DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The 112 rejection of claim 11 is withdrawn in view of the amendment to claim 1. The added subject matter is addressed in the new rejections below.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 and dependents are objected to because claim 1 recites “from to” where it should presumably only read “from.”
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 9-12, 15 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al., US 2023/0117342 in view of Suzuki et al., US 2021/0044856.
1. Kwon teaches a display device [Figs. 1-3] comprising:
a memory [Fig. 3];
a sensor module configured to obtain location information of the display device [Figs. 1, 3, paras. 76, 77, 96, 97]; and
a controller configured to obtain spatial information including information about a space to which the display device belongs from the obtained location information [location is identified, Figs. 2, 4, 6, 13, paras. 60, 90-92, 111, 112, 137], detect a user around the display device in the space [user is detected (or not) in device space, Figs. 7, 14, paras. 77, 140; also see paras. 108, 109, 111-115, 135-141] read usability analysis information about the display device from the memory based on the obtained spatial information and the detected user information [location and space data are stored and read, Figs. 4, 10, paras. 73, 77, 83, 86, 90-92, 123-125, 135-141], and control at least a part of a user interface currently being provided through a display to be changed based on the read usability analysis information [user interface (e.g. content groups) are controlled based on user and current space (location); usability (i.e. suitability) analysis determines what interface/apps/content is more likely to be used by a given user in a given space, e.g. children’s content in a child’s room, Figs. 2, 10, paras. 18, 59, 60-64, 108, 109, 111-114, 123-125, 135-141].
Kwon is silent on obtaining data about a space from which the device is moved. Suzuki teaches a system to obtain spatial information including information on which space the display device is moved from and control at least a part of a user interface currently being provided through a display to be changed based on the changed location [data about first room is obtained, Figs. 1, 4, 8, 13, paras. 75, 78-82, 87, 89].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the references, in order to determine the likelihood that the user will return to the original room and thereby control what is displayed in an appropriate manner (such as changing the display [see Suzuki, paras. 87, 89].
2. Kwon teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to identify the space based on the obtained location information [Figs. 2, 4, 6, 13, paras. 60, 90-92, 111, 112, 137] and pre-written map information [stored sensing values, reference information, Figs. 3, 4, paras. 77, 90, 91, 120, 121].
3. Kwon teaches the display device of claim 2, wherein the controller is configured to detect an external device connectable in the space, and identify the space based on a type of the detected external device [space is identified based on external device, Figs. 2, paras. 59, 66, 67, 95-99].
4. Kwon teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to identify the detected user by comparing the user information logged into the display device with the detected user information e.g. comparing image with established (logged) data, paras. 90, 91, 121].
6. Kwon teaches the display device of claim 5, wherein the controller is configured to perform usability analysis based on the weight or priority for the space and the user [usability (i.e. suitability of interface/content) is determined based on space/user and priority, Fig. 10, paras. 29, 60-64, 123-125].
9. Kwon teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein when there are multiple detected users, the controller is configured to determine a main user in the corresponding space and control a part of the user interface currently being provided to be changed according to the determined main user [one user is given priority (designated main user) among users in same space, paras. 117, 119, 121-123].
10. Kwon teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein when there are multiple detected users, the controller is configured to apply a group mode and control a part of the user interface currently being provided to be changed according to the group mode [handling multiple users (group mode), paras. 117, 119, 121-123].
11. Kwon teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to control a display mode to be changed based on the spatial information [display mode is based on current space, Figs. 2, 10, paras. 18, 59, 60-64, 108, 109, 111-114, 123-125, 135-141].
12. Kwon teaches the display device of claim 11, wherein when the display mode is changed, the controller is configured to control the configuration and arrangement of the user interface differently according to the changed display mode [content group is configured and arranged based on display mode, Figs. 2, 10, paras. 18, 59, 60-64, 108, 109, 111-114, 123-125, 135-141].
17. Kwon teaches the display device of claim 16, wherein the controller is configured to reflect the characteristics of the content currently being played in addition to or separately from the user characteristics [content and user are considered, Figs. 2, 10, paras. 18, 59, 60-64, 108, 109, 111-114, 123-125, 135-141].
18. Kwon teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to detect user information periodically, and refigure the user interface currently being provided in a customized manner if there is a change in the user information [movement (change) is detected within predetermined period, para. 102].
19. Kwon teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to pre-register at least one point within the space, determine a location of the display device is the pre- registered point, and provide the user interface corresponding to the pre-registered point [coordinates of space where device is located is registered as reference, paras. 92, 93, 95].
15. Kwon teaches a method for operating a display device comprising:
detecting an event signal [sensor may detect user event, paras. 77];
obtaining current location information of the display device according to the detected event signal, and obtaining spatial information based on the obtained location information [location is identified, Figs. 2, 4, 6, 13, paras. 60, 90-92, 111, 112, 137];
identifying a user around the display device [user is detected (or not) in device space, Figs. 7, 14, paras. 77, 140; also see paras. 108, 109, 111-115, 135-141];
obtaining usability analysis information based on the obtained spatial information and the identified user information [location and space data are stored and read, Figs. 4, 10, paras. 73, 77, 83, 86, 90-92, 123-125, 135-141]; and
changing and outputting a part of a user interface currently being provided based on the obtained usability analysis information [user interface (e.g. content groups) are controlled based on user and current space (location); usability (i.e. suitability) analysis determines what interface/apps/content is more likely to be used by a given user in a given space, e.g. children’s content in a child’s room, Figs. 2, 10, paras. 18, 59, 60-64, 108, 109, 111-114, 123-125, 135-141] by considering weight values or priorities according to each characteristic in the recognized space [usability (i.e. suitability of interface/content) is determined based on space/user and priority, Fig. 10, paras. 29, 60-64, 123-125].
Kwon is silent on obtaining data about a space from which the device is moved. Suzuki teaches a system for obtaining spatial information including information about a space to which the display device belongs from the obtained location information and information on which space the display device has moved from to current location according to the detected event [data about first room/movement event is obtained, Figs. 1, 4, 8, 13, paras. 75, 78-82, 87, 89].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the references, in order to determine the likelihood that the user will return to the original room and thereby control what is displayed in an appropriate manner (such as changing the display [see Suzuki, paras. 87, 89].
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon and Suzuki as cited above in view of Starobin et al., US 2016/0352844.
5. Kwon teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to assign a weight or predefine a priority to the space [e.g. alarm or image is prioritized in certain spaces, Fig. 10, paras. 29, 60-64, 123-125], and assign a weight or predefine a priority to a detectable user in the space [priority defined by user history, para. 123].
Kwon is silent on detecting users with higher or lower priority. Starobin teaches a system to detect a user with a higher priority in the space, and provide the user interface based on the user with the higher priority in the space [paras. 69-74].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the references, giving some users higher priority and displaying content based on their preferences, increasing the quality of ad impressions (e.g. by prioritizing a viewer that often makes purchases) or ensuring that the highest priority user (e.g. the head of household) is satisfied with the displayed content/interface.
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon and Suzuki as cited above in view of Craner, US 8,640,166.
7. Kwon is silent on displaying recently watched content on the interface. Craner teaches a display device wherein the controller is configured to control the user interface currently provided, including the home menu bar, to be partially changed so that the user interface further includes content information currently being played and content information according to a recently watched list in the corresponding space [recently tuned is shown at same time as currently played content, Fig. 10, 11, cols. 19-20, ll. 7-19].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the references, displaying recently tuned channels as a convenient way for the user to return to content they have already indicated an interest in, without interrupting currently tuned programming. Previously tuning a channel is a reliable indicator of the user’s desired content.
8. Kwon teaches the display device of claim 7, wherein the controller is configured to control the arrangement or exposure priority of applications in the home menu bar in the user interface currently being provided to be differently changed based on the corresponding space information or the usability analysis information [Figs. 2, 10, paras. 18, 59, 60-64, 108, 109, 111-114, 123-125, 135-141].
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon and Suzuki as cited above in view of Liu et al., US 10,019,962.
13. Kwon is silent on providing an interface based on detected moving speed of the display. Liu teaches a system wherein when the display device is moving, the controller is configured to detect a moving speed and determine whether or not to provide the user interface according to the detected moving speed [when display is moving at a speed, the display is modified with activity settings, altering the display, para. 72].
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the references, noting the speed of e.g. a tablet in Kwon in order to adjust display settings. For example, if the user is moving through the house or yard quickly, the text size or brightness can be increased for better visibility.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon and Suzuki as cited above.
14. Kwon teaches a stand for the display, but is silent on a shaft and base. Official notice is taken that it was conventional and well-known to implement a display stand using a vertical shaft and attached base. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to implement Kwon’s stand by using the common structural elements recited, in order to provide stable support while taking up minimal space and allowing the display to be moved from room to room [see Kwon, para. 101].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TIMOTHY R NEWLIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2424