DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
Office Action is in response to the Preliminary Amendment filed 2/10/2025.
Claims 1-4 have been amended. Claims 5-6 are new.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 2/10/2025 and 1/13/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: UNIT HAVING A LAYOUT FOR SECURING A BOLT IN RELATION TO A NEUTRAL POINT.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamagishi et al. (US 2019/0036416).
In claim 1, Yamagishi discloses a unit (Fig. 1-7) comprising: a bolt (58); and a rotary electrical machine (10), wherein the rotary electrical machine (10) includes a rotor (12) and a stator (16) surrounding an outer periphery of the rotor (12), the stator (16) includes a stator protrusion portion (48) protruding radially outward from an outer periphery of the stator (16), the bolt (58) is inserted into the stator protrusion portion (48) in a direction from one axial end side of the stator (16) toward the other axial end side of the stator (16), a neutral point (40b) of the stator (16) and a head portion (top portion of 58; Fig. 3) of the bolt (58) are disposed on the one axial end side of the stator (16), and the neutral point (40b) of the stator (16) is offset from the head portion (top portion of 58) of the bolt (58) when viewed in an axial direction.
In claim 2, Yamagishi discloses wherein the neutral point (40b) of the stator (16) is disposed so as to avoid a region (region radially between 48 and 12) between the stator protrusion portion (48) and the rotor (12) when viewed in the axial direction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamagishi et al. (US 2019/0036416) in view of Hasegawa et al. (US 2022/0140687).
In claim 4, Yamagishi teaches the unit of claim 1; furthermore Yamagishi teaches wherein the unit is used in a vehicle ([0031]).
Yamagishi does not teach wherein the neutral point is disposed at a position that is submerged in oil at least while the vehicle is traveling.
However, Hasegawa teaches a unit (Fig. 1-16) wherein a neutral point (51) is disposed at a position that is submerged in oil ([0116]) at least while the vehicle is traveling (as the shaft rotates; [0037-0039]).
Therefore in view of Hasegawa, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have arrived at the claimed invention, in order to lubricate the stator and cool it with refrigeration oil (Hasegawa; [0116]).
In claim 5, Yamagishi teaches the unit of claim 2; furthermore Yamagishi teaches wherein the unit is used in a vehicle ([0031]).
Yamagishi does not teach wherein the neutral point is disposed at a position that is submerged in oil at least while the vehicle is traveling.
However, Hasegawa teaches a unit (Fig. 1-16) wherein a neutral point (51) is disposed at a position that is submerged in oil ([0116]) at least while the vehicle is traveling (as the shaft rotates; [0037-0039]).
Therefore in view of Hasegawa, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have arrived at the claimed invention, in order to lubricate the stator and cool it with refrigeration oil (Hasegawa; [0116]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The cited prior art taken singularly or in combination fails to anticipate or fairly suggest the limitation of the (in)dependent claim(s), in such a manner that a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 would be proper. The prior art fails to teach a combination of all the features as presented in the (in)dependent claim(s) with the allowable feature being:
Claim 3: “a housing that accommodates the rotary electrical machine; and a shaft that is connected to a downstream side of the rotary electrical machine in a dynamical manner, wherein the housing includes a peripheral wall portion that surrounds the rotary electrical machine and the shaft when viewed in the axial direction, and the neutral point is located between a first vertical line passing through a rotation center of the rotor and a second vertical line passing through a rotation center of the shaft when viewed in the axial direction.”
The examiner found no prior art satisfies all above conditions by itself or as combined during the examination period.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hino et al. (US 2019/0131829) teaches an armature core configured by arranging into an annular shape: at least one first core segment that includes: a first core back portion; a first tooth portion; and a mounting portion that is formed on an outer circumferential portion of the first core back portion; and a plurality of second core segments that include: a second core back portion; and a second tooth portion.
Takahashi et al. (US 2019/025931) teaches a rotor having a field core, a field winding, and a cylindrical short-circuit member.
RASHAD H. JOHNSON
Examiner
Art Unit 2834
/RASHAD H JOHNSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2834