art is reasonably expected to be able to perform the claimed functionalities).
Regarding claim 41, Zwisele teaches which further comprises a print nozzle having a nozzle channel for the printing fluid, said print nozzle being reversibly connected to said outflow opening, or said nozzle being reversibly connected to said outflow opening and said nozzle channel being enclosed at least in sections coaxially by a channel for the temperature control medium (figure 1). Further, MPEP 2144.04 states making parts separatable is within the skillset of one ordinary skill in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the nozzles separatable since it has been held that constructing formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art.
Claim(s) 22-31,and 34-39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zwiesele (US 2023025667 A1) in view of Wang (US 2019/0009474 A1) and KR20200044202A, herein referred to as ‘202.
Regarding claim 22, Zwiesele discloses 3D printing system (abstract), comprising: a first cartridge (106) container for reversibly receiving a first cartridge storing printing fluid for a 3D print, said first cartridge container having an outside (see figure 2); a print head with an outflow opening (116); a first fluid line (421) connecting said first cartridge container to said print head for supplying printing fluid to said print head (100 top region in figures 1-2);
Zwiesele does not explicitly disclose a first temperature control channel encasing said outside of said first cartridge container, said first temperature control channel being guided at least along said first fluid line. However, analogous art, Wang, discloses a first temperature control channel encasing said outside of said first cartridge container (2 in figure 1) for the benefit of controlling the temperature of the material container [0054]. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated disclose a first temperature control channel encasing said outside of said first cartridge container, said first temperature control channel being guided at least along said first fluid line as taught by Wang into the system taught by Zwiesele for the benefit of controlling the temperature of the material container.
As for an intended application state, said first temperature control channel guiding a temperature control medium through said first temperature control channel (the Applicant is reminded that apparatus claims are not limited by the function they perform, as per MPEP §2114. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. As the apparatus of the prior art and the claimed apparatus are patentably indistinguishable in terms of structure, the apparatus of the prior art is reasonably expected to be able to perform the claimed functionalities);
Zwiesele does not explicitly discloses a first return line guided at least in a region of said first fluid line coaxially relative to said first temperature control channel, said first temperature control channel having a print head side merging into said first return line. However, analogous art, ‘202, discloses a first return line (72) guided at least in a region of said first fluid line coaxially relative to said first temperature control channel (80), said first temperature control channel having a print head side merging into said first return line (figure 11). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a first return line guided at least in a region of said first fluid line coaxially relative to said first temperature control channel, said first temperature control channel having a print head side merging into said first return line, as taught by ‘202 into the system by Zwiesele for the benefit of controlling the temperature of the printed material.
Regarding claim 23, combination of Zwisele and Wang teaches wherein said first fluid line has an outside encased by said first temperature control channel (see figure 4 of Zwisele and Wang figure 2-4).
Regarding claim 24, Wang teaches wherein said print head has a first fluid channel for the printing fluid, and said first temperature control channel continues into said print head and is guided along said first fluid channel or encases an outside of said first fluid channel at least in sections (see figure 4).
Regarding claim 25, Zwisele discloses which a second cartridge container (110), a second fluid line (120) while Wang teaches a second temperature control channel, said first and second fluid lines being brought together in said print head at said outflow opening [0054].
Regarding claim 26, Zwisele teaches wherein said print head has at least one of an additional supply for the temperature control medium or an additional heating element or an additional cooling element [0035].
Regarding claim 27, Zwisele teaches which further comprises a print nozzle having a nozzle channel for the printing fluid, said print nozzle being reversibly connected to said outflow opening, or said nozzle being reversibly connected to said outflow opening and said nozzle channel being enclosed at least in sections coaxially by a channel for the temperature control medium (figure 1). Further, MPEP 2144.04 states making parts separatable is within the skillset of one ordinary skill in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the nozzles separatable since it has been held that constructing formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 28, Zwisele teaches wherein said print nozzle has a closing valve (132) for said nozzle channel [0059].
Regarding claim 29, Zwisele teaches which further comprises at least one additional module connected or configured to be connected between said print nozzle and said print head, said at least one additional module forming a carrier for at least one of at least one sensor, or at least one of a heating or cooling element, or a mixing unit or a microfluidic chip [0040].
Regarding claim 30, Zwisele teaches which further comprises a valve (132) configured to vary a through-flow between a section of said first or second temperature control channel surrounding said first or second cartridge container and a section surrounding said first or second fluid line (see figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 31, Zwisele teaches wherein said first or second fluid line and a section of said first or second temperature control channel associated with said first or second fluid line are flexibly constructed [0065, 0039, 0035]. Further, Wang teaches temperature control system [0054 -0056].
Regarding claim 34, Zwisele does not explicitly disclose wherein: said first cartridge container is one of a number of first cartridge containers; said print head is one of a number of print heads corresponding to said number of first cartridge containers; said first fluid line is one of a number of first fluid lines each connecting a respective print head to a respective first cartridge container; said first temperature control channel is one of a number of first temperature control channels each associated with a respective one of said first fluid lines; and diametrically opposed couplings are disposed on two opposite sides of said print heads, for coupling a plurality of said print heads to one another in series. However, MPEP 2144.04 Vi states In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) The court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated said first cartridge container is one of a number of first cartridge containers; said print head is one of a number of print heads corresponding to said number of first cartridge containers; said first fluid line is one of a number of first fluid lines each connecting a respective print head to a respective first cartridge container; said first temperature control channel is one of a number of first temperature control channels each associated with a respective one of said first fluid lines; and diametrically opposed couplings are disposed on two opposite sides of said print heads, for coupling a plurality of said print heads to one another in series since it has been held that a mere duplication of working part of a device involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 35, Zwiesele teaches a controller, and at least one pressure sensor connected to said controller [0017, 0023, 0047] said at least one pressure sensor [0040], in the intended application state, being in contact with the printing fluid. As for an intended application state, the Applicant is reminded that apparatus claims are not limited by the function they perform, as per MPEP §2114. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. As the apparatus of the prior art and the claimed apparatus are patentably indistinguishable in terms of structure, the apparatus of the prior art is reasonably expected to be able to perform the claimed functionalities.
Regarding claim 36, Zwiesele teaches the 3D printing system comprising: a first cartridge (106) container for reversibly receiving a first cartridge storing printing fluid for a 3D print, said first cartridge container having an outside (figure 2); a print head with an outflow opening (132) ; a first fluid line (421) connecting said first cartridge container to said print head for supplying printing fluid to said print head;
supplying printing fluid to said print head (100 top region in figures 1-2);
Zwiesele does not explicitly disclose a first temperature control channel encasing said outside of said first cartridge container, said first temperature control channel being guided at least along said first fluid line. However, analogous art, Wang, discloses a first temperature control channel encasing said outside of said first cartridge container (2 in figure 1) for the benefit of controlling the temperature of the material container [0054]. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated disclose a first temperature control channel encasing said outside of said first cartridge container, said first temperature control channel being guided at least along said first fluid line as taught by Wang into the system taught by Zwiesele for the benefit of controlling the temperature of the material container.
As for an intended application state, said first temperature control channel guiding a temperature control medium through said first temperature control channel (the Applicant is reminded that apparatus claims are not limited by the function they perform, as per MPEP §2114. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. As the apparatus of the prior art and the claimed apparatus are patentably indistinguishable in terms of structure, the apparatus of the prior art is reasonably expected to be able to perform the claimed functionalities);
a print nozzle (104) reversibly connected to said outflow opening; and at least one additional module connected or configured to be connected between said print nozzle and said print head, said at least one additional module forming a carrier for at least one of at least one sensor [0040], or at least one of a heating or cooling element (210 or [0035]), or a mixing unit or a microfluidic chip.
Regarding claims 37 and 40, Zwiesele does not explicitly discloses a first return line guided at least in a region of said first fluid line coaxially relative to said first temperature control channel, said first temperature control channel having a print head side merging into said first return line. However, analogous art, ‘202, discloses a first return line (72) guided at least in a region of said first fluid line coaxially relative to said first temperature control channel (80), said first temperature control channel having a print head side merging into said first return line (figure 11). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a first return line guided at least in a region of said first fluid line coaxially relative to said first temperature control channel, said first temperature control channel having a print head side merging into said first return line, as taught by ‘202 into the system by Zwiesele for the benefit of controlling the temperature of the printed material.
Regarding claim 38, Zwiesele does not explicitly he 3D printing system according to claim 37, which further comprises a return pipe guided at least in the region of said first fluid line separately from said first fluid line, said first temperature control channel having a print head side merging into said return pipe. However, analogous art, ‘202, discloses a first return line (72) guided at least in the region of said first fluid line separately from said first fluid line (90) , said first temperature control channel having a print head side merging (80) into said return pipe (figure 11). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a first return line guided at least in a region of said first fluid line coaxially relative to said first temperature control channel, said first temperature control channel having a print head side merging into said first return line, as taught by ‘202 into the system by Zwiesele for the benefit of controlling the temperature of the printed material.
Claim(s ) 32-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zwiesele (US 2023025667 A1) in view of Wang (US 2019/0009474 A1) and KR20200044202A, as applied to claim 22, in view of Chung (US 2024/0383209 A1).
Regarding claim 32-33, Zwiesele does not explicitly disclose least one optical window disposed upstream of said outflow opening for exposing the printing fluid to radiation through said at least one optical window; which further comprises at least one optical window in said print nozzle for exposing the printing fluid to radiation through said at least one optical window. However, analogous art, Chung, discloses an optical tool head lens 20 for focusing on the laser beam [0062]. Therefore, it would have bene obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated an optical window disposed upstream of said outflow opening for exposing the printing fluid to radiation through said at least one optical window, for the benefit of focusing the laser.
Conclusion
/FARAH TAUFIQ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1754