DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I: claims 74-92 in the reply filed on 8/7/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 93 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/7/2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 83-84 and 90 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 83, line 2, “focussed” should read –focused–.
In claim 84, second to last line, “focus depth” should read –and focus depth–.
In claim 90, last line “a trademark” should read –and a trademark–.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 78 and 80 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 78 and 80, the phrase "preferably" renders the claims indefinite, because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 74, 76-77, 79, 81-85, 87, 89, and 91-92 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei et al. (WO 2021/212887), hereinafter “Lei,” wherein an English machine translation is used and cited herein.
Regarding claim 74, Lei teaches a method of manufacturing a 3D object, the method comprising providing a powder layer of powder particles (Abstract, claim 1), building up a new layer of the 3D object by directing a beam of radiation towards the powder layer to melt the powder particles at predetermined positions to build up the new layer of the 3D object on re-solidification (Abstract, claim 1), and forming a pore in the new layer at a preselected position by using a beam of radiation to form and subsequently collapse a melt pool so as to trap gas as a pore in or below the new layer at the preselected position on re-solidification (Abstract, claim 1).
Regarding claim 76, Lei teaches wherein the forming a pore occurs after at least a part of the building up step has occurred and the preselected position is in the already formed new layer and the pore is formed in the new layer (claim 1).
As to claim 77, Lei teaches wherein in the forming a pore step, the preselected position is distant from an edge of the new layer (Figs. 3-10).
With respect to claim 79, Lei teaches wherein the preselected position is other than the middle of a scan line used for building the new layer (Figs. 3-10, claim 1).
Regarding claim 81, Lei teaches wherein the method further comprises providing a final powder layer of particles on the new layer and building up an outer layer of the 3D object by directing a beam of radiation towards the powder layer to melt the powder particles at predetermined positions to build up the outer layer of the 3D object on re-solidification (Abstract, claim 1).
Regarding claim 82, Lei teaches wherein in the forming a pore step a depth of the melt pool is greater than a depth of a melt pool formed during the building a layer step (claim 1).
As to claim 83, Lei teaches wherein in the forming a pore step the beam of radiation is focused on a first area at the preselected position and transfers a first total amount of energy onto the first area and the first total amount of energy is greater than a second total amount of energy transferred to an area equal to the first area during the directing of the building up a new layer ([0037], claim 1, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 84, Lei teaches wherein the directing a beam of radiation in the building up step is different to the directing a beam of radiation in the forming a pore step by at least one of: power of beam of radiation, speed of movement of beam of radiation, duration of irraditation, delay between bursts of the beam of radiation, wavelength of the beam of radiation, oscillation frequency of the beam of radiation, cross-sectional shape of the beam of radiation, and focus depth of the beam of radiation ([0037], claim 1, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 85, Lei teaches wherein the preselected position is within a volume of the 3D object such that the pore is a closed cell (claim 1).
Regarding claim 87, Lei teaches wherein pores are formed at a plurality of preselected positions during the forming a pore step by using the beam of radiation to form and subsequently collapse a melt pool so as to trap gas as a pore in the new layer at the plurality of preselected position on re-solidification (claim 1).
Regarding claim 89, Lei teaches wherein the plurality of preselected positions are arranged to indicate manufacturing conditions of the 3D object (Abstract, [0020]-[0021]).
Regarding claim 91, Lei teaches wherein a number of the plurality of preselected positions within a unit volume of the 3D object at a first location is different to a number of the plurality of preselected positions within a unit volume of the 3D object at a second location, wherein the preselected positions are such that the 3D object has a sandwich structure in which two layers with a relatively low number of preselected positions within a unit volume are positioned on either side of a layer with a relatively higher number of preselected positions within a unit volume (Figs. 3-10).
Regarding claim 92, Lei teaches a powder bed fusion process including metals (claim 1), which necessarily includes wherein the building and forming steps are conducted in a shielding gas atmosphere of an inert gas to reduce oxidation and such that the pore is filled with said inert gas.
Claim(s) 74-87, 90, and 92 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown et al. (US 2018/0161935), as cited in the IDS dated 2/10/2025, hereinafter “Brown.”
Regarding claim 74, Brown teaches a method of manufacturing a 3D object, the method comprising providing a powder layer of powder particles ([0139]-[0143], Fig. 29, claim 1), building up a new layer of the 3D object by directing a beam of radiation towards the powder layer to melt the powder particles at predetermined positions to build up the new layer of the 3D object on re-solidification ([0139]-[0142], Fig. 29), and forming a pore in the new layer at a preselected position by using a beam of radiation to form and subsequently collapse a melt pool so as to trap gas as a pore in or below the new layer at the preselected position on re-solidification ([0139]-[0142], Fig. 29).
Regarding claim 75, Brown teaches wherein the forming a pore occurs during the building up step such that the pore is formed when the powder particles are melted for the first time (Fig. 29, claim 1).
Regarding claim 76, Brown teaches wherein the forming a pore occurs after at least a part of the building up step has occurred and the preselected position is in the already formed new layer and the pore is formed in the new layer ([0139]-[0142], Fig. 29).
Regarding claim 77, Brown teaches wherein in the forming a pore step, the preselected position is distant from an edge of the new layer (Figs. 30-32).
Regarding claim 78, Brown teaches wherein the preselected position is at least 10 times the spot diameter of the beam of radiation from the edge of the new layer (Fig. 30, claim 23).
With respect to claim 79, Brown teaches wherein the preselected position is other than the middle of a scan line used for building the new layer (Fig. 30).
Regarding claim 80, Brown is silent as to the power of the beam of radiation used in the forming a pore step. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was field to determine a suitable beam power based on factors such as the material being melted. Such a determination would only require routine experimentation by those of ordinary skill in the art. Upon such routine experimentation, one of ordinary skill in the art would arrive at a beam power that is the same or overlapping with the instantly claimed range. Note that "[w]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See MPEP §2144.05.
Regarding claim 81, Brown teaches wherein the method further comprises providing a final powder layer of particles on the new layer and building up an outer layer of the 3D object by directing a beam of radiation towards the powder layer to melt the powder particles at predetermined positions to build up the outer layer of the 3D object on re-solidification ([0139]-[0143], Fig. 29).
Regarding claim 82, Brown teaches wherein in the forming a pore step a depth of the melt pool is greater than a depth of a melt pool formed during the building a layer step ([0139]-[0143], Fig. 29).
Regarding claim 83, Brown teaches wherein in the forming a pore step the beam of radiation is focused on a first area at the preselected position and transfers a first total amount of energy onto the first area and the first total amount of energy is greater than a second total amount of energy transferred to an area equal to the first area during the directing of the building up a new layer ([0141]-[0143], Fig. 29).
Regarding claim 84, Brown teaches wherein the directing a beam of radiation in the building up step is different to the directing a beam of radiation in the forming a pore step by at least one of: power of beam of radiation, speed of movement of beam of radiation, duration of irraditation, delay between bursts of the beam of radiation, wavelength of the beam of radiation, oscillation frequency of the beam of radiation, cross-sectional shape of the beam of radiation, and focus depth of the beam of radiation ([0141]-[0143], Fig. 29).
Regarding claim 85, Brown wherein the preselected position is within a volume of the 3D object such that the pore is a closed cell ([0139]-[0143], claim 1).
Regarding claim 86, Brown teaches wherein the preselected position is on an outer surface of the 3D object (Fig. 30).
Regarding claim 87, Brown teaches wherein pores are formed at a plurality of preselected positions during the forming a pore step by using the beam of radiation to form and subsequently collapse a melt pool so as to trap gas as a pore in the new layer at the plurality of preselected position on re-solidification ([0139]-[0143], Fig. 29, claim 1).
Regarding claim 90, Brown teaches the possibility of creating specific patterns, for example, lattices, within the object ([0152]-[0153], Fig. 30). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrange the pores to represent one or more of an alphanumeric character, image of an object, and a trademark, as the mere rearrangement of parts is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results. See MPEP 2144.04 (VI).
Regarding claim 92, Brown teaches a powder bed fusion process including metals (Fig. 29), which necessarily includes wherein the building and forming steps are conducted in a shielding gas atmosphere of an inert gas to reduce oxidation and such that the pore is filled with said inert gas.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 88 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 88, the prior art fails to disclose or fairly suggest the method as instantly recited. In particular, the closest prior art, Brown (US 2018/0161935), teaches/renders obvious the limitations recited in claims 84 and 87, as detailed above. Brown further discloses different pore structures with intricate geometries across the layers ([0152]-[0153], Fig. 33), but fails to teach or adequately suggest wherein the preselected positions are selected such that the pores in the 3D object are open cells with at least one path through pores from one outer surface of the 3D object to another opposite outer surface of the 3D object, as required by claim 88. Thus, claim 88 is distinct over the teachings of the prior art.
Conclusion
/ANTHONY M LIANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734