DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-9) in the reply filed on 08/21/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 10-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/21/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glain (US 2012/0263818) in view of Sekiguchi (JP 2001/038752 - with English Machine Translation Attached).
Regarding claim 1, Glain teaches a composite material molding method for molding a composite material by shaping, by using a molding die (mandrel 10), a laminate (i.e. layers of prepreg (101-105)) in which a plurality of fiber sheets are laminated, and curing resin impregnated in the fiber sheets (see Fig. 2; [0006], [0026] and [0032]), wherein
the composite material includes a product portion serving as a portion to be molded as a product (80) and an excess portion extending from the product portion (i.e. the cured composite product (80) is trimmed at net trim (70,72) after resin infusion and/or cure, wherein the portion inboard of the trim lines is product portion and the portion outboard the trim lines, which is cured and then cut away, is an excess portion extending from the product portion) (see Fig. 2; [0035])
the molding die (mandrel (10)) has a first molding surface (i.e. the molding surface of the mandrel (10) between trim lines (70,72)) for molding the product portion, a second molding surface (i.e. the molding surfaces of the mandrel out outboard of the trim lines (70,72)) for molding the excess portion (see Fig. 2), and a recess (i.e. a tensioning groove (40)) formed in the mandrel surface outboard of net trim line 70) for drawing in a part of the laminate disposed on the second molding surface (i.e. at least portion of the perform is drawn into tensioning groove so that excess material is pulled out and wrinkles are drawn taut (see Fig. 1, step 1, Figs. 2 and 4; [0030] and [0038]), and
the composite material molding method comprises:
disposing the laminate on the molding die over the first molding surface and the second molding surface such that the part of the laminate faces the recess (i.e. the preform is placed on the mandrel extending from one end to the other, across the tensioning groove (40)) (see Fig. 1, step 1; [0026-0027]);
covering the laminate with a covering member (bag (60)) to hermetically seal a space between the covering member and the molding die (10); sucking atmosphere in the space between the covering member (60) and the molding die (10) .. and to shape the laminate (see Fig. 1, step 3 and Fig. 2; [0027-0029]); and molding the composite material including the product portion and the excess portion by curing the laminate after shaping (Glain discloses curing, including autoclave or atmospheric-pressure cure, and then trimming at the net trim lines and the cured part before trimming therefore includes both the product portion and excess portion) (see [0025] and [0035]). Glain further discloses drawing the preform into the groove (40) with a tensioning device (20), a tapered block urged toward the groove by clamp actuator (see Fig. 1; [0030]). However, Glain does not explicitly teach that the sucking of atmosphere itself draws the part of the laminate into the recess.
In the same field of endeavor, processes for molding composite material, Sekiguchi teaches a method for molding a composite material curved surface panel from laminated unidirectional fiber prepregs on a molding surface (12) of a mold (11) (Abstract; Fig. 1), comprises arranging certain plies to be extended beyond the prepreg lamination range (product portion) onto a region of the mold (10) adjacent to a tension plate (16) fixed to the die, wherein the tension plate presents a level differences relative to the molding surface (12) (see Figs. 1-2; [0030-0031], [0034] and [0048] of English Machine Translation attached); a bag film (21) is sealed to the mold and evacuated (see [0039-0040] of English Machine Translation attached). As the prepreg is pressed toward the molding surface, the level differences causes the extended plies to be deflected toward the molding surface and generate a tensile force (P3) in the prepreg (see [0041] of English Machine Translation attached) and the tension suppresses resin flow and prevent wrinkles, waviness, and voids (see [0044-0045] of English Machine Translation attached). Thus, Sekiguchi teaches that the evacuation of the bag itself draws an extended, non-product portion of the laminate toward a depressed region of the tool to tension the laminate.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize sucking atmosphere in the space between the covering member and the molding die to draw in the part of the laminate into the recess as such is known in the art of processes for molding composite material given the discussion of Sekiguchi above presenting a reasonable expectation of success; and doing so is applying a known technique to a known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results, with the added benefit of doing so allows for generating the wrinkle-removing tension during the same evacuation that already compacts and shapes the preform and reduces reliance on a separately a actuated clamp step (as recognized by Sekiguchi at [0014] and [0027] of English Machine Translation attached). The combination uses a known tensioning force, bag evacuation acting across a level differences in the tool, to perform the same tensioning function in Glain’s groove, with predictable results. "KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 4, Glain in view of Sekiguchi further teaches the composite material molding method, further comprising removing the excess portion of the composite material after molding (i.e. after resin infusion and /or cure, the composite item (80) is generated by cutting/trimming at net trimlines (70,72)) (see Fig. 2; [0035] of Glain).
Regarding claim 9, Glain in view of Sekiguchi further teaches the composite material molding method, wherein the covering includes disposing on the laminate (30) a pressing member (upper mold plate (18)) for pressing the laminate such that the laminate extends along the molding die (11) (see [0040] and [0044] of English Machine Translation attached of Sekiguchi).
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glain (US 2012/0263818) in view of Sekiguchi (JP2001/038752 - with English Machine Translation Attached) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Williams (US 2013/0129526).
Regarding claim 2, Glain in view of Sekiguchi teaches the composite material molding method as discussed in claim 1 above.
Glain further teaches that tensioning is especially beneficial for curved shapes (see [0036-0037]) and the die (mandrel (10)) being generally curved a long its length, for example at a radius 75 to 360 inches for fuselage frame member, or curved or twisted in one, two, or three axes (see Figs. 2 and 6; [0031] and [0037]). However, Glain in view of Sekiguchi does not explicitly teach that the composite material is a girder member that is long in a longitudinal direction and deformed in an orthogonal plane orthogonal to the longitudinal direction, the product portion has a shape-changing portion at which the shape changes, and the shape-changing portion is a portion deformed in a plane including the longitudinal direction of the girder member.
In the same field of endeavor, processes for molding composite material, Williams teaches method for forming composite laminate components (Abstract; [0004] and [0006]), comprises forming composite wing spar (5) of C-section on a tool (20) (see Figs. 2-4a; [0043]), wherein the spar is long in a longitudinal direction and deformed in the plane orthogonal to that direction; so it is a girder member as claimed (see Fig. 2), the spar’s cross section varies along the longitudinal axis, and the spar includes a kink or curve in its longitudinal axis (i.e. a shape changing portion deformed in a plane including a longitudinal direction) (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 4a; [0051-0052]). Williams further teaches that this three-dimensional shape causes ply wrinkles that cannot otherwise be eliminated. To address them, Williams provides a recess (22) in the tool surface that accommodates excess ply material (see Figs. 6a, 7a-7b;[0051],[0054] and [0059]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the tensioning method of Glain in view of Williams to form a girder member (a C-section spar) that is long in a longitudinal direction and deformed in an orthogonal plane orthogonal to the longitudinal direction, the product portion has a shape-changing portion at which the shape changes, and the shape-changing portion is a portion deformed in a plane including the longitudinal direction of the girder member as such is known in the art of processes for molding composite material given the discussion of Williams above presenting a reasonable expectation of success; and doing so is applying a known technique to a known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results, with the added benefit of doing so allows the development of wrinkle during molding of a laminate component to be controlled (as recognized by Williams at [0009-0010]).
Regarding claim 3, Glain in view of Sekiguchi and Williams teaches the composite material molding method as discussed in claim 2 above.
Glain further teaches wherein the fiber sheet is a unidirectional material with a fiber direction aligned in one direction (i.e. the preform layers are arranged in unidirectional tape) (see Fig. 1; [0026]).
Sekiguchi teaches the fiber sheet is a unidirectional material with a fiber direction aligned in one direction, the laminate is one in which the fiber sheets are laminated with the fiber directions of the fiber sheets being different from each other (i.e. the laminate is formed of a plurality of unidirectional fiber prepregs, each with fibers aligned in one direction, laminated while changing fiber direction (see [0033] of English Machine Translation attached). Sekiguchi further teaches that only the unidirectional prepregs whose fibers run a long bending direction X are extended beyond the edge of the lamination range to the tensioning device and the prepregs with other fiber directions remain within the lamination range (see [0034] of English Machine Translation attached). Direction x runs along the curved cross-section of the molding surface, orthogonal to the longitudinal extent of the panel with 0 º defined as the longitudinal direction, these extended prepregs have an orientation angle 90 º, which is within the claimed range of greater than 45 º and less than 135 º (see Fig. 1). Sekiguchi explains why these plies are selected : tension must be applied along the direction in which the plies are pulled, and fibers aligned with that direction carry the tensile force P3 (see [0041] and [0044] of English Machine Translation attached).
Glain in view of Sekiguchi and Williams does not teach the recess is formed on the second molding surface on an extension of the shape-changing portion in the direction orthogonal to the longitudinal direction. However, Sekiguchi locates the tensioning device along the lower edge of the lamination range, extending in a direction substantially perpendicular to the direction of the applied tension (see [0030] of English Machine Translation attached). The tensioning region therefore lies outboard of the product on the transverse extension of every longitudinal station of the part. Willimas additionally teach that the excess ply material to be controlled develops at the shape change (see Fig. 6; [0016], [0054] and [0060-0059]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to position Glain’s tensioning groove on the second molding surface on the transverse extension of the shape-changing portion in order to apply where excess ply length occurs, through the plies whose fibers are aligned with the tensioning direction, so that the tension is transmitted effectively and wrinkling is suppressed (see [0044] of English Machine Translation attached). The result would have been predictable.
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glain (US 2012/0263818) in view of Sekiguchi (JP2001/038752 - with English Machine Translation Attached) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fujiwara (US 2017/0001338).
Regarding claim 5, Glain in view of Sekiguchi teaches the composite material molding method as discussed in claim 1 above.
Glain in view of Sekiguchi does not explicitly teach, wherein the covering member is a bag film that accommodates the laminate together with the molding die.
In analogous art, Fujiwara teaches a method for forming a hollow structure (Abstract), comprises layering a prepreg (P) on a longitudinally oriented mandrel (11) and covering the mandrel with the prepreg on it, with vacuum bag (V) (see Fig. 2; [0034]), the inside of the bag is then vacuumed and heated to cure the prepreg, after which the mandrel is withdrawn from the bag together with the cured structure (see Figs. 2D-2E; [0040-0043]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the composite material molding method as taught by Glain in view Fujiwara by the covering member is a bag film that accommodates the laminate together with the molding die as such is known alternative to sealing the to the tool surface, and it would have yielded the predictable results of evacuating the space around the laminate and pressing it against the mandrel.
Regarding claim 6, Glain in view of Sekiguchi teaches the composite material molding method as discussed in claim 1 above.
Glain further teaches the mandrel (10) may be curve, bend, or twist in one, two, or three axes and may form a fuselage or wing section (see Figs. 3 and 6; [0031] and [0037]). However, Glain in view of Sekiguchi does not explicitly teach wrapping the laminate around the molding die in a peripheral direction of the molding die with the longitudinal direction as an axial direction of the central axis.
In analogous art, Fujiwara teaches a method for forming a hollow structure (Abstract), comprises providing a molding die (mandrel 11) that is long in a longitudinal direction (see Fig. 1; [0034]), disposing prepreg (P) on the mandrel by layering (winding) it on the mandrel’s outer peripheral surface, to form a longitudinal oriented hollow structure (S) such as a helicopter rotor blade (see Fig. 2C; [0041-0042]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to wrap the laminate around the molding die in a peripheral direction of the molding die with the longitudinal direction as an axial direction of the central axis as such is known in the art of processes for molding composite material given the discussion of Fujiwara above presenting a reasonable expectation of success; and doing so is applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results, with the added benefit of doing so allows for forming a hollow longitudinal structure.
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glain (US 2012/0263818) in view of Sekiguchi (JP2001/038752 - with English Machine Translation Attached) and Fujiwara (US 2017/0001338) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Obeshaw (US 6,586,110).
Regarding claim 7, Glain in view of Sekiguchi and Fujiwara teaches the composite material molding method as discussed in claim 6 above.
Glain in view of Sekiguchi and Fujiwara does not explicitly teach wherein disposing the laminate on the molding die includes overlapping both ends in the peripheral direction of the laminate wrapped around the molding die in the peripheral direction of the molding die.
In analogous art, Obeshaw teaches a method for making a structural members, comprises roll-wrapping sheets or plies or laminate onto a mandrel (20) for more than one turn, so that the sheet is several layer thick and its ends lie over one another (see Fig. 5; column 10, lines 31-39 and Examples 1-2).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the composite material molding method as taught by Glain in view of Sekiguchi and Fujiwara by wherein disposing the laminate on the molding die includes overlapping both ends in the peripheral direction of the laminate wrapped around the molding die in the peripheral direction of the molding die as such is known in the art of processes for molding composite material given the discussion of Obeshaw above presenting a reasonable expectation of success; and doing so is applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results, with the added benefit of doing so allows for making a continuous closed sections of ply wrapped around mandrel.
Regarding claim 8, Glain in view of Sekiguchi and Fujiwara teaches the composite material molding method as discussed in claim 6 above.
Glain in view of Sekiguchi and Fujiwara does not explicitly teach, wherein the step of disposing the laminate on the molding die includes causing both ends in the peripheral direction of the laminate wrapped around the molding die in the peripheral direction of the molding die to abut and to be joined together.
In analogous art, Obeshaw teaches a method for making a structural members, comprises roll-wrapping B-stage prepreg sheets onto a mandrel (20) (see Fig. 5; column 4, lines 48-50 and column 11, lines 28-35), the sheets are cut such that, when roll wrapped, the ends of each sheet substantially abut, forming a butt joint (30) (see Fig. 6; column 10, lines 58-65). The wrapped prepreg is then cured, so that the material chemically bond (see column 13, lines 26-31).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with wherein the step of disposing the laminate on the molding die includes causing both ends in the peripheral direction of the laminate wrapped around the molding die in the peripheral direction of the molding die to abut and to be joined together as such is known in the art of processes for molding composite material given the discussion of Obeshaw above presenting a reasonable expectation of success; and doing so is applying a known technique to a known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results, with the added benefit of doing so allows for increasing the structural properties of materials.
Conclusion
The following prior arts made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Coleman (US 2009/0065963) teaches a relevant method and apparatus for tensioning/molding composite material (see Figs. 5-6;[0021-0029]).
Kline (US 2014/0127473) teaches a relevant method for forming composite material over a mold having an irregular geometric shape and minimizing wrinkles in composites (Abstract; Figs. 1-3; [0001] and [0033-0038]).
/MOHAMED K AHMED ALI/ Examiner, Art Unit 1743