Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on 8/10/2026 have been entered.
Claims 1, 3, 7, 10-11, 20, 22, 25, 34 have been amended.
Claims 2, 6, and 21 have been cancelled
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 8/10/2026 have been fully considered but not persuasive.
Applicant 1st argument
Claims 1, 20 and 34.
Examiner response to 1st argument:
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant argues that Ma does not teach the subject matter “in response to monitoring… and the inference performance of AI mode..” without providing additional details in the claim, however as presented here MA teaches this subject matter ([0270-0276, 0318] the network device 352 instructs the UE to switch into a non-AI mode for one, some, or all of the following reasons: power consumption is too high (e.g. power consumption of UE or network exceeds a threshold); and/or the network load drops (e.g. fewer UEs being served) such that it is expected that a conventional non-AI air interface will provide suitable performance; and/or service type change such that it is expected that a conventional non-AI air interface will provide suitable performance; and/or the channel between the UE and a TRP is (or is predicted to be) of high quality (e.g. above a particular threshold) such that it is expected that a conventional non-AI air interface will provide suitable performance; and/or the channel between the UE and a TRP has improved (or is predicted to improve) because, for example, the UE's moving speed reduces, the SINR improves, the channel types changes (e.g. from non-LoS to LoS or multi-path effect reduces, etc.) such that it is expected that a conventional non-AI air interface will provide suitable performance; and/or a KPI is not meeting expectations (e.g. a KPI drops below a particular threshold or falls within a particular range), indicating low performance of the AI (e.g. performance of the AI degrading and falling below a particular threshold); and/or system capacity is constrained; and/or training or retraining of the AI needs to be performed)
Applicant 2nd argument:
Claim 6.
Examiner response to 2nd argument:
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant argues that MA does not teach the subject matter in claim 6 without providing additional details in the claim. Examiner has recognized that claim 6 has been cancelled and the subject matter has now raised to claim 1. As presented here and below, MA teaches the subject matter of cancelled claim 6 or the new limitation in claim 1 wherein the switching request is used to request switching to the non-AI mode for communication ([0270-0276, 0318] the network device 352 instructs the UE to switch into a non-AI mode for one, some, or all of the following reasons: power consumption is too high (e.g. power consumption of UE or network exceeds a threshold); and/or the network load drops (e.g. fewer UEs being served) such that it is expected that a conventional non-AI air interface will provide suitable performance; and/or service type change such that it is expected that a conventional non-AI air interface will provide suitable performance; and/or the channel between the UE and a TRP is (or is predicted to be) of high quality (e.g. above a particular threshold) such that it is expected that a conventional non-AI air interface will provide suitable performance; and/or the channel between the UE and a TRP has improved (or is predicted to improve) because, for example, the UE's moving speed reduces, the SINR improves, the channel types changes (e.g. from non-LoS to LoS or multi-path effect reduces, etc.) such that it is expected that a conventional non-AI air interface will provide suitable performance; and/or a KPI is not meeting expectations (e.g. a KPI drops below a particular threshold or falls within a particular range), indicating low performance of the AI (e.g. performance of the AI degrading and falling below a particular threshold); and/or system capacity is constrained; and/or training or retraining of the AI needs to be performed)([0275] UE requests to switch to downgrade to non-AI mode, the network device downgrades the UE to non-AI mode);
wherein the dedicated communication resource is a communication resource dedicated to requesting switching from the Al mode to the non-AI mode for communication ([0270] the network device 352 instructs the UE to switch into a non-AI mode for one, some, or all of the following reasons: power consumption is too high (e.g. power consumption of UE or network exceeds a threshold); and/or the network load drops (e.g. fewer UEs being served) such that it is expected that a conventional non-AI air interface will provide suitable performance; and/or service type change such that it is expected that a conventional non-AI air interface will provide suitable performance; and/or the channel between the UE and a TRP is (or is predicted to be) of high quality (e.g. above a particular threshold) such that it is expected that a conventional non-AI air interface will provide suitable performance; and/or the channel between the UE and a TRP has improved (or is predicted to improve) because, for example, the UE's moving speed reduces, the SINR improves, the channel types changes (e.g. from non-LoS to LoS or multi-path effect reduces, etc.) such that it is expected that a conventional non-AI air interface will provide suitable performance; and/or a KPI is not meeting expectations (e.g. a KPI drops below a particular threshold or falls within a particular range), indicating low performance of the AI (e.g. performance of the AI degrading and falling below a particular threshold); and/or system capacity is constrained; and/or training or retraining of the AI needs to be performed,).
Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). An examiner must construe claim terms in the broadest reasonable manner during prosecution as is reasonably allowed in an effort to establish a clear record of what applicant intends to claim. Thus, the Office does not interpret claims in the same manner as the courts. In re Morris, 127 F.3d 1048, 1054, 44 USPQ2d 1023, 1028 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Zletz, 893 F.2d 319, 321-22, 13 USPQ2d 1320, 1321-22 (Fed. Cir. 1989). Though understanding the claim language may be aided by explanations contained in the written description, it is important not to import into a claim limitations that are not part of the claim. For example, a particular embodiment appearing in the written description may not be read into a claim when the claim language is broader than the embodiment." Superguide Corp. v. DirecTV Enterprises, Inc., 358 F.3d 870, 875, 69 USPQ2d 1865, 1868 (Fed. Cir. 2004). See also Liebel-Flarsheim Co. v. Medrad Inc., 358 F.3d 898, 906, 69 USPQ2d 1801, 1807 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
Applicant is reminded that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See in re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR international Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 11-14, 20, 34, 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a2) as being anticipated by Ma et al. (“Ma”, US 20230284139 A1) hereinafter Ma.
Regarding claim 1, Ma teaches a communication method, applied to a terminal (Fig. 5 Network device, UE is the terminal), the method comprising:
in response to monitoring that inference performance of an artificial intelligence (AI) model decreases during communication of the terminal in an AI mode and the inference performance of the AI model decreases to meet a preset condition ([0270-0276, 0318] the network device 352 instructs the UE to switch into a non-AI mode for one, some, or all of the following reasons: power consumption is too high (e.g. power consumption of UE or network exceeds a threshold); and/or the network load drops (e.g. fewer UEs being served) such that it is expected that a conventional non-AI air interface will provide suitable performance; and/or service type change such that it is expected that a conventional non-AI air interface will provide suitable performance; and/or the channel between the UE and a TRP is (or is predicted to be) of high quality (e.g. above a particular threshold) such that it is expected that a conventional non-AI air interface will provide suitable performance; and/or the channel between the UE and a TRP has improved (or is predicted to improve) because, for example, the UE's moving speed reduces, the SINR improves, the channel types changes (e.g. from non-LoS to LoS or multi-path effect reduces, etc.) such that it is expected that a conventional non-AI air interface will provide suitable performance; and/or a KPI is not meeting expectations (e.g. a KPI drops below a particular threshold or falls within a particular range), indicating low performance of the AI (e.g. performance of the AI degrading and falling below a particular threshold); and/or system capacity is constrained; and/or training or retraining of the AI needs to be performed) switching to a non-AI mode for communication ([0011] switching between AI-mode and non-AI mode).
sending the switching request to the network device based on a dedicated communication resource ([0270] the network device 352 instructs the UE to switch into a non-AI mode for one, some, or all of the following reasons: power consumption is too high (e.g. power consumption of UE or network exceeds a threshold); and/or the network load drops (e.g. fewer UEs being served) such that it is expected that a conventional non-AI air interface will provide suitable performance; and/or service type change such that it is expected that a conventional non-AI air interface will provide suitable performance; and/or the channel between the UE and a TRP is (or is predicted to be) of high quality (e.g. above a particular threshold) such that it is expected that a conventional non-AI air interface will provide suitable performance; and/or the channel between the UE and a TRP has improved (or is predicted to improve) because, for example, the UE's moving speed reduces, the SINR improves, the channel types changes (e.g. from non-LoS to LoS or multi-path effect reduces, etc.) such that it is expected that a conventional non-AI air interface will provide suitable performance; and/or a KPI is not meeting expectations (e.g. a KPI drops below a particular threshold or falls within a particular range), indicating low performance of the AI (e.g. performance of the AI degrading and falling below a particular threshold); and/or system capacity is constrained; and/or training or retraining of the AI needs to be performed,);
wherein the switching request is used to request switching to the non-AI mode for communication ([0270-0276, 0318] the network device 352 instructs the UE to switch into a non-AI mode for one, some, or all of the following reasons: power consumption is too high (e.g. power consumption of UE or network exceeds a threshold); and/or the network load drops (e.g. fewer UEs being served) such that it is expected that a conventional non-AI air interface will provide suitable performance; and/or service type change such that it is expected that a conventional non-AI air interface will provide suitable performance; and/or the channel between the UE and a TRP is (or is predicted to be) of high quality (e.g. above a particular threshold) such that it is expected that a conventional non-AI air interface will provide suitable performance; and/or the channel between the UE and a TRP has improved (or is predicted to improve) because, for example, the UE's moving speed reduces, the SINR improves, the channel types changes (e.g. from non-LoS to LoS or multi-path effect reduces, etc.) such that it is expected that a conventional non-AI air interface will provide suitable performance; and/or a KPI is not meeting expectations (e.g. a KPI drops below a particular threshold or falls within a particular range), indicating low performance of the AI (e.g. performance of the AI degrading and falling below a particular threshold); and/or system capacity is constrained; and/or training or retraining of the AI needs to be performed)([0275] UE requests to switch to downgrade to non-AI mode, the network device downgrades the UE to non-AI mode);
wherein the dedicated communication resource is a communication resource dedicated to requesting switching from the Al mode to the non-AI mode for communication ([0270] the network device 352 instructs the UE to switch into a non-AI mode for one, some, or all of the following reasons: power consumption is too high (e.g. power consumption of UE or network exceeds a threshold); and/or the network load drops (e.g. fewer UEs being served) such that it is expected that a conventional non-AI air interface will provide suitable performance; and/or service type change such that it is expected that a conventional non-AI air interface will provide suitable performance; and/or the channel between the UE and a TRP is (or is predicted to be) of high quality (e.g. above a particular threshold) such that it is expected that a conventional non-AI air interface will provide suitable performance; and/or the channel between the UE and a TRP has improved (or is predicted to improve) because, for example, the UE's moving speed reduces, the SINR improves, the channel types changes (e.g. from non-LoS to LoS or multi-path effect reduces, etc.) such that it is expected that a conventional non-AI air interface will provide suitable performance; and/or a KPI is not meeting expectations (e.g. a KPI drops below a particular threshold or falls within a particular range), indicating low performance of the AI (e.g. performance of the AI degrading and falling below a particular threshold); and/or system capacity is constrained; and/or training or retraining of the AI needs to be performed,).
Regarding claim 3, MA teaches the method according to claim 1,
MA teaches wherein switching to the non-AI mode for communication comprises:
receiving a switching confirmation instruction fed back by the network device based on the switching request ([0270-0276, 0318] the network device 352 instructs the UE to switch into a non-AI mode for one, some, or all of the following reasons: power consumption is too high (e.g. power consumption of UE or network exceeds a threshold); and/or the network load drops (e.g. fewer UEs being served) such that it is expected that a conventional non-AI air interface will provide suitable performance; and/or service type change such that it is expected that a conventional non-AI air interface will provide suitable performance; and/or the channel between the UE and a TRP is (or is predicted to be) of high quality (e.g. above a particular threshold) such that it is expected that a conventional non-AI air interface will provide suitable performance; and/or the channel between the UE and a TRP has improved (or is predicted to improve) because, for example, the UE's moving speed reduces, the SINR improves, the channel types changes (e.g. from non-LoS to LoS or multi-path effect reduces, etc.) such that it is expected that a conventional non-AI air interface will provide suitable performance; and/or a KPI is not meeting expectations (e.g. a KPI drops below a particular threshold or falls within a particular range), indicating low performance of the AI (e.g. performance of the AI degrading and falling below a particular threshold); and/or system capacity is constrained; and/or training or retraining of the AI needs to be performed) ([0275] UE requests to switch to downgrade to non-AI mode, the network device downgrades the UE to non-AI mode).; and
switching to the non-AI mode for communication based on the switching confirmation instruction ([0270-0276, 0318] the network device 352 instructs the UE to switch into a non-AI mode for one, some, or all of the following reasons: power consumption is too high (e.g. power consumption of UE or network exceeds a threshold); and/or the network load drops (e.g. fewer UEs being served) such that it is expected that a conventional non-AI air interface will provide suitable performance; and/or service type change such that it is expected that a conventional non-AI air interface will provide suitable performance; and/or the channel between the UE and a TRP is (or is predicted to be) of high quality (e.g. above a particular threshold) such that it is expected that a conventional non-AI air interface will provide suitable performance; and/or the channel between the UE and a TRP has improved (or is predicted to improve) because, for example, the UE's moving speed reduces, the SINR improves, the channel types changes (e.g. from non-LoS to LoS or multi-path effect reduces, etc.) such that it is expected that a conventional non-AI air interface will provide suitable performance; and/or a KPI is not meeting expectations (e.g. a KPI drops below a particular threshold or falls within a particular range), indicating low performance of the AI (e.g. performance of the AI degrading and falling below a particular threshold); and/or system capacity is constrained; and/or training or retraining of the AI needs to be performed) ([0275] UE requests to switch to downgrade to non-AI mode, the network device downgrades the UE to non-AI mode).
Regarding claim 4, MA teaches the method according to claim 3,
MA teaches wherein switching to the non-Al mode for communication based on the switching confirmation instruction comprises:
in response to receiving the switching confirmation instruction sent by the network device, switching to the non-AI mode for communication ([0270-0276, 0318] the network device 352 instructs the UE to switch into a non-AI mode for one, some, or all of the following reasons: power consumption is too high (e.g. power consumption of UE or network exceeds a threshold); and/or the network load drops (e.g. fewer UEs being served) such that it is expected that a conventional non-AI air interface will provide suitable performance; and/or service type change such that it is expected that a conventional non-AI air interface will provide suitable performance; and/or the channel between the UE and a TRP is (or is predicted to be) of high quality (e.g. above a particular threshold) such that it is expected that a conventional non-AI air interface will provide suitable performance; and/or the channel between the UE and a TRP has improved (or is predicted to improve) because, for example, the UE's moving speed reduces, the SINR improves, the channel types changes (e.g. from non-LoS to LoS or multi-path effect reduces, etc.) such that it is expected that a conventional non-AI air interface will provide suitable performance; and/or a KPI is not meeting expectations (e.g. a KPI drops below a particular threshold or falls within a particular range), indicating low performance of the AI (e.g. performance of the AI degrading and falling below a particular threshold); and/or system capacity is constrained; and/or training or retraining of the AI needs to be performed) ([0275] UE requests to switch to downgrade to non-AI mode, the network device downgrades the UE to non-AI mode)...
Regarding claim 5, MA teaches the method according to claim 3,
MA teaches wherein switching to the non-AI mode for communication based on the switching confirmation instruction comprises:
after a set time unit from receipt of the switching confirmation instruction sent by the network device, switching to the non-AI mode for communication ([0019] the measurement may be performed on demand, with different apparatuses (e.g. different UEs) possibly being instructed to perform measurements at different times or different intervals, and possibly transmitting back different content. Different modes of operation, including a non-AI mode and different AI implementations may be accommodated).
Regarding claim 11, MA teaches the method according to claim 1,
MA teaches wherein the dedicated communication resource comprises a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource dedicated to mode switching by the terminal ([0305] PUCCH resource indicator).
Regarding claim 12, MA teaches the method according to claim 11,
MA teaches wherein the switching confirmation instruction fed back by the network device based on the switching request is received based on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) ([0305] PUCCH resource indicator)([0054, 0280, 0298-0299, 0337] PDCCH).
Regarding claim 13, MA teaches the method according to claim 11,
MA teaches wherein switching to the non-Al mode for communication comprises:
in response to that the terminal completes PUCCH transmission based on the PUCCH resources ([0305] PUCCH resource indicator), switching to the non-AI mode for communication after a set time unit from completion of the PUCCH transmission ([0019] the measurement may be performed on demand, with different apparatuses (e.g. different UEs) possibly being instructed to perform measurements at different times or different intervals, and possibly transmitting back different content. Different modes of operation, including a non-AI mode and different AI implementations may be accommodated).
Regarding claim 14, MA teaches the method according to claim 1,
MA teaches wherein the preset condition comprises at least one of the following conditions:
a rate of decrease of the inference performance of the AI model exceeds a rate threshold ([0016] the mode switch may be in response to different circumstances, e.g. entering a training mode, a change in KPI)([0269-0270-0276]);
an accuracy of the inference performance of the AI model is lower than an accuracy threshold; or
an operating performance of an inference object applying the Al model meets a preset performance condition.
Regarding claim 20, MA teaches communication method, applied to a network device, the method comprising:
receiving a switching request sent by a terminal based on a dedicated communication resource, wherein the switching request is triggered in a case where the terminal monitors that inference performance of an artificial intelligence (Al) model decreases during communication of the terminal in an Al mode and the inference performance of the AI model decreases to meet a preset condition, and the switching request is used to request switching to a non-AI mode for communication ([0270-0276, 0318] the network device 352 instructs the UE to switch into a non-AI mode for one, some, or all of the following reasons: power consumption is too high (e.g. power consumption of UE or network exceeds a threshold); and/or the network load drops (e.g. fewer UEs being served) such that it is expected that a conventional non-AI air interface will provide suitable performance; and/or service type change such that it is expected that a conventional non-AI air interface will provide suitable performance; and/or the channel between the UE and a TRP is (or is predicted to be) of high quality (e.g. above a particular threshold) such that it is expected that a conventional non-AI air interface will provide suitable performance; and/or the channel between the UE and a TRP has improved (or is predicted to improve) because, for example, the UE's moving speed reduces, the SINR improves, the channel types changes (e.g. from non-LoS to LoS or multi-path effect reduces, etc.) such that it is expected that a conventional non-AI air interface will provide suitable performance; and/or a KPI is not meeting expectations (e.g. a KPI drops below a particular threshold or falls within a particular range), indicating low performance of the AI (e.g. performance of the AI degrading and falling below a particular threshold); and/or system capacity is constrained; and/or training or retraining of the AI needs to be performed) ([0011] switching between AI-mode and non-AI mode);
wherein the dedicated communication resource is a communication resource dedicated to requesting switching from the Al mode to the non-AI mode for communication ([0270] the network device 352 instructs the UE to switch into a non-AI mode for one, some, or all of the following reasons: power consumption is too high (e.g. power consumption of UE or network exceeds a threshold); and/or the network load drops (e.g. fewer UEs being served) such that it is expected that a conventional non-AI air interface will provide suitable performance; and/or service type change such that it is expected that a conventional non-AI air interface will provide suitable performance; and/or the channel between the UE and a TRP is (or is predicted to be) of high quality (e.g. above a particular threshold) such that it is expected that a conventional non-AI air interface will provide suitable performance; and/or the channel between the UE and a TRP has improved (or is predicted to improve) because, for example, the UE's moving speed reduces, the SINR improves, the channel types changes (e.g. from non-LoS to LoS or multi-path effect reduces, etc.) such that it is expected that a conventional non-AI air interface will provide suitable performance; and/or a KPI is not meeting expectations (e.g. a KPI drops below a particular threshold or falls within a particular range), indicating low performance of the AI (e.g. performance of the AI degrading and falling below a particular threshold); and/or system capacity is constrained; and/or training or retraining of the AI needs to be performed,).
Regarding claim 34, claim 34 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim 1.
Regarding claim 38, claim 38 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-10, 22, 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Ma et al. (“Ma”, US 20230284139 A1) hereinafter Ma, in view of WU et al. (“WU”, US 20250220725 A1) hereinafter WU.
Regarding claim 7, MA teaches the method according to claim 1,
MA does not explicitly teach, but WU teaches
wherein the dedicated communication resource comprises a physical random access channel (PRACH) resource dedicated to mode switching ([0157-0165] Fig. 5, utilizing PRACH resource when communicating configuration between UE and network device).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify MA in view of WU in order to utilize a PRACH resource when the user equipment and network device because PRACH allows network devices to communicate with random access procedure and specific messages, uplink data and configuration information (WU [0157-0165]).
Regarding claim 8, MA and WU teach the method according to claim 7,
MA does not explicitly teach, but WU teaches
wherein sending the switching request to the network device based on dedicated communication resource comprises: sending the switching request to the network device based on the PRACH resource using a two-step random access method or a four-step random access method ([0155-0165] Fig. 5, utilizing PRACH resource when communicating configuration between UE and network device, The network device may send the configuration information of the two-step random access procedure to the user equipment by using a broadcast or multicast message, an RRC message, or the like, MSGA, MSGB)([0045] MSGA, MSGB, two step random access methods).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify MA in view of WU in order to utilize a PRACH resource when the user equipment and network device because PRACH allows network devices to communicate with random access procedure and specific messages, uplink data and configuration information (WU [0155-0165]).
Regarding claim 9, MA and WU teach the method according to claim 8,
MA does not explicitly teach, but WU teaches
wherein in response to sending the switching request using the two-step random access method, the switching confirmation instruction fed back by the network device based on the switching request is received based on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) corresponding to message B ([0155-0165] Fig. 5, utilizing PRACH resource when communicating configuration between UE and network device, The network device may send the configuration information of the two-step random access procedure to the user equipment by using a broadcast or multicast message, an RRC message, or the like, MSGA, MSGB)([0045] MSGA, MSGB, two step random access methods)([0144-0154] Fig. 3, The terminal device receives a PDSCH, namely, a Msg4, sent by the network device)([0175]); or
in response to sending the switching request using the four-step random access method, the switching confirmation instruction fed back by the network device based on the switching request is received based on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) corresponding to message 2 or message 4.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify MA in view of WU in order to utilize a PRACH resource when the user equipment and network device because PRACH allows network devices to communicate with random access procedure and specific messages, uplink data and configuration information (WU [0155-0165]).
Regarding claim 10, MA and WU teach the method according to claim 7,
MA teaches wherein switching to the non-Al mode for communication comprises:
switching to the non-AI mode for communication after a set time unit from completion of the random access ([0019] the measurement may be performed on demand, with different apparatuses (e.g. different UEs) possibly being instructed to perform measurements at different times or different intervals, and possibly transmitting back different content. Different modes of operation, including a non-AI mode and different AI implementations may be accommodated)([0305] PUCCH resource indicator).
MA does not explicitly teach, but WU teaches
in response to that the terminal completes random access based on the PRACH resource ([0157-0165] Fig. 5, utilizing PRACH resource when communicating configuration between UE and network device).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify MA in view of WU in order to utilize a PRACH resource when the user equipment and network device because PRACH allows network devices to communicate with random access procedure and specific messages, uplink data and configuration information (WU [0155-0165]).
Regarding claim 22, MA teaches the method according to claim 20,
MA does not explicitly teach, but WU teaches
wherein the dedicated communication resource comprises a physical random access channel (PRACH) resource dedicated to mode switching, wherein receiving the switching request sent by the terminal based on the dedicated communication resource ([0155-0165] Fig. 5, utilizing PRACH resource when communicating configuration between UE and network device, The network device may send the configuration information of the two-step random access procedure to the user equipment by using a broadcast or multicast message, an RRC message, or the like, MSGA, MSGB)([0045] MSGA, MSGB, two step random access methods) comprises:
receiving the switching request sent by the terminal based on the PRACH resource using a two-step random access method or a four-step random access method ([0155-0165] Fig. 5, utilizing PRACH resource when communicating configuration between UE and network device, The network device may send the configuration information of the two-step random access procedure to the user equipment by using a broadcast or multicast message, an RRC message, or the like, MSGA, MSGB)([0045] MSGA, MSGB, two step random access methods)
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify MA in view of WU in order to utilize a PRACH resource when the user equipment and network device because PRACH allows network devices to communicate with random access procedure and specific messages, uplink data and configuration information (WU [0155-0165]).
Regarding claim 25, MA teaches the method according to claim 20,
MA does not explicitly teach, but WU teaches
wherein the method further comprises:
feeding back a switching confirmation instruction to the terminal, wherein in response to that the switching request is sent using a two-step random access method, the switching confirmation instruction is fed back to the terminal based on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) corresponding to message B ([0155-0165] Fig. 5, utilizing PRACH resource when communicating configuration between UE and network device, The network device may send the configuration information of the two-step random access procedure to the user equipment by using a broadcast or multicast message, an RRC message, or the like, MSGA, MSGB)([0045] MSGA, MSGB, two step random access methods)([0144-0154] Fig. 3, The terminal device receives a PDSCH, namely, a Msg4, sent by the network device)([0175]); or
in response to that the switching request is sent using a four-step random access method, the switching confirmation instruction is fed back to the terminal based on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) corresponding to message 2 or message 4.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify MA in view of WU in order to utilize a PRACH resource when the user equipment and network device because PRACH allows network devices to communicate with random access procedure and specific messages, uplink data and configuration information (WU [0155-0165]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FADI HAJ SAID whose telephone number is (571)272-2833. The examiner can normally be reached on 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, John Follansbee can be reached on 571-272-3964. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/FADI HAJ SAID/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444