Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YAMAZAKI et al (JP 2009194031 A and YAMAZAKI hereinafter, IDS submitted) in view of Sudo et al (US Patent No. 12580324 B2 and Sudo hereinafter)
Regarding Claim 1, YAMAZAKI discloses (figs. 1-7) a wireless communication device comprising: a substrate (51); a housing (30) in which at least a part of a top surface is opened, a wireless communication circuit (51) disposed on the second surface; and a shield case (7) that shields the wireless communication circuit, the shield case having a third surface having substantially the same height as a height of a surface where an opening of the top surface is formed (see annotated fig below).
YAMAZAKI does not explicitly disclose the top surface facing a second surface of the substrate opposite to a first surface on which a terminal is formed. However, Sudo teaches (fig.2A) the top surface facing a second surface of the substrate (120) opposite to a first surface on which a terminal (170) is formed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a terminal of Sudo to device of YAMAZAKI in order to provide a connecting terminals for a control line, and is connected to the ground potential (Sudo and Col 5, lines 1-5).
Regarding Claim 4, YAMAZAKI/Sudo discloses the wireless communication device according to claim 1. YAMAZAKI teaches an antenna (antennas are mounted on the circuit board 51) for the wireless communication circuit to perform communication.
Regarding Claim 5, YAMAZAKI/Sudo discloses the wireless communication device according to claim 4. Sudo teaches (fig.2A) wherein the antenna is provided in an end region of the substrate on an opposite side to a region of the substrate where the terminal is provided. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a terminal of Sudo to device of YAMAZAKI in order to improve the characteristics of the antenna (Sudo and Col 5, lines 1-5).
Regarding Claim 6, YAMAZAKI/Sudo discloses the wireless communication device according to claim 1. YAMAZAKI teaches a circuit (a high-frequency circuit component ) disposed on the first surface of the substrate.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YAMAZAKI et al in view of Sudo et al and in view of Yoon et al (US Pub No. 2021/0029855 A1 and Yoon hereinafter)
Regarding Claim 3, YAMAZAKI/ Sudo discloses the wireless communication device according to claim 1, but fails to disclose a sheet attached to the top surface of the housing and the third surface of the shield case. However, Yoon teaches (figs. 1-9) a sheet (612) attached to the top surface of the housing and the third surface of the shield case (611). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a terminal of Sudo/ YAMAZAKI to device of Yoon in order to provide a fixing plate supporting the shield case (Yoon, [0060]).
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YAMAZAKI et al in view of Sudo et al and in view of Cho et al (US Pub No. 2022/0263228 A1 and Cho hereinafter)
Regarding Claim 7, YAMAZAKI/Sudo discloses the wireless communication device according to claim 6. YAMAZAKI teaches an antenna with which the wireless communication circuit performs communication, the antenna disposed on the substrate. YAMAZAKI/Sudo does not explicitly disclose wherein the circuit is disposed on the first surface of the substrate on which the antenna is not disposed. Cho teaches (figs. 1-4F) wherein the circuit(452) is disposed on the first surface of the substrate on which the antenna (430) is not disposed (fig.4F). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a antenna as claimed of Cho to device of YAMAZAKI/Sudo in order to improve the characteristics of the antenna (Cho and [0114]).
Regarding Claim 8, YAMAZAKI/Sudo/Cho discloses the wireless communication device according to claim 6. Cho further teaches a second sheet (328) attached to the first surface of the substrate and covering the circuit. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a second sheet of Cho to device of YAMAZAKI/Sudo in order to hold the antenna within the device (Cho and [0103]).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YAMAZAKI et al in view of Sudo et al and in view of NATSUMEDA et al (US Pub No. 2017/0155184 A1 and NATSUMEDA hereinafter)
Regarding Claim 9, YAMAZAKI/ Sudo discloses the wireless communication device according to claim 1, but fails to disclose a storage medium disposed on the substrate. However, NATSUMEDA teaches (figs. 1-14) a storage medium (25) disposed on the substrate. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a storage medium of NATSUMEDA to device of YAMAZAKI/Sudo in order to store data received from the host device (NATSUMEDA and [0097]).
Regarding Claim 10, YAMAZAKI/ Sudo discloses the wireless communication device according to claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the wireless communication circuit performs wireless communication in a state where the wireless communication device is inserted in an SD card slot. However, NATSUMEDA teaches (figs. 1-14) wherein the wireless communication circuit performs wireless communication in a state where the wireless communication device is inserted in an SD card slot. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a storage medium of NATSUMEDA to device of YAMAZAKI/Sudo in order to provide a SD card wirelessly communicates with a wireless communication host device (NATSUMEDA and [0034]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 2, the prior art fails to disclose, “ wherein the shield case has a fourth surface lower than the third surface, and the shield case and the housing are bonded to each other by an adhesive on at least a part of the fourth surface.”
Conclusion
/ROCKSHANA D CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841