DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by HOPKINS (US 4004519 A).
Regarding independent claims 1 and 15, Hopkins discloses a fuze system 100 (Figs. 1 and 2) for attaching to a munition body 102, the fuze system comprising: a body 40 comprising a foremost section 10; a fuze (44, 46, 48) located in the body 40; and a power generator 20, 28, 34, attached to the body, for generating electrical power and providing it to the fuze system, the power generator 20 configured to generate electrical power by interacting with an airstream around the fuze system, wherein at least a part of the power generator 20, 28, 34, is located behind the foremost section 10, the at least a part of the power generator 28 (rotor) being arranged to rotate relative to the foremost section 10 of the body (col. 3, lines 9-34).
Regarding claim 2, Hopkins discloses that the at least a part of the power generator comprises a plurality of airstream engaging elements 14 (fins 14 on the external contour 30 of the rotor 28).
Regarding claim 3, Hopkins discloses that the airstream engaging elements 14 are configured to interact with the airstream around the fuze system 100 such that the at least a part of the power generator 20 rotates around at least a portion of the body.
Regarding claim 4, the space between Hopkins fins 14 are being interpreted as channels.
Regarding claim 5, Hopkins discloses that the entire power generator 20 is located behind the foremost section 10 (Figs. 1, 2).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Hopkins reads on the claim limitations, (see Figs. 1, 2 and col. 3, lines 9-34).
Regarding claim 8, Hopkins discloses that the power generator 20 comprises a rotor 28 and a stator 34.
Regarding claim 9, Hopkins power generator 20 comprises a central alternator section 20.
Regarding claim 10, the annular ring 22 of Hopkins rotor 28 is fixedly connected to a part of the power generator 20.
Regarding claim 11, Hopkins discloses the rotor 28 has the form of a ring 22, the rotor being arranged to rotate about the stator 34.
Regarding claim 12, Hopkins discloses that the power generator is configured to provide electrical power to a safe and arm mechanism 46.
Regarding claim 13, Hopkins discloses munition 102 (Fig. 1) comprising the fuze system 100.
Regarding claim 14, Hopkins discloses that fuze subsystems are housed the aftmost section 40 of the body.
Regarding independent claim 18, Hopkins discloses a fuze system 100 (Figs. 1 and 2) for attaching to a munition body 102, the fuze system comprising: a body comprising a foremost section 10 and an aftmost section 40; a fuze (44, 46, 48) located in the body 40 ; and a power generator 20 including a rotor 28 and a stator 34, the power generator 20 attached to the body and configured to generate electrical power for the fuze system by interacting with an airstream around the fuze system, wherein at least a part of the power generator is located between the foremost section 10 and aftmost section of the body 40, the at least a part of the power generator being arranged to rotate relative to the foremost section and aftmost section of the body, and wherein the at least a part of the power generator comprises a plurality of airstream engaging elements 14 (fins).
Regarding claim 19, Hopkins discloses that the airstream engaging elements 14 comprise channels (the space between Hopkins fins 14 are being interpreted as channel; the rotor 28 is fixedly connected to the at least a part of the power generator 20; and the rotor has the form of a ring 22, the rotor being arranged to rotate about the stator 34.
Regarding claim 20, Hopkins discloses that the power generator 20 is configured to provide electrical power to a safe and arm mechanism 46.
Claims 1-11, 13-15, 18 and 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by THOREN et al. (US 2020/0292287 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Thoren et al. disclose a fuze system for attaching to a munition body (10,100) (fig. 1-6), the fuze system comprising: a body comprising a foremost section (fig. 1-6); a fuze located in the body; a power generator (claim 1 - a rotor 18, a stator 16), attached to the body, for generating electrical power and providing it to the fuze system, the power generator configured to generate electrical power by interacting with an airstream around the fuze system, wherein at least a part of the power generator is located behind the foremost section, the at least a part of the power generator being arranged to rotate relative to the foremost section of the body (claim 1; fig. 1-6).
Regarding claims 2-8, 11, 13 and 14, see Thoren et al. paragraph 117; and Figs. 1-6.
Regarding claim 9 and 10, see Thoren et al. paragraphs 57 and 115.
Regarding claim 15, Thoren et al. is applied as per claim 1 above.
Regarding claims 18 and 19, Thoren et al. disclose a fuze system for attaching to a munition body (10,100) (fig. 1-6), the fuze system comprising: a body comprising a foremost section (fig. 1-6); a fuze located in the body; a power generator (claim 1 - a rotor 18, a stator 16), attached to the body, for generating electrical power and providing it to the fuze system, the power generator configured to generate electrical power by interacting with an airstream around the fuze system, wherein at least a part of the power generator is located behind the foremost section, the at least a part of the power generator being arranged to rotate relative to the foremost section of the body (claim 1; paragraphs 57, 115, 117; and Figs. 1-6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HOPKINS (US 4004519 A).
Hopkins discloses a fuze system as discussed above, including the power generator 20 comprising a rotor 28 and a stator 34, but does not disclose that the rotor comprises a plurality of teeth. To select such a rotor comprising a plurality of teeth would have been an obvious design choice within the grasp of a POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention, such rotor designs being well-known in the power generator art.
Claims 12, 16, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over THOREN et al. (US 2020/0292287 A1).
Regarding claims 16 and 17, Thoren et al. discloses a fuze system (Figs. 1-6) as discussed above, including the power generator comprising a rotor 18 and a stator 16, but does not disclose that the rotor comprises a plurality of teeth. To select such a rotor comprising a plurality of teeth would have been an obvious design choice within the grasp of a POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention, such rotor designs being well-known in the power generator art.
Regarding claims 12 and 20, Thoren et al. do not specifically recite that the power generator is configured to provide electrical power to a safe and arm mechanism.
It would have been obvious to a POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention, to provide Thoren et al. with a safe and arm mechanism so as to avoid premature and unintended detonation. It would have been further obvious to said POSITA to power the S & A mechanism with power from the Thoren et al. onboard power generator, so as to avoid providing an additional power source.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See that attached PTO-FORM 892.
/JAMES S BERGIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641