DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 20-28 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kang et al., US 2021/0402653 A1.
Regarding claim 20, Kang teaches a nanoimprinting stamp (100 of Fig. 5b, [0038]) comprising at least one textured area (“MA” of Fig. 3b) and at least one barrier adjacent to the textured area (“SA” of Fig. 3b). Although Kang does not explicitly state that the stamp is “substantially flexible,” Kang teaches that the stamp may be made form polydimethylsiloxane ([0025]), which is a flexible material. The barrier “SA” portion of the stamp of Kang is continuous and extends over at least one side of the textured area (Fig. 3a, [0022]). The barrier has a substantially uniform height which is higher than the highest peak of the textured area (Fig. 3b, [0023]). The stamp of Kang is shaped such that it is capable of producing a textured product with a textured area that is adjacent to or surrounded by a contact surface that is created by the barrier portion of the stamp, with the maximum residual layer thickness of the contact surface being smaller than the maximum residual layer thickness of the imprinted textured area.
Note that although Kang does not characterize the stamp as being for “roll-to-plate” imprinting as specified in the preamble of claim 20, the recitation of “for roll-to-plate imprinting” in the present claim 20 is a statement of intended use that cannot distinguish the claimed invention because there is no apparent reason why the stamp of Kang couldn’t be used for roll-to-plate imprinting.
Regarding claims 21 and 23, the barrier “SA” portion of Kang is continuous and substantially encloses the textured “MA” area (Fig. 3a, [0022]).
Regarding claim 22, the height and width of the barrier portions of Kang are substantially uniform (Fig. 3b).
Regarding claim 24, the barrier portion of Kang features a substantially flat end surface (Fig. 3b).
Regarding claims 25-28, any of the open portions between the barrier elements in the “SA” region and the associated projections of the product of Kang can be regarded as corresponding to the claimed “reservoir elements,” resulting in “reservoir elements” that are located at the circumference of the stamp, are equal in height to the barrier elements, and are on a side of the barrier opposite the textured “MA” area.
Regarding claim 38, although Kang does not explicitly teach that the stamp is transparent or translucent to UV light, Kang teaches that the stamp may be made from polydimethylsiloxane, which is transparent to UV light.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7-02-2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding the teachings of Kang, Applicant argues that Kang does not teach a stamp configured to produce a textured product with a textured area that is adjacent to or surrounded by a contact surface that is created by the barrier portion of the stamp, with the maximum residual layer thickness of the contact surface being smaller than the maximum residual layer thickness of the imprinted textured area. This argument is unpersuasive because the stamp of Kang is substantially identical in shape to that which Applicant’s specification teaches to be used in the specified manner, and Kang depicts the use of the stamp to make such a product (Kang’s Fig. 5d). See, for example, stamp 100 Kang’s Fig. 3b vs. stamp 100 of Applicant’s Fig. 1a. As the stamp of Kang is capable of being used in the specified manner, the limitations cannot distinguish the claimed stamp from the stamp of Kang.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/IAN A RUMMEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1785