DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the plurality of fluid directing elements" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Teller (EP 3972097 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Teller discloses a shaft earthing arrangement comprising:
a housing (1 of Figure 1-2) which receives a shaft (5 of Figure 2); and
a fluid (Para. 0196, 0209),
wherein the shaft is associated with an earthing ring (4 of Figure 2) configured to produce an electrically conductive contact between the shaft and housing (Para. 0068), wherein the earthing ring has a disk-shaped contact member supported in a lip-like manner on a covering of the shaft (see Figures 2, 12),
wherein a first contact face is formed from the contact member and a second contact face is formed from the shaft (see Figures 2, 12), and
wherein at least one of the first contact face and the second contact face is provided with a surface structuring (see Figures 2, 12).
Regarding claim 2, Teller discloses wherein the contact member (4 of Figure 2) has a matrix comprising nonwoven fabric (Para. 0059, PTFE).
Regarding claim 4, Teller discloses wherein the surface structuring comprises grooves (88 of Figures 43a, 43b) which extend in a circumferential direction.
Regarding claim 7, Teller discloses wherein the surface structuring is introduced into the first contact face (4 of Figure 2; see Figures 42-52).
Regarding claim 8, Teller discloses wherein the surface structuring is pressed into the first contact face (Para. 0141).
Regarding claim 9, Teller discloses wherein the contact member (4 of Figure 2) is associated with a resilient member (14 of Figure 8) which presses the contact member against the shaft (5 of Figure 2) with resilient pretensioning.
Regarding claim 10, Teller discloses wherein the surface structuring is introduced into the resilient member (14 of Figure 8; Para. 0141).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teller (EP 3972097 A1), in view of Hsieh (US 2009/0015083).
Regarding claim 3, Teller discloses all of the elements of the current invention as mentioned above, however does not explicitly disclose wherein the surface structuring is introduced into the second contact face (claim 3);
wherein the grooves are formed annularly or in a manner of a screw thread (claim 5).
Hsieh discloses wherein the surface structuring (31 of Figure 2-6) is introduced into the second contact face (22 of Figure 2-6) (claim 3);
wherein the grooves (31 of Figure 2-6) are formed annularly or in a manner of a screw thread (see Figures 2-6) (claim 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have the surface structuring of Teller introduced into the second contact face and formed annularly or in a manner of a screw thread, as taught by Hsieh, to reduce the degree of wear over long periods of time [Hsieh: Para. 0026].
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teller (EP 3972097 A1), in view of Posedel (DE 3511755 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Teller discloses all of the elements of the current invention as mentioned above, however does not explicitly disclose wherein the surface structuring is non-directed.
Posedel discloses wherein the surface structuring (30 of Figure 5) is non-directed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have the surface structuring of Teller be non-directed, as taught by Posedel, so that a multitude of spaced-apart rhombuses result as the actual contact surface [Posedel: Para. 0048].
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teller (EP 3972097 A1), in view of Reimnitz (US 2023/0307988).
Regarding claims 11, 12, Teller discloses all of the elements of the current invention as mentioned above, however does not explicitly disclose wherein fluid directing elements are associated with the earthing ring (4 of Figure 2) (claim 11);
wherein the plurality of fluid directing elements comprises two fluid directing elements, wherein a first fluid directing element of the two fluid directing elements is associated with a first end side of the contact member and a second fluid directing element of the two fluid directing elements is associated with a second end side of the contact member (claim 12).
Reimnitz discloses wherein fluid directing elements (14 of Figure 4) are associated with the earthing ring (11 of Figure 4) (claim 11);
wherein the plurality of fluid directing elements comprises two fluid directing elements (14 of Figure 4), wherein a first fluid directing element of the two fluid directing elements is associated with a first end side of the contact member (11 of Figure 4) and a second fluid directing element of the two fluid directing elements is associated with a second end side of the contact member (see Figure 4) (claim 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have fluid directing elements in the element of Teller, as taught by Reimnitz, to protect the shaft grounding element from unwanted external influences [Reimnitz: Para. 0052].
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bantz (US 2022/0247284) discloses a grounding ring.
Lenz (WO 2017/148586 A1) discloses a shaft grounding ring.
Conclusion
/Charles Reid Jr./ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834