DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Objections
Claims 8, 11, 12, 17 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities: In the above claims the limitation of “if” should be changed to “when” in order to preclude the claim from being indefinite. For instance, what happens if this condition is not met? Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 8, 11, 13, 14, 19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AN et al. (US 2019/0199926 A1)(hereinafter AN), and further in view of Cutler et al. (US 9,124,762 B2)(hereinafter Cutler).
Re claim 1, AN discloses a camera monitoring method, comprising: adjusting a hardware parameter of a camera to a preset hardware parameter, wherein a clarity of an image captured by the camera under the preset hardware parameter is lower than a clarity of an image captured by the camera in a focused state (see ¶s 145-147 for adjusting a hardware parameter of a camera to a preset hardware parameter, wherein a clarity of an image captured by the camera under the preset hardware parameter is lower than a clarity of an image captured by the camera in a focused state (i.e. the electronic device may change the second camera currently operating in an idle mode into an activation mode, for example, when an object 1312 is backlit, which is included in the second camera area 1310 in the image 1300 obtained via the first camera 282, as illustrated in FIG. 13A, the brightness value of the second camera area 1310 may be lower than the brightness value of the remaining area due to the backlight on the object 1312, in this instance, the processor 220 may control the second camera 284 to change to the activation mode, when the second camera 284 is activated, the processor 220 may change a capture icon 1330 in order to perform capturing in the multi-camera mode as illustrated in FIG. 13B as described in figs. 12-13 paragraph 148))
AN fails to explicitly teach when a trigger condition for entering a privacy mode is met and using the camera with an adjusted hardware parameter to monitor a target scene in a privacy mode. However, the reference of Cutler explicitly teaches when a trigger condition for entering a privacy mode is met and using the camera with an adjusted hardware parameter to monitor a target scene in a privacy mode (see fig. 1 col. 2 lines 46-54 for when a trigger condition for entering a privacy mode is met and using the camera with an adjusted hardware parameter to monitor a target scene in a privacy mode (i.e. flowing to decision operation 420, a privacy mode is determined, the privacy mode may: blur the background; replace the background; or be off (e.g. no blurring or background replacement), the privacy mode may be determined manually/automatically, different information may be used in determining the privacy mode selected, user privacy preferences 412 may include different preferences for one or more uses that define when to select a privacy mode and what image/fill to select when the privacy mode is set to background replacement as described in fig. 4 col. 5 lines 23-32, furthermore, a privacy mode may be created using a single camera that has an f/# less than or equal to about 1, for example, a 1080 p webcam may include a lens with f/#˂=1, an electromechanically adjustable aperture, an electromechanically adjustable focus and a VFOV=60.degree. (e.g. to capture body gestures), the camera may also include a range finder (e.g. ultrasonic), a lens with a low f/# has a small depth of field (DOF), the DOF can be adjusted using an aperture such that the camera can have a "normal mode" with a large DOF, and a "privacy mode" with a small DOF, using the privacy mode (e.g. f/#˂=1) increases the SNR since a lens with a smaller f/# gets more light then a lens with a higher f/# as described in fig. 7 col. 7 lines 42-53))
Therefore, taking the combined teachings of AN and Cutler as a whole, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate this feature (privacy mode) into the system of AN as taught by Cutler.
One will be motivated to incorporate the above feature into the system of AN as taught by Cutler for the benefit of using a privacy camera, such as a light field camera that includes an array of cameras or an RGBZ (RGB+depth) camera(s)) to capture images and display images according to a selected privacy mode, wherein the privacy mode may include a blur background mode and a background replacement mode, wherein a region of interest and/or an object(s) of interest (e.g. one or more persons in a foreground) is determined and the privacy camera is configured (e.g. depending on the type of camera) to clearly show the region/object of interest and the background according to the selected privacy mode, wherein the displayed image includes the region/object(s) of interest clearly shown (e.g. in focus) and any objects in a background of the combined image shown having a limited depth of field (e.g. blurry/not in focus) and/or the background replaced with another image and/or fill, wherein the privacy camera may also be used to determine a depth estimate for object in a scene in order to improve efficiency when selecting a privacy mode to capture images and display images (see col. 1 lines 25-40)
Re claim 2, the combination of AN and Cutler as discussed in claim 1 above discloses all the claimed limitations but fails to explicitly teach wherein the preset hardware parameter comprises a target position of a lens, and adjusting the hardware parameter of the camera to the preset hardware parameter when the trigger condition for entering the privacy mode is met comprises: when the trigger condition for entering the privacy mode is met, moving the lens of the camera to the target position, wherein the target position is different from a lens position of the camera in the focused state. However, the reference of Cutler explicitly teaches wherein the preset hardware parameter comprises a target position of a lens, and adjusting the hardware parameter of the camera to the preset hardware parameter when the trigger condition for entering the privacy mode is met comprises: when the trigger condition for entering the privacy mode is met, moving the lens of the camera to the target position, wherein the target position is different from a lens position of the camera in the focused state (see fig. 1 col. 2 lines 46-54 for the preset hardware parameter comprises a target position of a lens, and adjusting the hardware parameter of the camera to the preset hardware parameter when the trigger condition for entering the privacy mode is met comprises: when the trigger condition for entering the privacy mode is met, moving the lens of the camera to the target position, wherein the target position is different from a lens position of the camera in the focused state (i.e. flowing to decision operation 420, a privacy mode is determined, the privacy mode may: blur the background; replace the background; or be off (e.g. no blurring or background replacement), the privacy mode may be determined manually/automatically, different information may be used in determining the privacy mode selected, user privacy preferences 412 may include different preferences for one or more uses that define when to select a privacy mode and what image/fill to select when the privacy mode is set to background replacement as described in fig. 4 col. 5 lines 23-32, furthermore, a privacy mode may be created using a single camera that has an f/# less than or equal to about 1, for example, a 1080 p webcam may include a lens with f/#˂=1, an electromechanically adjustable aperture, an electromechanically adjustable focus and a VFOV=60.degree. (e.g. to capture body gestures), the camera may also include a range finder (e.g. ultrasonic), a lens with a low f/# has a small depth of field (DOF), the DOF can be adjusted using an aperture such that the camera can have a "normal mode" with a large DOF, and a "privacy mode" with a small DOF, using the privacy mode (e.g. f/#˂=1) increases the SNR since a lens with a smaller f/# gets more light then a lens with a higher f/# as described in fig. 7 col. 7 lines 42-53))
Therefore, taking the combined teachings of AN and Cutler as a whole, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate this feature (privacy mode) into the system of AN as taught by Cutler.
Per claim 2, AN and Cutler are combined for the same motivation as set forth in claim 1 above.
Re claim 4, the combination of AN and Cutler as discussed in claim 2 above discloses all the claim limitations with additional claimed feature taught by AN obtaining a current object distance of the target face image in the target scene from the camera (see ¶ 116 for obtaining a current object distance of the target face image in the target scene from the camera (i.e. when an image is obtained via the first camera (operation 401 of FIG. 4), the electronic device may detect the distance between the electronic device and an object on which focus is set in the image obtained via the first camera in operation 601 as described in fig. 6 paragraph 117, furthermore, when an image is obtained via the first camera (operation 401 of FIG. 4), the electronic device may detect the face of a subject from the image obtained via the first camera in operation 801 as described in fig. 8 paragraph 122)); determining a current depth of field range based on a current object distance and a preset object distance-depth of field mapping relationship (see ¶ 116 for determining a current depth of field range based on a current object distance and a preset object distance-depth of field mapping relationship (i.e. the processor 220 may estimate the distance to the subject on which focus is set, on the basis of the focal distance of the first camera 282 for obtaining the image or depth information of an object included in the image as described in fig. 6 paragraph 117)); determining an initial movement position based on the current depth of field range, wherein the depth of field range of the lens of the camera at the initial movement position does not overlap with the current depth of field range (see ¶ 116 for determining an initial movement position based on the current depth of field range, wherein the depth of field range of the lens of the camera at the initial movement position does not overlap with the current depth of field range (i.e. the processor 220 may estimate the distance to the subject on which focus is set, on the basis of the focal distance of the first camera 282 for obtaining the image or depth information of an object included in the image as described in fig. 6 paragraph 117, furthermore, the electronic device may determine whether movement of the main object is detected in operation 1509, for example, the processor 220 may compare preview images periodically obtained via the first camera 282 so as to determine whether the location of the main object 1720 is changed, when the location of the main object 1720 is changed, the processor 220 may determine that movement of the main object 1720 is detected as described in figs. 15, 17 paragraph 155)); and determining the target position based on the initial movement position (see ¶ 155 for determining the target position based on the initial movement position (i.e. when the movement of the main object is detected, the electronic device may determine whether the main object enters the second camera area in operation 1511, for example, the processor 220 may determine whether the main object 1720 is located in a second camera area 1710 as illustrated in FIG. 17B paragraph 156))
AN fails to explicitly teach wherein moving the lens of the camera to the target position when the trigger condition for entering the privacy mode is met comprises: when the trigger condition for entering the privacy mode is met. However, the reference of Cutler explicitly teaches wherein moving the lens of the camera to the target position when the trigger condition for entering the privacy mode is met comprises: when the trigger condition for entering the privacy mode is met (see fig. 1 col. 2 lines 46-54 for moving the lens of the camera to the target position when the trigger condition for entering the privacy mode is met comprises: when the trigger condition for entering the privacy mode is met (i.e. flowing to decision operation 420, a privacy mode is determined, the privacy mode may: blur the background; replace the background; or be off (e.g. no blurring or background replacement), the privacy mode may be determined manually/automatically, different information may be used in determining the privacy mode selected, user privacy preferences 412 may include different preferences for one or more uses that define when to select a privacy mode and what image/fill to select when the privacy mode is set to background replacement as described in fig. 4 col. 5 lines 23-32, furthermore, a privacy mode may be created using a single camera that has an f/# less than or equal to about 1, for example, a 1080 p webcam may include a lens with f/#˂=1, an electromechanically adjustable aperture, an electromechanically adjustable focus and a VFOV=60.degree. (e.g. to capture body gestures), the camera may also include a range finder (e.g. ultrasonic), a lens with a low f/# has a small depth of field (DOF), the DOF can be adjusted using an aperture such that the camera can have a "normal mode" with a large DOF, and a "privacy mode" with a small DOF, using the privacy mode (e.g. f/#˂=1) increases the SNR since a lens with a smaller f/# gets more light then a lens with a higher f/# as described in fig. 7 col. 7 lines 42-53))
Therefore, taking the combined teachings of AN and Cutler as a whole, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate this feature (privacy mode) into the system of AN as taught by Cutler.
Per claim 4, AN and Cutler are combined for the same motivation as set forth in claim 1 above.
Re claim 8, the combination of AN and Cutler as discussed in claim 4 above discloses all the claim limitations with additional claimed feature taught by AN wherein determining the target position based on the initial movement position comprises: acquiring a second scene image captured by the camera at the initial movement position (see ¶ 155 for determining the target position based on the initial movement position comprises: acquiring a second scene image captured by the camera at the initial movement position (i.e. when an image is obtained via the first camera (operation 401 of FIG. 4), the electronic device may detect the face of a subject from the image obtained via the first camera in operation 801 as described in fig. 8 paragraph 122, furthermore, when the movement of the main object is detected, the electronic device may determine whether the main object enters the second camera area in operation 1511, for example, the processor 220 may determine whether the main object 1720 is located in a second camera area 1710 as illustrated in FIG. 17B paragraph 156)); determining whether a clarity of the second scene image exceeds a preset value (see ¶ 118 for determining whether a clarity of the second scene image exceeds a preset value (i.e. activating the second camera when a difference in brightness value between the area corresponding to the angle of view of the second camera and a remaining area exceeds a reference value as described in paragraph 103, furthermore, when the distance to the subject on which focus is set exceeds the reference distance, the electronic device may obtain the second camera information from the image obtained via the first camera in operation 605, for example, when the distance between an electronic device 700 and a subject 720 on which focus is set in an image obtained via a first camera 702 exceeds a reference distance as shown in FIG. 7, the processor 220 may determine that the electronic device 700 is capable of capturing an image using a second camera 703 as described in figs. 6-7 paragraph 119). Also, see fig. 12 paragraph 147); and if the clarity of the second scene image does not exceed the preset value, determining the initial movement position as the target position (see ¶s 145-146 for if the clarity of the second scene image does not exceed the preset value, determining the initial movement position as the target position (i.e. the electronic device may change the second camera currently operating in an idle mode into an activation mode, for example, when an object 1312 is backlit, which is included in the second camera area 1310 in the image 1300 obtained via the first camera 282, as illustrated in FIG. 13A, the brightness value of the second camera area 1310 may be lower than the brightness value of the remaining area due to the backlight on the object 1312, in this instance, the processor 220 may control the second camera 284 to change to the activation mode, when the second camera 284 is activated, the processor 220 may change a capture icon 1330 in order to perform capturing in the multi-camera mode as illustrated in FIG. 13B as described in figs. 12-13 paragraph 148))
Re claim 11, the combination of AN and Cutler as discussed in claim 8 above discloses all the claim limitations with additional claimed feature taught by AN wherein if the clarity of the second scene image does not exceed the preset value, the initial movement position is determined as the target position, comprising: if the clarity of the second scene image does not exceed the preset value, performing face recognition (see ¶s 145-146 for if the clarity of the second scene image does not exceed the preset value, the initial movement position is determined as the target position, comprising: if the clarity of the second scene image does not exceed the preset value, performing face recognition (i.e. the electronic device may change the second camera currently operating in an idle mode into an activation mode, for example, when an object 1312 is backlit, which is included in the second camera area 1310 in the image 1300 obtained via the first camera 282, as illustrated in FIG. 13A, the brightness value of the second camera area 1310 may be lower than the brightness value of the remaining area due to the backlight on the object 1312, in this instance, the processor 220 may control the second camera 284 to change to the activation mode, when the second camera 284 is activated, the processor 220 may change a capture icon 1330 in order to perform capturing in the multi-camera mode as illustrated in FIG. 13B as described in figs. 12-13 paragraph 148)); and if the face recognition is successful, determining the initial movement position as the target position (see ¶ 155 for if the face recognition is successful, determining the initial movement position as the target position (i.e. when an image is obtained via the first camera (operation 401 of FIG. 4), the electronic device may detect the face of a subject from the image obtained via the first camera in operation 801 as described in fig. 8 paragraph 122, furthermore, when the movement of the main object is detected, the electronic device may determine whether the main object enters the second camera area in operation 1511, for example, the processor 220 may determine whether the main object 1720 is located in a second camera area 1710 as illustrated in FIG. 17B paragraph 156))
Re claim 13, the combination of AN and Cutler as discussed in claim 1 above discloses all the claimed limitations but fails to explicitly teach wherein the preset hardware parameter comprises a preset focal length of the lens, the lens is made of metamaterials, and adjusting the hardware parameter of the camera to the preset hardware parameter when the trigger condition for entering the privacy mode is met comprises: when the trigger condition for entering the privacy mode is met, adjusting the focal length of the camera to the preset focal length, wherein the preset focal length is different from the focal length of the camera in the focused state. However, the reference of Cutler explicitly teaches wherein the preset hardware parameter comprises a preset focal length of the lens, the lens is made of metamaterials, and adjusting the hardware parameter of the camera to the preset hardware parameter when the trigger condition for entering the privacy mode is met comprises: when the trigger condition for entering the privacy mode is met, adjusting the focal length of the camera to the preset focal length, wherein the preset focal length is different from the focal length of the camera in the focused state (see fig. 1 col. 2 lines 46-54 for the preset hardware parameter comprises a preset focal length of the lens, the lens is made of metamaterials, and adjusting the hardware parameter of the camera to the preset hardware parameter when the trigger condition for entering the privacy mode is met comprises: when the trigger condition for entering the privacy mode is met, adjusting the focal length of the camera to the preset focal length, wherein the preset focal length is different from the focal length of the camera in the focused state (i.e. flowing to decision operation 420, a privacy mode is determined, the privacy mode may: blur the background; replace the background; or be off (e.g. no blurring or background replacement), the privacy mode may be determined manually/automatically, different information may be used in determining the privacy mode selected, user privacy preferences 412 may include different preferences for one or more uses that define when to select a privacy mode and what image/fill to select when the privacy mode is set to background replacement as described in fig. 4 col. 5 lines 23-32, furthermore, a privacy mode may be created using a single camera that has an f/# less than or equal to about 1, for example, a 1080 p webcam may include a lens with f/#˂=1, an electromechanically adjustable aperture, an electromechanically adjustable focus and a VFOV=60.degree. (e.g. to capture body gestures), the camera may also include a range finder (e.g. ultrasonic), a lens with a low f/# has a small depth of field (DOF), the DOF can be adjusted using an aperture such that the camera can have a "normal mode" with a large DOF, and a "privacy mode" with a small DOF, using the privacy mode (e.g. f/#˂=1) increases the SNR since a lens with a smaller f/# gets more light then a lens with a higher f/# as described in fig. 7 col. 7 lines 42-53))
Therefore, taking the combined teachings of AN and Cutler as a whole, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate this feature (privacy mode) into the system of AN as taught by Cutler.
Per claim 13, AN and Cutler are combined for the same motivation as set forth in claim 1 above.
Re claim 14, AN discloses a camera monitoring device, comprising: wherein a clarity of an image captured by the camera under the preset hardware parameter is lower than a clarity of an image captured by the camera in a focused state (see ¶s 145-147 for a clarity of an image captured by the camera under the preset hardware parameter is lower than a clarity of an image captured by the camera in a focused state (i.e. the electronic device may change the second camera currently operating in an idle mode into an activation mode, for example, when an object 1312 is backlit, which is included in the second camera area 1310 in the image 1300 obtained via the first camera 282, as illustrated in FIG. 13A, the brightness value of the second camera area 1310 may be lower than the brightness value of the remaining area due to the backlight on the object 1312, in this instance, the processor 220 may control the second camera 284 to change to the activation mode, when the second camera 284 is activated, the processor 220 may change a capture icon 1330 in order to perform capturing in the multi-camera mode as illustrated in FIG. 13B as described in figs. 12-13 paragraph 148))
AN fails to explicitly teach a parameter adjuster configured to adjust a hardware parameter of a camera to a preset hardware parameter when a trigger condition for entering a privacy mode is met and a monitor configured to use the camera with an adjusted hardware parameter to monitor a target scene in a privacy mode. However, the reference of Cutler explicitly teaches a parameter adjuster configured to adjust a hardware parameter of a camera to a preset hardware parameter when a trigger condition for entering a privacy mode is met and a monitor configured to use the camera with an adjusted hardware parameter to monitor a target scene in a privacy mode (see fig. 1 col. 2 lines 46-54 for a parameter adjuster configured to adjust a hardware parameter of a camera to a preset hardware parameter when a trigger condition for entering a privacy mode is met and a monitor configured to use the camera with an adjusted hardware parameter to monitor a target scene in a privacy mode (i.e. flowing to decision operation 420, a privacy mode is determined, the privacy mode may: blur the background; replace the background; or be off (e.g. no blurring or background replacement), the privacy mode may be determined manually/automatically, different information may be used in determining the privacy mode selected, user privacy preferences 412 may include different preferences for one or more uses that define when to select a privacy mode and what image/fill to select when the privacy mode is set to background replacement as described in fig. 4 col. 5 lines 23-32, furthermore, a privacy mode may be created using a single camera that has an f/# less than or equal to about 1, for example, a 1080 p webcam may include a lens with f/#˂=1, an electromechanically adjustable aperture, an electromechanically adjustable focus and a VFOV=60.degree. (e.g. to capture body gestures), the camera may also include a range finder (e.g. ultrasonic), a lens with a low f/# has a small depth of field (DOF), the DOF can be adjusted using an aperture such that the camera can have a "normal mode" with a large DOF, and a "privacy mode" with a small DOF, using the privacy mode (e.g. f/#˂=1) increases the SNR since a lens with a smaller f/# gets more light then a lens with a higher f/# as described in fig. 7 col. 7 lines 42-53))
Therefore, taking the combined teachings of AN and Cutler as a whole, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate this feature (privacy mode) into the system of AN as taught by Cutler.
One will be motivated to incorporate the above feature into the system of AN as taught by Cutler for the benefit of using a privacy camera, such as a light field camera that includes an array of cameras or an RGBZ (RGB+depth) camera(s)) to capture images and display images according to a selected privacy mode, wherein the privacy mode may include a blur background mode and a background replacement mode, wherein a region of interest and/or an object(s) of interest (e.g. one or more persons in a foreground) is determined and the privacy camera is configured (e.g. depending on the type of camera) to clearly show the region/object of interest and the background according to the selected privacy mode, wherein the displayed image includes the region/object(s) of interest clearly shown (e.g. in focus) and any objects in a background of the combined image shown having a limited depth of field (e.g. blurry/not in focus) and/or the background replaced with another image and/or fill, wherein the privacy camera may also be used to determine a depth estimate for object in a scene in order to improve efficiency when selecting a privacy mode to capture images and display images (see col. 1 lines 25-40)
Re claim 19, AN discloses an intelligent device, comprising: one or more processors (i.e. one or more processors as described in paragraph 201); a memory (i.e. memory 230 as described in paragraph 201); and one or more applications, wherein the one or more applications are stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the processor to (i.e. at least some of devices (e.g., modules or functions thereof) or methods (e.g., operations) according to various embodiments may be implemented by an instruction which is stored a computer-readable storage medium (e.g., the memory 230) in the form of a program module, the instruction, when executed by a processor (e.g., the processor 220 or 520), may cause the one or more processors to execute the function corresponding to the instruction as described in paragraph 201) wherein a clarity of an image captured by the camera under the preset hardware parameter is lower than a clarity of an image captured by the camera in a focused state (see ¶s 145-147 for a clarity of an image captured by the camera under the preset hardware parameter is lower than a clarity of an image captured by the camera in a focused state (i.e. the electronic device may change the second camera currently operating in an idle mode into an activation mode, for example, when an object 1312 is backlit, which is included in the second camera area 1310 in the image 1300 obtained via the first camera 282, as illustrated in FIG. 13A, the brightness value of the second camera area 1310 may be lower than the brightness value of the remaining area due to the backlight on the object 1312, in this instance, the processor 220 may control the second camera 284 to change to the activation mode, when the second camera 284 is activated, the processor 220 may change a capture icon 1330 in order to perform capturing in the multi-camera mode as illustrated in FIG. 13B as described in figs. 12-13 paragraph 148))
AN fails to explicitly teach adjust a hardware parameter of a camera to a preset hardware parameter when a trigger condition for entering a privacy mode is met and use the camera with an adjusted hardware parameter to monitor a target scene in a privacy mode. However, the reference of Cutler explicitly teaches adjust a hardware parameter of a camera to a preset hardware parameter when a trigger condition for entering a privacy mode is met and use the camera with an adjusted hardware parameter to monitor a target scene in a privacy mode (see fig. 1 col. 2 lines 46-54 for adjust a hardware parameter of a camera to a preset hardware parameter when a trigger condition for entering a privacy mode is met and use the camera with an adjusted hardware parameter to monitor a target scene in a privacy mode (i.e. flowing to decision operation 420, a privacy mode is determined, the privacy mode may: blur the background; replace the background; or be off (e.g. no blurring or background replacement), the privacy mode may be determined manually/automatically, different information may be used in determining the privacy mode selected, user privacy preferences 412 may include different preferences for one or more uses that define when to select a privacy mode and what image/fill to select when the privacy mode is set to background replacement as described in fig. 4 col. 5 lines 23-32, furthermore, a privacy mode may be created using a single camera that has an f/# less than or equal to about 1, for example, a 1080 p webcam may include a lens with f/#˂=1, an electromechanically adjustable aperture, an electromechanically adjustable focus and a VFOV=60.degree. (e.g. to capture body gestures), the camera may also include a range finder (e.g. ultrasonic), a lens with a low f/# has a small depth of field (DOF), the DOF can be adjusted using an aperture such that the camera can have a "normal mode" with a large DOF, and a "privacy mode" with a small DOF, using the privacy mode (e.g. f/#˂=1) increases the SNR since a lens with a smaller f/# gets more light then a lens with a higher f/# as described in fig. 7 col. 7 lines 42-53))
Therefore, taking the combined teachings of AN and Cutler as a whole, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate this feature (privacy mode) into the system of AN as taught by Cutler.
One will be motivated to incorporate the above feature into the system of AN as taught by Cutler for the benefit of using a privacy camera, such as a light field camera that includes an array of cameras or an RGBZ (RGB+depth) camera(s)) to capture images and display images according to a selected privacy mode, wherein the privacy mode may include a blur background mode and a background replacement mode, wherein a region of interest and/or an object(s) of interest (e.g. one or more persons in a foreground) is determined and the privacy camera is configured (e.g. depending on the type of camera) to clearly show the region/object of interest and the background according to the selected privacy mode, wherein the displayed image includes the region/object(s) of interest clearly shown (e.g. in focus) and any objects in a background of the combined image shown having a limited depth of field (e.g. blurry/not in focus) and/or the background replaced with another image and/or fill, wherein the privacy camera may also be used to determine a depth estimate for object in a scene in order to improve efficiency when selecting a privacy mode to capture images and display images (see col. 1 lines 25-40)
Re claim 21, the combination of AN and Cutler as discussed in claims 2 and 19 above discloses all the claimed limitations of claim 21.
Claims 3 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AN et al. (US 2019/0199926 A1)(hereinafter AN) as applied to claims 1, 2, 4, 8, 11, 13, 14, 19 and 21 above, and further in view of Cutler et al. (US 9,124,762 B2)(hereinafter Cutler), and further in view of KIM (US 2023/0306780 A1)(hereinafter KIM).
Re claim 3, the combination of AN and Cutler as discussed in claim 2 above discloses all the claimed limitations but fails to explicitly teach wherein before moving the lens of the camera to the target position when the trigger condition for entering the privacy mode is met, the method further comprises: acquiring a first scene image captured by the camera in the focused state for the target scene; performing face recognition on the first scene image; matching a recognized face image with a pre-stored user face image; and when a target face image in the first scene image matches the pre-stored user face image, determining that the trigger condition for entering the privacy mode is met. However, the reference of KIM explicitly teaches wherein before moving the lens of the camera to the target position when the trigger condition for entering the privacy mode is met, the method further comprises: acquiring a first scene image captured by the camera in the focused state for the target scene (see ¶ 66 for before moving the lens of the camera to the target position when the trigger condition for entering the privacy mode is met, the method further comprises: acquiring a first scene image captured by the camera in the focused state for the target scene (i.e. the video processing device 210 may operate in a privacy mode, for example, the video processing device 210 may sense an image of a face (“face image”) from the captured video, and enter the privacy mode based on the sensed face image as shown in fig. 2)); performing face recognition on the first scene image (see ¶ 75 for performing face recognition on the first scene image (i.e. the face detector 216 is configured to sense a face included in the processed image PRIMG, and provide face image information set FI according to the sensing result, the face detector 216 may detect an area including the face image in the processed image PRIMG to acquire and/or store the detected face image, and provide feature information of the detected face image, for example, feature points as the face image information set FI as shown in fig. 2)); matching a recognized face image with a pre-stored user face image (see ¶s 75-76 for matching a recognized face image with a pre-stored user face image (i.e. a storage medium such as the memory 230 may be implemented in the form of a memory device or system which is known or developed in this field, and configured to store the first to n-th reference image information sets RFI1 to RFIn, the memory 230 may further store privacy levels associated with the first to n-th reference image information sets RFI1 to RFIn, respectively as described in fig. 2 paragraph 77, furthermore, the privacy level controller 217 is configured to compare the face image information set FI to the first to n-th reference image information sets RFI1 to RFIn, and report the comparison result to the main processor 215, the privacy level controller 217 may enable an alarm signal ALR when a reference image information set matches the face image information set FI is present in the first to n-th reference image information sets RFI1 to RFIn as described in fig. 2 paragraph 78). Also, see paragraph 79); and when a target face image in the first scene image matches the pre-stored user face image, determining that the trigger condition for entering the privacy mode is met (see ¶s 75-76 for when a target face image in the first scene image matches the pre-stored user face image, determining that the trigger condition for entering the privacy mode is met (i.e. the video processing device 210 may operate in a privacy mode, for example, the video processing device 210 may sense an image of a face (“face image”) from the captured video, and enter the privacy mode based on the sensed face image as described in fig. 2 paragraph 66, furthermore, a storage medium such as the memory 230 may be implemented in the form of a memory device or system which is known or developed in this field, and configured to store the first to n-th reference image information sets RFI1 to RFIn, the memory 230 may further store privacy levels associated with the first to n-th reference image information sets RFI1 to RFIn, respectively as described in fig. 2 paragraph 77, moreover, the privacy level controller 217 is configured to compare the face image information set FI to the first to n-th reference image information sets RFI1 to RFIn, and report the comparison result to the main processor 215, the privacy level controller 217 may enable an alarm signal ALR when a reference image information set matches the face image information set FI is present in the first to n-th reference image information sets RFI1 to RFIn as described in fig. 2 paragraph 78). Also, see paragraph 79)
Therefore, taking the combined teachings of AN, Cutler and KIM as a whole, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate this feature (privacy mode) into the system of AN as taught by KIM.
One will be motivated to incorporate the above feature into the system of AN as taught by KIM for the benefit of having a video processing device 210 that may operate in a privacy mode, for example, the video processing device 210 may sense an image of a face (“face image”) from the captured video, and enter the privacy mode based on the sensed face image, wherein the video processing device 210 can provide a plurality of privacy levels during the privacy mode, wherein the video processing device 210 may select any one of the plurality of privacy levels based on the sensed face image, wherein the video capturing operation and the operations associated with the captured video are selectively stopped and/or controlled according to the selected privacy level in order to ease the processing time when entering the privacy mode based on the sensed face image (see fig. 2 ¶s 66-67)
Re claim 15, the combination of AN, Cutler and KIM as discussed in claim 3, and also claim 14 above discloses all the claimed limitations of claim 15.
Re claim 16, the combination of AN, Cutler and KIM as discussed in claim 15 above discloses all the claim limitations with additional claimed feature taught by AN obtain a current object distance of the target face image in the target scene from the camera (see ¶ 116 for obtain a current object distance of the target face image in the target scene from the camera (i.e. when an image is obtained via the first camera (operation 401 of FIG. 4), the electronic device may detect the distance between the electronic device and an object on which focus is set in the image obtained via the first camera in operation 601 as described in fig. 6 paragraph 117, furthermore, when an image is obtained via the first camera (operation 401 of FIG. 4), the electronic device may detect the face of a subject from the image obtained via the first camera in operation 801 as described in fig. 8 paragraph 122)); determine a current depth of field range based on the current object distance and a preset object distance-depth of field mapping relationship (see ¶ 116 for determine a current depth of field range based on a current object distance and a preset object distance-depth of field mapping relationship (i.e. the processor 220 may estimate the distance to the subject on which focus is set, on the basis of the focal distance of the first camera 282 for obtaining the image or depth information of an object included in the image as described in fig. 6 paragraph 117)); determine an initial movement position based on the current depth of field range, wherein the depth of field range of the camera lens at the initial movement position does not overlap with the current depth of field range (see ¶ 116 for determine an initial movement position based on the current depth of field range, wherein the depth of field range of the camera lens at the initial movement position does not overlap with the current depth of field range (i.e. the processor 220 may estimate the distance to the subject on which focus is set, on the basis of the focal distance of the first camera 282 for obtaining the image or depth information of an object included in the image as described in fig. 6 paragraph 117, furthermore, the electronic device may determine whether movement of the main object is detected in operation 1509, for example, the processor 220 may compare preview images periodically obtained via the first camera 282 so as to determine whether the location of the main object 1720 is changed, when the location of the main object 1720 is changed, the processor 220 may determine that movement of the main object 1720 is detected as described in figs. 15, 17 paragraph 155)); and determine a target position based on the initial movement position (see ¶ 155 for determine a target position based on the initial movement position (i.e. when the movement of the main object is detected, the electronic device may determine whether the main object enters the second camera area in operation 1511, for example, the processor 220 may determine whether the main object 1720 is located in a second camera area 1710 as illustrated in FIG. 17B paragraph 156))
AN fails to explicitly teach wherein the parameter adjuster is further configured to: when the trigger condition for entering the privacy mode is met. However, the reference of Cutler explicitly teaches wherein the parameter adjuster is further configured to: when the trigger condition for entering the privacy mode is met (see fig. 1 col. 2 lines 46-54 for the parameter adjuster is further configured to: when the trigger condition for entering the privacy mode is met (i.e. flowing to decision operation 420, a privacy mode is determined, the privacy mode may: blur the background; replace the background; or be off (e.g. no blurring or background replacement), the privacy mode may be determined manually/automatically, different information may be used in determining the privacy mode selected, user privacy preferences 412 may include different preferences for one or more uses that define when to select a privacy mode and what image/fill to select when the privacy mode is set to background replacement as described in fig. 4 col. 5 lines 23-32, furthermore, a privacy mode may be created using a single camera that has an f/# less than or equal to about 1, for example, a 1080 p webcam may include a lens with f/#˂=1, an electromechanically adjustable aperture, an electromechanically adjustable focus and a VFOV=60.degree. (e.g. to capture body gestures), the camera may also include a range finder (e.g. ultrasonic), a lens with a low f/# has a small depth of field (DOF), the DOF can be adjusted using an aperture such that the camera can have a "normal mode" with a large DOF, and a "privacy mode" with a small DOF, using the privacy mode (e.g. f/#˂=1) increases the SNR since a lens with a smaller f/# gets more light then a lens with a higher f/# as described in fig. 7 col. 7 lines 42-53))
Therefore, taking the combined teachings of AN, Cutler and KIM as a whole, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate this feature (privacy mode) into the system of AN as taught by Cutler.
One will be motivated to incorporate the above feature into the system of AN as taught by Cutler for the benefit of using a privacy camera, such as a light field camera that includes an array of cameras or an RGBZ (RGB+depth) camera(s)) to capture images and display images according to a selected privacy mode, wherein the privacy mode may include a blur background mode and a background replacement mode, wherein a region of interest and/or an object(s) of interest (e.g. one or more persons in a foreground) is determined and the privacy camera is configured (e.g. depending on the type of camera) to clearly show the region/object of interest and the background according to the selected privacy mode, wherein the displayed image includes the region/object(s) of interest clearly shown (e.g. in focus) and any objects in a background of the combined image shown having a limited depth of field (e.g. blurry/not in focus) and/or the background replaced with another image and/or fill, wherein the privacy camera may also be used to determine a depth estimate for object in a scene in order to improve efficiency when selecting a privacy mode to capture images and display images (see col. 1 lines 25-40)
Re claim 17, the combination of AN, Cutler and KIM as discussed in claim 16 above discloses all the claim limitations with additional claimed feature taught by AN wherein the parameter adjuster is configured to: acquire a second scene image captured by the camera at the initial movement position (see ¶ 155 for the parameter adjuster is configured to: acquire a second scene image captured by the camera at the initial movement position (i.e. when an image is obtained via the first camera (operation 401 of FIG. 4), the electronic device may detect the face of a subject from the image obtained via the first camera in operation 801 as described in fig. 8 paragraph 122, furthermore, when the movement of the main object is detected, the electronic device may determine whether the main object enters the second camera area in operation 1511, for example, the processor 220 may determine whether the main object 1720 is located in a second camera area 1710 as illustrated in FIG. 17B paragraph 156)); determine whether a clarity of the second scene image exceeds a preset value (see ¶ 118 for determine whether a clarity of the second scene image exceeds a preset value (i.e. activating the second camera when a difference in brightness value between the area corresponding to the angle of view of the second camera and a remaining area exceeds a reference value as described in paragraph 103, furthermore, when the distance to the subject on which focus is set exceeds the reference distance, the electronic device may obtain the second camera information from the image obtained via the first camera in operation 605, for example, when the distance between an electronic device 700 and a subject 720 on which focus is set in an image obtained via a first camera 702 exceeds a reference distance as shown in FIG. 7, the processor 220 may determine that the electronic device 700 is capable of capturing an image using a second camera 703 as described in figs. 6-7 paragraph 119). Also, see fig. 12 paragraph 147); and if the clarity of the second scene image does not exceed the preset value, determine the initial movement position as the target position (see ¶s 145-146 for if the clarity of the second scene image does not exceed the preset value, determine the initial movement position as the target position (i.e. the electronic device may change the second camera currently operating in an idle mode into an activation mode, for example, when an object 1312 is backlit, which is included in the second camera area 1310 in the image 1300 obtained via the first camera 282, as illustrated in FIG. 13A, the brightness value of the second camera area 1310 may be lower than the brightness value of the remaining area due to the backlight on the object 1312, in this instance, the processor 220 may control the second camera 284 to change to the activation mode, when the second camera 284 is activated, the processor 220 may change a capture icon 1330 in order to perform capturing in the multi-camera mode as illustrated in FIG. 13B as described in figs. 12-13 paragraph 148))
Re claim 18, the combination of AN, Cutler and KIM as discussed in claim 17 above discloses all the claim limitations with additional claimed feature taught by AN wherein the parameter adjuster is further configured to: if the clarity of the second scene image does not exceed the preset value, perform face recognition (see ¶s 145-146 for wherein the parameter adjuster is further configured to: if the clarity of the second scene image does not exceed the preset value, perform face recognition (i.e. the electronic device may change the second camera currently operating in an idle mode into an activation mode, for example, when an object 1312 is backlit, which is included in the second camera area 1310 in the image 1300 obtained via the first camera 282, as illustrated in FIG. 13A, the brightness value of the second camera area 1310 may be lower than the brightness value of the remaining area due to the backlight on the object 1312, in this instance, the processor 220 may control the second camera 284 to change to the activation mode, when the second camera 284 is activated, the processor 220 may change a capture icon 1330 in order to perform capturing in the multi-camera mode as illustrated in FIG. 13B as described in figs. 12-13 paragraph 148)); and if the face recognition is successful, determine the initial movement position as the target position (see ¶ 155 for if the face recognition is successful, determine the initial movement position as the target position (i.e. when an image is obtained via the first camera (operation 401 of FIG. 4), the electronic device may detect the face of a subject from the image obtained via the first camera in operation 801 as described in fig. 8 paragraph 122, furthermore, when the movement of the main object is detected, the electronic device may determine whether the main object enters the second camera area in operation 1511, for example, the processor 220 may determine whether the main object 1720 is located in a second camera area 1710 as illustrated in FIG. 17B paragraph 156))
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AN et al. (US 2019/0199926 A1)(hereinafter AN) as applied to claims 1, 2, 4, 8, 11, 13, 14, 19 and 21 above, and further in view of Cutler et al. (US 9,124,762 B2)(hereinafter Cutler), and further in view of UDAYAKUMAR et al. (US 2020/0036889 A1)(hereinafter UDAYAKUMAR).
Re claim 9, the combination of AN and Cutler as discussed in claim 8 above discloses all the claimed limitations but fails to explicitly teach wherein the clarity of the second scene image is calculated using a no-reference image quality assessment algorithm. However, the reference of UDAYAKUMAR explicitly teaches wherein the clarity of the second scene image is calculated using a no-reference image quality assessment algorithm (see ¶s 43, 53 for the clarity of the second scene image is calculated using a no-reference image quality assessment algorithm (i.e. the image score generator 204 may be configured to train and utilize a no-reference quality assessment model to analyze a quality level and determine the cumulative image score of the rendered preview, an algorithm such as, a Natural Image Quality Evaluator (NIQE), a Blind Image Spatial Quality Evaluator (BRISQUE), and the like, may be utilized to train the no-reference quality assessment model as described in figs. 1-3 paragraph 47, furthermore, the calculated Laplacian variance may depict a clarity of edges of each pixel of the plurality of pixels, on a scale ranging from 0 to 10, for example, if the Laplacian variance is estimated to be above a defined threshold value, the image frames of the video may be considered to be sharp as described in figs. 1-3 paragraph 59))
Therefore, taking the combined teachings of AN, Cutler and UDAYAKUMAR as a whole, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate this feature (no-reference image quality assessment algorithm) into the system of AN as taught by UDAYAKUMAR.
One will be motivated to incorporate the above feature into the system of AN as taught by UDAYAKUMAR for the benefit of having as image score generator 204 that may be configured to train and utilize a no-reference quality assessment model to analyze a quality level and determine the cumulative image score of the rendered preview, wherein an algorithm such as, a Natural Image Quality Evaluator (NIQE), a Blind Image Spatial Quality Evaluator (BRISQUE), and the like, may be utilized to train the no-reference quality assessment model, wherein the NIQE algorithm and the BRISQUE algorithm may use identical predictable statistical features, also referred to as natural scene statistics (NSS) in order to ease the processing time when utilizing an algorithm such as, a Natural Image Quality Evaluator (NIQE), a Blind Image Spatial Quality Evaluator (BRISQUE), and the like to train the no-reference quality assessment model (see figs. 1-3 ¶ 47)
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AN et al. (US 2019/0199926 A1)(hereinafter AN) as applied to claims 1, 2, 4, 8, 11, 13, 14, 19 and 21 above, and further in view of Cutler et al. (US 9,124,762 B2)(hereinafter Cutler), and further in view of UDAYAKUMAR et al. (US 2020/0036889 A1)(hereinafter UDAYAKUMAR), and further in view of GAO et al. (US 2022/0245792 A1)(hereinafter GAO).
Re claim 10, the combination of AN, Cutler and UDAYAKUMAR as discussed in claim 9 above discloses all the claimed limitations but fails to explicitly teach wherein the no-reference image quality assessment algorithm. However, the reference of UDAYAKUMAR explicitly teaches wherein the no-reference image quality assessment algorithm (see ¶s 43, 53 for the no-reference image quality assessment algorithm (i.e. the image score generator 204 may be configured to train and utilize a no-reference quality assessment model to analyze a quality level and determine the cumulative image score of the rendered preview, an algorithm such as, a Natural Image Quality Evaluator (NIQE), a Blind Image Spatial Quality Evaluator (BRISQUE), and the like, may be utilized to train the no-reference quality assessment model as described in figs. 1-3 paragraph 47, furthermore, the calculated Laplacian variance may depict a clarity of edges of each pixel of the plurality of pixels, on a scale ranging from 0 to 10, for example, if the Laplacian variance is estimated to be above a defined threshold value, the image frames of the video may be considered to be sharp as described in figs. 1-3 paragraph 59))
Therefore, taking the combined teachings of AN, Cutler and UDAYAKUMAR as a whole, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate this feature (no-reference image quality assessment algorithm) into the system of AN as taught by UDAYAKUMAR.
One will be motivated to incorporate the above feature into the system of AN as taught by UDAYAKUMAR for the benefit of having as image score generator 204 that may be configured to train and utilize a no-reference quality assessment model to analyze a quality level and determine the cumulative image score of the rendered preview, wherein an algorithm such as, a Natural Image Quality Evaluator (NIQE), a Blind Image Spatial Quality Evaluator (BRISQUE), and the like, may be utilized to train the no-reference quality assessment model, wherein the NIQE algorithm and the BRISQUE algorithm may use identical predictable statistical features, also referred to as natural scene statistics (NSS) in order to ease the processing time when utilizing an algorithm such as, a Natural Image Quality Evaluator (NIQE), a Blind Image Spatial Quality Evaluator (BRISQUE), and the like to train the no-reference quality assessment model (see figs. 1-3 ¶ 47)
Furthermore, AN fails to explicitly teach is a Brenner gradient function or a Tenengrad gradient function. However, the reference of GAO explicitly teaches is a Brenner gradient function or a Tenengrad gradient function (see ¶ 169 for a Brenner gradient function or a Tenengrad gradient function (i.e. a Brenner Gradient function, a Tenengrad gradient function))
Therefore, taking the combined teachings of AN, Cutler, UDAYAKUMAR and GAO as a whole, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate this feature (Brenner gradient function or Tenengrad gradient function) into the system of AN as taught by GAO.
One will be motivated to incorporate the above feature into the system of AN as taught by GAO for the benefit of having a processing device 112 that may determine that an image is a clear image in response to a determination that the clarity degree of the image exceeds the clarity degree threshold, wherein the blur degree may be determined based on an image clarity evaluation function, wherein exemplary image clarity evaluation functions may include a Brenner gradient function, a Tenengrad gradient function, wherein the blur degree threshold and/or the clarity degree threshold may be default settings of the O2O service system 100 or may be adjustable under different situations, for example, the blur degree threshold may be 0.8, or 0.5 in order to improve efficiency when determining blur degree based on an image clarity evaluation function including a Brenner gradient function, a Tenengrad gradient function (see ¶ 169)
Conclusion
6/11/2026
/JOSE M. MESA/
Examiner
Art Unit 2484
/THAI Q TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2484