DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YANG et al. (US 2025/0024381 A1; hereinafter “YANG”) in view of WANG et al. (US 2025/0056589 A1; hereinafter “WANG”).
Regarding claim 1, YANG teaches a method for a wireless transmit receive unit (WTRU) (YANG discloses a wireless communication method performed by a first wireless communication device, i.e., a UE (YANG [0004], [0111]; FIG. 2, UE 204 with transceiver module 230 and processor module 236, [0042])), the method comprising:
receiving, from a peer WTRU, a sidelink reference signal received power (SL-RSRP) measurement report based on the peer WTRU's measurement of a previous transmission to the peer WTRU of at least one of a sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) or sidelink (SL) data (YANG discloses that a target UE receiving the SL-PRS measures its RSRP and reports it to the transmitting UE, which uses it to compute the sidelink pathloss; [0085]–[0086]; claim 11; YANG also discloses the target UE measuring a PSSCH DM-RS and reporting that RSRP to the transmitting UE; [0059]–[0060]).
determining to transmit a new SL-PRS at a transmission power for transmitting the new SL-PRS (YANG determines P_SL-PRS(i) subject to P_MAX,CBR_SL-PRS; [0054], [0062]; and expressly distinguishes an SL-PRS CBR measured over the SL-PRS resource pool, [0079], from a CBR measured over the general resource pool, [0089]. YANG further maintains two alternative SL-PRS power formulations: one built on SL-PRS-specific parameters, [0062], [0071], [0084]; and one built as an offset to PSSCH power control, [0088]); and
transmitting to the peer WTRU, the new SL-PRS using the selected first transmission power or the selected second transmission power (YANG [0004], [0054], [0076]; FIG. 3, 302/304).
YANG is silent to teaching that wherein a transmission power based on a type of resource pool used for transmitting the new SL-PRS, wherein a first transmission power is selected if the type of resource pool is a shared pool and a second transmission power is selected if the type of resource pool is a dedicated pool.
In the same field of endeavor, WANG teaches a method wherein a transmission power based on a type of resource pool used for transmitting the new SL-PRS, wherein a first transmission power is selected if the type of resource pool is a shared pool and a second transmission power is selected if the type of resource pool is a dedicated pool (WANG determines power information for target signal transmission on a first resource pool, the target signal being an SL positioning reference signal, [0006], [0031]–[0032]; classifies that pool by type: a pool usable for the SL reference signal, [0040], or shared among a plurality of terminals, [0044], — versus a dedicated pool for the SL reference signal as indicated by first indication information, [0041], or a pool that cannot be used for data or PSSCH,[0043]; WANG conditions the power determination on which type applies; [0057], [0066]–[0069]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to condition YANG's SL-PRS power determination — and the corresponding target-UE measurement — on the type of resource pool, as taught by WANG. WANG states the purpose is to ensure reliability of SL transmission (WANG [0045]); YANG identifies improved positioning accuracy and reduced positioning latency as the objects of proper SL-PRS power control (YANG [0095]). One of ordinary skill would recognize that a dedicated pool carrying no data or PSSCH (WANG [0043]) presents materially different occupancy from a pool shared with other terminals or traffic (WANG [0040], [0044]), such that a single power determination across both would waste power in the former and cause excess interference in the latter.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of YANG and WANG teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first transmission power is based on the received SL-RSRP measurement report for previous transmission of SL data (YANG derives PL_SL from the RSRP of a PSSCH DM-RS reported by the target UE,[0059], [0092], which feeds the PSSCH-offset SL-PRS power formulation, [0088]; WANG likewise identifies the PSSCH DMRS as an SL path-loss reference signal (WANG [0096]; [0084]–[0086]))
Regarding claim 3, the combination of YANG and WANG teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the second transmission power is based on the SL-RSRP measurement report for previous transmission of the SL (YANG derives PL_SL^SL-PRS from the SL-PRS RSRP reported by the target UE (YANG [0085]–[0086]; claim 11), used in the PRS-specific formulation (YANG [0071], [0084]; WANG identifies a second SL reference signal for positioning as an SL path-loss reference signal (WANG [0098]; claim 14)).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of YANG and WANG teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the shared pool comprises time and frequency resources shared for SL-PRS transmission and SL data transmission (WANG's pool usable for the SL reference signal (WANG [0040]) and shared by a plurality of terminals (WANG [0044]), read against WANG's pool that cannot be used for data or PSSCH (WANG [0043]) — WANG claim 1 recites both types together, so the pool of [0040] necessarily may carry both. See also YANG [0089] (CBR over sub-channels of the general SL pool)).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of YANG and WANG teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the dedicated pool comprises time and frequency resources only for SL-PRS transmission (WANG [0041], [0043]; claims 1–2. See also YANG [0079] (SL-PRS sub-channels within the SL-PRS resource pool)).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of YANG and WANG teaches the method of claim 1, wherein prior to receiving the SL-RSRP measurement report, the method further comprises: receiving configuration information indicating the resource pool to transmit the new SL-PRS as the shared pool or the dedicated pool (WANG's dedicated pool is indicated by first indication information (WANG [0041]; claim 2), within configuration information for the SL reference signal (WANG [0053]–[0057]). YANG configures its power parameters by higher layer, RRC, or network (YANG [0057], [0096], [0102])).
Regarding claim 8, YANG teaches a wireless transmit receive unit (WTRU) comprising:
a processor (YANG, [0198]); and
a transceiver communicatively coupled to the processor (YANG, [0198]); wherein the processor and the transceiver are configured to:
receive, from a peer WTRU, a sidelink reference signal received power (SL-RSRP) measurement report based on the peer WTRU's measurement of a previous transmission to the peer WTRU of at least one of a sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) or sidelink (SL) data (YANG discloses that a target UE receiving the SL-PRS measures its RSRP and reports it to the transmitting UE, which uses it to compute the sidelink pathloss; [0085]–[0086]; claim 11; YANG also discloses the target UE measuring a PSSCH DM-RS and reporting that RSRP to the transmitting UE; [0059]–[0060]).
determine to transmit a new SL-PRS at a transmission power for transmitting the new SL-PRS (YANG determines P_SL-PRS(i) subject to P_MAX,CBR_SL-PRS; [0054], [0062]; and expressly distinguishes an SL-PRS CBR measured over the SL-PRS resource pool, [0079], from a CBR measured over the general resource pool, [0089]. YANG further maintains two alternative SL-PRS power formulations: one built on SL-PRS-specific parameters, [0062], [0071], [0084]; and one built as an offset to PSSCH power control, [0088]); and
transmit to the peer WTRU, the new SL-PRS using the selected first transmission power or the selected second transmission power (YANG [0004], [0054], [0076]; FIG. 3, 302/304).
YANG is silent to teaching that wherein a transmission power based on a type of resource pool used for transmitting the new SL-PRS, wherein a first transmission power is selected if the type of resource pool is a shared pool and a second transmission power is selected if the type of resource pool is a dedicated pool.
In the same field of endeavor, WANG teaches a device wherein a transmission power based on a type of resource pool used for transmitting the new SL-PRS, wherein a first transmission power is selected if the type of resource pool is a shared pool and a second transmission power is selected if the type of resource pool is a dedicated pool (WANG determines power information for target signal transmission on a first resource pool, the target signal being an SL positioning reference signal, [0006], [0031]–[0032]; classifies that pool by type: a pool usable for the SL reference signal, [0040], or shared among a plurality of terminals, [0044], — versus a dedicated pool for the SL reference signal as indicated by first indication information, [0041], or a pool that cannot be used for data or PSSCH,[0043]; WANG conditions the power determination on which type applies; [0057], [0066]–[0069]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to condition YANG's SL-PRS power determination — and the corresponding target-UE measurement — on the type of resource pool, as taught by WANG. WANG states the purpose is to ensure reliability of SL transmission (WANG [0045]); YANG identifies improved positioning accuracy and reduced positioning latency as the objects of proper SL-PRS power control (YANG [0095]). One of ordinary skill would recognize that a dedicated pool carrying no data or PSSCH (WANG [0043]) presents materially different occupancy from a pool shared with other terminals or traffic (WANG [0040], [0044]), such that a single power determination across both would waste power in the former and cause excess interference in the latter.
Regarding claims 9-13, the dependent claims are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth above in claims 2-6, respectively.
Claim(s) 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG in view of SHIN (US 2024/0007968 A1).
Regarding claim 15, WANG teaches a method for a wireless transmit receive unit (WTRU) (WANG discloses a power determining method performed by a terminal (FIGS. 1–2; ¶¶ [0029], [0031]), including the terminal that receives the SL path loss reference signal (¶ [0092])), the method comprising:
receiving, from a peer WTRU, at least one of a first sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) or a sidelink (SL) data transmission (WANG discloses that the first SL reference signal is a reference signal for positioning and may be an SL PRS (¶ [0032]), and that the terminal receives first SL reference signals sent by other terminals (¶¶ [0106], [0179]). WANG further discloses that the received SL path loss reference signal is a DMRS corresponding to the PSSCH — i.e., an SL data transmission — or a second SL reference signal for positioning (¶¶ [0095]–[0098]; claim 14));
measuring the SL-RSRP of the received first SL-PRS or the SL data (WANG discloses measuring the RSRP of the received SL path loss reference signal, which is an L1 RSRP or a higher-layer-filtered first RSRP (¶¶ [0083]–[0086]; claim 13), and that the RSRP of a positioning second SL reference signal is the sum of power on the REs transmitting it (¶¶ [0098], [0171])); and
sending, to the peer WTRU, a SL-RSRP measurement report indicating the measured SL-RSRP (WANG discloses that values B and C — respectively the filtered RSRP and the L1 RSRP of the received SL path loss reference signal — are sent to the first terminal by the terminal receiving that signal (¶¶ [0087]–[0092]), and that a sending terminal adjusts transmit power based on received power fed back by a receiving terminal (¶ [0034])).
WANG is silent to teaching that comprising determining to measure a sidelink reference signal received power (SL-RSRP) of the received first SL-PRS or the SL data transmission based on a type of resource pool used for transmission being a shared SL data and SL-PRS resource pool or a dedicated SL-PRS resource pool; and measuring the SL-RSRP based on the type of resource pool used.
In the same field of endeavor, SHIN teaches a method comprising determining to measure a sidelink reference signal received power (SL-RSRP) of the received first SL-PRS or the SL data transmission based on a type of resource pool used for transmission being a shared SL data and SL-PRS resource pool or a dedicated SL-PRS resource pool (SHIN teaches transmission of the positioning signal either in the resource region carrying the PSSCH or in a dedicated resource region separated from it (¶¶ [0141], [0177]–[0178]; FIGS. 10–11), and selects the received-power measurement accordingly: where the SL-PRS is TDMed with data in the PSSCH region, the measurement is taken over the PSCCH/PSSCH symbols (¶¶ [0221], [0258]–[0259]); where the SL-PRS occupies a dedicated region, the measurement is taken over the symbols carrying the SL-PRS (¶¶ [0226], [0264]–[0265]; claims 1, 4)); and measuring the SL-RSRP based on the type of resource pool used (SHIN ¶¶ [0221], [0226], [0258]–[0259], [0264]–[0265]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the signal on which WANG's SL-RSRP is measured according to the resource pool type, as taught by SHIN. SHIN teaches that a dedicated pool may carry the SL-PRS alone with no PSSCH present (¶ [0196]), so a PSSCH-based measurement is unavailable there, whereas in the shared pool the SL-PRS is TDMed with the PSSCH (¶ [0314]). WANG itself lists the PSSCH DMRS among the candidate SL path loss reference signals (¶ [0096]) while contemplating a pool in which no PSSCH may be transmitted (¶ [0043]), so a rule for selecting among the candidates is required. The combination applies a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield the predictable result of a valid path loss estimate and correspondingly accurate SL-PRS transmit power, the stated aim of both references (WANG ¶ [0045]; SHIN ¶ [0165]). KSR, 550 U.S. 398; MPEP 2143(I)(C), (D).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of WANG and SHIN teaches the method of claim 15, further comprising: receiving, from the peer WTRU, a second SL-PRS at a transmission power based on the SL-RSRP measurement report (WANG discloses that the first transmit power of the first SL reference signal is calculated from the path loss of the SL path loss reference signal (¶¶ [0078]–[0081]; claim 11), that the path loss is derived from the reported RSRP values B or C (¶¶ [0087]–[0092]), that the target power is min(P<sub>CMAX</sub>, P<sub>MAX,CBR</sub>, P<sub>sl-prs,SL</sub>(i)) (¶ [0066]), and that the terminal then sends the first SL reference signals to the other terminals based on that target power (¶¶ [0103]–[0104]); SHIN teaches the same feedback loop cumulatively: the pair UE reports the SL-RSRP to the Tx UE, which computes SL pathloss and uses it to set the SL-PRS transmit power (¶¶ [0254], [0279], [0287]), with a further SL-PRS transmitted in the same pair (¶ [0113])).
Regarding claims 17 and 18, the dependent claims are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth above in claims 4 and 5, with respect to WANG’s teaching.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20260046786 A1.
/WEN W HUANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648