DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the PCT international search report is not considered to be an information disclosure statement (IDS) complying with 37 CFR 1.98. 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2) requires a legible copy of: (1) each foreign patent; (2) each publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; (3) for each cited pending U.S. application, the application specification including claims, and any drawing of the application, or that portion of the application which caused it to be listed including any claims directed to that portion, unless the cited pending U.S. application is stored in the Image File Wrapper (IFW) system; and (4) all other information, or that portion which caused it to be listed. In addition, each IDS must include a list of all patents, publications, applications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office (see 37 CFR 1.98(a)(1) and (b)), and MPEP § 609.04(a), subsection I. states, “the list ... must be submitted on a separate paper.” Therefore, the references cited in the international search report have not been considered. Applicant is advised that the date of submission of any item of information in the international search report will be the date of submission of the IDS for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements for the IDS with 37 CFR 1.97, including all timing statement requirements of 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 and 5 are objected to because of the following informalities: the claims recite “said secretory protein” should be “said recombinant human secretory protein” to be consistent with claim language set forth in claim 1, line 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 9, 11, 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gaull (US 6,020,015).
Regarding claim 1, 2, 3, and 4, Gaull discloses synthetic human infant formula (edible composition) (‘015, claim 1) comprising recombinant human milk proteins including secretory immunoglobin-A (IgA), lactoferrin and combination thereof (‘015, col. 6, ln. 61-67, claim 1).
Regarding claim 5 and 19, Gaull discloses the recombinant human milk proteins including secretory lactoferrin comprising hybrid N-glycans (‘015, col. 4, ln. 32-43).
Regarding claim 7, 8, and 9, Gaull discloses the synthetic human infant formula simulates the composition of fresh human milk (‘015, col. 2, ln. 27-30) which includes so called classical nutrients including lipids, vitamins and minerals (‘015, col. 5, ln. 58-59).
Regarding claim 11, Gaull discloses the synthetic human infant formula comprising human milk protein including alpha-casein (isolated protein) (‘015, col. 6, ln. 61-67, claim 1).
Regarding claim 16, Gaull discloses synthetic human infant formula (edible composition) (‘015, claim 1) comprising recombinant human milk proteins from human cells (mammal) (‘015, col. 6, ln. 61-67).
Claim(s) 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by De Oliveira Afonso (US 2024/0138463).
Regarding claim 1, 2, 3, 4, 11, De Oliveira Afonso discloses infant formula (edible composition) comprising recombinant human milk protein, casein (protein) and whey protein-lipid concentrate (‘463, [0014]). With respect to claim 3 and 4, De Oliveira Afonso discloses the recombinant human milk protein including immunoglobulins (IgA), lactoferrin) (‘463, [0023]).
Regarding claim 5, 6, and 19, De Oliveira Afonso discloses infant formula (edible composition) comprising glycans and human milk oligosaccharides include 2′-FL (2′-Fucosyllactose) and lacto-N-neotetrose (LNnT) (or mixture thereof) (‘463, [0053], [0054]).
Regarding claim 7, 8, 9, 13 and 14, De Oliveira Afonso discloses infant formula (edible composition) comprising lipids (‘463, [0031]), minerals and vitamins (‘463, [0020], [0058]). With respect to claim 13, calcium ([0068]). With respect to claim 14, vitamin A ([0068]).
Regarding claim 10, De Oliveira Afonso discloses infant formula (edible composition) comprising nucleotides (‘463, [0065], [0069, [0072]).
Regarding claim 12, De Oliveira Afonso discloses infant formula (edible composition) comprising oils including coconut oil, sunflower oil, high oleic safflower oil (‘463, [0056]).
Regarding claim 15, De Oliveira Afonso discloses infant formula (edible composition) comprising probiotics and prebiotics (‘463, [0020]).
Regarding claim 16, 17 and 18, De Oliveira Afonso discloses infant formula (edible composition) comprising recombinant human milk protein is from yeast cells, Saccharomyces cerevisiae (‘463, [0021]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by De Oliveira Afonso (US 2024/0138463).
Regarding claim 20, De Oliveira Afonso discloses the claimed invention as discussed in claim 1. De Oliveira Afonso discloses the human recombinant, lactoferrin in and about of 0.1 g to about 3 g in 100g of the formula (‘463, claim 44) which corresponds to a range of about 0.1% to 3% by weight, which overlaps the cited range. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Conclusion
/HONG T YOO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1792