DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-18, 20-22, 25-26, 29, 30, 32, 33, 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kass et al. (US Publication No. 2018/0235592 A1) in view of Bhowmick et al. (US Patent No. 12268380 B2).
Regarding Claim 16, Kass discloses a tissue traction system [0175] comprising: a tissue traction device (10, Fig. 3) comprising a pair of legs (34, 34’) biased with respect to each other by a biasing section (11) [0129, 0100, 0176]; wherein: said tissue traction device is shiftable between a delivery configuration (compressed, low profile , [0176]) and a deployment configuration (open, [0176]; said tissue traction device legs include tissue-engaging tips (29, 29’, Fig. 3) configured to engage tissue [0128]; and in the deployment configuration, said biasing section of said tissue traction device biases said tissue-engaging tips of said tissue traction device legs away from each other [0176] (Fig. 50D) to cause said tissue traction device legs to exert traction on tissue through said tissue traction device legs to lift tissue away from a treatment site to facilitate access to the treatment site [0176].
Although Kass discloses that the tissue traction device is delivered into the treatment site in a compressed configuration with a delivery apparatus ([0175]: The device 10 can be further loaded into a delivery apparatus to facilitate the device's 10 insertion and removal. For example, the device 10 can be compressed into a smaller initial form and mounted onto a delivery apparatus such as a long handle or other gripping apparatus, for example, to facilitate the introduction of the device 10 through a surgical portal that is smaller than the expanded (device 10 in a non-closed state) device 10. Other embodiments may include a handle, or gripping device, that could facilitate/extend the surgeon's reach.), Kass does not explicitly disclose the delivery apparatus is a delivery shaft defining a lumen within which said tissue traction device is deliverable to a treatment site said delivery shaft is configured to maintain said tissue traction device in the delivery configuration at least within the lumen of said delivery shaft.
Bhowmick discloses a tissue traction device (200) in the same field of endeavor which is compressed and loaded into a delivery shaft (250) defining a lumen (252) within which said tissue traction device is deliverable to a treatment site said delivery shaft is configured to maintain said tissue traction device in the delivery configuration at least within the lumen of said delivery shaft (shown in Fig. 8, col. 14; ln. 34-56).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a delivery shaft such as that taught by Bhowmick to hold and deliver the traction device in compressed configuration to the treatment site since this is a known delivery tool which would predictably allow the compressed delivery of a biased tissue traction device to a treatment site.
Regarding Claim 17, the biasing section (11) joins the legs (34, 34’) together (Fig. 3, Kass).
Regarding Claim 18, Kass discloses the device as described in the rejection of claim 16 above. Kass discloses that the spring mechanism 16 making up the biasing section 11 can be a coil spring [0117, Kass].
Regarding Claim 20, wherein at least one of said tissue- engaging tips (29, 29’) extends from one of said legs (34, 34’) transverse to said one of said legs and in a direction in which said biasing section biases said one of said legs (shown by solid arrows below, Kass).
Regarding Claim 21, said at least one of said tissue- engaging tip (29, 29’) extends from a free end of said one of said legs (34, 34’) (shown above).
Regarding Claim 22, said biasing section (11) biases said legs (34, 34’) of said tissue traction device away from each other [0176, Kass], and a tissue-engaging tip (29, 29’) extends from a free end of each of said legs in a direction away from the other of said legs (shown in figure above).
Regarding Claim 25, further comprising a pusher (described by Bhowmick in col. 14; ln. 57-col. 15; ln. 4 as element 270 and shown in Fig. 8) to push the device out of the delivery shaft.
Regarding Claim 26, the pusher (270, Bhowmick) is separable coupled with the device (10) (shown in Bhowmick Fig 8 as separate from the traction device and would need to be in order to allow the device to remain deployed in the body).
Regarding Claim 29, Kass discloses a tissue traction device (10, Fig. 3) comprising a pair of legs (34, 34’) biased with respect to each other by a biasing section (11) [0129, 0100], wherein: said tissue traction device (10) is shiftable between a delivery configuration (compressed shown in Fig. 50C) and a deployment configuration (shown in Fig. 50D) in which said biasing section of said tissue traction device biases said tissue-engaging tips of said tissue traction device legs away from each other [0176] (Fig. 50D) to cause said tissue traction device legs to exert traction on tissue to lift the tissue away from a treatment site to facilitate access to the treatment site [0181]; and at least one of said tissue traction device legs includes a tissue-engaging tip (29, 29’) configured to engage tissue and extending from a free end of said at least one of said legs and transverse to said at least one of said legs [0128] (Fig. 3).
Although Kass discloses that the tissue traction device is delivered into the treatment site in a compressed configuration with a delivery apparatus ([0175]: The device 10 can be further loaded into a delivery apparatus to facilitate the device's 10 insertion and removal. For example, the device 10 can be compressed into a smaller initial form and mounted onto a delivery apparatus such as a long handle or other gripping apparatus, for example, to facilitate the introduction of the device 10 through a surgical portal that is smaller than the expanded (device 10 in a non-closed state) device 10. Other embodiments may include a handle, or gripping device, that could facilitate/extend the surgeon's reach.), Kass does not explicitly disclose the delivery apparatus is a delivery shaft defining a lumen within which said tissue traction device is deliverable to a treatment site said delivery shaft is configured to maintain said tissue traction device in the delivery configuration at least within the lumen of said delivery shaft.
Bhowmick discloses a tissue traction device (200) in the same field of endeavor which is compressed and loaded into a delivery shaft (250) defining a lumen (252) within which said tissue traction device is deliverable to a treatment site said delivery shaft is configured to maintain said tissue traction device in the delivery configuration at least within the lumen of said delivery shaft (shown in Fig. 8, col. 14; ln. 34-56).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a delivery shaft such as that taught by Bhowmick to hold and deliver the traction device in compressed configuration to the treatment site since this is a known delivery tool which would predictably allow the compressed delivery of a biased tissue traction device to a treatment site.
Regarding Claim 30, said biasing section (11) biases said legs (34, 34’) of said tissue traction device away from each other(“open state”, [0100-0101, Kass]), and said tissue-engaging tip extends from a free end of said at least one of said tissue traction device legs in a direction away from the other of said tissue traction device legs (shown in Fig. 3-4, Kass) [0110, Kass].
Regarding Claim 32, Kass discloses a method of applying traction to tissue to draw the tissue away from a treatment site to allow unimpeded access to the treatment site, said method comprising: delivering a tissue traction device (10, Fig. 3), the tissue traction device having a pair of legs (34, 34’) biased with respect to each other by a biasing section (11) [0100-0101, 0110] to the treatment site (fig. 50c);
engaging a tissue-engaging portion (29, 29’) extending from one of the pair of legs of the tissue traction device with tissue to be drawn away from the treatment site (fig. 50C);
engaging a tissue-engaging portion extending from the other of the pair of legs with tissue separate from the tissue to be drawn away from the treatment site (29 on top surface will engage skin flap in Fig. 50C while 29 on bottom surface will engage underlying tissue in Fig. 50C); and
allowing the biasing section to exert a biasing force to bias the tissue-engaging tips of the tissue traction device legs away from each other (Fig. 50D) to apply traction to lift the tissue away from the treatment site to facilitate access to the treatment site [0110].
Although Kass discloses that the tissue traction device is delivered into the treatment site in a compressed configuration with a delivery apparatus ([0175]: The device 10 can be further loaded into a delivery apparatus to facilitate the device's 10 insertion and removal. For example, the device 10 can be compressed into a smaller initial form and mounted onto a delivery apparatus such as a long handle or other gripping apparatus, for example, to facilitate the introduction of the device 10 through a surgical portal that is smaller than the expanded (device 10 in a non-closed state) device 10. Other embodiments may include a handle, or gripping device, that could facilitate/extend the surgeon's reach.), Kass does not explicitly disclose the delivery apparatus is a delivery shaft defining a lumen within which said tissue traction device is delivered to a treatment site said delivery shaft is configured to maintain said tissue traction device in the delivery configuration at least within the lumen of said delivery shaft.
Bhowmick discloses a tissue traction device (200) in the same field of endeavor which is compressed and loaded into a delivery shaft (250) defining a lumen (252) within which said tissue traction device is deliverable to a treatment site said delivery shaft is configured to maintain said tissue traction device in the delivery configuration at least within the lumen of said delivery shaft (shown in Fig. 8, col. 14; ln. 34-56).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a delivery shaft such as that taught by Bhowmick to hold and deliver the traction device in compressed configuration to the treatment site since this is a known delivery tool which would predictably allow the compressed delivery of a biased tissue traction device to a treatment site.
Regarding Claim 33, wherein: engaging a tissue-engaging portion of the other of the pair of legs comprises engaging the tissue- engaging portion of the other of the pair of legs with tissue at the treatment site and cut with respect to the tissue to be drawn away from the treatment site (Fig. 50C-D, Kass); and allowing the biasing section (11) to exert a biasing force comprises allowing the legs to be moved apart from each other by the biasing section [0110, Kass].
Regarding Claim 35, wherein engaging a tissue- engaging portion of at least one of the legs with tissue comprises engaging the tissue-engaging portion with tissue in a direction in which the biasing section exerts a biasing force with respect to the leg from which the tissue-engaging portion extends (shown engaged in Fig. 50C-D, direction shown by solid arrows below, Kass).
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kass et al. (US Publication No. 2018/0235592 A1) in view of Bhowmick et al. (US Patent No. 12268380 B2) in further view of Hester et al. (US Publication No. 2013/0331839 A1).
Regarding Claim 27, Kass in view of Bhowmick discloses the device as described in the rejection of claim 16 above. Kass discloses the traction device (10) can be loaded into a delivery apparatus to facilitate the device's insertion [0175] and a plurality of devices (10) may be compressed and introduced at spaced apart locations to assist the medical professional with retraction and propping of the skin flap as the surgical operation continues [0179, 0184-0186]. However, Kass in view of Bhowmick is silent to the configuration where a plurality of tissue traction devices are maintained in delivery configurations within the lumen of said delivery shaft for delivery to a treatment site.
Hester discloses a device for deploying a surgical fastener in the analogous art of minimally invasive surgical deployment devices which is configured to deliver multiple surgical devices (fasteners) one after another and holds them in a compressed (delivery) configuration within the lumen of the deployment device so that the pusher of the tool can sequentially insert the devices without needed to be moved away from the patient [0066, 0069].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the delivery apparatus with multiple compressed devices of Kass in view of Bhowmick in order to insert the plurality of compressed devices with a single tool and pusher without needing constantly pull the tool away from the patient as taught by Hester.
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kass et al. (US Publication No. 2018/0235592 A1) in view of Bhowmick et al. (US Patent No. 12268380 B2) in further view of Wales et al. (US Publication No. 2018/0279869 A1)
Regarding Claim 24, Kass in view of Bhowmick discloses the device as described in the rejection of claim 16 above. However, Kass in view of Bhowmick is silent to the tips of the device being positioned within a seat in the delivery shaft.
Wales discloses a traction system in the same field of endeavor comprising a biased traction device (302) with legs and tissue engaging tips (306) seated within a delivery instrument (316+308). The tips of the traction device (306) are positioned within a seat (dedicated space 314) in the delivery shaft (Fig. 3A-3C) [0049] for the purpose of accommodating the shape of the tips while being pushed through the delivery device. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the delivery shaft of Kass in view of Bhowmick to include a seat (dedicated space) for the tips as taught by Wales in order to accommodate the shape of the tips during translation of the traction device via the delivery device.
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kass et al. (US Publication No. 2018/0235592 A1) in view of Bhowmick et al. (US Patent No. 12268380 B2) in further view of Sharma (US Publication No. 2021/0205006 A1).
Regarding Claim 28, Kass in view of Bhowmick discloses the device as described in the rejection of claim 16 above. However, Kass in view of Bhowmick is silent to the system further comprising an endoscope having a working channel, said delivery shaft configured for delivery to a treatment site through the working channel of said endoscope.
Sharma discloses a traction system in the same field of endeavor comprising : a tissue traction device (100, Fig. 1) comprising a pair of legs (see below) biased with respect to each other by a biasing section (104) [0071] (fig. 1); and a delivery shaft (deployment catheter 105) [0070] (fig. 1) defining a lumen (106) within which said tissue traction device is deliverable to a treatment site [0070]. Sharma teaches the system further comprising an endoscope having a working channel, said delivery shaft configured for delivery to a treatment site through the working channel of said endoscope (“ In some embodiments, the deployment catheter is passed through a channel of an endoscope”, [0103]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to configure the delivery shaft of Kass in view of Bhowmick to be used through a working channel of an endoscope and include an endoscope in the system as taught by Sharma in order to use a visualization tool during placement of the traction device allowing the appropriate positioning of the traction device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19, 23, 31, 34 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed in the response filed 7/20/2026 with regards to the support for claim limitations of claims 19, 23, 31and 34 have been found persuasive. The 112(a) rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments filed in the response filed 7/20/2026 with regards to the surgical portal of Kass not being specifically described or shown as a lumen of a delivery shaft have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kass in view of Bhowmick.
Conclusion
/JACQUELINE T JOHANAS/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3773