DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-5 and 7 in the reply filed on 23 April 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 6 and 8 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 23 April 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Specifically, claim 1 contains parenthesis. Parenthesis and/or brackets in claims should only be used with labels/number from the specification or drawings. It is unclear whether the applicant intends these limitations to be a part of the claim. As such, dependent claims 2-4 and 7 are also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miyakubo et al. (JP 2017-165962), wherein the machine English translation is used for citation, as evidenced by Arkema (SR499 US).
Regarding claims 1 and 5; Miyakubo et al. teaches, in a preferred embodiment, a photosetting resin composition, suitable for use as an antifogging film, comprising SR 499 (ethoxylated (6) trimethylolpropane triacrylate), BYK 345 (water soluble surfactant), and Irgacure® 184D (1-hydroxy-cyclohexyl-phenyl-ketone) [Ex2], used to produce a cured film [0084-0087].
Arkema provides evidence that SR 499 is ethoxylated (6) trimethylolpropane triacrylate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyakubo et al. (JP 2017-165962), wherein the machine English translation is used for citation, as evidenced by Arkema (SR499 US), as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Terauchi et al. (JP 2015-059167).
Miyakubo et al. teaches the basic claimed active energy ray curable composition, as set forth above, with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claims 2 and 7; Miyakubo et al. fails to teach the composition further comprising a compound having a carboxyl group and a (meth)acryloyl group and a compound having an alkoxylyl group and a (meth)acryloyl group. Terauchi et al. teaches a composition comprising a compound having an alkoxysilyl group and (meth)acrylate group [0026-0029], and a compound having a (meth)acrylate and an acid structure [0030-0033]. Miyakubo et al. and Terauchi et al. are analogous art because they are both concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely curable coating compositions suitable for producing cured films. At the time of filing, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to add the compound having an alkoxysilyl group and (meth)acrylate group, as taught by Terauchi et al., to the composition of Miyakubo et al., and would have been motivated to do so in order to improve adhesion to the substrate and hardness and scratch resistance, as suggested by Terauchi et al. [0025]. At the time of filing, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to add the compound having a (meth)acrylate and acid structure, as taught by Terauchi et al., to the composition of Miyakubo et al., and would have been motivated to do so in order to promote the reaction of the alkoxysilyl group with the substrate to promote the improvement of adhesion, and also further improving hardness and scratch resistance, as suggested by Terauchi et al. [0025]. Miyakubo et al. teaches the composition of the invention are used to produce cured films [0064-0087].
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyakubo et al. (JP 2017-165962), wherein the machine English translation is used for citation, as applied to claim 1 above.
Miyakubo et al. teaches the basic claimed active energy ray curable composition, as set forth above, with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claims 3 and 4; Miyakubo et al. teaches the composition may include a mixture of compounds, in addition to the ethoxylated trimethylolpropane triacrylate, such as propoxylated polyethylene glycol di(meth)acrylate (polyfunctional acrylate not modified by ethylene oxide and having a polyethylene glycol structure) [0030-0031].
Miyakubo et al. teaches all of the above required components, however fails to explicitly disclose each in a preferred embodiment. A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including the non-preferred embodiments. See Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.); MPEP §2123. Miyakubo et al. does not specifically disclose an embodiment further comprising propoxylated polyethylene glycol di(meth)acrylate. However, at the time of invention a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to prepare a composition further containing propoxylated polyethylene glycol di(meth)acrylate based on the invention of Miyakubo et al., and would have been motivated to do so since Miyakubo et al. suggests that the composition can mixtures of the component (A) including propoxylated polyethylene glycol di(meth)acrylate [0030-0031]. Additionally, “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) [see MPEP 2144.06].
Correspondence
/JESSICA M ROSWELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767