DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The use of references to claim numbers (see e.g., spec., p. 1, ln. 27+) to describe the subject matter within the specification is objected to as this practice may lead to an inaccurate specification when the claims have been amended or cancelled.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 31-58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 31 recites the limitations “them” and "it". There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 36 recites the limitation “a steering system”. There is improper antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as this element has been previously defined in the base claim.
Regarding claim 57, the phrase "in particular" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. Cf. MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 58 is indefinite as it claims a “use” but does not describe specific “use” steps, thus the scope of the claimed invention is unclear.
Examiner requests clarification and recommends amending the claims with language that clearly sets forth the claimed invention. In the interim, and in the interests of compact prosecution, the claims have been interpreted as set forth below.
Claim 36 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Here, claim 36 describes elements that have already been described in base claim 31.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 31-41, 50, 51 and 57-58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bastian, II et al. (“Bastian”)(US 2020/0277137).
Bastian teaches a shuttle for a shelving system comprising
(re: claims 31, 36) a loading area which defines a loading surface in a first direction and in a second direction, wherein the loading area is designed to receive goods to be transported (fig. 7-9 showing shuttle 900 comprising loading area near 735 having a first and second direction; para. 127 teaching loading area configured to receive objects for transport; para. 128-130 teaching shuttle 900 is essentially the same as shuttle 120 and share the common components and functions and is configured to operate in rack and shelving system 110);
a loading device which is designed to bring goods to the loading area and remove said goods
at least one drive system with a wheel system which is rotatable about a wheel rotation axis (Cf. fig. 7, 8 and 16-18 showing wheel system near 715, 620; para. 125-127, 133-134 teaching power train 615 and guidance, navigation, and control system (“GNC”) 620 configured to move and direct shuttle via wheel elements),
wherein the at least one drive system is designed to move the shuttle in a horizontal direction and in a vertical direction in the shelving system (fig. 3-5, 23-24 and para. 120-125, 133-134, 223 teaching shuttle drive system configured to move shuttle in a horizontal and vertical direction within rack and shelving system);
wherein the wheel system comprises a traction section for traveling in the horizontal direction and an engagement section for traveling in the vertical direction (fig. 7-8 and 23-24 showing that outer wheel surface includes traction section for traveling along track; fig. 5 and para. 121-123 also teaching vertical rails near 505 include teeth “configure to engage the pinion wheels of the shuttle” to facilitate vertical movement and switch element 520 that facilitates both vertical and horizontal movement; see also fig. 16-18 and para. 133-134 teaching that wheel system includes a traction section 1605 “configured to ride on the floor, ground, turn rails” and an engagement section 1610 designed to engage the teeth sections of tracks, wherein the drive wheel 1605 and pinion 1610 are “moved or rotated independently relative to one another” or in “unison”), and
wherein the shuttle further comprises a steering system which is designed to pivot the at least one drive system about a drive system rotation axis (fig. 7 showing pivoting wheel element with fig. 17 and 18 and para. 134, 226 teaching that wheel system includes steering system 1708 and steering motor configure to rotate the wheel elements, wherein GNC system controls the travel direction of the shuttle through the steering elements);
(re: claim 32) wherein the traction section and the engagement section are drivable by a common drive shaft (fig. 17, 18 and para. 134 teaching drive shaft 1740);
(re: claim 33) wherein the traction section is configured as an impeller for locomotion in the horizontal direction (fig. 17, 18 showing that traction section near 1605 functions as impeller as it rotates to move shuttle in a horizontal direction), and
wherein the engagement section is configured as a gear wheel for locomotion in the vertical direction (fig. 17, 18 showing that engagement section near 1610 functions as a gear wheel that engages with vertical rails to move shuttle in a vertical direction);
(re: claim 34) wherein the impeller and the gear wheel are arranged coaxially on the drive system (fig. 17 and 18 showing impeller and gear wheel arrange coaxially around common drive shaft 1740);
(re: claim 35) wherein the impeller and the gear wheel are drivable by a common drive source (Id.);
(re: claim 37) wherein the steering system has a thrust element which can be set into a translatory movement by a threaded spindle (fig. 18 and para. 134 teaching that steering motor configured to rotate a rotating section 1720 through “a helical screw type thread type engagement);
(re: claim 38) wherein the drive system rotation axis is orthogonal to the wheel rotation axis (fig. 17 showing orthogonal drive shaft near 1740);
(re: claim 39) wherein the steering system is designed to apply a preload force to at least one drive system (para. 226 teaching that steering system can include “active, passive, rear wheel, front wheel, four-wheel, power, steer-by-wire, articulated, speed sensitive, differential, crab, hydraulic, rack and pinion, worm and sector, recirculating ball, Ackerman, and/or Bell-crank type systems”, wherein rack-and-pinion uses spring-loaded preload elements to maintain pressure);
(re: claim 40) wherein the steering system comprises at least one spring element which is designed to exert the preload force on the drive system (Id.);
(re: claim 41) wherein the steering system comprises an actuator for generating a force and a linkage for transmitting the force of the actuator to the at least one drive system (para. 226 teaching hydraulic variation);
(re: claim 50) wherein the loading device has an upper table extending in the first direction and a goods contact element extending in the second direction, and
wherein the goods contact element is movably fixed to the upper table (fig. 7 showing an upper table, i.e., horizontal wall next to platform 735, that defines boundary of loading device and extends in a first direction in a similar manner as R1 and a contact element 605 configured to extend in multiple directions; para. 127 teaching that contact elements is robot arm movable in multiple directions including a first and second direction);
(re: claim 51) wherein the upper table is configured such that the goods contact element is movable in the first direction (Id.).
Bastian teaches a passive shelving system
(re: claim 57) a shuttle according to claim 31 (supra);
a shelf area with at least two shelves at different vertical positions (fig. 23-24 showing shuttle operating in rack system 110 with multiple vertical shelves and adjacent rail sections),
at least two shelf rail sections, which each run along the at least two shelves, wherein the shelf rail sections are designed in such a way that the shuttle can move horizontally on the shelf rail sections (Id.), and
at least one passive riser area , which connects the shelf rail sections to one another and is designed in such a way that the shuttle can move through the riser area from one shelf rail section to another shelf rail section in a vertical direction (fig. 23-24 showing that rail sections of different vertical shelves are connected by a frame structure, i.e., riser area, configured to allow shuttle movement through frame structure to respective shelves).
Bastian teaches (re: claim 58) use of a shuttle according to claim 31 in a passive shelving system (fig. 9 showing shuttle 900 operating in rack system 110; para. 128-129).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 42-46 and 52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bastian, II et al. (“Bastian”)(US 2020/0277137) in view of Turco et al. (“Turco”)(US 2023/0011746) and Michal et al. (“Michal”)(US 2024/001429).
Bastian as set forth above teaches all that is claimed except for expressly teaching
(re: claim 42) wherein the drive system comprises at least one drive system guide roller which is rotatable about a first guide roller rotation axis;
(re: claim 43) wherein the first guide roller rotation axis is arranged orthogonally to the wheel rotation axis;
(re: claim 44) wherein the shuttle comprises at least one lifting system designed to lift the shuttle from a driving surface;
(re: claim 45) wherein the lifting system comprises an actuator for generating a force, a linkage and at least one lifting unit;
(re: claim 46) wherein the lifting unit is held movable in a third direction, which is orthogonal to the first and/or the second direction;
(re: claim 52) wherein the upper table is movable relative to the loading area in the first direction.
Turco, however, teaches that it is well-known in the automated material handling/loading arts
(re: claims 42-43)
- to integrate a drive system guide roller arranged orthogonally to the wheel rotation axis to properly position the shuttle when moving along guide rails (fig. 1 near 214 and para. 71, 77).
Michal further teaches that it is well-known in the automated material handling/loading arts
(re: claims 44-46)
to configure a shuttle with lift elements for independent vertical movement in a rack/shelving system (fig. 39A-39B showing lifting elements and para. 89-96 teaching lifting elements including lifting elements/pinion gears 250, 276 attached to a multi-purpose drive shaft/linkage 274 and powered by motor/actuator 70 to engage vertical rails 240 and lift shuttle loading area from a driving surface to a respective vertical shelving unit in a third/vertical direction); and
(re: claims 52)
- to configure a loading area with a loading device with a movable center table as well as an upper table movable fixed thereon to allow greater flexibility in moving shuttle payloads onto shelving units (cf. fig. 5-8 and para. 71-76 teaching mobile shuttle 14 configure with a movable center table near 26 and upper table near 48 fixed thereon; see also fig. 26A-26D and para. 83 teaching upper table near 152 configured to adjust position of shuttle payloads).
It would thus be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the base reference with these prior art teachings—with a reasonable expectation of success—to arrive at the claimed invention. The rationale for this obviousness determination can be found in the prior art itself as cited above from an analysis of the prior art teachings that demonstrates that the modification to arrive at the claimed invention would merely involve the substitution/addition of well-known elements (i.e., guide rollers or lift elements )with no change in their respective functions. Moreover, the use of prior art elements according to their known functions is a predictable variation that would yield predictable results (e.g., benefit produced by known function), and thus cannot be regarded as a non-obvious modification when the modification is already commonly implemented in the relevant prior art. See also MPEP 2143.I (teaching that simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is known to one with ordinary skill in the art); 2144.06, 2144.07 (teaching as obvious the use of art recognized equivalences). Further, the prior art discussed and cited demonstrates the level of sophistication of one with ordinary skill in the art and that these modifications are predictable variations that would be within this skill level. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Bastian for the reasons set forth above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 47-49 and 53-56 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Any references not explicitly discussed above but made of record are regarded as helpful in establishing the state of the prior art and are thus considered relevant to the prosecution of the instant application.
Alternatively, to contact the examiner, send an E-mail communication to Joseph.Rodriguez@uspto.gov. Such E-mail communication should be in accordance with provisions of the MPEP (see e.g., 502.03 & 713.04; see also Patent Internet Usage Policy Article 5). E-mail communication must begin with a statement authorizing the E-mail communication and acknowledging that such communication is not secure and may be made of record. Please note that any communications with regards to the merits of an application will be made of record. A suggested format for such authorization is as follows: "Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with me concerning any subject matter of this application by electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file”.
/JOSEPH C RODRIGUEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655
Jcr
---
September 25, 2026