DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 2, 4 – 5, and 9 – 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woolley (U.S. PG Pub 2006/0181511) in view of Wu et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,347,443).
Regarding Claim 1, Woolley teaches a touch keycap (Figure 3, Element 30. Paragraph 39), comprising a circuit board (Figure 3, Elements 42 - 46. Paragraphs 40 - 41) and a keycap body (Figure 3, Element 30. Paragraph 39), wherein the circuit board (Figure 3, Elements 42 - 46. Paragraphs 40 - 41) is located on the keycap body (Figure 3, Element 30. Paragraph 39) and/or a keyboard (Figure 2. Paragraph 37 - 38); the circuit board (Figure 3, Elements 42 - 46. Paragraphs 40 - 41) is provided with a touch circuit (Figure 3, Element 50. Paragraph 40); the touch circuit (Figure 3, Element 50. Paragraph 40) is electrically connected to a capacitive sensing touch element (Figure 3, Element 50. Paragraph 40); the capacitive sensing touch element (Figure 3, Element 50. Paragraph 40) is one or more of a touch key, a touch slider, and a touch pad (Figure 3, Element 50. Paragraph 40); the touch circuit (Figure 3, Element 50. Paragraph 40) is provided with a microcontroller unit MCU (Figure 3, Element 20. Paragraph 41); the capacitive sensing touch element (Figure 3, Element 50. Paragraph 40) is electrically connected to the MCU (Figure 3, Element 20. Paragraph 41); the capacitive sensing touch element (Figure 3, Element 50. Paragraph 40) is located at any position of an inner surface (Figure 3, Element 40. Paragraph 39), an interior, and an outer surface of the keycap body (Figure 3, Element 30. Paragraph 39); the capacitive sensing touch element (Figure 3, Element 50. Paragraph 40) forms a trigger position for sensing a finger touch (Figure 5. Paragraphs 45 – 46) to the capacitive sensing touch element (Figure 3, Element 50. Paragraph 40).
Woolley is silent with regards to the capacitive sensing touch element is located at any position of an inner surface, an interior, and an outer surface of a side wall of the keycap body; and alternatively, the capacitive sensing touch element is located at an edge of the keycap body, whereby the side wall of the keycap or the edge of the keycap body forms a trigger position for triggering the capacitive sensing touch element.
Wu et al. teach the capacitive sensing touch element is located at any position of an inner surface, an interior, and an outer surface of a side wall of the keycap body; and alternatively, the capacitive sensing touch element (Figures 5C and 5D, Element 176b. Column 20, Lines 22 – 48) is located at an edge (Seen in Figures 5C and 5D) of the keycap body (Figures 5C and 5D, Element 124. Column 20, Lines 22 – 48), whereby the side wall of the keycap or the edge (Seen in Figures 5C and 5D) of the keycap body (Figures 5C and 5D, Element 124. Column 20, Lines 22 – 48) forms a trigger position (Seen in Figures 5C and 5D) for triggering the capacitive sensing touch element (Figures 5C and 5D, Elements 176a and 176b. Column 20, Lines 22 – 48).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the keycap of Woolley with capacitive placement of Wu et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of Woolley with the teachings of Wu et al. is to provide a keyboard with capable of illumination that would improve visibility in dimly-lit environments, as taught by Wu et al. (Column 1, Lines 12 - 33).
Regarding Claim 2, Woolley in view of Wu et al. teach the touch keycap (Figure 3, Element 30. Paragraph 39) according to claim 1 (See Above). Woolley teaches wherein the circuit board (Figure 3, Elements 42 - 46. Paragraphs 40 - 41) comprises a touch region (Figure 3, Element 44. Paragraph 40) and an accommodation region (Figure 3, Element 46. Paragraph 39); the capacitive sensing touch element (Figure 3, Element 50. Paragraph 40) is located in the touch region (Figure 3, Element 44. Paragraph 40); the touch circuit (Figure 3, Element 50. Paragraph 40) is located in the accommodation region (Figure 3, Element 46. Paragraph 39); and the accommodation region (Figure 3, Element 46. Paragraph 39) is located on the keycap body (Figure 3, Element 30. Paragraph 39) and/or the keyboard (Figure 2. Paragraph 37 - 38).
Regarding Claim 4, Woolley in view of Wu et al. teach a keyboard (Figure 2. Paragraph 37 - 38), comprising a control circuit board (Figure 3, Elements 42 - 46. Paragraphs 40 - 41) and the touch keycap (Figure 3, Element 30. Paragraph 39) according to claim 1 (See Above). Woolley teaches wherein the touch keycap (Figure 3, Element 30. Paragraph 39) is located at a key position of the keyboard (Figure 2. Paragraph 37 - 38); and the touch circuit (Figure 3, Element 50. Paragraph 40) is electrically connected to the control circuit board (Figure 3, Elements 42 - 46. Paragraphs 40 - 41).
Regarding Claim 5, Woolley in view of Wu et al. teach the keyboard (Figure 2. Paragraph 37 - 38) according to claim 4 (See Above). Woolley teaches wherein the touch keycap (Figure 3, Element 30. Paragraph 39) is located at an edge key position of the keyboard (Figure 2. Paragraph 37 - 38); an outward side of the keycap body (Figure 3, Element 30. Paragraph 39) forms a touch side (Figure 3, Element 40. Paragraph 39); and the capacitive sensing touch element (Figure 3, Element 50. Paragraph 40) is located at any position of an inner surface (Figure 3, Element 40. Paragraph 39), an interior, and an outer surface of a wall of the touch side (Figure 3, Element 40. Paragraph 39).
Regarding Claim 9, Woolley in view of Wu et al. teach a keyboard (Figure 2. Paragraph 37 - 38) touch input assembly, comprising a circuit board (Figure 3, Elements 42 - 46. Paragraphs 40 - 41) and an adapter (Element anchor. Paragraph 43) that is in communication connection with a control circuit board (Element Keyboard substrate. Paragraph 43) of a keyboard (Figure 2. Paragraph 37 - 38) according to claim 4 (See Above) and a computer (Paragraph 48). Woolley teaches wherein the circuit board (Figure 3, Elements 42 - 46. Paragraphs 40 - 41) is provided with a touch circuit (Figure 3, Element 50. Paragraph 40); the touch circuit (Figure 3, Element 50. Paragraph 40) is electrically connected to a capacitive sensing touch element (Figure 3, Element 50. Paragraph 40); the capacitive sensing touch element (Figure 3, Element 50. Paragraph 40) is one or more of a touch key, a touch slider, and a touch pad (Figure 3, Element 50. Paragraph 40); the touch circuit (Figure 3, Element 50. Paragraph 40) is provided with a MCU (Figure 3, Element 20. Paragraph 41); and the MCU (Figure 3, Element 20. Paragraph 41) is electrically connected to the capacitive sensing touch element (Figure 3, Element 50. Paragraph 40) and the adapter (Element anchor. Paragraph 43) separately.
Regarding Claim 10, Woolley in view of Wu et al. teach a keyboard (Figure 2. Paragraph 37 - 38), comprising a control circuit board (Figure 3, Elements 42 - 46. Paragraphs 40 - 41) and the touch keycap (Figure 3, Element 30. Paragraph 39) according to claim 2 (See Above). Woolley teaches wherein the touch keycap (Figure 3, Element 30. Paragraph 39) is located at a key position of the keyboard (Figure 2. Paragraph 37 - 38); and the touch circuit (Figure 3, Element 50. Paragraph 40) is electrically connected to the control circuit board (Figure 3, Elements 42 - 46. Paragraphs 40 - 41).
Regarding Claim 11, Woolley in view of Wu et al. teach the keyboard (Figure 2. Paragraph 37 - 38) according to claim 10 (See Above). Woolley teaches wherein the touch keycap (Figure 3, Element 30. Paragraph 39) is located at an edge key position of the keyboard (Figure 2. Paragraph 37 - 38); an outward side of the keycap body (Figure 3, Element 30. Paragraph 39) forms a touch side (Figure 3, Element 40. Paragraph 39); and the capacitive sensing touch element (Figure 3, Element 50. Paragraph 40) is located at any position of an inner surface (Figure 3, Element 40. Paragraph 39), an interior, and an outer surface of a wall of the touch side (Figure 3, Element 40. Paragraph 39).
Claims 3 and 15 – 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woolley (U.S. PG Pub 2006/0181511) in view of Wu et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,347,443) in view of Leong et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2017/0315624).
Regarding Claim 3, Woolley in view of Wu et al. teach the touch keycap (Figure 3, Element 30. Paragraph 39) according to claim 2 (See Above). Woolley teaches wherein the circuit board (Figure 3, Elements 42 - 46. Paragraphs 40 - 41) is a flexible printed circuit board (Figure 3, Elements 42 - 46. Paragraphs 40 - 41); the flexible printed circuit board (Figure 3, Elements 42 - 46. Paragraphs 40 - 41) is located on the keycap body (Figure 3, Element 30. Paragraph 39); and the accommodation region (Figure 3, Element 46. Paragraph 39) is located on an inner surface (Figure 3, Element 40. Paragraph 39) of a side wall (Seen in Figure 3) of the keycap body (Figure 3, Element 30. Paragraph 39) adjacent to the touch region (Figure 3, Element 44. Paragraph 40).
Woolley is silent with regards to the touch region is fixed to the inner surface of the side wall of the keycap.
Leong et al. teach the touch region (Figure 11, Element 406. Paragraph 77) is fixed to the inner surface (Seen in Figure 11) of the side wall (Figure 11, Element 402. Paragraph 76) of the keycap (Figure 11, Element 400. Paragraph 76).
Woolley teaches a device which is different from the claimed interface apparatus by the substitution of the step(s) of the touch region is fixed to a side wall of the keycap. Leong et al. teaches the substituted step(s) of the touch region is fixed to a side wall of the keycap and their functions were known in the art to provide the touch region is fixed to a side wall of the keycap.
The touch region location of Woolley could have been substituted with the touch region placement as taught by Leong et al. and the results would have been predictable and resulted in the touch region is fixed to a side wall of the keycap. Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made.
Regarding Claim 15, Woolley in view of Wu et al. in view of Leong et al. teach a keyboard (Figure 2. Paragraph 37 - 38). Woolley teaches comprising a control circuit board (Figure 3, Elements 42 - 46. Paragraphs 40 - 41) and the touch keycap (Figure 3, Element 30. Paragraph 39) according to claim 3 (See Above). Woolley teaches wherein the touch keycap (Figure 3, Element 30. Paragraph 39) is located at a key position of the keyboard (Figure 2. Paragraph 37 - 38); and the touch circuit (Figure 3, Element 50. Paragraph 40) is electrically connected to the control circuit board (Figure 3, Elements 42 - 46. Paragraphs 40 - 41).
Regarding Claim 16, Woolley in view of Wu et al. in view of Leong et al. teach the keyboard (Figure 2. Paragraph 37 - 38) according to claim 15 (See Above). Woolley teaches wherein the touch keycap (Figure 3, Element 30. Paragraph 39) is located at an edge key position of the keyboard (Figure 2. Paragraph 37 - 38); an outward side of the keycap body (Figure 3, Element 30. Paragraph 39) forms a touch side (Figure 3, Element 40. Paragraph 39); and the capacitive sensing touch element (Figure 3, Element 50. Paragraph 40) is located at any position of an inner surface (Figure 3, Element 40. Paragraph 39), an interior, and an outer surface of a wall of the touch side (Figure 3, Element 40. Paragraph 39).
Claims 6 – 8 and 12 – 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woolley (U.S. PG Pub 2006/0181511) in view of Wu et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,347,443) in view of Lin et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2012/0206354).
Regarding Claim 6, Woolley in view of Wu et al. teach the keyboard (Figure 2. Paragraph 37 - 38) according to claim 4 (See Above). Woolley teaches wherein there are multiple touch keycaps (Figures 2 and 3, Element 30. Paragraphs 37 - 39).
Woolley is silent with regards to the capacitive sensing touch elements of the multiple touch keycaps are electrically connected to the same MCU to form a touch key group.
Lin et al. teach the capacitive sensing touch elements (Figure 3, Element 214. Paragraph 24) of the multiple touch keycaps are electrically connected to the same MCU (Figure 3, Element 214a. Paragraph 24) to form a touch key group.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the keycap of Woolley and capacitive placement of Wu et al. with the key groups of Lin et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of Woolley and Wu et al. with the teachings of Lin et al. is to provide a keyboard with other functions, key groups, and hot keys on the keyboard, as taught by Lin et al. (Paragraph 8).
Regarding Claim 7, Woolley in view of Wu et al. in view of Lin et al. teach the keyboard (Figure 2. Paragraph 37 - 38) according to claim 6 (See Above). Woolley is silent with regards to wherein there are multiple touch key groups; and each of the touch key groups is provided with one MCU.
Lin et al. teach wherein there are multiple touch key groups (Figure 3, Elements 213 – 216. Paragraph 24); and each of the touch key groups (Figure 3, Element 214. Paragraph 24) is provided with one MCU (Figure 3, Element 214a. Paragraph 24).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the keycap of Woolley and capacitive placement of Wu et al. with the key groups of Lin et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of Woolley and Wu et al. with the teachings of Lin et al. is to provide a keyboard with other functions, key groups, and hot keys on the keyboard, as taught by Lin et al. (Paragraph 8).
Regarding Claim 8, Woolley in view of Wu et al. in view of Lin et al. teach the keyboard (Figure 2. Paragraph 37 - 38) according to claim 6 (See Above). Woolley teaches wherein the keyboard (Figure 2. Paragraph 37 - 38) further comprises an adapter (Element anchor. Paragraph 43); the adapter is provided with an input interface (Element anchor, Sub-Element is the portion that receives information. Paragraph 43) and an output interface (Element anchor, Sub-Element is the portion that transmits information. Paragraph 43); the control circuit board (Figure 3, Elements 42 - 46. Paragraphs 40 - 41) is electrically connected to the input interface (Element anchor, Sub-Element is the portion that receives information. Paragraph 43); and the output interface (Element anchor, Sub-Element is the portion that transmits information. Paragraph 43) is configured to achieve communication connection with a computer (Paragraph 48).
Regarding Claim 12, Woolley in view of Wu et al. teach the keyboard (Figure 2. Paragraph 37 - 38) according to claim 10 (See Above). Woolley teaches wherein there are multiple touch keycaps (Figures 2 and 3, Element 30. Paragraphs 37 - 39).
Woolley is silent with regards to the capacitive sensing touch elements of the multiple touch keycaps are electrically connected to the same MCU to form a touch key group.
Lin et al. teach the capacitive sensing touch elements (Figure 3, Element 214. Paragraph 24) of the multiple touch keycaps are electrically connected to the same MCU (Figure 3, Element 214a. Paragraph 24) to form a touch key group.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the keycap of Woolley and capacitive placement of Wu et al. with the key groups of Lin et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of Woolley and Wu et al. with the teachings of Lin et al. is to provide a keyboard with other functions, key groups, and hot keys on the keyboard, as taught by Lin et al. (Paragraph 8).
Regarding Claim 13, Woolley in view of Wu et al. in view of Lin et al. teach the keyboard (Figure 2. Paragraph 37 - 38) according to claim 12 (See Above). Woolley is silent with regards to wherein there are multiple touch key groups; and each of the touch key groups is provided with one MCU.
Lin et al. teach wherein there are multiple touch key groups (Figure 3, Elements 213 – 216. Paragraph 24); and each of the touch key groups (Figure 3, Element 214. Paragraph 24) is provided with one MCU (Figure 3, Element 214a. Paragraph 24).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the keycap of Woolley and capacitive placement of Wu et al. with the key groups of Lin et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of Woolley and Wu et al. with the teachings of Lin et al. is to provide a keyboard with other functions, key groups, and hot keys on the keyboard, as taught by Lin et al. (Paragraph 8).
Regarding Claim 14, Woolley in view of Wu et al. in view of Lin et al. teach the keyboard (Figure 2. Paragraph 37 - 38) according to claim 12 (See Above). Woolley teaches wherein the keyboard (Figure 2. Paragraph 37 - 38) further comprises an adapter; the adapter is provided with an input interface (Element anchor, Sub-Element is the portion that receives information. Paragraph 43) and an output interface (Element anchor, Sub-Element is the portion that transmits information. Paragraph 43); the control circuit board (Figure 3, Elements 42 - 46. Paragraphs 40 - 41) is electrically connected to the input interface (Element anchor, Sub-Element is the portion that receives information. Paragraph 43); and the output interface (Element anchor, Sub-Element is the portion that transmits information. Paragraph 43) is configured to achieve communication connection with a computer (Paragraph 48).
Claims 17 – 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woolley (U.S. PG Pub 2006/0181511) in view of Wu et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,347,443) in view of Leong et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2017/0315624) in view of Lin et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2012/0206354).
Regarding Claim 17, Woolley in view of Wu et al. in view of Leong et al. teach the keyboard (Figure 2. Paragraph 37 - 38) according to claim 15 (See Above). Woolley teaches wherein there are multiple touch keycaps (Figures 2 and 3, Element 30. Paragraphs 37 - 39).
Woolley is silent with regards to the capacitive sensing touch elements of the multiple touch keycaps are electrically connected to the same MCU to form a touch key group.
Lin et al. teach the capacitive sensing touch elements (Figure 3, Element 214. Paragraph 24) of the multiple touch keycaps are electrically connected to the same MCU (Figure 3, Element 214a. Paragraph 24) to form a touch key group.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the keycap of Woolley, capacitive placement of Wu et al., and the touch region location of Leong et al. with the key groups of Lin et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of Woolley, Wu et al., and Leong et al. with the teachings of Lin et al. is to provide a keyboard with other functions, key groups, and hot keys on the keyboard, as taught by Lin et al. (Paragraph 8).
Regarding Claim 18, Woolley in view of Wu et al. in view of Leong et al. in view of Lin et al. teach the keyboard (Figure 2. Paragraph 37 - 38) according to claim 17 (See Above). Woolley is silent with regards to wherein there are multiple touch key groups; and each of the touch key groups is provided with one MCU (Figure 3, Element 20. Paragraph 41).
Lin et al. teach wherein there are multiple touch key groups (Figure 3, Elements 213 – 216. Paragraph 24); and each of the touch key groups (Figure 3, Element 214. Paragraph 24) is provided with one MCU (Figure 3, Element 214a. Paragraph 24).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the keycap of Woolley, capacitive placement of Wu et al., and the touch region location of Leong et al. with the key groups of Lin et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of Woolley, Wu et al., and Leong et al. with the teachings of Lin et al. is to provide a keyboard with other functions, key groups, and hot keys on the keyboard, as taught by Lin et al. (Paragraph 8).
Regarding Claim 19, Woolley in view of Wu et al. in view of Leong et al. in view of Lin et al. teach the keyboard (Figure 2. Paragraph 37 - 38) according to claim 17 (See Above). Woolley teaches wherein the keyboard (Figure 2. Paragraph 37 - 38) further comprises an adapter; the adapter is provided with an input interface (Element anchor, Sub-Element is the portion that receives information. Paragraph 43) and an output interface (Element anchor, Sub-Element is the portion that transmits information. Paragraph 43); the control circuit board (Figure 3, Elements 42 - 46. Paragraphs 40 - 41) is electrically connected to the input interface (Element anchor, Sub-Element is the portion that receives information. Paragraph 43); and the output interface (Element anchor, Sub-Element is the portion that transmits information. Paragraph 43) is configured to achieve communication connection with a computer (Paragraph 48).
Response to Arguments
Regarding the first argument, in which the applicant asserts that Woolley does not disclose the side wall or edge of the keycap body as a trigger portion for sensing a finger touch. The applicant argues that Woolley does not disclose use of the side wall or edge of the keycap. The examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant’s assertion. The examiner notes that Woolley is not relied upon for teaching the capacitor sensor on the side wall or edge of the keycap. However, Woolley discloses “Use of the key cap touchpad 50 as taught by the present invention is straightforward. As shown in FIG. 5, a user has a finger 60 touching the top surface 32 of the key cap 30. The key cap 30 has disposed on the underside the key cap touchpad 50. In this example, the key cap 30 has an arcuate top surface 32, and a correspondingly arcuate underside (not shown). In this embodiment, the substrate 42 of the key cap touchpad 50 is flexible, thereby enabling the key cap touchpad to conform to the arcuate underside of the key cap 30 (Paragraph 45. Emphasis Added).” Therefore, Woolley absolutely has a capacitive sensor inside the keycap that is activated by the finger of a user. The Office is unmoved by the applicant assertion, and the rejection is maintained.
Regarding the second argument, in which the applicant asserts that the sensing structure of Wu et al. does not disclose that the side wall or edge of the keycap senses a user’s finger touch as claimed. The applicant argues that Wu et al. is solely a mechanical component for receiving pressure. The examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant’s assertion.
First, the examiner notes that Wu et al. is not relied upon to teach that the capacitive sensing touch element sensing a finger touch and therefore the argument is held moot since this limitation is taught by Woolley.
Second, even if the applicant’s interpretation of Wu et al. is accepted, it would still read on the claimed limitation. The applicant argues that Wu et al. relies on movement of the keycap in order to activate that capacitive sensor of Wu et al. There are no limitations in the instant claim that negate movement of the keycap to detect the user’s finger. To put another way, the applicant has not claimed that the user’s finger is sensed by the capacitive sensor without depression of the keycap, as the applicant appears to argue. The examiner further notes that even if the applicant were to claim the negative limitation of receiving input without depression of the keycap, this feature would still be taught by Woolley and therefore Woolley in view of Wu et al. would still read on the instant claim.
Third, Wu et al. discloses “In a non-limiting example, as shown in FIG. 1A, the electronic device 104 may be a laptop computer. However, it is understood that electronic device 104 may be any suitable device that operates with the keyboard assembly 108 (or any other suitable device or input mechanism configured to receive a touch and/or force input from a user) (Column 7, Lines 27 – 43. Emphasis Added).” Wu et al. further discloses “In one embodiment, the sense layer 176a and the drive layer 176b may be a pair of capacitive electrodes. In this manner, a capacitance between the sense layer 176a and the drive layer 176b may vary with a distance separating the sense layer 176a and the drive layer 176b. Thus, a change in capacitance may be measured and correlated with, for example, a depression of the key cap 124 or similar input surface. When the change in capacitance exceeds a threshold, the keyboard assembly 108 may initiate a switch event (that is, generate an input signal). Additionally or alternatively, the capacitance may be associated with a range of non-binary inputs, including associated with a change in capacitance with a force received at the key cap 124 (e.g., by determining a force required to displace the domed structure 128 by an amount associated with a change in distance between the sense layer 176a and the drive layer 176b) (Column 20, Lines 33 – 48. Emphasis Added).” Therefore, it is the capacitive sensor of Woolley and the capacitive placement of Wu et al. that is relied upon to reject the instant claim limitations. The Office is unmoved by the applicant’s assertion, and the rejection is maintained.
Regarding the third argument, in which the applicant asserts that a person of ordinary skill in the art cannot obtain the technical solution by combining the applied prior art of record. The applicant argues that a person of ordinary skill in the art would lack the motivation to redesign the capacitive sensing structure of Wu et al. to alter the sensing mechanism. The examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant’s assertion. The examiner firstly notes that it is Wu et al. that is modifying Woolley and therefore the is no requirement for a motivation of Woolley to modify the teachings of Wu et al. As previously stated: A person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the keycap of Woolley with capacitive placement of Wu et al. to provide a keyboard with capable of illumination that would improve visibility in dimly-lit environments. This motivation is provided from Wu et al. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify the capacitive placement of Woolley. The Office is unmoved by the applicant’s assertion, and the rejection is maintained.
All other arguments are considered moot in light of the above rejection and/or the response to the first, second, and/or third arguments.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Brown et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2008/0131184) discloses a keycap within a display that is similar to the instant invention.
Ligtenberg et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2018/0217668) disclose different embodiments of a top case and a bottom case that are separated by a joining member that contains a capacitive sensor, similar to the instant invention.
/A.B.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2625
/WILLIAM BODDIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2625