DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to the amendment filed on 02/10/2025, No Claims have been cancelled, and Claims 1-11 and newly added Claims 12-20 are pending.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph 0008 of the specification, filed 02/10/2025, discloses a prior art document “US2022225983”, however this is not a valid PGPub number. It appears that the correct PGPub is 20220225983
Paragraph 0008 of the specification, filed 02/10/2025, discloses a prior art document “US2020390436”, however this is not a valid PGPub number. It appears that the correct PGPub is 20200390436.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s):
Claim 11: “wherein the cap features an angular index.”
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, the claim limitation “a tool for gripping the needle, is the tool being axially movable relative to the cap” renders the claim indefinite because it is not clear what “is the tool” Applicant is attempting to claim. As best understood by the Examiner, this limitation is being interpreted as “a tool for gripping the needle, [[is]] the tool being axially movable relative to the cap”.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the gripping tool" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-11 are rejected for incorporating errors from the parent claim by dependency.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the holding means" in Line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "temporary holding means" in Line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gordon (US Patent 5,364,408)
Regarding Claim 1, Gordon teaches a surgical suture system comprising system, comprising:
an endoscopic cap (12/32) having a tubular wall, a needle (6), and a tool (8; needle carriers) for gripping the needle (6; Figures 1A-1D; Column 6, Lines 47-67 and Column 7, Lines 1-9),
is the tool (8 which includes the retraction line or 10; see Figure 6; Paragraph) being axially movable relative to the cap (12; Figures 1C-1D; Column 6, Lines 58-62),
the tool (8 or 10) being configured to be inserted into the lumen of an endoscope (the examiner notes that the endoscope is not positively recited in the claims and the entire system of Gordon can be inserted into an endoscope or sheath or trocar) and to slide axially along an axis parallel to the longitudinal axis of the cap (12; Figure 6; Column 7, Lines 54-59),
wherein the needle (6) is temporarily retained by means (16) for holding the needle (invoking a 112f interpretation) in the cap (12; Figure 1D-1F), when the gripping tool (8) is in the rear position in a position suitable for gripping (as seen in Figure 1E), and
wherein the cap (12) further has a means (space within cap 12) for holding a suture thread (4) (invoking a 112f interpretation) fitted on the needle (6; see Figures 1A-1F).
Regarding Claim 2, Gordon teaches the surgical suture system of claim 1, wherein the needle is arcuate in shape (see Figure 19).
Regarding Claim 3, Gordon teaches the surgical suture system of claim 1, wherein the holding means for a suture thread is formed by a housing (12; see Figures 1A-1B).
Regarding Claim 4, Gordon teaches the surgical suture system of claim 1, wherein the needle (4) is held by a longitudinal slot provided on the tubular wall of the endoscopic cap (See elements 78a and 78b in Figure 4A).
Regarding Claim 5, Gordon teaches the surgical suture system of claim 1, wherein the tubular wall of the cap has two diametrically opposed holding zones (78a and 78b) for the needle, at least one of the holding zones for the needle being constituted by two protruding slots defining a longitudinal guide slot for the ends of the needle (see Figures 4A-4B).
Regarding Claim 8, Gordon teaches the surgical suture system of claim 1, wherein the means for temporarily holding the suture thread (12) fitted on the needle (6) is located in a transverse plane passing through the distal end of a friction zone of the needle (as seen in Figure 1A where the fiction zone is the distal end of the needle).
Regarding Claim 9, Gordon teaches the surgical suture system according to claim 1, wherein the means for temporarily holding the suture thread fitted on the needle is located in a transverse plane passing through the proximal end of a friction zone of the needle (as seen in Figure 1B wherein the friction zone is the distal end of the needle).
Regarding Claim 10, Gordon teaches the surgical suture system according of claim 1, wherein the means for temporarily holding a suture thread is formed by temporary adhesion (see figures 1A-1H).
Regarding Claim 11, Gordon teaches the surgical suture system according to claim 1, wherein the cap features an angular index (any outer features on the cap are considered an angular index as it can be used as a reference).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record fails to disclose:
Claim 6: the surgical suture system of claim 1, wherein a peripheral groove formed in the tubular wall of the cap constitutes the temporary holding means for the suture thread engaged on the needle [this limitation is not being interpreted under 112f because there is sufficient structure recited in the claims for performing the claim function].
Claim 7, the surgical suture system of claim 1, wherein an annular protuberance formed inside the cap and defining a space for guiding the thread constitutes the means for temporarily holding a suture thread engaged on the needle [this limitation is not being interpreted under 112f because there is sufficient structure recited in the claims for performing the claim function].
Claims 12-20 are allowed.
The prior art of record fails to disclose:
A surgical suture system, comprising:
an endoscopic cap configured to attach to a distal end of an endoscope, the cap having a tubular wall, the cap having diametrically opposed slots at the inner surface of the tubular wall, the slots configured to temporarily secure a needle therein, the cap having a peripheral groove extending around the inner surface of the tubular wall, the groove configured to temporarily retain a suture thread therein;
a needle temporarily retained in the slots of the cap; and
a suture thread fastened to the needle at one end thereof, the suture thread temporarily retained in the peripheral groove of the cap.
Claims 13-20 are allowable by dependency to Claim 12.
Conclusion
/MOHAMED G GABR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771