DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the application filed on 02/10/2025.
Claims 1-2, 6-12, 14-15, 19-22, 24-25, 38, and 74-75 are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/10/2025 and 12/05/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 75 id objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 75 recites “leaning, by the network” which appears to contain a minor typographical error intended to read “learning, by the network”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-12, 14-15, 19-22, 24-25, 38, and 74-75 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen (US 20240196348 A1), hereinafter Chen.
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a method for position acquisition, comprising:
acquiring, by a terminal, first time information (See at least [0126] “the first terminal device performs the uplink signal synchronization includes performing time domain offset compensation […] The synchronization information may include one or more of the following information: [0127] time domain offset compensation information between a serving satellite of the first terminal device and a reference point, change information of the time domain offset compensation information, ephemeris information of the serving satellite of the first terminal device, positioning information,”); and
acquiring, by the terminal, position information of the terminal based on the first time information (See at least [0129] “The positioning information may include time window information for receiving a GNSS signal by the terminal device”).
Regarding claim 2, Chen, as shown above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Chen additionally discloses
receiving, by the terminal, a first message, wherein the first message carries the first time information (See at least Fig. 3, Item 310, [0122] “the first terminal device receives the first indication information from the network device.”).
Regarding claim 6, Chen, as shown above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Chen additionally discloses
the first time information is a first period of time (See at least [0129] “The positioning information may include time window information for receiving a GNSS signal by the terminal device”);
acquiring, by the terminal, the position information of the terminal based on the first time information comprises: performing, by the terminal, global navigation satellite system (GNSS) measurement within the first period of time (See at least [0129] “The positioning information may include time window information for receiving a GNSS signal by the terminal device”).
Regarding claim 7, Chen, as shown above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Chen additionally discloses
the first time information comprises one or more of the following: a time point at which a position of the terminal becomes outdated; or a time point at which a terminal position validity timer expires (See at least [0121] “A network device sends first indication information to a first terminal device, where the first indication information indicates first duration, and the first duration is validity duration of synchronization information.” ).
Regarding claim 8, Chen, as shown above, discloses all of the limitations of claims 1 and 7. Chen additionally discloses
requesting, by the terminal, to maintain a connected state (See at least [0248] “the first terminal device may send, based on the demand, the request information to the network device if the first terminal device needs the network to provide the periodic or semi-persistent first resource”).
Regarding claim 9, Chen, as shown above, discloses all of the limitations of claims 1 and 7. Chen additionally discloses
requesting, by the terminal, a dedicated random access resource (See at least [0193] “the first terminal device receives no fourth indication information on the first resource, the first terminal device sends feedback information, where the feedback information indicates that the fourth indication information fails to be received.”, [0196] “That the first terminal device initiates the non-contention-based random access procedure means that the first terminal device sends a random access signal to the network device on a dedicated random access resource that is preconfigured by the network to the first terminal device.”).
Regarding claim 10, Chen, as shown above, discloses all of the limitations of claims 1, 7, and 9. Chen additionally discloses
receiving, by the terminal, a third message, wherein the third message comprises the dedicated random access resource (See at least [0196] “signal to the network device on a dedicated random access resource that is preconfigured by the network to the first terminal device” Chen discloses communicating to the terminal from the network device the dedicated random access resource.).
Regarding claim 11, Chen, as shown above, discloses all of the limitations of claims 1, 7, 9, and 10. Chen additionally discloses
initiating, by the terminal, random access using the dedicated random access resource (See at least [0196] “That the first terminal device initiates the non-contention-based random access procedure means that the first terminal device sends a random access signal to the network device on a dedicated random access resource that is preconfigured by the network to the first terminal device.”).
Regarding claim 12, Chen, as shown above, discloses all of the limitations of claims 1, 7, and 8. Chen additionally discloses
acquiring, by the terminal, a dedicated random access resource configured by a network device comprises (See at least [0196] “That the first terminal device initiates the non-contention-based random access procedure means that the first terminal device sends a random access signal to the network device on a dedicated random access resource that is preconfigured by the network to the first terminal device.”): acquiring, by the terminal, a start time and/or an available duration of an available period of time for the dedicated random access resource, or acquiring, by the terminal, a start time and/or an end time of an available period of time for the dedicated random access resource (See at least [0202] “the terminal device may perform the random access procedure, to obtain the uplink synchronization information through the random access procedure”, [0203] “After obtaining the first duration via the first indication information, the first terminal device sets the maximum duration of the timer to the first duration, starts the timer after receiving the second indication information, and performs the uplink signal synchronization”).
Regarding claim 14, Chen discloses a method for position acquisition, comprising:
acquiring, by a network device (See at least [0122] “the first terminal device receives the first indication information from the network device), first information, wherein the first information is configured to acquire position information of a terminal by the terminal (See at least [0126] “the first terminal device performs the uplink signal synchronization includes performing time domain offset compensation […] The synchronization information may include one or more of the following information: [0127] time domain offset compensation information between a serving satellite of the first terminal device and a reference point, change information of the time domain offset compensation information, ephemeris information of the serving satellite of the first terminal device, positioning information,”); and
transmitting, by the network device (See at least [0122] “the first terminal device receives the first indication information from the network device), a first message to the terminal, wherein the first message carries the first information (See at least [0129] “The positioning information may include time window information for receiving a GNSS signal by the terminal device”).
Regarding claim 15, applicant recites limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as claim 6. Accordingly, claim 15 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claim 6, shown above.
Regarding claim 19, Chen, as shown above, discloses all of the limitations of claims 14 and 15. Chen additionally discloses
the first time information is dedicated random access resource configuration information (See at least [0193] “the first terminal device receives no fourth indication information on the first resource, the first terminal device sends feedback information, where the feedback information indicates that the fourth indication information fails to be received.”, [0196] “That the first terminal device initiates the non-contention-based random access procedure means that the first terminal device sends a random access signal to the network device on a dedicated random access resource that is preconfigured by the network to the first terminal device.”).
Regarding claim 20, Chen, as shown above, discloses all of the limitations of claims 14, 15, and 19. Chen additionally discloses
receiving, by the network device, a request message for maintaining connected state (See at least [0248] “the first terminal device may send, based on the demand, the request information to the network device if the first terminal device needs the network to provide the periodic or semi-persistent first resource”).
Regarding claim 21, applicant recites limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as claim 9. Accordingly, claim 21 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claim 9, shown above.
Regarding claim 22, applicant recites limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as claim 10. Accordingly, claim 22 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claim 10, shown above.
Regarding claim 24, applicant recites limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as claim 11. Accordingly, claim 24 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claim 11, shown above.
Regarding claim 25, Chen discloses a terminal, comprising:
a memory (See at least Fig. 9, [0282] “The memory is configured to store a computer program, and the processor 1320 is configured to execute the computer program in the memory, to control the transceiver 1310 to receive and send a signal.”),
a transceiver and a processor (See at least Fig. 9, [0282] “The memory is configured to store a computer program, and the processor 1320 is configured to execute the computer program in the memory, to control the transceiver 1310 to receive and send a signal.”),
the memory is configured to store a computer program (See at least Fig. 9, [0282] “The memory is configured to store a computer program, and the processor 1320 is configured to execute the computer program in the memory, to control the transceiver 1310 to receive and send a signal.”);
the transceiver is configured to receive and transmit data under control of the processor (See at least Fig. 9, [0282] “The memory is configured to store a computer program, and the processor 1320 is configured to execute the computer program in the memory, to control the transceiver 1310 to receive and send a signal.”);
the processor is configured to read the computer program in the memory and perform the following operations (See at least Fig. 9, [0282] “The memory is configured to store a computer program, and the processor 1320 is configured to execute the computer program in the memory, to control the transceiver 1310 to receive and send a signal.”):
acquiring first time information (See at least [0126] “the first terminal device performs the uplink signal synchronization includes performing time domain offset compensation […] The synchronization information may include one or more of the following information: [0127] time domain offset compensation information between a serving satellite of the first terminal device and a reference point, change information of the time domain offset compensation information, ephemeris information of the serving satellite of the first terminal device, positioning information,”); and
acquiring position information of the terminal based on the first time information (See at least [0129] “The positioning information may include time window information for receiving a GNSS signal by the terminal device”)
Regarding claim 38, Chen, as shown above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 14. Chen additionally discloses
A network device, comprising a memory, a transceiver and a processor, the memory is configured to store a computer program; the transceiver is configured to receive and transmit data under control of the processor; the processor is configured to read the computer program in the memory (See at least Fig. 10, [0289] “The memory is configured to store a computer program, and the processor 1420 is configured to execute the computer program in the memory, to control the transceiver 1410 to receive and send a signal”) and perform the method of claim 14 (See at least [0289] “The network device 1400 may be applied to the system shown in FIG. 1, to perform functions of the network device in the foregoing method embodiments”).
Regarding claim 74, Chen, as shown above, discloses all of the limitations of claims 1 and 6. Chen additionally discloses
informing, by the terminal, a network device that the terminal performs the GNSS measurement successfully (See at least [0172] “the first terminal device further receives GNSS information, where the GNSS information includes positioning information. Within the first duration that is after the reception of the SIB, the first terminal device performs the uplink signal synchronization based on the synchronization information in the SIB and the positioning information and sends uplink data on a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH).” Chen discloses sending uplink data to a base station/network device as a result of a successful GNSS measurement).
Regarding claim 75, applicant recites limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as claim 74. Accordingly, claim 75 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claim 74, shown above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wen (US 20240396784 A1) - Embodiments of the present disclosure relate to devices, methods, apparatuses, and computer readable storage media of enhanced UL synchronization for improved system performance. The method comprises obtaining a configuration of a gap within which a radio resource control connected state of the first device is kept; receiving, within the gap, system broadcasted information used for deriving a compensation associated with a transmission between the first device and a second device; and performing a uplink synchronization between the first device to the second device within the gap. In this way, a process of the GNSS fix position refreshing and/or satellite ephemeris data reception and UL/DL re-synchronization can be achieved by the UE in RRC connected mode and therefore the resources and power consumption can be reduced.
Leng (US 20240007982 A1) - Methods and apparatuses for uplink timing and frequency synchronization in a wireless communication system. A method for operating a user equipment (UE) includes receiving, from a base station (BS), information indicating satellite ephemeris information of a communication satellite associated with the BS, a common timing advance (TA), and a compensated frequency offset (FO). The method further includes transmitting a physical random access channel (PRACH) based on the common TA and the compensated FO and receiving a random access response (RAR) indicating a UE-specific TA and FO. The method further includes, for transmission of an uplink (UL) channel, adjusting a TA and pre-compensating a FO based on the UE-specific TA and FO, respectively.
Bitra (US 20170299725 A1) - In some embodiments, Satellite Positioning System (SPS) time information associated with at least one SPS may be maintained at a UE, which may also receive time information from a Wireless Wide Area Network (WWAN). In some embodiments, the UE may determine a corrected SPS time information for a first time based, in part, on the received WWAN time information, where the corrected SPS time information corrects the SPS time information associated with the at least one SPS maintained at the UE. The UE may initiate transmission of SPS timing assistance information to an associated device over a Wireless Personal Area Network (WPAN), wherein the SPS timing assistance information comprises the corrected SPS time information for the first time.
Ling (US 9634754 B2) - An Internet protocol low noise block downconverter (IP LNB), which may be within a satellite reception assembly, may be operable to determine location information and time information of the IP LNB, and may communicate the determined location information and the corresponding time information to a wireless communication device communicatively coupled to the IP LNB. The communicated location information may be configured to enable the wireless communication device to determine its location based on the determined location information and the corresponding time information. The IP LNB may determine the location information and/or the time information of the IP LNB based on global navigation satellite system (GNSS) signals, which may be received via the satellite reception assembly and may be processed via the IP LNB. The IP LNB may provide services based on the determined location information and/or the determined time information of the IP LNB.
/KENNETH W GOOD/
Examiner, Art Unit 3648