DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 5-6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5 lines 5-6 recite “the twistlocks are located at a coupling end of the lifting frame are selectively retractable,” which appears to contain a typographical error (i.e. “are” is recited twice).
Claim 6 lines 3-4 recite “arranged to linearly retracting,” which appears to contain a typographical error (i.e. to linearly “retract”).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 line 5 recites “the second spreader,” which lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 2 line 2 recites “a higher flexural stiffness,” but doesn’t say what the stiffness is higher than. Higher flexural stiffness than another component? Higher flexural stiffness in the claimed axis than about a different axis? What is the stiffness higher than?
Claim 3 line 5 recites “the casting,” which lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 8 line 3 recites “said spreader,” which lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 8 lines 5-6 recite “the other spreader,” which lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 8 line 6 recites “the spreader,” which lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 9 line 2 recites “the head frame,” which lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 9 line 2 recites “the lifting frame,” which lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 13 line 2 recites “the retracting step,” which lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 13 line 3 recites “the twistlocks,” which lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 13 line 3 recites “said retractable twistlocks,” which lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 13 line 2 recites “retracting the twistlocks to which said retractable twistlocks are mounted,” which is vague and ambiguous. How many twistlocks are being claimed? Are the twistlocks mounted to themselves? This recitation needs better metes and bounds.
Claim 14 line 3 recites “the retracting step,” which lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 14 line 3 recites “the twistlocks,” which lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 14 lines 3-4 recite “said retractable twistlocks,” which lacks antecedent basis. Are these newly recited twistlocks, or the ones from line 3?
Claim 15 line 4 recites “the spreader,” which lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 15 line 5 recites “the other spreader,” which lacks antecedent basis.
Claims 4-7 depend from rejected claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-7, 9-10 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 5183305 A (hereinafter “Nordstrom”).
Regarding claim 1 Nordstrom discloses a spreader system comprising:
a pair of couplable spreaders;
a first (14) of the pair of spreaders (14/15) having at least one projection (61/71/71), said projection (61/71/71) arranged to selectively extend from a coupling end (right in fig. 7) of the first spreader (14) into an aperture (63a/73a/73a) defined in a coupling end (left in fig. 7) of the second spreader (15), when said spreaders (14/15) are proximate to each other;
wherein, on receiving the at least one projection (61/71/71) into said corresponding aperture (63a/73a/73a), a load transfer couple (23) is formed such that the two couplable spreaders (14/15) are arranged to act as a single unitary spreader (fig. 7).
Regarding claim 2 Nordstrom discloses the above system, and further discloses wherein there are two projections (61/71/71), each projection (61/71/71) having a higher flexural stiffness about an axis perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the first spreader (14) (i.e. a higher flexural stiffness than the line 10).
Regarding claim 5 Nordstrom discloses the above system, and further discloses wherein each spreader (14/15) includes a head frame (57/57a/58/58a) mounted on a lifting frame (45/45a/46/46a/52/52a), said lifting frame (45/45a/46/46a/52/52a) arranged to engage a container (35);
said lifting frame (45/45a/46/46a/52/52a) having a twistlock (at 91/99) at each corner (see fig. 14);
wherein the twistlocks (at 91) [located] at a coupling end (see end near 23) of the lifting frame (45/45a/46/46a/52/52a) are selectively retractable (see col. 6 ll. 52-58).
Regarding claim 6 Nordstrom discloses the above system, and further discloses a linear movement arrangement (see solid vs. dotted lines in fig. 12) to which said retractable twistlocks (at 91) are mounted, and an actuator (95) arranged to linearly [retract] (col. 8 ll. 42-43) said retractable twistlocks (at 91/99).
Regarding claim 7 Nordstrom discloses the above system, and further discloses a pivot (94) to which said retractable twistlocks (at 91/99) are mounted, and an actuator (95; see col. 8 ll. 42-43) for rotationally retracting said retractable twistlocks (at 91) about said pivot (94).
Regarding claim 9 Nordstrom discloses the above system, and further discloses wherein [a] head frame (57/57a/58/58a) and [a] lifting frame (45/45a/46/46a/52/52a) are in sliding engagement (i.e. the head frame of 14 and the lifting frame of 15 slide indirectly via 80/60/73), and arranged to selectively slide relative to each other.
Regarding claim 10 Nordstrom discloses the above system, and further discloses a method of coupling a pair of couplable spreaders (14/15), the method comprising the steps of:
bringing coupling ends (near 23) of said spreaders (14/15) proximate to each other (see figs. 3-5);
selectively extending at least one projection (61/71/71) from a first (14) of said spreaders (14/15)
inserting the at least projection (61/71/71) into a corresponding aperture (63a/73a/73a) defined by a second of said spreaders (14/15);
and consequently, forming a load transfer couple (23) such that the two couplable spreaders (14/15) are arranged to act as a single unitary spreader (see fig. 7).
Regarding claim 12 Nordstrom discloses the above method, and further discloses the step of:
selectively retracting twistlocks (at 91/99) at each corner of a lifting frame (45/45a/46/46a/52/52a) of said spreaders (14/15).
Regarding claim 13 Nordstrom discloses the above method, and further discloses wherein [a] retracting step includes:
linearly retracting twistlocks (at 91) [which are retractable twistlocks] (91).
Regarding claim 14 Nordstrom discloses the above method, and further discloses wherein the retracting step includes:
rotationally retracting [twistlocks] (at 91) about a pivot (94) to which said retractable twistlocks (at 91) are mounted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nordstrom in view of US 20050127694 A1 (hereinafter “Petzitillo”).
Regarding claims 3 and 11 Nordstrom discloses the above system, and further discloses wherein there are a plurality of projections (61/71/71), each with a corresponding aperture (63a/73a/73a) in the second spreader (15). Nordstrom teaches the projections (61/71/71) are twist locks (see 60/73 and 65/75), but Nordstrom fails to teach the projections having slots in a leading face and the corresponding aperture having the twistlock. This appears to be no more than obvious variation, as shown by Petzitillo. Petzitillo teaches a spreader (40) for lifting containers (10), the spreader having a twistlock type attachment (see fig. 3).
Petzitillo further teaches:
wherein projections (45) defining a slot (146 i.e. “comprising a substantially U-shaped channel” per par. 59; see also fig. 3) in a leading face of the projection (45), and; each corresponding engagement device on the container (10) including a twistlock (54); wherein the twistlock (54) is arranged to engage with [a] casting (39) to form a load transfer couple (see fig. 5);
The method step of engaging the slot (146 i.e. “comprising a substantially U-shaped channel” per par. 59; see also fig. 3) defined in a leading face of said projection (45) with a twistlock (54) in the corresponding aperture (at 146).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the twistlock and method of Petzitillo in the aperture and method of Nordstrom with a reasonable expectation of success. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination in order to provide Nordstrom a quick and convenient way of obtaining a fully locked set of spreaders.
Regarding claim 4 modified Nordstrom teaches the above system, and further teaches wherein the projections (Nordstrom 61/71/71 as modified per Petzitillo) are (comprise) rods.
Claims 8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nordstrom in view of US 3,709,543 A (hereinafter “Tax”).
Regarding claims 8 and 15 Nordstrom discloses the above system, but fails to teach the guide clamps and method thereof as set forth in claims 8 and 15.
Tax teaches a two-spreader system wherein the spreaders selectively attach one to another. Tax further teaches guide clamps (40’) at a coupling end (fig. 2) of each spreader (i.e. 40’ span both spreaders);
said guide clamps (40’) rotationally mounted to [the second] spreader (12’), and arranged to rotate about an axis (vertical) perpendicular to a longitudinal axis (horizontal) of the spreader;
wherein the guide clamps (40’) are arranged to rotate and engage with the other spreader (12), when coupling ends of the spreaders (12/12’) are proximate to each other (see fig. 2); and
a method of:
rotating guide clamps (40’) at a coupling end of each spreader (40’ spans 12 and 12’), about an axis (vertical) perpendicular to a longitudinal axis (horizontal) of the spreader (12’), and;
engaging the guide clamps (40’) with the other spreader (12’), when coupling ends of the spreaders (14/15) are proximate to each other.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the clamps of Tax to the spreader system and method of Nordstrom with a reasonable expectation of success. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination in order to be able to connect the spreaders in a partially spaced position, as per Tax.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Such references show various forms of apparatus which comprise at least one similar feature to the present application.
/NATHANIEL L ADAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 3654