DETAILED ACTION
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claims 1, 3, 5-8, 11-14, 16-17, 19, 21-22, 24-27 are presented for examination.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the specification recites referring to figure 7 “measuring support 62” in last para. of pg.17. There is no numeral 62 in fig. 7. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 11-12, 16-17, 21-22, 24, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Suzuki (US 2025/0290876 A1; pub. Sep. 18, 2025).
Regarding claim 1, Suzuki discloses: Calibration apparatus for a measuring device for material analysis or coating thickness analysis (fig.1),
- with a housing (fig.1 item 1),
- having a carrier which comprises a plurality of sections (fig.1 items 2 & 20), arranged in a row, at least one calibration standard being provided in at least one section (para. [0022], [0047]),
- with a drive (fig.1 items 2 & 22), by means of which the sections of the carrier are moveable alternately or successively into a measuring position (para. [0022]), and the drive has a position transmitter and one of the sections is aligned with the position transmitter in a starting position (para. [0031]) and the individual sections are transferrable to the measuring position in a defined manner by the detection of the angle of rotation or of increments by the position transmitter (para. [0031])
- with a control unit (fig.1 item 14) which controls the drive for moving the carrier, and
- with a data interface (fig.1 item 15), which is connected to the controller and which communicates with a data interface of the measurement device to be calibrated.
Regarding claim 3, Suzuki discloses: at least one section of the carrier has an identification code, which is readable out by an optical device on the housing or on the measurement device and the respective identified section is transferrable to the measuring position by the controller (para. [0031]).
Regarding claim 5, Suzuki discloses: the carrier has a base body which is designed as a rotating disc which has a plurality of sections distributed over the circumference, and preferably a plurality of sections are provided distributed uniformly over the circumference (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 1).
Regarding claim 6, Suzuki discloses: the carrier has, in at least one section, a receptacle for positioning the calibration standard or has a support surface for a measurement object, and/or in that the carrier has a pinhole in the section, and the pinhole is covered with a film in the section (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 1).
Regarding claim 11, Suzuki discloses: the data interface in the housing is designed for wireless or wired communication with the measurement device (fig.1).
Regarding claim 12, Suzuki discloses: the carrier is rotatably mounted in the housing by a vertical axis and is accommodated in an X/Y plane parallel to the measuring surface of the measurement device (fig.1).
Regarding claim 16, Suzuki discloses: Method for calibrating a measurement device for material analysis or coating thickness analysis,
- in which a measuring task to be performed subsequently is selected in a control device of the measurement device,
- in which a calibration apparatus according to claim 1 is arranged in a calibration position relative to the measurement device to be calibrated, at least one section of the carrier of the calibration apparatus in the calibration position is aligned with a measuring point in a measuring surface of the measurement device and
- in which a data interface of the calibration apparatus communicates with a data interface of the measurement device in order to calibrate the measurement device (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 1).
Regarding claim 17, Suzuki discloses: Method according to claim 16, wherein individual calibration standards arranged in the sections of the carrier, which are selected for the subsequent measurement output by the control device, are moved in the calibration apparatus into a measurement position relative to the measurement device and a calibration measurement is carried out,
- in that the measurement data determined from the calibration standard arranged in the respective section of the carrier is forwarded to the control device and a calibration value is determined from each calibration standard, and
- that the standard values stored in the control device are compared with the calibration values and correction values for the subsequent measuring task for the measurement device are determined and used as a basis (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 16).
Regarding claim 21, Suzuki discloses: the number and/or the respective type of the calibration standards is selected by the control device on the basis of the selected measuring task, a traversing movement of the carrier of the calibration apparatus for positioning the respective calibration standard in the measuring position is controlled (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 16).
Regarding claim 22, Suzuki discloses: a carrier equipped with calibration standards is selected or that the carrier is equipped with the respective selected calibration standards (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 16).
Regarding claim 24, Suzuki discloses: after the calibration of the measurement device with the calibration standards of the calibration apparatus has been performed, a verification standard is transferred to the measurement position, which verification standard was not used for the calibration of the measurement device and a verification value is recorded by the verification standard and in that the measured value of the calibrated measurement device is compared with the verification value of the verification standard (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 16, additionally see para. [0085]-[0087]).
Regarding claim 26, Suzuki discloses: characterized in that wherein in that a primary beam (fig.1 item 7) is directed onto the carrier (fig.1 item 2) of the calibration apparatus (para. [0008]-[0009]) in the calibration position (para. [0045]-[0047]) and a measuring support (fig.1 item 14) is positioned behind it in the beam direction of the primary beam for arranging a measuring object, and in that the carrier is provided with a section (fig.1 item 20) having a pinhole (fig.1 item 20) covered by a foil or with a section having a pinhole for detecting a measured value is positioned from the measurement object to the measurement point (fig.1 item 80, para. [0022]) and after one or more measurements on measurement objects with at least one section having a calibration standard is moved to the measurement point for calibrating the measurement device (para. [0022], [0045]-[0047]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 8, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (US 2025/0290876 A1; pub. Sep. 18, 2025) in view of Boksem et al. (US 2022/0187224 A1; pub. Jun. 16, 2022).
Regarding claim 7, Suzuki is silent about: the carrier has an unchangeable assembly of calibration standards in the sections.
In a similar field of endeavor Boksem et al. disclose: the carrier has an unchangeable assembly (para. [0061]. [0079]) motivated by the benefits for improved efficiency (Boksem et al. para. [0079]).
In light of the benefits for improved efficiency as taught by Boksem et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the sample holder of Boksem et al. in the apparatus of Suzuki.
Regarding claim 8, Suzuki and Boksem et al. disclose: the carrier is provided interchangeably with the drive in the housing (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 7).
Regarding claim 14, Suzuki is silent about: the housing has a support surface or support points which form a support plane, and in that a measuring point or a measuring surface of the calibration standard or of the measurement object on, on or in the support is at a distance of less than 10 mm, preferably or of less than 5 mm, particularly preferably or of less than 3 mm, from the support plane.
In a similar field of endeavor Boksem et al. disclose: the housing has a support surface or support points which form a support plane, and in that a measuring point or a measuring surface of the calibration standard or of the measurement object on, on or in the support is at a distance of less than 10 mm, preferably or of less than 5 mm, particularly preferably or of less than 3 mm, from the support plane (para. [0061] teaches that the height support surface can be adjusted) motivated by the benefits for improved efficiency (Boksem et al. para. [0079]).
In light of the benefits for improved efficiency as taught by Boksem et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the sample holder of Boksem et al. in the apparatus of Suzuki.
Claims 13, 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (US 2025/0290876 A1; pub. Sep. 18, 2025) in view of Chiara et al. (US 2024/0293823 A1; pub. Sep. 5, 2024).
Regarding claim 13, Suzuki is silent about: the carrier projects with an arcuate-segment-shaped section opposite an end face of the housing or in that the carrier is provided completely inside the housing and the sections of the carrier are accessible from the outside through a housing opening in the housing.
In a similar field of endeavor Chiara et al. disclose: the carrier projects with an arcuate-segment-shaped section opposite an end face of the housing or in that the carrier is provided completely inside the housing and the sections of the carrier are accessible from the outside through a housing opening in the housing (fig.4, para. [0038]) motivated by the benefits for samples that can be easily loaded.
In light of the benefits for samples that can be easily loaded, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the sample holder of Chiara et al. in the apparatus of Suzuki.
Regarding claim 27, Suzuki and Chiara et al. disclose: characterized in that wherein in the calibration apparatus, which is preferably arranged in the calibration position, the carrier is exchanged after the calibration and a changer for receiving measurement objects is inserted into the calibration apparatus and a successive positioning of the measurement objects in the measurement position for measuring the measurement objects is carried out by the calibration apparatus (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 13, fig.1 of Chiara et al. shows a replaceable sample carrier).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (US 2025/0290876 A1; pub. Sep. 18, 2025) in view of Suzuki et al. (US 2013/0113497 A1; pub. May 9, 2013).
Regarding claim 19, Suzuki is silent about: the alignment of the calibration apparatus in the calibration position is carried out with a positioning laser of the measurement device or with a measurement image of an optical device of the measurement device.
In a similar field of endeavor Suzuki et al. disclose: alignment of the sample carrier using laser light (para. [0035]) motivated by the benefits for improved measurement accuracy.
In light of the benefits for improved measurement accuracy, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the alignment light of Suzuki et al. in the apparatus of Suzuki.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (US 2025/0290876 A1; pub. Sep. 18, 2025) in view of Ning et al. (US 2023/0419541 A1; pub. Dec. 28, 2023).
Regarding claim 25, Suzuki discloses: after the detection of the verification value, a measurement is taken on a reference object by placing it on a pinhole in a section or on a pinhole spanned by the film in a section of the carrier (see rejection of claim 16, also se abstract).
Suzuki is silent about: a reference value of the reference object is then compared with the verification value and, if the resulting difference value is greater than a, preferably selectable, threshold value, a recalibration is started.
In a similar field of endeavor Ning et al. disclose: a reference value of the reference object is then compared with the verification value and, if the resulting difference value is greater than a, preferably selectable, threshold value, a recalibration is started (para. [0076]) motivated by the benefits for improved calibration accuracy.
In light of the benefits for improved calibration accuracy, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Suzuki with the teachings of Ning et al.
Conclusion
/MAMADOU FAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884